full screen background image
Archives: 2013-14 Legislative Session

Committee Address:

Phone: (916) 651-4121
Fax:     (916) 445-2209
Room: 2209


Chief Consultant: Carrie Cornwell
Consultants: Erin RichesMark Stivers, and Eric Thronson
Assistants:  Elvia Diaz and Holly Glasen


Welcome to the Senate Committee on Transportation and Housing

The Transportation and Housing Committee meets every Tuesday at 1:30 PM in the John L. Burton Hearing Room, room 4203, unless otherwise stated in the Senate Daily File.

You can now follow us on Twitter @SenTandHCmte 

The Twitter account will be used to inform the public of certain last-minute changes (e.g, when bills are pulled from hearing agendas on hearing dates), and as we head towards the end of session, it will be helpful in notifying the public of 29.10 hearings.

JURISDICTION:  Bills relating to the operation, safety, equipment, transfer of ownership, licensing and registration of vehicles, aircraft, and vessels.  Legislation affecting the Department of Transportation and the Department of Motor Vehicles.  Bills relating to waterways, harbors, highways, public transportation systems, and airports.  Bills relating to housing, including those that affect state housing programs for low- and moderate-income families, housing elements and land use approvals for housing developments, housing successor agencies and the housing obligations of infrastructure financing districts, manufactured housing, building codes and standards, and common interest developments.


Senator Mark DeSaulnier (Chair)
Senator Ted Gaines (Vice Chair)
Senator Jim Beall
Senator Anthony Cannella
Senator Cathleen Galgiani
Senator Ben Hueso
Senator Ricardo Lara
Senator Carol Liu
Senator Fran Pavley
Senator Richard Roth
Senator Mark Wyland