President

John Stanskas San Bernardino Valley College

Vice President Dolores Davison Foothill College

Secretary

Cheryl Aschenbach Lassen College

Treasurer

Virginia "Ginni" May Sacramento City College

Area A Representative Geoffrey Dyer Taft College

Area B Representative Mayra Cruz DeAnza College

**Area C Representative** Michelle Bean Rio Hondo College

Area D Representative LaTonya Parker Moreno Valley College

North Representative Carrie Roberson Butte College

North Representative Stephanie Curry Reedley College

South Representative Sam Foster Fullerton College

**South Representative** Anna Bruzzese Los Angeles Pierce College

Representative at Large Silvester Henderson Los Medanos College

Representative at Large Nathaniel Donahue Santa Monica College

Executive Director Krystinne Mica February 10, 2020

California Community Colleges Board of Governors 1102 Q Street Sacramento, CA 95811

## Subject: Academic Senate for California Community Colleges Response to Nonduplication Analysis

Dear President Epstein and Members of the Board:

The Chancellor's Office January 10, 2020 nonduplication analysis does not address the ASCCC's primary assertion in our October 7, 2019 letter to the Legislature: All three of the programs that Calbright is offering, per the California Code of Regulations Title 5 §55000(m) definition of program, are already offered by existing, accredited California Community Colleges. The programs are duplicative in content, which is a direct violation of California Education Code §75001(d)(1). In some respects, as the Chancellor's Office January 10 memorandum grants, even the method of delivery that Calbright has employed is duplicative of existing methods of delivery within our system, which also contradicts the guidance provided by the Legislature in California Education Code §75001(f)(1).

Despite the Chancellor's Office's detailed explanation of some subtle differences in method of delivery, those minor differences in delivery do not fundamentally or significantly change the instruction or the programs. The fact remains that the programs themselves are already offered at existing California Community Colleges. The \$100 million-dollar enterprise has greater resources to explore, given how its funding differs from that of the rest of the system. Calbright's choice to move forward with the three programs places Calbright in a position of unfair competition with other colleges in the California Community Colleges system, which are still required to abide by existing regulation and statute.

Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any questions.

Respectfully,

John Stanskas, President

Cc: Honorable Anthony Rendon, Speaker of the Assembly
Honorable Jose Medina, Chair, Assembly Higher Education Committee
Honorable Toni Atkins, Senate President Pro Tempore
Honorable Holly Mitchell, Chair, Senate Budget Committee
Honorable Connie Leyva, Chair, Senate Education Committee
Honorable Phil Ting, Chair, Assembly Budget Committee
Joey Freeman, Chief Deputy Legislative Affairs Secretary for Policy
Chris Ferguson, Department of Finance
Paul Steenhausen, Legislative Analyst's Office
Monica Henestroza, Special Assistant to Assemblymember Rendon

Jeanice Warden, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Higher Education

February 10, 2020

**Subject: Academic Senate for California Community Colleges Response to Nonduplication Analysis** Page Two

Megan Baier, Educational Consultant, Senator Atkins
Olgalilia Ramirez, Consultant, Senate Committee on Education
Anita Lee, Consultant, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee
Mark Martin, Consultant for the Budget Committee on Higher Education
Eloy Ortiz Oakley, Chancellor, California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office
Marty Alvarado, Executive Vice Chancellor, California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office
Marc LeForestier, General Counsel, California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office
Laura Metune, Vice Chancellor of Government Relations, California Community Colleges Chancellor's
Office