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LEGISLATIVE MEASURES 

AUTOMOTIVE 

BILLS SIGNED INTO LAW 

 
SB 251 (Calderon) Chapter 369, Statutes of 2013 

 

Until January 1, 2019, authorizes an insurer, with the consent of the policyholder, to transmit 

electronically offers of renewal for workers’ compensation, personal auto, real and personal 

property, and liability insurance policies; notices of conditional renewal for commercial 

insurance policies; and offers of renewal and certain disclosures related to earthquake insurance.  

Requires the insurer to comply with the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act, provide specified 

disclosures, monitor transmission of documents and follow contingent procedures if the insurer 

receives information that a document was not received, and comply with additional procedures 

and standards.  Requires the Insurance Commissioner to submit a report by January 1, 2018, to 

the Governor and specified legislative committees regarding electronic transmission. 

 

SB 1273 (Lara) Chapter 487, Statutes of 2014 

 

Extends, until January 1, 2020, the sunset date on the low-cost automobile insurance program 

(LCAP); expands eligibility criteria to include drivers with less than three years of continuous 

driving experience and assesses a surcharge on those drivers, and makes other changes designed 

to increase LCAP participation; and revises the duties of the Insurance Commissioner and the 

California Automobile Assigned Risk Program Advisory Committee related to the administration 

of the program. 

 

AB 1804 (Perea) Chapter 380, Statutes of 2014 

 

As of January 1, 2016, provides that policyholders of private passenger automobile, owner-

occupied homeowners', and individual disability income insurance policies are entitled to 

designate a third-party who will be sent a notice if the policy is about to lapse for nonpayment of 

premium. 

 

AB 2293 (Bonilla) Chapter 389, Statutes of 2014 

 

Subjects a transportation network company (TNC) to the Passenger Charter-party Carriers’ Act, 

defines terms related to TNCs, makes findings and declarations, and imposes other regulations 

and standards.  As of July 1, 2015, requires a TNC to carry liability insurance at levels specific to 

circumstances that occur while a participating drivers is connected to a TNC system, including 

(1)  primary coverage with a combined single limit of $1 million dollars once a passenger is 

matched to a driver and (2) primary coverage with a split limit of $50,000 per person, $100,000 

per incident, and $50,000 for property damage, along with $200,000 excess coverage while the 

driver is logged on to the system but not matched with a passenger; requires $1 million dollars of 
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uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage while a passenger is in the vehicle; permits a TNC 

to satisfy the insurance requirements with policies obtained by the TNC, the driver, or a 

combination of both; prohibits a personal automobile insurance policy from providing coverage 

while the participating driver is connected to the TNC online system or delivering a passenger; 

requires the TNC to makes specified disclosures to TNC drivers regarding insurance coverage; 

and authorizes a personal automobile insurer to offer coverage for TNC activities.  Requires the 

Public Utilities Commission and the California Department of Insurance to collaborate on a 

study on insurance requirements appropriate to TNC activities and report their findings to the 

Legislature on December 31, 2017. 

BILLS NOT SENT TO THE GOVERNOR 
 

AB 612 (Nazarian) Held in Assembly Committee on Transportation 

 

Would have required charter-party carriers, including transportation network companies (TNC), 

to participate in the Department of Motor Vehicles Employer Pull Notice system and submit all 

drivers to a Department of Justice criminal background check.  Pre-hearing author’s amendments 

removed provisions that would have subjected TNCs to the same insurance requirements as other 

charter-party carriers and required TNCs to disclose issues related to insurance coverage; 

withdrawn and re-referred without a hearing by the Insurance Committee.   

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 

BILLS SIGNED INTO LAW 
 

SB 251 (Calderon) Chapter 369, Statutes of 2013 

 

Until January 1, 2019, authorizes an insurer, with the consent of the policyholder, to transmit 

electronically offers of renewal for workers’ compensation, personal auto, real and personal 

property, and liability insurance policies; notices of conditional renewal for commercial 

insurance policies; and offers of renewal and certain disclosures related to earthquake insurance.  

Requires the insurer to comply with the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act, provide specified 

disclosures, monitor transmission of documents and follow contingent procedures if the insurer 

receives information that a document was not received, and comply with additional procedures 

and standards.  Requires the Insurance Commissioner to submit a report by January 1, 2018, to 

the Governor and specified legislative committees regarding electronic transmission. 

 

AB 1394 (Committee on Insurance) Chapter 309, Statutes of 2013 

 

Authorizes the board of directors of the State Compensation Insurance Fund to appoint a chief 

medical officer, chief actuarial officer, chief claims operations officer, and chief of internal 

affairs, and makes those positions subject to the Milton Marks Postgovernment Employment 

Restrictions Act of 1990. 
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BILLS VETOED 
 

SB 36 (Hueso)   

 

Would have required the California Department of Insurance to establish a dedicated webpage 

that includes data, statistics, and reports related to workers’ compensation insurers.   

BILLS NOT SENT TO THE GOVERNOR 
 

SB 487 (Calderon)  Held in Senate Insurance Committee 

 

Would have created the Self-Insured Group Security Fund to guarantee payment of workers’ 

compensation obligations of insolvent self-insured groups. 

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

BILLS SIGNED INTO LAW 
 

SB 476 (Steinberg) Chapter 347, Statutes of 2013 

 

Eliminates the sunset dates for the Auto Consumer Assessment, Organized Automobile Fraud 

Activity Interdiction Assessment and the Life and Annuity Consumer Protection Fund that fund 

fraud investigation and enforcement actions through the California Department of Insurance and 

local district attorneys.  Lowers the maximum assessment of the Auto Consumer Assessment to 

25 cents per policy and expands application of the Life and Annuity Consumer Protection Fund 

to include life insurance and annuity products valued at less than $15,000. Also requires the 

Insurance Commissioner to include in the annual report information pertaining to complaints and 

enforcement actions related to automobile insurance. 

 

SB 1142 (Monning) Chapter 251, Statutes of 2014 

 

Clarifies that the annual disability fraud fee collected by the California Department of Insurance 

to fund the investigation and prosecution of disability fraud applies to each resident in California 

covered by an individual or group policy regardless of the situs of the contract or the location of 

the master policy holder, and  that the disability fraud fee applies to blanket insurance policies 

regardless of whether an individual certificate of coverage is issued to each covered person under 

the policy. 

 

AB 584 (Perea) Chapter 238, Statutes of 2013 

 

As of January 1, 2015, requires insurers with annual premiums greater than $500 million and 

insurance groups with annual premiums greater than $1 billion to maintain a comprehensive risk 

management framework to identify, assess, and manage material and relevant risks.  Also 

requires the qualifying insurer or insurance group to file an Own Risk and Solvency Assessment 
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report annually detailing the risks identified and the sufficiency of its capital to support the risks. 

 

AB 1234 (Levine) Chapter 448, Statutes of 2014 

 

Excludes information and documents provided to the Insurance Commissioner pursuant to the 

Insurance Holding Company System Regulatory Act from the civil discovery process and 

prohibits admission of that information and materials as evidence in private civil actions. 

 

AB 1391 (Committee on Insurance) Chapter 321, Statutes of 2013 

 

Contains numerous technical and noncontroversial provisions related to insurance law. 

 

AB 1395 (Perea) Chapter 407, Statutes of 2014 

 

Increases the special purpose assessment on each auto insurance policy to fund consumer 

protection activities at the California Department of Insurance from $0.25 to $0.26; and provides 

that an insurer is not required to refund any portion of the annual Seismic Safety Account special 

assessment collected on a residential or commercial property insurance policy because the policy 

is cancelled prior to the end of the policy term. 

 

AB 2128 (Gordon) Chapter 384, Statutes of 2014 

 

Extends the sunset date on the California Organized Investment Network (COIN) program 

within the California Department of Insurance (CDI) to January 1, 2020; raises the threshold for 

insurers required to report all community development investments,  community development 

infrastructure investments, and green investments to only those with annual written premiums of 

$100,000,000 or more, and requires those insurers to report that information to COIN by July 1, 

2016; eliminates the biennial review of community development investment policy statements;  

and revises the terms of the advisory board members and lowers the number of mandatory 

meetings of the board to three. By December 31, 2016, requires the Insurance Commissioner to 

provide additional information on CDI’s website related to the program’s efforts to analyze use 

the data for the purpose of creating and identifying potential investment opportunities. 

 

AB 2734 (Committee on Insurance) Chapter 362, Statutes of 2014 

 

Contains numerous technical and noncontroversial provisions related to insurance law. 

 

BILLS NOT SENT TO THE GOVERNOR 
 

SB 1331 (GAINES) Failed Passage in Senate Insurance Committee 

 

Would have eliminated advocacy and witness fees for intervenors who make a “substantial 

contribution” to the adoption of any order, regulation, or decision by the Insurance 

Commissioner as provided under the Insurance Rate Reduction and Reform Act (enacted by 

Proposition 103, 1988 statewide general election), including the rate review process. 
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SB 1173 (Gaines) Failed Passage in Senate Insurance Committee 

 

Would have required the Insurance Commissioner to automatically accept rate decrease 

applications filed by insurers without review or hearing.   

HOMEOWNERS/PROPERTY/ 

CALIFORNIA EARTHQUAKE AUTHORITY 

BILLS SIGNED INTO LAW 

 
SB 251 (Calderon) Chapter 369, Statutes of 2013 

 

Until January 1, 2019, authorizes an insurer, with the consent of the policyholder, to transmit 

electronically offers of renewal for workers’ compensation, personal auto, real and personal 

property, and liability insurance policies; notices of conditional renewal for commercial 

insurance policies; and offers of renewal and certain disclosures related to earthquake insurance.  

Requires the insurer to comply with the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act, provide specified 

disclosures, monitor transmission of documents and follow contingent procedures if the insurer 

receives information that a document was not received, and comply with additional procedures 

and standards.  Requires the Insurance Commissioner to submit a report by January 1, 2018, to 

the Governor and specified legislative committees regarding electronic transmission. 

 

SB 1205 (Monning) Chapter 252, Statutes of 2014 

 

Requires the California Department of Insurance curriculum board to develop or recommend 

course of study on commercial earthquake risk management, including courses relating to 

understanding risk zones, options for insurance coverage to cover potential loss, mitigation 

strategies, and post-event recovery to ensure insurance agents and brokers have access to training 

on the complex issues of commercial earthquake insurance and mitigation. 

 

AB 1804 (Perea) Chapter 380, Statutes of 2014 

 

As of January 1, 2016, provides that policyholders of private passenger automobile, owner-

occupied homeowners', and individual disability income insurance policies are entitled to 

designate a third-party who will be sent a notice if the policy is about to lapse for nonpayment of 

premium. 

 

AB 2064 (Cooley) Chapter 419, Statutes of 2014 

 

Revises the statutory notice requirements relating to the mandatory offer of earthquake insurance 

to make it more consumer friendly; revises the mandatory notice to California Earthquake 

Authority (CEA) policyholders; increases the cap on CEA operating expenses from 3% to 6% 

and includes all expenses in that cap except those expenditures specifically excluded, as 



 

8 

 

specified; changes CEA loss assessment coverage for condominiums from mandatory to 

optional; and requires CEA participating insurers to send CEA marketing materials to 

homeowners’ insurance policyholders at least once a year. 

 

AB 2735 (Committee on Insurance) Chapter 427, Statutes of 2014 

 

Provides that if an insurer issues an earthquake insurance policy not meeting the minimum 

statutory requirements that is approved by the Insurance Commissioner, no further offer of 

earthquake coverage meeting the minimum offer requirements and no notice of non-coverage is 

required if a renewal of the earthquake policy is offered and written notice is provided regarding 

the availability of additional coverage that meets the minimum statutory offer requirements.  

LIFE AND DISABILITY 

BILLS SIGNED INTO LAW 
 

SB 281 (Calderon) Chapter 345, Statutes of 2013 

 

Establishes standards for, and authorizes the sale of, life insurance policies with “accelerated 

death benefits,” subject to the approval of the Insurance Commissioner, that grant the policy 

owner access to all or a portion of the death benefit when the insured experiences a catastrophic 

or chronic illness; prohibits insurers from marketing policies with accelerated death benefits as 

long-term care insurance; establishes mechanisms to discourage the unnecessary replacement of 

a long-term care insurance policy with an accelerated death benefit policy; authorizes the 

Insurance Commissioner to disapprove any advertising that does not meet specified 

requirements; and subjects insures that violate applicable provisions to administrative penalties. 

 

AB 402 (Ammiano) Chapter 550, Statutes of 2013 
 

Requires disability income insurance policies to cover a disability caused by severe mental 

illness. 

 

AB 1804 (Perea) Chapter 380, Statutes of 2014 

 

Provides that policyholders of private passenger automobile, owner-occupied homeowners', and 

individual disability income insurance policies are entitled to designate a third-party who will be 

sent a notice if the policy is about to lapse for nonpayment of premium. 

 

AB 2279 (Hagman) Chapter 108, Statutes of 2014 

 

Increases the coverage amount that can be sold by limited-license life insurance agents for 

benefits designated to be used to cover funeral expenses from $15,000 to $20,000. 
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AB 2347 (Gonzalez) Chapter 166, Statutes of 2014 
 

Adds immediate annuities to the requirement that life insurance policies and annuity contracts 

delivered or issued to a senior citizen include a notice of the right to return or cancel the policy 

or contract within 30 days for a full refund;  clarifies that the 30 day free look period applies to 

group life insurance policies; requires the notice of the 30 day right to return, and any surrender 

charges or penalties, to be in 12 point bold print on the policy jacket or cover page; and makes 

other technical and clarifying changes to life insurance policies and annuity contracts. 

 

AB 2578 (Dababneh) Chapter 360, Statutes of 2014 
 

Adds a condition or loss caused or substantially contributed to by engaging in civil aviation, 

other than as a fare paying passenger, to the list of allowable exclusions for supplemental or 

accelerated death benefits in a life insurance policy; requires the insurer to provide the 

policyholder a report no less than one month after payment of any accelerated death benefits; and 

makes other technical and clarifying changes. 

 

AB 2733 (Committee on Insurance) Chapter 150, Statutes of 2014 
 

Repeals the sunset clause on the small business third-party administrator program for voluntary 

disability programs (VDPs), streamlines the administration of multiple VDPs, and shifts 

financial security obligations from the employer to the administrator. 

 

BILLS NOT SENT TO THE GOVERNOR 
 

SB 214 (Calderon)  Held in Senate Insurance Committee 

 

Would have authorized life settlement agreements specially designed to fund qualified long-term 

care services. 

 

MISCELLANEOUS 

BILLS SIGNED INTO LAW 
 

SB 1011 (Monning) Chapter 556, Statutes of 2014 

 

Authorizes certain 501(c)(3) nonprofit organizations to insure themselves against damage to 

property and the losses related to the loss of use of property through a risk pool arrangement 

(“nonprofit risk pool”) so long as they meet specified criteria; requires all nonprofit risk pools to 

be organized as public benefit corporations; and, after January 1, 2016, requires all nonprofit risk 

pools to notify members and applicants that the risk pooling contract is not subject to all of the 

California insurance laws and is not subject to regulation by the Insurance Commissioner. 
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AB 1130 (Wilk) Chapter 324, Statutes of 2014 

 

Streamlines the application process required of out-of-state applicants for a home protection 

company license, eliminates a quarterly financial reporting requirement, and limits the number of 

financial examinations by the Insurance Commissioner to one every five years unless the 

commissioner finds that the financial condition of the company warrants an interim exam. 

 

AB 1236 (Hagman) Chapter 114, Statutes of 2013 

 

Authorizes a licensed contractor organized as a limited liability company to obtain statutorily 

required liability insurance from a nonadmitted insurer through a surplus line broker. 

 

AB 2056 (Dababneh) Chapter 896, Statutes of 2014 

 

Defines “pet insurance” and other terms frequently used in pet insurance policies; requires an 

insurer offering pet insurance to provide disclosure and a summary of exclusions from, and 

limitations on, coverage and benefits; imposes a 30-day “free look” period; and specifies 

procedures and penalties relating to violations of these requirements. 

 

AB 2230 (Cooley) Chapter 76, Statutes of 2014 

 

Allows the California Insurance Guarantee Association (CIGA), beginning January 1, 2015, to 

levy an assessment up to 2% of direct written premiums on insurers, unless there are outstanding 

bonds being used to pay claims and expenses, in which case the assessment could not exceed 1% 

for that category; simplifies the “true-up” process and allow credit and debits due individual 

insurers for over or under payments on bond assessments to be applied against regular CIGA 

assessments.   

 

AB 2731 (Perea) Chapter 743, Statutes of 2014 

 

As heard by this committee, AB 2731 was authored by the Assembly Insurance Committee and 

would have clarified reporting requirements for various reports related to insurance that must be 

submitted to the Legislature. The bill was subsequently amended to change the author, remove 

the insurance provisions, and instead clarify the action that Fresno County must take in order to 

defer the county’s 2010 transportation maintenance of effort payment until 2020. 

BILLS NOT SENT TO THE GOVERNOR 
 

SB 1065 (Monning) Died on Assembly Inactive File 

 

Would have provided that reports required by the Insurance Code that are submitted to 

committees of the Legislature be submitted to the Legislative Counsel, authorized specified 

reports to be submitted electronically, and established standards and procedures for electronic 

submission. 
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INFORMATIONAL HEARINGS 

 
March 26, 2014:  “California Earthquake Preparedness:   Risks to Businesses and the Economy” 

 
This hearing examined the risks faced by businesses, the workers’ compensation system, and state 

and local governments whose revenue would be affected by a prolonged interruption of economic 

activity as a result of a major earthquake; heard from the insurance industry on the state of the 

commercial earthquake insurance market; examined how prepared California businesses are for a 

major earthquake; and sought to determine what can be done to maximize the level of insured risk 

prior to a major earthquake event. 

 

There hasn’t been a major earthquake event since the Northridge earthquake in 1994, but 

California is almost certain to experience a similar disaster, or worse, in the next 30 years.  While 

more than 30% of homeowners had earthquake coverage in 1994, it is now significantly more 

expensive and today only about 11% do.  Only 8.3% of businesses today have earthquake 

coverage, according to the California Department of Insurance.  Those numbers may be higher in 

the highest risk areas.   

 

Insurance is the primary mechanism to spread losses and rapidly pay defined amounts for the 

repair of earthquake damage. It is essential for the economic recovery of individuals, families, 

businesses and communities. To date, the private market has shown little interest in taking on 

more natural catastrophe exposure for residential or commercial risks. High premiums and big 

deductibles discourage most property or business owners from voluntarily purchasing such 

coverage.   

 

May 14, 2014:  “Catastrophic Risk in California:   Are Homeowners and Communities 

Prepared?” 

 

This hearing examined the current state of the residential insurance market and whether 

homeowners are adequately insured against catastrophic risk, including earthquake and the threat 

of major fires. The Committee examined options to increase insurance and pre-event mitigation, 

and whether there is more the Legislature could or should be doing to increase community 

readiness and preparedness for a major earthquake or massive fire. 

 

A major earthquake in the San Francisco Bay Area or in southern California could have an even 

greater impact on communities than Hurricane Katrina had in Louisiana and Mississippi.  

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics Monthly Labor Review in 2007, the exposures in 

Alameda County from a magnitude-6.9 earthquake on the Hayward Fault would be much greater 

than Katrina—the country’s worst natural disaster in history. 

 

There hasn’t been major earthquake event since the Northridge earthquake in 1994 precipitated a 

homeowners’ insurance availability crisis, but California is almost certain to experience a similar 

disaster, or worse, in the next 30 years. 

 

California is facing record drought conditions at the same time that residential areas are 
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expanding into traditionally high risk fire areas. The chances of a major fire that damages or 

destroys large numbers of homes, or whole communities is growing at the same time that some 

insurers are exiting the homeowners’ insurance market for such high risk properties. 

 

Insurance is the primary mechanism to spread losses and rapidly pay defined amounts for the 

repair of earthquake or fire damage. It is essential for the economic recovery of individuals, 

families, businesses and communities. Unless property or business owners take action before a 

disaster to protect themselves by mitigating or transferring some of the risk, they--or as many hope, 

the government--will bear the cost of such catastrophic losses. The overwhelming federal disaster 

relief effort after Hurricanes Katrina and Sandy reinforced the expectation that the federal 

government is the de facto “insurer” of last resort for mega catastrophes. 

 


