Welcome to the Senate Standing Committee on Public Safety

The Senate Committee on Public Safety meets every 1st, 3rd, and 5th Tuesday at 9:30 a.m. in Room 4203
and also meets every 2nd and 4th Tuesday at 9:30 a.m. in Room 3191.

Support and Opposition letters are due 7 calendar days prior to hearing.  The committee does not accept e-mailed letters because they often get lost in e-mail filters.   Please submit in hard copy either by mail, hand delivery, or fax to 916-445-4688.

♦ Committee Jurisdiction
Legislation amending the following: a) Evidence Code, relating to criminal procedure; b) Penal Code;
c) statutes of a penal nature not related closely to a subject included in another subdivision of this rule; and
d) legislation relating to the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation.


Senator Nancy Skinner (Chair)
Senator Joel Anderson (Vice Chair)
Senator Steven Bradford
Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson
Senator Holly J. Mitchell
Senator Jeff Stone
Senator Scott D. Wiener

Committee Address