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SUBJECT 
 

Skilled nursing facilities:  intermediate care facilities:  liability 
 

DIGEST 
 

This bill amends the damages that can be sought by a current or former resident or 
patient of a skilled nursing facility or intermediate care facility, as defined, for violation 
of the resident or patient’s rights. 
 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 
 
A “skilled nursing facility” is a health facility that provides skilled nursing care and 
supportive care to patients whose primary need is for availability of skilled nursing care 
on an extended basis. An “intermediate care facility” is defined as a health facility that 
provides inpatient care to ambulatory or nonambulatory patients who have recurring 
need for skilled nursing supervision and need supportive care, but do not require 
availability of continuous skilled nursing care.  
 
The Department of Public Health (DPH) is charged with licensing and regulating these 
facilities and is empowered to bring enforcement actions against them for civil penalties 
and other relief. The law also allows for private enforcement in certain situations. A 
current or former resident or patient of a skilled nursing facility or intermediate care 
facility (together “facilities”) may bring an action against the licensee of a facility that 
violates any rights of the resident or patient, as provided in the Patients Bill of Rights or 
in other state and federal laws and regulations. The law provides that the licensee shall 
be liable for up to $500, and for costs and attorneys’ fees. A recent state Supreme Court 
case ruled that this language sets a “$500 per lawsuit cap.” This bill provides that the 
aggrieved resident or patient is entitled to $500 for each violation of their rights. 
 
The bill is author-sponsored. It is supported by AARP and California Advocates for 
Nursing Home Reform, among others. It is opposed by the California Association of 
Health Facilities, the California Hospital Association, and other health associations.  
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PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE LAW 
 
Existing law: 
 

1) Provides for the licensure and regulation of health facilities by DPH and makes a 
violation of these licensure requirements and regulations a crime. (Health & Saf. 
Code § 1250 et seq.) 
 

2) Establishes a civil penalty structure for violations committed at these facilities, 
and categorizes violations into AA, A, or B violations: 

a)  “A” violations are violations that DPH determines presents either 
imminent danger of death or serious harm, or a substantial probability 
that death or serious harm to residents would result; 

b)  “AA” violations, which are the most severe, are violations that meet the 
criteria for a class “A” violation that DPH determines was a direct 
proximate cause of the death of a resident of an LTC facility; and 

c) “B” violations are those that DPH determines have a direct or immediate 
relationship to the health, safety, or security of LTC facility residents. 
(Health & Saf. Code § 1424.) 
 

3) Defines “skilled nursing facility” to mean a health facility that provides skilled 
nursing care and supportive care to patients whose primary need is for 
availability of skilled nursing care on an extended basis. (Health & Saf. Code § 
1250(c).)   
 

4) Defines “intermediate care facility” to mean a health facility that provides 
inpatient care to ambulatory or nonambulatory patients who have recurring 
need for skilled nursing supervision and need supportive care, but who do not 
require availability of continuous skilled nursing care. (Health & Saf. Code § 
1250(d).)  
 

5) Authorizes, except where DPH has taken action and the violations have been 
corrected, a licensee who commits a class “A” or “B” violation to be enjoined 
from permitting the violation to continue or may be sued for civil damages 
within a court of competent jurisdiction. Such an action may be prosecuted by 
the Attorney General in the name of the people of the State of California upon 
their own complaint or upon the complaint of a board, officer, person, 
corporation, or association, or by a person acting for the interests of itself, its 
members, or the general public. The amount of civil damages that may be 
recovered in an action brought pursuant to this section may not exceed the 
maximum amount of civil penalties that could be assessed on account of the 
violation or violations. (Health & Saf. Code § 1430(a).) 
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6) Authorizes a current or former resident or patient of a skilled nursing facility or 
intermediate care facility to bring a civil action against the licensee of a facility 
who violates any rights of the resident or patient as set forth in the Patients Bill of 
Rights, or any other right provided for by federal or state law or regulation. The 
licensee shall be liable for the acts of the licensee’s employees. An agreement to 
waive this right to sue is void as contrary to public policy. (Health & Saf. Code § 
1430(b).) 
 

7) Provides that the licensee in the above action shall be liable for up to $500, and 
for costs and attorney fees, and may be enjoined from permitting the violation to 
continue. (Health & Saf. Code § 1430(b).) 

 
8) Provides that the remedies specified in Section 1430 are in addition to any other 

remedy provided by law. (Health & Saf. Code § 1430(c).) 
 

9) Establishes the Patients Bill of Rights that facilities are required to abide by. 
Facilities must establish and implement written policies and procedures which 
include these rights and make a copy of these policies available to the patient, to 
any representative of the patient, and to the public upon request. These rights 
include the right:  

a) to consent to or to refuse any treatment or procedure or participation in 
experimental research; 

b) to be free from mental and physical abuse; 
c) to be assured confidential treatment of financial and health records and to 

approve or refuse their release, except as authorized by law; 
d) to be treated with consideration, respect and full recognition of dignity 

and individuality, including privacy in treatment and in care of personal 
needs; and 

e) to be free from discrimination based on sex, race, color, religion, ancestry, 
national origin, sexual orientation, disability, medical condition, marital 
status, or registered domestic partner status. (22 C.C.R. § 72527.)  

 
This bill provides that the $500 cap on statutory damages for violations of a patient or 
resident’s rights is per violation.  
 

COMMENTS 
 

1. A narrow interpretation of statutory damages available to residents and patients  
 
Section 1430(b) provides patients and residents of certain health facilities with a private 
right of action against the licensees of those facilities for violation of their rights. The 
clause at issue provides a cap of $500 on statutory damages in those private actions. 
Despite that specific clause being in statute for nearly 40 years, the California Supreme 
Court was recently tasked with interpreting its meaning.  
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The court in Jarman v. HCR ManorCare, Inc. (2020) 10 Cal. 5th 375, 381, framed the issue:   
 
The parties' disagreement centers on the phrase, “[t]he licensee shall be 
liable for up to five hundred dollars ($500).” (§ 1430(b).) The statute does 
not explain how the $500 cap is calculated. Is the cap applied to each 
violation committed, or is $500 the maximum award of statutory damages 
in each lawsuit brought? 

 
The court analyzed the history of the statute and the policy arguments put forth by the 
parties and plentiful amici curiae. The court identified a number of practical issues with 
applying the statute as a per violation cap, which together with “the lack of textual 
guidance and specificity, suggest that the Legislature did not focus on calibrating any 
monetary relief to the nature of each patient right and violation articulated in section 
1430(b).”1 The court concluded that it was “the Legislature's intent that the dollar 
amount refers to the recovery of the entire case, not per violation.”2 This holding 
severely curtailed the remedies available to aggrieved facility patients.  
 
However, the court did provide a closing thought that envisioned legislative response 
to the issue:  
 

Undoubtedly, nursing care patients comprise a particularly vulnerable 
segment of our population and deserve the highest protections against 
any abuse and substandard care. That said, we cannot and must not 
legislate by grafting onto section 1430(b) a remedy that the Legislature has 
chosen not to include. (See Cornette v. Department of Transportation [(2001)] 
26 Cal.4th [63,] 73–74 [courts “may not rewrite a statute, either by 
inserting or omitting language, to make it conform to a presumed intent 
that is not expressed”].) Instead, we look to the Legislature, which has left 
the phrase (i.e., a facility “shall be liable for up to five hundred dollars 
($500)” (§ 1430(b))) unchanged for nearly 40 years, to make any necessary 
adjustments or clarifications as it sees fit.3 

 
This bill provides that the $500 cap is per violation, not per lawsuit, abrogating the 
holding in Jarman. According to the author: “This bill restores fairness to the nursing 
home residents’ private right of action to ensure that those who harm our seniors are 
held accountable and that such action will serve as a deterrent to others.” 
 

2. Ensuring robust private enforcement 
 
In his dissent in Jarman, Justice Cuellar makes the case for the changes made by this bill: 

                                            
1 Jarman v. HCR ManorCare, Inc. (2020) 10 Cal. 5th 375, 387.  
2 Ibid.  
3 Id. at 392.  
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The Long-Term Care Act was enacted to protect the rights of nursing 
home patients, and section 1430(b) serves as one of its key remedial 
provisions. Even if one treats the language in this provision as somewhat 
ambiguous, the relevant legislative history and statutory structure are 
most consistent with the conclusion that this provision created a new 
private enforcement mechanism allowing penalties for violations to be 
imposed in the amount of up to $500 per violation in damages. Per 
violation damages support the statute's deterrent function, and other 
private and public enforcement mechanisms are not suited to fill the void 
created by the majority's decision today.4 

 
Other courts have emphasized the importance of maintaining the adequacy of the 
private enforcement mechanism in Section 1430(b): 
 

However, by enacting section 1430, subdivision (b), the Legislature 
specifically authorized skilled nursing facility residents themselves to 
bring actions to remedy violations of their rights rather than forcing them 
to depend upon the CDPH to take action. The importance of this private 
right of action is demonstrated by the Legislature's expression that “under 
no circumstances may a patient or resident waive his or her right to sue . . 
.” under section 1430, subdivision (b), “for violations of rights under the 
Patients Bill of Rights, or other federal and state laws and regulations . . .” 
. . . 
We also find it significant that when the Legislature amended section 
1430, subdivision (b) in 2004, it expanded rather than narrowed the scope 
of the legislation to allow a private right to sue for damages, not just for a 
violation of the Patient's Bill of Rights, but for a violation of “any other 
right provided for by federal or state law or regulation.” This amendment 
was due to the “concern that enforcement by CDPH would be constrained 
by financial and demographic pressures in the coming years.”5 

 
These concerns about lagging enforcement were arguably well founded. A 2018 
California State Auditor’s report investigated “the quality of care, financial practices, 
and statewide oversight of California’s skilled nursing facilities (nursing facilities).” The 
report laid out the gravity of the situation and the failures it found:  
 

Tens of thousands of elderly and disabled Californians rely on skilled 
nursing facilities (nursing facilities) to provide them 24‑hour inpatient 
care. Generally operated by private companies, nursing facilities collect 

                                            
4 Id. at 407-408. 
5 Shuts v. Covenant Holdco LLC (2012) 208 Cal. App. 4th 609, 623-624 (internal citations omitted). 
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payments for the services they provide from Medicare, Medi-Cal, private 
insurance, and patients. The importance of nursing facilities will only 
increase as the State's population ages and demand rises. Of particular 
concern, from 2006 through 2015, the number of instances in which the 
California Department of Public Health (Public Health) cited California 
nursing facilities for deficiencies related to substandard care increased by 
31 percent from a total of 445 in 2006 to 585 in 2015, while deficiencies 
associated with nursing facility noncompliance that caused or were likely 
to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment, or death to residents increased 
by 35 percent from 46 in 2006 to 62 in 2015. 
 
The State has not adequately addressed ongoing deficiencies related to the 
quality of care that nursing facilities provide. . . . Public Health in 
particular has not fulfilled many of its oversight responsibilities, which are 
meant to ensure that nursing facilities meet quality-of-care standards. . . . 
Despite the importance of this process, Public Health’s licensing decisions 
appear inconsistent because of its poorly defined review processes and 
failure to document adequately its rationale for approving or denying 
license applications. Furthermore, Public Health has not performed all of 
the state inspections of nursing facilities that it is required to perform and 
has not issued citations for facilities’ noncompliance with federal and state 
requirements in a timely manner. It has also failed to seek legislative 
actions to increase the penalties associated with those citations by the cost 
of inflation, after we recommended in 2010 that it take this action. 
Together, these oversight failures increase the risk that nursing facilities 
may not provide adequate care to some of the State’s most vulnerable 
residents.6 

 
Writing in support, a number of groups highlight this issue. AARP points out that 
despite the increase in deficiencies revealed by the audit, “the net income for three of 
the largest nursing home companies in California increased significantly during the 
same period. In 2006, none of those companies’ net income exceeded $10 million; in 
2015, their net incomes ranged between $35 million and $54 million.” It writes: 
 

The COVID-19 pandemic has painfully exposed the general inadequacy of the 
care provided to residents of nursing homes in the United States, and therefore 
the urgent need for reform. According to the Kaiser Family Foundation, as of 
April 6, 2021, there have been 12,983 COVID-19-related deaths of residents and 
staff in California long-term care facilities – representing an unimaginable 23 
percent of COVID-19-related deaths in the state. . . . 

 

                                            
6 Skilled Nursing Facilities: Absent Effective State Oversight, Substandard Quality of Care Has Continued, Report 
2017‑109 (May 2018) California State Auditor, https://www.bsa.ca.gov/pdfs/reports/2017-109.pdf.  

https://www.bsa.ca.gov/pdfs/reports/2017-109.pdf
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When families make the very important decision to admit a loved one into a 
nursing home, they should have confidence that their parent, grandparent, 
partner, or sibling is safe and will receive the quality of care they deserve. 
Nursing homes (SNFs) are often a crucial last resort for older adults who have 
disabilities or chronic illnesses. However, gaps in laws that regulate nursing 
homes have led to deficiencies and abuses that have jeopardized this vulnerable 
population. 

 
California Advocates for Nursing Home Reform (CANHR) also highlight the issues at 
play and the importance of a robust private enforcement mechanism for residents:  

 
Nursing homes have historically been institutions with a great imbalance 
of power between owners and residents. This imbalance has led to 
extensive, well-documented abuse and neglect of residents. In response to 
these problems, the federal and state governments have created a 
comprehensive system of regulatory standards of care and resident 
protections. However, these rules must be accompanied by meaningful 
enforcement or else they will be disregarded. Section 1430(b) was meant to 
give residents a tool for supplementing the grossly inadequate 
enforcement provided by the California Department of Public Health 
(“DPH”). 

 
CANHR argues the law post-Jarman is not up to the task: “Limiting the victims of rights 
violations to $500 total undermines 1430(b)’s purpose to deter wrongful conduct and 
prevents residents from being made whole.” Capping Section 1430(b) damage awards 
to $500 is arguably inadequate to cover the array of circumstances that residents and 
patients may face and strips judges and juries from using their discretion to arrive at a 
just result. For instance, even a plaintiff proving their case against the most egregious 
licensee, violating every right in the Patients Bill of Rights, will not be entitled to more 
than $500 in damages in a Section 1430(b) action – basically the same penalty for 
running a red light.  
 

3. Opposition  
 
A coalition of groups in opposition, including the California Association of Health 
Facilities, the California Hospital Association, and the California Chamber of 
Commerce, assert a number of issues with the bill.  
 
First they argue that this is “a strict liability law which means there is no requirement of 
intent, negligence, causation or harm by the defendant.” They assert that the “large 
majority of violations that make up the basis of lawsuits against skilled nursing facilities 
under 1430(b) are administrative.”  
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The opposition also argues that this will raise insurance costs and could “destroy what 
is left of the liability insurance market for these facilities.” The opposition then asserts 
that the bill will produce “extortionate demands,” which will lead to devastating 
outcomes: “Skilled nursing facilities and other health care settings and providers 
provide critical access to health care in the state. It is unwise to promote legislation that 
could lead to facilities filing for bankruptcy or closing facilities.” 
 
The coalition offers amendments that raise the cap to $2000 for residents and patients, 
but maintain the per-action application and impose heightened standards on plaintiffs 
for establishing liability.  
 
It should be noted that the bill maintains that the damages for each violation are “up to” 
the $500 cap and the factfinder will make the ultimate determination of what is a 
reasonable award for each respective violation. The practical operation of the statute 
with a $500 per violation award was explained by Justice Cuellar in his Jarman dissent: 
 

Legislators who supported the Long-Term Care Act, of course, may have 
sought to place some limitation on private lawsuits to protect against fears 
of open-ended liability. A cap of $500 per violation is well suited to this 
purpose, and may reflect a judgment that this limit is high enough to 
protect patient rights and provide recourse when rights are violated, but 
low enough to create some limitation on liability. By creating a cap with 
no floor, the Legislature might reasonably have been relying on juries to 
rightsize damages to account for how serious or minor a specific violation 
was.7 

 
Given the discussion by the courts, more guidance from the Legislature on how these 
awards should be “rightsized” may be beneficial. This would ensure that more minor 
infractions are treated as such when determining the level of damages, but provides the 
clarity that more serious violations should be met with more serious penalties. In 
response, the author has agreed to the following amendments that provide guidance for 
assessing the appropriate amount of damages “to account for how serious or minor a 
specific violation was”:  
 

Amendment  
 
Add the following provision:  
 
“In assessing the amount of the statutory damages, the following factors may be 
considered: 

(1) The nature and seriousness of each and every violation; 

                                            
7 Jarman, 10 Cal. 5th at 399. 
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(2) The likelihood and severity of the risk that each and every violation 
would cause a resident to suffer indignity, discomfort, or pain; and 
(3) The efforts made by the facility to prevent each and every violation 
from occurring or to prevent future violations.” 

 
SUPPORT 

 
AARP 
California Advocates for Nursing Home Reform 
California Commission on Aging 
California Continuing Care Residents Association 
California Elder Justice Coalition  
California Long-Term Care Ombudsman Association 
California Retired Teachers Association 
California Women's Law Center 
Consumer Attorneys of California 
Consumer Federation of California 
Essential Caregivers Coalition 
Grace Care Management 
Gray Panthers of San Francisco 
Humboldt Del Norte Long Term Care Ombudsman Program 
Justice in Aging 
Law Offices of Daniel Murphy 
Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman 
Ombudsman Services of San Mateo County 
Schneberg Law 
SEIU California 
The Geriatric Circle 
 

OPPOSITION 
 
Association of California Healthcare Districts  
California Association of Health Facilities 
California Chamber of Commerce 
California Hospital Association 
California Medical Association 
LeadingAge California 
The Doctors Company 
 

RELATED LEGISLATION 
 
Pending Legislation: AB 323 (Kalra, 2021) redefines a class “AA” violation as a class 
“A” violation that the department determines to have been a substantial factor, as 
described, in the death of a resident of a long-term health care facility. The bill would 
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increase the civil penalties for a class “A,” “AA,” or “B” violation by a skilled nursing 
facility or intermediate care facility, as specified. The bill would delete numerous 
references to the “patients” of a long-term health care facility. This bill is currently in 
the Senate Health Committee.  
 
Prior Legislation:  
 
AB 2791 (Simitian, Ch. 270, Stats. 2004) expanded the predicate offenses for an action 
pursuant to Section 1430(b) to include a violation of any right provided for by federal or 
state law or regulation. 
 
AB 1160 (Shelley, 1999) would have amended the damages award in Section 1430(b) to 
create a floor of $1,000 and a cap of $2,500 depending upon the severity of the violation. 
The bill was vetoed by Governor Gray Davis.   
 

PRIOR VOTES: 
 

Assembly Floor (Ayes 51, Noes 14) 
Assembly Judiciary Committee (Ayes 8, Noes 3) 
 

************** 


