Archives: 2021-22 Legislative Session

Welcome to the Standing Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review






Final Action Report: A Summary of the 2022 Budget Act

Budget Act of 2022 - Preliminary Summary

Legislative Version of the 2022-23 State Budget:

Delivering Prosperity and Strengthening the Future By Putting California’s Wealth To Work


Other Reports: 

Putting California's Wealth to Work for a More Equitable Economy

Overview of the Governor's 2022-23 May Revision 

Summary of the Governor's 2022-23 Proposed Budget 

December 8, 2021 - Senate Budget Plan - Step #1: Key Values 


Please email comments or Letters to:

Teleconference Instructions:

Due to the health and safety risks associated with the ongoing coronavirus (Covid-19) pandemic, the Senate will continue to adhere to social distancing guidelines.  Accordingly, seating for Senate proceedings will continue to be limited to the extent social distancing allows. 

All are encouraged to watch our hearings from its live stream on the Senate’s website at

We encourage the public to submit written testimony before the hearing through the position letter portal. Please note that any written testimony submitted to the committee is considered public comment and may be read into the record or reprinted.

The Capitol will be open for attendance of committee hearings, but the public is strongly encouraged to participate via the web portal or telephonically.

Information regarding a call-in option for testimony will be made available and updated the night prior to the hearing date.

Please note: In order for your testimony to be heard clearly, you must mute any devices you are using to live stream the committee hearing prior to calling into the teleconference service. Please do not testify using speakerphone or bluetooth, this can cause acoustic feedback and make it very difficult to hear your testimony. 
  • Upon calling in, you will be placed in a “waiting room” where you will be muted but you can listen to the committee hearing as you wait.
  • When a committee moves to public comment, a moderator will ask for anyone who is wishing to testify in “Support” of the bill to please press 1-0.  The moderator will again prompt those waiting in “Opposition” when the committee moves to opposition.  You should press 1-0 when you are prompted by the moderator – be sure to listen for support or opposition and DO NOT press 1-0 until the proper position has been asked for. 
  • When you press 1-0 on your phone, you will wait and an operator will assign you a line number, at that time you will be placed in the queue for identification.  Remember your line number, the moderator will call out that number to identify YOU when it is your turn to testify.  OF IMPORTANT NOTE: If you press 1-0 a second time, you will remove yourself from the queue and you will not be identified to testify. Every time you press 1-0 you either put yourself “In queue” or take yourself “Out of queue” so listen carefully, and press 1-0 only once when you are prompted by the moderator.
  • When you are successfully in the queue, with your assigned line number, the moderator will call out your line number, open your line, and at that time you may address the committee. You must have your own phone unmuted before you begin testimony.

A more detailed explanation of the teleconference instructions can be found by clicking the “Teleconference Instructions” 


Please note the various ways we are available to assist you: Committee phone (916) 651-4103  Fax: (916) 668-7004

Committee Staff is available by email

Subcommittee No. 1 on Education

Yong Salas – K-12 Education -

Dr. Christopher Francis – Higher Education - 

Subcommittee No. 2 on Resources, Environmental Protection and Energy 

Joanne Roy – Natural Resources and Environmental Protection -

Anita Lee - Energy  

Subcommittee No. 3 on Health and Human Services

Scott Ogus – Health -

Elizabeth Schmitt - Child Care and Human Services - 

Subcommittee No. 4 on State Administration

Elisa Wynne – Revenue and Taxation, Local Government -
Anita Lee – State Administration, General Government and Veterans Affairs 
James Hacker - Housing and Homelessness -

Subcommittee No. 5 on Public Safety, the Judiciary, Labor and Transportation

Dr. Nora Brackbill - Corrections, Public Safety and the Judiciary -
James Hacker - Transportation -
Dr. Christopher Francis – Labor and Employee Compensation - 

Staff Director - Elisa Wynne -

Deputy Staff Director - Scott Ogus -

Committee Secretary - Sandy Perez -

For Dept. of Finance Section 36 Letters and JLBC Responses - Please see Publications tab above.


Senator Nancy Skinner (Chair)
Senator Jim Nielsen (Vice Chair)
Senator Anna M. Caballero
Senator Dave Cortese
Senator Brian Dahle
Senator María Elena Durazo
Senator Susan Talamantes Eggman
Senator Shannon Grove
Senator Sydney Kamlager
Senator John Laird
Senator Mike McGuire
Senator Melissa A. Melendez
Senator Dave Min
Senator Josh Newman
Senator Rosilicie Ochoa Bogh
Senator Richard Pan
Senator Richard Roth
Senator Henry I. Stern
Senator Bob Wieckowski

Committee Address