Welcome to the Senate Housing Committee

If you have a position letter on any bills that have been referred to our committee, please submit them through the Advocates Portal as soon as possible. Letters are added to the official bill record.

Submit Position Letter

The committee staff does not accept emailed position letter. Please use the link above to submit letters electronically.


To protect public health and slow the transmission of the coronavirus (COVID-19), the State Capitol is closed to the public.  However, we are working remotely to continue to serve you. 

  • We are answering calls to our main office line and responding to all email communication during the business hours of 9:00 am - 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday (excluding holidays). 
  • We will continue to receive position letters on all legislation via the Advocacy Portal and our mailing address. Please refer to the "Position letters" tab above for more information.

Please note the various ways we are available to assist you:

Committee phone: 916-651-4124

Committee Staff:

  • Erin Riches, Chief Consultant - Erin.Riches@sen.ca.gov

  • Alison Hughes, Consultant - Alison.Hughes@sen.ca.gov

  • Cicely Chisholm, Committee Assistant - Cicely.Chisholm@sen.ca.gov

Thank you for understanding and please reach out should you need to communicate with the committee office.

JURISDICTION:  Bills relating to housing, including those that affect state housing funding programs for low- and moderate-income families, homelessness, housing elements and land use approvals for housing developments, housing successor agencies and the housing obligations of local financing districts, manufactured housing, building codes and standards, and common interest developments.

Senate Housing Committee usually meets every 1st, 3rd and 5th Tuesday at 1:30 p.m. in Room 4203, but please check the Daily File and Bill Hearings tab for dates.


Senator Scott D. Wiener (Chair)
Senator Mike Morrell (Vice Chair)
Senator Patricia C. Bates
Senator Anna M. Caballero
Senator Maria Elena Durazo
Senator Mike McGuire
Senator John M. W. Moorlach
Senator Richard D. Roth
Senator Nancy Skinner
Senator Thomas J. Umberg
Senator Bob Wieckowski

Committee Address