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SUBJECT 
 

Firearms:  private rights of action 
 

DIGEST 
 
This bill establishes privately-enforced civil causes of action against any person who 
manufactures or causes to be manufactured, distributes, transports, or imports into the 
state, or causes to be distributed or transported or imported into the state, keeps for sale 
or offers or exposes for sale, or gives or lends any firearm lacking a required serial 
number, assault weapon, .50 BMG rifle, or firearm precursor part, as specified.  
 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 
 
Although most shooting deaths involve handguns, there has been a dramatic rise in the 
use of assault weapons in gun massacres with six or more deaths, owing to their ability 
to inflict greater damage at a quicker rate.1 Research shows that laws restricting assault 
weapons reduce deaths; estimates find mass-shooting fatalities were 70 percent less 
likely during the period when the federal ban was in effect.2 Another rising scourge is 
the prevalence of “ghost guns.” In 2020, California accounted for 65 percent of all ghost 
guns seized by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives.3 The weapons 
have been linked to 24 killings and dozens of other crimes in 2020 in Los Angeles alone. 
The problem of gun violence in our society is not going away. In 2020, over 45,000 
Americans died from gun-related injuries in the United States. This is the most on 
record by far, a 43 percent increase from a decade prior.  

                                            
1 Emily Shapiro, The type of gun used in most US homicides is not an AR-15 (October 26, 2021) abcNews, 
https://abcnews.go.com/US/type-gun-us-homicides-ar-15/story?id=78689504. All internet citations are 
current as of March 22, 2022.  
2 Charles DiMaggio, et al., Changes in US mass shooting deaths associated with the 1994-2004 federal assault 
weapons ban: Analysis of open-source data (January 2019) The Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery, 
https://doi.org/10.1097/TA.0000000000002060.  
3 Justin Ray, ‘An instrument of death’: The problem of ghost guns in California (November 15, 2021) Los 
Angeles Times, https://www.latimes.com/california/newsletter/2021-11-15/ghost-guns-california-
essential-california.  

https://abcnews.go.com/US/type-gun-us-homicides-ar-15/story?id=78689504
https://doi.org/10.1097/TA.0000000000002060
https://www.latimes.com/california/newsletter/2021-11-15/ghost-guns-california-essential-california
https://www.latimes.com/california/newsletter/2021-11-15/ghost-guns-california-essential-california
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This bill seeks to curb the prevalence of these weapons by enlisting the help of 
Californians. The bill reproduces relevant Penal Code provisions relating to assault 
weapons, rifles, “ghost guns,” and other illegal firearms into the Business and 
Professions Code, with limited extensions of existing restrictions. Any Californian is 
authorized to bring a civil action against anyone that manufactures or causes to be 
manufactured, distributes, transports, or imports into the state, or causes to be 
distributed or transported or imported into the state, keeps for sale or offers or exposes 
for sale, or gives or lends any assault weapon, .50 BMG rifle, firearm lacking a required 
serial number, or firearm precursor part, as specified. The bill is modeled after a 
controversial Texas abortion law, and includes a number of the same problematic 
procedural mechanisms.  
 
The bill is sponsored by Governor Gavin Newsom. It is supported by several groups, 
including Everytown for Gun Safety Action Fund, Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense 
in America, and Students Demand Action for Gun Sense in America. The bill is opposed 
by the Gun Owners of California. If this bill passes out of this Committee, it will then be 
referred to the Senate Public Safety Committee.  
 

PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE LAW 
 
Existing federal law: 
 

1) Provides, pursuant to the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution, 
that a well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the 
right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed. (U.S. Const. 
Amend. 2.) 
 

2) Requires licensed importers and licensed manufacturers to identify each firearm 
imported or manufactured by using the serial number engraved or cast on the 
receiver or frame of the weapon, in such manner as prescribed by the Attorney 
General (AG). (18 U.S.C. § 923, subd. (i).)  
 

3) Specifies that the United States Undetectable Firearms Act of 1988 makes it illegal 
to manufacture, import, sell, ship, deliver, possess, transfer, or receive any 
firearm that is not as detectable by walk-through metal detection as a security 
exemplar containing 3.7 oz. of steel, or any firearm with major components that 
do not generate an accurate image before standard airport imaging technology.  
(18 U.S.C. § 922, subd. (p).) 
 

4) Prohibits a qualified civil liability action from being brought in any Federal or 
State court. (15 U.S.C. § 7902.) A “qualified civil liability action” means a civil 
action or proceeding or an administrative proceeding brought by any person 
against a manufacturer or seller of a qualified product, or a trade association, for 
damages, punitive damages, injunctive or declaratory relief, abatement, 
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restitution, fines, or penalties, or other relief, resulting from the criminal or 
unlawful misuse of a qualified product by the person or a third party. (15 U.S.C. 
§ 7903.) 
 

Existing state law: 
 

5) Provides that any person who manufactures or causes to be manufactured, 
distributes, transports, or imports into the state, keeps for sale, or offers or 
exposes for sale, or who gives or lends any assault weapon or any .50 BMG rifle, 
except as provided, is guilty of a felony. (Pen. Code § 30600.)  
 

6) Establishes a detailed list of firearms falling within the definition of “assault 
weapon.” (Pen. Code §§ 30510, 30515.) It also defines what is considered a “.50 
BMG rifle.” (Pen. Code § 30530.)  
 

7) Requires, commencing July 1, 2022, that the sale of a firearm precursor part by 
any party be conducted by or processed through a licensed firearm precursor 
part vendor. (Pen. Code § 30412.) It also prohibits certain persons from owning 
or possessing firearm precursor parts and provides other limitations on such 
parts. (Pen. Code § 30400 et seq.) 
 

8) Defines “firearm” as a device designed to be used as a weapon from which is 
expelled through a barrel, a projectile by the force of an explosion or other form 
of combustion. (Pen. Code § 16520.) It defines “firearm precursor part” to mean  
a component of a firearm that is necessary to build or assemble a firearm and is 
either an unfinished receiver or an unfinished handgun frame. (Pen. Code § 
16531.) 
 

9) Prohibits a person, firm, or corporation licensed to manufacture firearms 
pursuant to federal law from manufacturing firearms in California, unless the 
person, firm or corporation is also licensed under California law, as specified.  
(Pen. Code § 29010.)  
 

10) Makes it illegal to change, alter, remove, or obliterate the name of the maker, 
model, manufacturer's number, or other mark of identification on any pistol, 
revolver, or any other firearm, without first having secured written permission 
from the Department of Justice (DOJ) to make that change, alteration, or removal.  
(Pen. Code § 23900.)  
 

11) Allows the DOJ, upon request, to assign a distinguishing number or mark of 
identification to any firearm whenever the firearm lacks a manufacturer's 
number or other mark of identification, or whenever the manufacturer's number 
or other mark of identification, or a distinguishing number or mark assigned by 
the department has been destroyed or obliterated. (Pen. Code § 23910.)   
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12) Makes it a misdemeanor, with limited enumerated exceptions, for any person to 
buy, receive, dispose of, sell, offer to sell or have possession any pistol, revolver, 
or other firearm that has had the name of the maker or model, or the 
manufacturer's number or other mark of identification changed, altered, 
removed, or obliterated. (Pen. Code §§ 23920, 23925.)   
 

13) Requires a person be at least 18 years of age to purchase a rifle or shotgun. To 
purchase a handgun, a person must be at least 21 years of age. (Pen. Code § 
26840.)   

 
14) Requires firearms dealers to obtain certain identifying information from firearms 

purchasers and forward that information, via electronic transfer to the DOJ to 
perform a background check on the purchaser to determine whether they are 
prohibited from possessing a firearm. (Pen. Code §§ 28160-28220.)    

 
This bill:  
 

1) Provides that no person shall manufacture or cause to be manufactured, 
distribute, transport, or import into the state, or cause to be distributed, 
transported, or imported into the state, keep for sale, offer or expose for sale, or 
give or lend, any assault weapon, .50 BMG rifle, or unserialized firearm, except 
as provided.  
 

2)  Provides that no person shall manufacture or cause to be manufactured, 
distribute, transport, or import into the state, or cause to be distributed or 
transported or imported into the state, keep for sale, offer or expose for sale, or 
give or lend, any firearm precursor part, except as provided. 
 

3) Provides a series of exceptions to the above prohibitions, including where law 
enforcement agencies are involved. 
 

4) Defines “.50 BMG rifle,” “assault weapon,” “firearm,” and “firearm precursor 
part” consistently with existing Penal Code provisions. “Unserialized firearm” is 
defined to mean a firearm that does not have a serial number as required by law 
or has had its serial number altered or obliterated.   
 

5) Authorizes any person, other than an officer or employee of a state or local 
governmental entity, to bring a civil action against any person who knowingly: 

a) violates the above; 
b) engages in conduct that aids or abets a violation, regardless of whether the 

person knew or should have known that the person aided or abetted 
would be in violation; or 

c) commits an act with the intent to engage in the conduct described above. 
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6) Clarifies that it is exclusively enforced through the above private civil action and 
that no enforcement may be taken or threatened by this state, a political 
subdivision, a district or county or city attorney, or an executive or 
administrative officer or employee of this state or a political subdivision against 
any person, except as provided. Nor shall any civil action predicated upon a 
violation be brought by this state, a political subdivision, a district or county or 
city attorney, or an executive or administrative officer or employee of this state 
or a political subdivision. It further prohibits this state, a state official, or a 
district, county, or city attorney from intervening in these actions. 

 
7) Requires a court to award a prevailing claimant all of the following: 

a) injunctive relief sufficient to prevent the defendant from further violations 
or engaging in acts that aid or abet violations; 

b) statutory damages in an amount of not less than $10,000 for each weapon 
or firearm precursor part in violation; and 

c) attorney’s fees and costs. 
 

8) Provides that no relief shall be awarded if the defendant demonstrates that the 
defendant previously paid the full amount of any monetary award in a previous 
action for each weapon or firearm precursor part.  
 

9) Requires such actions to be brought within four years of the cause of action 
accruing.  
 

10) Deems an act or omission in violation an injury in fact to all residents of, and 
visitors to, this state, and any such person shall have standing to bring a civil 
action.  
 

11) Provides that none of the following is a defense to the above action: 
a) a defendant’s ignorance or mistake of law; 
b) a defendant’s belief that these requirements are unconstitutional or were 

unconstitutional; 
c) a defendant’s reliance on any court decision that has been overruled on 

appeal or by a subsequent court, even if that court decision had not been 
overruled when the defendant engaged in the violation; 

d) a defendant’s reliance on any state or federal court decision that is not 
binding on the court in which the action is brought; 

e) nonmutual issue preclusion or nonmutual claim preclusion; 
f) any claim that such enforcement or the imposition of civil liability against 

the defendant will violate a constitutional right of a third party; 
g) a defendant’s assertion that this law proscribes conduct that is separately 

prohibited by the Penal Code or any other law of this state, or that it 
proscribes conduct beyond that which is already prohibited by the Penal 
Code or any other law of this state; or 
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h) any claim that the assault weapon, .50 BMG rifle, or firearm precursor part 
at issue was not misused, or was not intended to be misused, in a criminal 
or unlawful manner. 

 
12) Authorizes the following affirmative defenses to be proven by a defendant by a 

preponderance of the evidence: 
a) a person sued for aiding or abetting reasonably believed, after conducting 

a reasonable investigation, that the person aided or abetted was in 
compliance; or 

b) a person sued based on knowingly committing an act with intent to 
violate the law reasonably believed, after conducting a reasonable 
investigation, that the person was in compliance or was aiding or abetting 
another who was in compliance. 

 
13) Provides that a defendant against whom an action is brought does not have 

standing to assert the right of another individual to keep and bear arms under 
the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution as a defense to liability 
unless either of the following is true: 

a) the United States Supreme Court holds that the courts of this state must 
confer standing on that defendant to assert the third-party rights of other 
individuals in state court as a matter of federal constitutional law; or 

b) the defendant has standing to assert the rights of other individuals under 
the tests for third-party standing established by the United States Supreme 
Court. 

 
14) Authorizes a defendant to assert an affirmative defense to liability under the 

preceding section if both of the following are true: 
a) the defendant has standing to assert the third-party right of an individual 

to keep and bear arms in accordance with the preceding section; and 
b) the defendant demonstrates that the relief sought by the claimant will 

violate a third-party’s rights under the Second Amendment to the United 
States Constitution right as defined by clearly established case law of the 
United States Supreme Court. 

 
15) Clarifies that the preceding provisions do not limit or preclude a defendant from 

asserting the defendant’s personal constitutional rights as a defense to liability, 
and prohibits a court from awarding relief if the conduct for which the defendant 
has been sued was an exercise of a state or federal constitutional right that 
personally belongs to the defendant.   
 

16) Clarifies that it does not authorize the initiation of a cause of action against a 
person purchasing, obtaining, or attempting to purchase or obtain an assault 
weapon, .50 BMG rifle, unserialized firearm, or firearm precursor part from a 
person acting in violation of this law.  
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17) Prohibits a defendant from making an anti-SLAPP motion to strike and from 
being awarded attorney’s fees or costs in such an action.  
 

18) Establishes broad venue rules for these civil actions and restricts the ability to 
transfer venue.  
 

19) Provides that it is inoperative and is thereafter repealed upon the total 
invalidation of a specific provision of Texas law by the United States Supreme 
Court or the Texas Supreme Court.  
 

20) Provides that any person, including an entity, attorney, or law firm, who seeks 
declaratory or injunctive relief to prevent this state, a political subdivision, a 
governmental entity or public official in this state, or a person in this state from 
enforcing any statute, ordinance, rule, regulation, or any other type of law that 
regulates or restricts firearms, in any state or federal court, or that represents any 
litigant seeking that relief in any state or federal court, is jointly and severally 
liable to pay the attorney’s fees and costs of the prevailing party. 
 

21) Includes a severability clause.  
 

COMMENTS 
 

1. Gun control laws in California  
 
Existing Penal Code provisions provide specific limitations and guidelines around 
firearms and other weapons in California. Any person who manufactures or causes to 
be manufactured, distributes, transports, or imports into the state, keeps for sale, or 
offers or exposes for sale, or who gives or lends any assault weapon or any .50 BMG 
rifle, except as provided, is guilty of a felony. (Pen. Code § 30600.)  
 
The law also deems it a public nuisance to possess any assault weapon or any .50 BMG 
rifle in violation of the law. (Pen. Code § 30800.) The law authorizes the Attorney 
General, any district attorney, or any city attorney, to, in lieu of criminal prosecution, 
bring a civil action or reach a civil compromise in any superior court to enjoin the 
manufacture of, importation of, keeping for sale of, offering or exposing for sale, giving, 
lending, or possession of an assault weapon or .50 BMG rifle that is a public nuisance. 
Superior courts can impose a civil fine for the possession of, manufacture of, 
importation of, keeping for sale of, offering or exposing for sale, giving, or lending of an 
assault weapon or .50 BMG rifle that is a public nuisance.  
 
The law establishes a detailed list of firearms falling within the definition of “assault 
weapon.” (Pen. Code §§ 30510, 30515.) It also defines what is considered a “.50 BMG 
rifle.” (Pen. Code § 30530.)  
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Based on recent legislation, AB 879 (Gipson, Ch. 730, Stats. 2019), the law also requires, 
commencing July 1, 2022, that the sale of a firearm precursor part by any party be 
conducted by or processed through a licensed firearm precursor part vendor. (Pen. 
Code § 30412.) It also prohibits certain persons from owning or possessing firearm 
precursor parts and provides other limitations on such parts. (Pen. Code § 30400 et seq.) 
 
Existing law at both the federal and state levels requires serial numbers and/or certain 
markers to be placed on all firearms. It subjects those in violation to criminal penalties. 
 

2. Enlisting all Californians to enforce our critical gun control laws  
 
A private right of action allows individuals or private entities the ability to take action 
and enforce the law and their rights without having to rely on a government entity to 
take action. Even where there is an established regulatory system, there are limits on the 
resources that public agencies and prosecutors can commit to upholding the law. The 
creation of an alternative enforcement mechanism that can be used by private parties is 
therefore often essential to more robust enforcement of California’s laws. The author 
asserts that private rights of action are a standard form in modern law “for 
circumstances in which a government entity cannot, or in some cases will not, for one 
reason or another, enforce the law as required.” He argues that the use of these 
mechanisms for purposes of enforcing California’s gun control laws “is especially 
important to ensure the public health, safety, and security of its residents in situations 
in which local prosecutors in certain areas of the state may hesitate to bring forward 
these cases.”  
 
Writing in support, the Consumer Attorneys of California emphasize this point:  
 

A law is only as good as its enforcement. Bills that provide a consumer 
enforcement remedy (also known as a private right of action) are 
exponentially more impactful than the vast majority of bills that do not. 
Bills that provide consumers with their own remedies give Californians an 
active role in enforcing their rights. Consumer legal rights are essential to 
ensure the important laws we pass in California are being followed since 
government enforcement is often limited due to resources. 

 
This bill establishes these enforcement mechanisms for California’s gun control laws by 
duplicating many of the prohibitions discussed above from the Penal Code into the 
Business and Professions Code. The definitions of assault weapon, .50 BMG rifle, and 
firearm precursor parts in the bill mirror those in existing law.  
 
Specifically, the bill provides no person within this state may manufacture or cause to 
be manufactured, distribute, transport, or import into the state, or cause to be 
distributed, transported, or imported into the state, keep for sale, offer or expose for 
sale, or give or lend, any assault weapon or .50 BMG rifle, except as provided.  
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The bill also applies these prohibitions to unserialized firearms and firearm precursor 
parts. Existing state and federal law generally requires firearms to have certain 
markings or serial numbers. However, the bill goes beyond existing prohibitions in the 
Penal Code with regard to firearm precursor parts. As discussed above, there are 
limitations on who can possess these parts and requirements that transactions go 
through licensed vendors. However, there are no existing prohibitions on, for instance, 
manufacturing or selling such parts, as this bill establishes. Therefore, although a 
vendor could sell such parts consistent with current Penal Code provisions, this bill 
would now subject that vendor to significant civil liability.  
 
The civil actions established by this bill can be brought against any person that 
knowingly violates the provisions of the bill or engages in conduct that aids or abets a 
violation, regardless of whether the person knew or should have known that the person 
aided or abetted would be in violation. It also holds liable anyone that knowingly 
commits an act with the intent to engage in the proscribed conduct. Any act or omission 
that violates these provisions is deemed an injury in fact to all residents of and visitors 
to this state and all such persons have standing to bring an enforcement action.  
 
Plaintiffs in such cases are entitled to injunctive relief, attorney’s fees and costs, and 
statutory damages. Courts are required to award at least $10,000 for each weapon or part 
as to which a violation occurred. Ultimately, the authorization of private enforcement, 
especially with such broad standing and large penalties, ensures more thorough 
enforcement of these laws, which are crucial to protecting Californians’ safety and 
wellbeing.  
 
It should be noted that the federal Protection of Lawful Commerce in Arms Act 
prohibits a qualified civil liability action from being brought in any federal or state 
court. (15 U.S.C. § 7902.) A “qualified civil liability action” means a civil action or 
proceeding or an administrative proceeding brought by any person against a 
manufacturer or seller of a qualified product, or a trade association, for damages, 
punitive damages, injunctive or declaratory relief, abatement, restitution, fines, or 
penalties, or other relief, resulting from the criminal or unlawful misuse of a qualified 
product by the person or a third party. (15 U.S.C. § 7903.) These statutes stand to 
preempt state laws that impose liability on manufacturers, sellers, and trade 
associations for the misuse of firearms by third parties. Given that liability attaches in 
this bill only for the conduct of a potential defendant, regardless of the action of another 
party, there are arguably no reasonable preemption concerns.  
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3. Intent and motivation for the bill 
 
According to the author:  
 

Violent, gun-related crime is skyrocketing across the state. Continuing 
California’s record as a pioneer in commonsense gun reform, SB 1327 
offers a new tool to combat the rise in gun violence and save lives – a 
private enforcement scheme. Modeled on the structure of Texas’ recent 
abortion ban, SB 1327 allows private citizens to sue anyone who 
manufactures, distributes, transports, imports, or sells assault weapons, 
.50 BMG rifles, ghost guns, or ghost gun kits in California. By enacting its 
abortion ban, Texas is knowingly infringing upon a well-established 
constitutional right. However, while the Supreme Court recognizes an 
individual constitutional right to bear arms, it certainly does not recognize 
a constitutional right to own, manufacture, or sell an illegal assault 
weapon or ghost gun.  

 
As stated by the author, this enforcement scheme is based on a controversial Texas law 
that prohibits a physician from knowingly performing or inducing an abortion on a 
pregnant woman if the physician detected a fetal heartbeat for the unborn child, as 
specified, or failed to perform a test to detect a fetal heartbeat. (Tex. Health & Safety 
Code § 171.201 et seq. (enacted through Texas Senate Bill 8).) The law provides that any 
person, other than an officer or employee of a state or local governmental entity in 
Texas, may bring a civil action against any person who: 
 

 performs or induces an abortion in violation of the law; 

 knowingly engages in conduct that aids or abets the performance or inducement 
of an abortion, including paying for or reimbursing the costs of an abortion 
through insurance or otherwise, if the abortion is performed or induced in 
violation of the law, regardless of whether the person knew or should have 
known that the abortion would be performed or induced in violation; or 

 intends to engage in the conduct described above. 
 
Texas abortion providers led by Whole Women’s Health and other independent 
abortion clinics, doctors, clinic staff, abortion funds, support networks, and clergy 
members filed a case in an attempt to stop the law before it took effect. The abortion 
providers sought pre-enforcement review of the law and an injunction barring its 
enforcement. They sought to certify a class and requested an order enjoining all state-
court clerks from docketing such cases, and all state-court judges from hearing them. 
They also named a private individual and executive licensing officials. The district court 
denied motions to dismiss. The Fifth Circuit denied the plaintiffs’ request for an 
injunction barring enforcement pending appeal.  
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The petitioning providers sought injunctive relief in the Supreme Court. On certiorari, 
the Supreme Court held that a pre-enforcement challenge to the law under the U.S. 
Constitution may only proceed against certain defendants but not others.4 The court did 
not address whether the law was constitutionally sound. However, the court’s ruling 
essentially insulated the private enforcement of the law from challenge, allowing the 
law to remain in effect. This inability to challenge the law pre-enforcement therefore 
allows it to stand as a threat to all seeking or performing an abortion and thereby chills 
the exercise of Texans’ constitutional rights, namely a pregnant person’s right to control 
their body.  
 
The author explains the logic of using this model:  
 

In a just world, a woman’s right to choose would be sacrosanct, and 
California’s people would be protected from ghost guns and assault 
weapons. Sadly, common sense was turned on its head when the Supreme 
Court allowed Texas’s egregious ban on most abortion services to remain 
in place. SB 1327 takes advantage of this flawed logic and creates an 
enforcement mechanism for our own laws aimed to protect all 
Californians and save lives – not flagrantly infringing upon an existing 
constitutional right. 

 
Similar to the Texas law, this bill specifically prohibits any public enforcement and 
relies solely on the private right of action to hold those in violation liable. It reiterates in 
multiple provisions that public officials have no right to initiate or even intervene in 
such cases. The goal is to create an enforcement scheme that is similarly shielded from 
challenge. The central difference is that Texas’ law almost certainly infringes on Texans’ 
constitutional rights. Here, the bill’s private enforcement mechanism is being used to 
carry out gun control laws that arguably fall within constitutional parameters.  
 
Importantly, this bill does not prohibit anyone from possessing or using any weapon. In 
fact, it specifically clarifies that it does not authorize the initiation of a cause of action 
against a person for purchasing, obtaining, or attempting to purchase or obtain an 
assault weapon, .50 BMG rifle, unserialized firearm, or firearm precursor part from a 
person acting in violation of this law. This mirrors a similar provision in the Texas law 
that states it shall not be read to “authorize the initiation of a cause of action against or 
the prosecution of a woman on whom an abortion is performed or induced or 
attempted to be performed or induced in violation of this [law].” (Tex. Health & Safety 
Code § 171.206.) The goal of the Texas provision is a bare attempt to insulate the law 
from constitutional challenge by eliminating causes of action directly against the people 
that seek an abortion, while holding the threat over any medical professional involved 
in the procedure, and even the person driving the pregnant person to the procedure. 

                                            
4 Whole Woman's Health v. Jackson (2021) 142 S. Ct. 522, 530. 
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Despite the craftiness, these provisions effectively deprive the person seeking an 
abortion a meaningful opportunity to obtain one.  
 
It should be noted that a recent case brought in a federal district court in California, 
Miller v. Bonta (S.D. Cal. 2021) 542 F. Supp. 3d 1009, enjoined enforcement of a number 
of the above Penal Code statutes as applied to assault weapons, finding the statutes 
unconstitutionally infringed on the Second Amendment rights of Californians. 
However, a Ninth Circuit appeals court has stayed the order and further litigation is 
ongoing. Should this bill pass out of this Committee, it will be referred to the Senate 
Public Safety Committee for a more thorough discussion on the relevant Penal Code 
provisions.  
 

4. Concerns with legitimizing the Texas model: Listening to Justice Sotomayor  
 
The clear premise of this bill is if Texas can use this clever scheme to subvert federal 
supremacy and infringe on constitutional rights its Legislature and Governor do not 
favor, then California should use it to carry out its own, constitutional policy goals. 
What’s good for the goose is good for the gander. It is certainly clear that this 
mechanism will advance the policy of the state to restrict the relevant weapons, as it has 
declared “the proliferation and use of assault weapons [and .50 BMG rifles] poses a 
threat to the health, safety, and security of all citizens of this state.” (Pen. Code § 30505.)  
 
However, there is a risk that utilizing this model only legitimizes it further, which could 
have negative ramifications across the nation. Already, Idaho has passed a law just 
weeks ago that essentially bans abortions after six weeks based on the Texas model.  
 
Beyond just simply allowing for private rights of action, the bill also includes a series of 
procedural mechanisms that are particularly problematic, and arguably raise serious 
due process concerns. 
 
For instance, as discussed, liability attaches if a person knowingly engages in conduct 
that aids or abets a violation, regardless of whether the person knew or should have known 
that the person aided or abetted would be violating this law. Many lambasted the Texas law 
for exposing too wide a swath of people to liability. Using the same language, this bill 
could also open up endless possibilities for who is vulnerable to suit, including a taxi 
driver that takes a person to a gun shop.  
 
Another provision reads:  
 

Notwithstanding any other law, any person, including an entity, attorney, 
or law firm, who seeks declaratory or injunctive relief to prevent this state, 
a political subdivision, a governmental entity or public official in this 
state, or a person in this state from enforcing any statute, ordinance, rule, 
regulation, or any other type of law that regulates or restricts firearms, in 
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any state or federal court, or that represents any litigant seeking that relief 
in any state or federal court, is jointly and severally liable to pay the 
attorney’s fees and costs of the prevailing party. 

 
This is based directly off of a provision included in the Texas law. This provision makes 
not only a party, but their attorney and law firm, jointly and severally liable to pay the 
attorneys’ fees and costs for challenging a law in this state regarding firearms in either 
federal or state court. The challenge need only fail on a single claim or cause of action 
on any basis for the liability to attach.  
 
Therefore, an attorney could properly represent a client in seeking to strike down an 
unconstitutional law, win on all but one count, and break no other statutory or 
professional duties, and be held responsible for paying the defendant’s attorney’s fees. 
In fact, even if the defendant fails to seek attorney’s fees in the underlying action or the 
court refuses to award them and finds this provision unconstitutional, this bill allows the 
defendant to bring an action within three years to hold the attorney responsible for 
those fees and costs.  
 
Again mirroring the Texas law, the bill prohibits a person, including an entity, attorney, 
or law firm, who seeks declaratory or injunctive relief in actions described above, from 
being deemed a prevailing party under this section of the bill or any other provision of 
the relevant chapter of the Code of Civil Procedure. This includes Section 1021.5, which 
authorizes an award of attorney’s fees to a successful party against one or more 
opposing parties in any action which has resulted in the enforcement of an important 
right affecting the public interest. Therefore, even if the hypothetical attorney above 
wins on every single claim and the court determines such a result furthers the public 
interest, the attorney is not eligible to seek attorneys’ fees.  
 
The bill also duplicates very unusual venue rules that leaves a great deal of discretion in 
the hands of a suing plaintiff under the bill and restricts the ability of the court or other 
party from transferring venue. This stacking of the deck is exacerbated by the provision 
that invalidates nonmutual issue preclusion and nonmutual claim preclusion as 
defenses to actions brought pursuant to this bill. This means a defendant could be sued 
repeatedly all over the state for the same conduct, despite having already succeeded in 
defending against the same claims. One device that could protect against plaintiffs 
abusing this is California’s anti-SLAPP statute. That law provides that a cause of action 
against a person arising from any act of that person in furtherance of the person’s right 
of petition or free speech under the United States Constitution or the California 
Constitution in connection with a public issue shall be subject to a special motion to 
strike. (Civ. Proc. Code § 425.16.) The Legislature asserted that the law was justified 
because “it is in the public interest to encourage continued participation in matters of 
public significance, and that this participation should not be chilled through abuse of 
the judicial process.” This bill prohibits such anti-SLAPP motions.   
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In her opinion in Whole Woman’s Health, Justice Sotomayor outlines the Texas law’s 
“numerous procedural and substantive anomalies,” which she denounces as the 
“manipulation of state-court procedures and defenses.”5 These are the same provisions 
that this bill carries over. In part, she writes: 
 

S. B. 8 also modifies state-court procedures to make litigation uniquely 
punitive for those sued. It allows defendants to be hauled into court in 
any county in which a plaintiff lives, even if that county has no 
relationship to the defendants or the abortion procedure at issue. 
§171.210(a)(4). It gives the plaintiff a veto over any venue transfer, 
regardless of the inconvenience to the defendants. §171.210(b). It prohibits 
defendants from invoking nonmutual issue or claim preclusion, meaning 
that if they prevail, they remain vulnerable to suit by any other plaintiff 
anywhere in the State for the same conduct. §171.208(e)(5). It also bars 
defendants from relying on any nonbinding court decision, such as 
persuasive precedent from other trial courts. §171.208(e)(4). Although it 
guarantees attorney’s fees and costs to prevailing plaintiffs, §171.208(b)(3), 
it categorically denies them to prevailing defendants, §171.208(i), so they 
must finance their own defenses no matter how frivolous the suits. These 
provisions are considerable departures from the norm in Texas courts and 
in most courts across the Nation. 

 
She ultimately concludes: 
 

As a whole, these provisions go beyond imposing liability on the exercise 
of a constitutional right. If enforced, they prevent providers from seeking 
effective pre-enforcement relief (in both state and federal court) while 
simultaneously depriving them of effective post-enforcement 
adjudication, potentially violating procedural due process. 

 
While the goal of repurposing the Texas law may be sound, these problematic 
provisions may not justify those ends. They insulate government action from 
meaningful challenge by creating a strong, punitive deterrent for any that try and in the 
end, may violate due process guarantees. These provisions undermine our justice 
system and the policy of the State of California.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                                            
5 Whole Woman's Health v. Jackson (2021) 142 S. Ct. 522, 546. 
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5. Stakeholder positions  
 
In a joint letter, Everytown for Gun Safety, Moms Demand Action, and Students 
Demand Action write in support: 
 

SB 1327 strengthens California gun laws by empowering individuals to 
bring civil actions against those who manufacture, distribute, transport, 
import into California, or sell dangerous and illegal assault weapons and 
ghost guns. This measure continues California’s record as a pioneer in 
commonsense gun reform and offers a new tool to combat the rise in gun 
violence and keep communities safe. 

 
Gun Owners of California write in opposition to the bill: 
 

SB 1327 would make legal gun manufacturers liable for the illegal act of 
another.  Not only is it firmly unconstitutional – given that the 2nd 
Amendment is explicitly spelled out in the Bill of Rights, but it’s also a 
clear violation of federal law. In 2005, Congress passed The Protection of 
Lawful Commerce in Arms Act specifically for this reason – to protect the 
firearm industry from lawsuits that target the actual gun rather than the 
person whose finger was on the trigger. The act does not protect anyone 
who commits a crime, only those involved in the legal commerce of a legal 
product. 
 
Just as it would be improper to sue an automobile manufacturer – or more 
to the point, the owner of a winery – for a fatal drunk driving crime after 
imbibing there, it is equally inappropriate to sue a lawful gun maker for 
engaging in lawful commerce.  The same logic would apply to the makers 
and sellers of eating utensils such as forks and spoons, because they lead 
to overeating and the possible deadly consequences of heart disease or 
diabetes.   

 
SUPPORT 

 
Governor Gavin Newsom (sponsor) 
Consumer Attorneys of California 
Everytown for Gun Safety Action Fund 
Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America 
Students Demand Action for Gun Sense in America 

 
OPPOSITION 

 
Gun Owners of California  
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RELATED LEGISLATION 
 
Pending Legislation:  
 
AB 1621 (Gipson, 2022), among other things, prohibits the sale, transfer, or possession 
of an unserialized firearm precursor part, except as specified, and explicitly prohibits 
the possession or transfer of a firearm without a serial number or mark of identification. 
This bill is currently in the Assembly Public Safety Committee.  
 
Prior Legislation:  
  

SB 118 (Committee on Budget, Ch. 29, Stats. 2020), adjusts the timeline for 
implementation of AB 879 (Gipson, Ch. 730, Stats. 2019). 
 
AB 879 (Gipson, Ch. 730, Stats. 2019) See Comment 1.  
 
AB 857 (Cooper, Ch. 60, Stats. 2016), required a person, commencing July 1, 2018, to 
apply to and obtain from the DOJ a unique serial number or other mark of identification 
prior to manufacturing or assembling a firearm. 
 

************** 


