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HISTORY 

Source: Author 

Prior Legislation: AB 65 (Achadjian) Chapter 259, Stats. 2013 
SB 59 (Evans) Chapter 282, Stats. 2013 
SB 765 (Achadjian) 2011, held in Senate Public Safety  

 SB 1421 (Romero) Chapter 302, Stats. 2002 
 
Support: California District Attorneys Association; California Peace Officers’ Association; 

California Police Chiefs Association; California State Sheriffs’ Association; 
Crime Victims United of California; Peace Officers Research Association of 
California; San Diego County Sheriff’s Department 

Opposition: California Attorneys for Criminal Justice 

Assembly Floor Vote: 74 - 1 

PURPOSE 

The purpose of this bill is to add rape by fraud and rape by authority of a public official to the 
list of offenses that require lifetime registration as a sex offender.   
 
Existing law requires persons convicted of specified sex offenses to register for life, or reregister 
if the person has been previously registered, upon release from incarceration, placement, 
commitment, or release on probation.  States that the registration shall consist of all of the 
following (Penal Code § 290.015 (a).): 
 
• A statement signed in writing by the person, giving information as shall be required by DOJ 

and giving the name and address of the person's employer, and the address of the person's 
place of employment, if different from the employer's main address; 

• Fingerprints and a current photograph taken by the registering official; 

• The license plate number of any vehicle owned by, regularly driven by or registered in the 
name of the registrant; 
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• Notice to the person that he or she may have a duty to register in any other state where he or 

she may relocate; and, 

• Copies of adequate proof of residence, such as a California driver's license or identification 
card, recent rent or utility receipt or any other information that the registering official 
believes is reliable. 

Existing law states every person who is required to register, as specified, who is living as a 
transient shall be required to register for the rest of his or her life as follows: 

• He or she shall register, or reregister if the person has previously registered, within five 
working days from release from incarceration, placement or commitment, or release on 
probation, pursuant to Penal Code Section 290(b), except that if the person previously 
registered as a transient less than 30 days from the date of his or her release from 
incarceration, he or she does not need to reregister as a transient until his or her next required 
30-day update of registration.  If a transient is not physically present in any one jurisdiction 
for five consecutive working days, he or she shall register in the jurisdiction in which he or 
she is physically present on the fifth working day following release, as specified.  Beginning 
on or before the 30th day following initial registration upon release, a transient shall 
reregister no less than once every 30 days thereafter.  A transient shall register with the chief 
of police of the city in which he or she is physically present within that 30-day period, or the 
sheriff of the county if he or she is physically present in an unincorporated area or city that 
has no police department, and additionally, with the chief of police of a campus of the 
University of California, the California State University, or community college if he or she is 
physically present upon the campus or in any of its facilities.  A transient shall reregister no 
less than once every 30 days regardless of the length of time he or she has been physically 
present in the particular jurisdiction in which he or she reregisters.  If a transient fails to 
reregister within any 30-day period, he or she may be prosecuted in any jurisdiction in which 
he or she is physically present. 

• A transient who moves to a residence shall have five working days within which to register at 
that address, in accordance with Penal Code Section 290(b).  A person registered at a 
residence address in accordance with that provision who becomes transient shall have five 
working days within which to reregister as a transient in accordance with existing law. 

• Beginning on his or her first birthday following registration, a transient shall register 
annually, within five working days of his or her birthday, to update his or her registration 
with the entities described in existing law.  A transient shall register in whichever jurisdiction 
he or she is physically present on that date. At the 30-day updates and the annual update, a 
transient shall provide current information as required on the DOJ annual update form, 
including the information.  

• A transient shall, upon registration and re-registration, provide current information as 
required on the DOJ registration forms, and shall also list the places where he or she sleeps, 
eats, works, frequents, and engages in leisure activities.  If a transient changes or adds to the 
places listed on the form during the 30-day period, he or she does not need to report the new 
place or places until the next required re-registration.  (Penal Code § 290.011 (a) to (d).) 
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Existing law provides that willful violation of any part of the registration requirements 
constitutes a misdemeanor if the offense requiring registration was a misdemeanor, and 
constitutes a felony of the offense requiring registration was a felony or if the person has a prior 
conviction of failing to register.  (Penal Code § 290.018 (a)&(b).) 
 
Existing law provides that within three days thereafter, the registering law enforcement agency or 
agencies shall forward the statement, fingerprints, photograph, and vehicle license plate number, 
if any, to the DOJ.  (Penal Code § 290.015 (b).) 
 
Existing law states that a misdemeanor failure to register shall be punishable by imprisonment in 
a county jail not exceeding one year, and a felony failure to register shall be punishable in the 
state prison for 16 months, two or three years.  (Penal Code § 290.018 (a)&(b).) 
 
Existing law provides that the DOJ shall make available information concerning persons who are 
required to register as a sex offender to the public via an internet website.  The DOJ shall update 
the website on an ongoing basis.  Victim information shall be excluded from the website.  (Penal 
Code § 290.46.)  The information provided on the website is dependent upon what offenses the 
person has been convicted of, but generally includes identifying information and a photograph of 
the registrant.   
 
Existing law generally prevents the use of the information on the website from being used in 
relation to the following areas:  (Penal Code § 290.46 (l)(2).)   

• Health insurance; 
• Insurance; 
• Loans; 
• Credit; 
• Employment; 
• Education, scholarships, or fellowships; 
• Housing or accommodations; and  
• Benefits, privileges, or services provided by any business establishment. 

 
Existing law provides that rape by fraud is when a person submits under the belief that the person 
committing the act is someone known to the victim other than the accused, and this belief is 
induced by any artifice, pretense, or concealment practiced by the accused, with intent to induce 
the belief. (Penal Code § 261 (a)(5).)   
 
Existing law provides that rape by authority of a public official is accomplished when the act is 
committed against the victim's will by threatening to use the authority of a public official to 
incarcerate, arrest, or deport the victim or another, and the victim has a reasonable belief that the 
perpetrator is a public official. As used in this paragraph, "public official" means “a person 
employed by a governmental agency who has the authority, as part of that position, to 
incarcerate, arrest, or deport another. The perpetrator does not actually have to be a public 
official.”  (Penal Code § 261 (a)(7).)   

This bill adds to the list off offenses requiring registration to include rape when the person 
submits under the belief that the person committing the act is someone known to the victim, 
other than the accused or rape by the use of authority of a public official to incarcerate arrest or 
deport the victim. 
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COMMENTS 

1.  Need for This Bill 

According to the author: 

AB 484 would require registration in CA Sex and Arson Registry if found guilty of 
the following two crimes: (1) where a person submits to an act of sexual 
intercourse under the belief that the person committing the act is someone known to 
the victim other than the accused. And (2) the offense of rape is accomplished 
against the victim’s will by threatening use of the authority of a public official to 
incarcerate or deport the victim or another, and the victim has a reasonable belief 
that the perpetrator is a public official.  This legislation would send a strong 
message that California does not tolerate rape of any form and those convicted of 
the above crimes must register as offenders.  Registering offenders who use deceit 
and political status as a means to prey on innocent victims is a common-sense 
proposal and we must work together to safeguard the lives of families in our 
communities.  We need to be proactive in protecting potential victims. 

 
2.  Addition of 2 forms of Rape 
 
Under existing law, a person is required to register as a sex offender when convicted of most 
types of rape. This bill would add rape when the person believes the perpetrator is someone else 
and rape under color of authority to the other types of rape for which a person must register.  
These are similar to the offenses for which registration is already required, but were not added to 
the registration sections at the time they were added to the statute. 
 
  
 

-- END – 

 


