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.Bill No: SJR 1 . Hearing Date: March 24, 2021
Author: Allen ‘ ~ ‘
Version: February 18, 2021
Urgency: ' Fiscal: No
Consultant: Olgalilia Ramirez

Subject: Student loan debt

SUMMARY

This measure urges the President of the United States (U.S.) to protect student loan

-borrowers by taking executive action to cancel $50,000 of student loan debt per

borrower.

BACKGROUND

Existing federal law provides for student loans through the William D. Ford Federal
Direct Loan Program, administered by the Federal Student Aid Office within the U.S.
Department of Education (USDE). These include:

1)

- 2)

3)

4)

Direct Subsidized Loans: These are needs-based loans that cover the difference
between a student's.resources and the cost of attending a college or university,
the amount of loan is dependent on the level of need, dependent status, and year
in college. The federal government pays the interest while the student is
attending the college or university and subsndlzes the lnlerest throughout the life
of the loan.’ ' :

'.Direct Unsubsidized Loans: Not based on financial need, these loans generally

cover the difference between other financial aid received and the total cost of -
attending college. Loans are made to eligible undergraduate, graduate, and
professional students. The student is responsible for paying the interest during all
periods. Federal government sets the interest rates and fees.

_Parent Loans for Undergraduate Students (PLUS) are available to creditworthy

parents of dependent students. These are not need-based and are federally

~guaranteed. In addition, these types of loans have been expanded for graduate

or professional degree students. The borrower is responsible for paying the
interest on PLUS loans during all periods, starting from the date the loan is first
disbursed. o

Direct Consolidation Loans allow for consolidation of multlple federal educatlon -

Ioan into one loan Wlth a flxed mterest rate at no cost.

ANALYSIS
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This measure:

1) Resolves that the Senate and the Assembly of the State of California, jointly,
urge the President of the U.S. to protect student loan borrowers by taking
executive action to cancel $50,000 of student loan debt per borrower.

2) ~ Makes a number of findings related to student loan debt including: ~

a)

b)

h)

)

The U.S. is facing historic public health and’'economic crises
caused by the COVID- 19 pandemic.

Student loan debt in the U.8. has increase more than 100 percent

- over the last 10 years.

The Federal Reserve estimates that in 2020, over 45 million people owed
more than $1.7 trillion in student loans up from $845 billion 2010.

The USDE reports that as of June 2020 roughly one in five borrowers with

federal student loans were in default

More than 3 mllllon Calrforma borrowers owe $147 billion in- student loan

“debt.

The average California borrower owes $38,530 in student loans, and over -
500,000 California borrowers are behind on their student loan payments.

The increasing cost of higher education'has created an unprecedented
financial burden that represents a major drag on the economy, and has’
caused a generation to postpone traditional life milestones.

In 2019, the Assembly announced a new Select Committee on Student
Debt, making California the first state in the nation to create a legislative
committee focused on the problems facing millions of borrowers struggling
under historic student debt. -

In March 2020, the federal Coronavirus Aid, Féélief, and Economic Security
(CARES) Act put into place a pause on federal student loan payments and
interest, whioh has since been extended through September 2021. -

Democrats in the U.S. House of Representative and U.S. Senate have
introduced resolutions urging President Biden to broadly forgive up to
$50,000 of federal student debt per borrower through executive action.

STAFF COMMENTS

1) Need for this measure. According to the author, “In California alone, over more
than 3 million California borrowers owe $147 billion in student loan debt, and the
average California borrower owes $38,530 in student loans. Over 500,000

California borrowers are behind on their student loan payments. These debts not
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2)

only limit people’s ability to participate in the economy,' but they also set folks
behind on investing in their future. This-kind of debt has been’shown to lead to
increased stress and has a toll on mental health.

“Though there is currently a federal tax deduction for interest paid on student
loan debt, there is little relief for those struggling with high student loan debt.
While California mirrors this federal deduction, there are no forms of relief for
those with high student loan debt in the state.”

Student loan debt. According’to The Institute for College Access and Success

" (TICAS) and its Project on Student Debt, 62 percent of seniors who graduated

from public and private nonprofit colleges in 2019 had student loan debt, with an
average nationally of $28,950 per borrower. TICAS reports that the share of
graduates with debt declined very slightly (less than 1%) from the 2018 average
of 29,200. TICAS also reports that average debt in California is $21,485 at public
and private non-profit colleges and that about 47 percent of students graduate
with debt, ranking California fourth lowest nationally. For-profit colleges aré not
included in the state averages because few of these colleges report relevant debt
data. The report notes, although student loan debt is slowing, the public health
crisis has already reshaped the higher education landscape in important ways .
and has placed profound financial pressures on states, colleges, and students
that could already be making college less affordable and mcrease reliance on

student debt

Existing loan forgiveness programs. The USDE provides a variety of student. -
loan forgiveness programs. These include the following:

a)

d)

‘The Public Setvice Loan Forgiveness (PSLF) Program forgives the

remaining balance on Direct Loans after a student makes 120 qualifying
monthly payments under a qualifying repayment plan while working full- -
time for a qualifying employer. A qualifying employer can include
Government organizations at any level (federal, state, local, or tribal), tax-
exempt Section 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organizations and other types of
not-for-profit organizations that provide certain types of qualifying public
services. Serving in a full-time AmeriCorps or Peace Corps posmon also
counts as qualifying employment for the PSLF Program.

Temporary Expanded Public Service Loan Forgiveness. The program
allows a borrower to seek reconsideration for loan forgiveness, if a PSLF
application was denied due to some or all of the payments not made on a
qualifying repayment plan for PSLF.

Teacher Loan Forgiveness. A loan recipient can qualify for as much as

- $17,500 of subsidized or unsubsidized loan forgiveness for teaching full-

time in a low-income elementary or secondary school or educational
service agency for five consecutive years.

Closed School Discharge: Discharges federal student floans for students
whose school closes while enrolled or soon after withdrawing from the
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school. Eligible borrowers are eligible for a 100 percent dischargelof
subsidized and unsubsidized federal loans.

This measure additionally urges the cancelation of $50,000 of student loan debt
per borrower. ) : ~ ‘

- SUPPORT

California Faculty Aésociation
OPPOSITION

None received.

-~ END --
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Bill No: SB 785 - Hearing Date: . March 24, 2021
Author: Glazer . :

Version: February 19, 2021 _

Urgency: No . " Fiscal: ~ Yes
Consultant:  Olgalilia Ramirez

Subject: Public pdstse‘condary education: California Promise program: California
-State University students :

SUMMARY

This bill, commencing with the 2022-23 academic year, requires at least 5% of each
incoming class to participate in the California Promise program at each campus of the
California State University (CSU) that participates in the program. The bill also requires
that at least 70% of those participants be either low-income students, first-generation
students, or students from underrepresented commumtles within postsecondary
education.

BACKGROUND
Existing law:

1) Establishes the California Promise program for the purposes of supporting CSU
students in earning a baccalaureate degree within four academic years of the
student's first year of enroliment; or for transfer students, within two academic
years of the student’s first year of enroliment to the campus.

2) . Requires the Trustees of the CSU to:

a)  Develop and implement a California Promise program, beginning the
2017-18 academic year, at.a minimum of eight campuses for non-transfer
students and a minimum of 15 campuses (20 campuses by 2018-19) for
qualifying transfer students. These campuses enter inito a pledge with a
first-time freshman or with a qualifying transfer student to support the
student in obtaining a baccalaureate degree within a total of four academic
years. :

b) Submit a report to Legislative policy and fiscal committees by January 1,
2021 that includes the number of students participating in the program in
total, the total number of students who graduated in four academic years
for'students who entered as first-time freshman and two academic years
for California Community College transfer students, and a summary
description of significant differences in the implementation of the Callfornla
Promise program at each campus. :

c) Submit recommendations to the ap'prOpriate policy and fiscal committees
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3).

)

6)

7)

of the Legislature, by March 15, 2017, regarding potential financial
. incentives that could benefit students who participate in the California
Promise program.

Requires support provided by a CSU campus for a California Promise program
student to include, but not necessarily-be limited to, both of the following:

a) Priority reglstratlon in coursework provided that a student does not qualify
for prlorlty registration under another policy or program as specified.

b) - Aoademlc advisement that includes monitoring academic progress.
Requires a student, in order to qualify for the program to:

a) Be a California resi;dent for purposes of in-state tuition eligibility.

| b) Commit to completing at least 30 semester units or the quarter equivalent

per academic year, including summer term units, as specified.

Requires a campus to guarantee participation in'the program to, at a minimum,
any student who is a low-income student, as defined, a student who has
graduated from a high school located in a community that is underrepresented in

- college attendance, a first-generation college student or a transfer student who

successfully completes his or her associate degree for transfer at a community
college.

Establishes that, as a condition of continued participation in a California Promise
program, a student may be required to demonstrate both of the following:

a). Completion of at least 30 semester units, or the quarter equivalent, in
each prlor academic year.

b) Attainment of a grade point average in excess of a standard established
by the campus.

Sunsets the program on Jamjary 1, 2026. (Education Code § 67430 et. seq.)

ANALYSIS

This bill:

1)

2)

Commencing with the 2022-23 academic year, requires at least 5% of each
incoming class at each participating campus of the CSU to participate in the
California Promise program. The bill also requires that at least 70% of those
participants be either low-income students, first-generation students, or students .
from communities that are underrepresented in postsecondary education.

Makes other technical changes.
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STAFF COMMENTS

1)"

2)

3)

Need for the bill. Accordlng to the author, “The CSU awards nearly half of
California’s bachelor's degrees, with more than half of CSU students being
students of color. While system-wide graduation rates are improving, more can
be done to increase rates of California students receiving their bachelor's
degrees within four years. The system continues to struggle with graduation gaps
for underrepresented students, and the system’s graduation rates still lag behind
those of similar universities nationwide.” The author further asserts, “Currently,

13 CSUs have the four-year pledge (Promise) program and 21 campuses have
the two-year pledge (Promise) program. However, only CSU, Sacramento, Long
Beach, and Humboldt have robust enroliment of students. In a review of campus -
home pages, there is little attention paid to the California Promise Program. On
average, it takes six clicks from the campus home page to get the California
Promise program. This lack of publlmty |mpedes students from taking advantage
of graduating in a timely manner.”

California Promise programs at CSU. Existing law, established by"Senate Bill

412 (Glazer, Ch. 436, Stats. 2016), required the Trustees of the CSU to develop-

~and-implement a California Promise program at a minimum of eight campuses for

non-transfer students and a minimum of 20 campuses for qualifying transfer
students. These campuses enter into a pledge with a first-time freshman or with
a qualifying transfer student to support the student in obtaining a baccalaureate
degree within four academic years or within two for transfer students. Students
who commit to enter either the four-year or two-year pledge are given priority
registration-and are provided with routine and thorough academic advisement. It

* appears that 20 of the 23 CSU campuses have a promise program with 11,306

undergraduates enrolled from fall 2017 to spring 2019. The number of new
undergraduates enrolled in programs varies by campus. For example, in fall 2019
CSU, San Luis Obispo enrolled five new students whereas CSU, Sacramento -
enrolled 2,842 new participants into the program. This bill calls upon each
campus to direct a portion of its incoming class into the program each year. The
bill also sets a new threshold for enrolling students into the program who are low-
income, underrepresented or first in their families to attend college.

Other systemwide efforts to promote timely degree completion at CSU. To
address its low graduation rates, CSU launched the “Graduation Initiative 2025,”
in 2015. Through this initiative, CSU has set a goal to increase six- and four-year
graduation rates for first-time freshmen to 70 percent and 40 percent,
respectively, by 2025. The Graduation Initiative also seeks to increase
graduation rates for transfer students. It also aims to address the achievement
gap by eliminating differences in graduation rates for several groups of students,
including those who are low-income and first-generation. The strategies
employed by the campuses to achieve these goals include hiring facu!ty, offering
of additional course sections, hiring academic advisors, and investing in student
support programs and services. Staff notes that state funding for the CSU
Graduation Initiative has increased over time. The budget act of 2019 provided
$45 million ongoing General Fund and $30 million one-time funding to support
the Graduation Initiative. The California Promise Program is independent of the
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4)

Graduation Initiative 2025, although presumably some activities overlap. It is not
clear, however, whether directing campus resources toward increasing
participation into a single program such as the California Promise Program could
have an impact on the ability of a campus to deploy campus-specific strategies or
promote the state supported Graduation Initiative and its specific goals.

Prior and related legislation.

SB 1211 (Glazer, 2020), i‘déntical to this bill, was not heard by this committee
due to the shortened 2020 Legislative Calendar.

SB 148 (Glazer, 2019) would have established the Student Success and On-time
Completion Fund in the Staté Treasury, and authorized the Trustees of the CSU
to use money in the fund to incentivize participation in a California Promise
program through the offering of grants or tuition freeze, as specified. SB 148 also
required CSU to waive systemwide tuition or fees for a participating student
unable to complete their degree due to limited space or no course offerings, as
specified. SB 148 was held in the Assembly Appropriations Committee.

- SB 346 (Glazer, 2018) was nearly identical to SB 148 in its.'final form, and failed

passage on the Assembly floor. SB 346 was not heard by this committee.

SB 803 (Glazer, 2017) was nhearly identical to SB 346 bill, was approved by thls
committee by a vote of 5-2 and was subsequently held on the Senate’

“Appropriations Committee Suspense file.

SUPPORT

None received.

OPPOSITION

None received.

- END -
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Bill No: SB.50 - Hearing Date: March 24, 2021

Author: Limon

Version: March 16, 2020 ' '
Urgency: No ' Fiscal: = Yes
Consultant:©  Lynn Lorber

.Subject: Early Iearniﬁg and care: California Early Le'afning and Care Program.

NOTE: This bill had been referred to the Committees on Education and Human
Services. A'"do pass" motion should include referral to the Committee on Human
Services.

SUMMARY

This bill expands the range of types of child care and early Iearnmg services that a State
Preschool contracting agency may provnde

BACKGROUND

Existing law:

1)

2)

4)

‘CaI/fom/a state preschool

Requnres the Superintendent of Public Instructlon (SPI) to administer all
California state preschool programs. Existing law requires state preschool

~ programs to include, but not be limited to, part-day age and developmentally

appropriate programs designed to facilitate the transition to kindergarten for
three- and four-year-old children in educational development, health services,
social services, nutritional services, parent education and parent participation,
evaluation, and staff development. (Education Code § 8235)

Establishes that three- and four-year-old children are eligible for the part-day
state preschool program if the family meets at least one of the criteria described
in # 6 (a) below (a current aid recipient, income eligible, homeless, or-one whose
children are recipients of protective services). (EC § 8235)

Requires state preschool providers to give first priority to three- or four-year-old
neglected or abused children who are recipients of child protective services;
second priority is for eligible four-year-old children who are not enrolled in a
state-funded transitional kindergarten program third pnorlty is for eligible three-
year-old children. (EC § 8236)

Defines “three-year-old children” as children who will have their third birthday on
or before December 1 of the fiscal year in which they are enrolled in a California -
state preschool program. Children who have their third birthday on or after
December 2 of the fiscal year, may be enrolled in a California state preschool
program on or after their third birthday. (EC § 8208)
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Preschool family fees

Requires that families in full-year care be assessed a flat monthly fee based on
income, certified family need for full-time or part-time care services, and
enroliment. The family fee is determined by a schedule that is developed by the
SPI. The family fee shall not be based on actual attendance. (EC § 8273)

Subsidized child care eligibility

6)

7)

Provides that families must meet at least one requirement in each of the following
areas to be ehglbmty for federal'and state subsidized child development services:

a) A family is (i) a current aid recipient, (ii) income eligible, (iii) homeless, or
(iv) one whose children are recipients of protective services, or whose
children have been identified as being abused, neglected, or exploited, or
at risk of being abused, neglected, or exploited.

b) A family needs the childcare services (i) because the child is identified as
(I} a.recipient of protective services, (ll) being neglected, abused, or
exploited, or atrisk of neglect, abuse, or exploitation, or (1) being
homeless or (ii) because the parents are (I) engaged in vocational training
leading directly to a recognized trade, paraprofession, or profession, (Il)
engaged in an educational program for English language learners or to
attain a high school diploma or general educational development
certificate, (I1l) employed or seeking employment, (IV) seeking permanent
housing for family stability, or (V) incapacitated. (Education Code § 8263)

Establishes priority for federal and state subsidized child development services is
as follows: .

a) First priority shall be given to neglected or abused children who are
recipients of child protective services, or children who are at rlsk of being
neglected or abused.

b) Second priority shall be given equally to eligible famllles regardless of the
number of parents in the home, who are income eligible. Within this
priority, families with the lowest gross monthly income in relation to family

~ size shall be admitted first. For purposes of defermining order of
~ ‘admission, grants of public assistance recipients shall be counted as
income. (EC §8263) -

Intra- and inter-agency adjustments

8)

Requires the California Department of Education (CDE) to promote full utilization
of child care and development funds and match available unused funds with
identified service needs. In doing so, the CDE is required to arrange intra-
agency adjustments between California state preschool contracts and general
child care contracts (for the same agency and funding allocation). (EC § 8236.2) .
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9) To further full utilization and match fund with needs, requires the CDE to arrange |
interagency adjustments between different contractors with the same type of
contract when both agencies mutually agree to a temporary transfer of funds for -
the balance of the fiscal year. (EC § 8275. 5)

ANALY-SIS

This bill expands the range of types of child care and early learning services that a State
Preschool contracting agency may provide. Specifically, this bill:

Expands State Preschool contracts

1)

2)

-3

4)

5)

6)

Expands the age of chlldren that State Preschool contracting agencies may
serve, from three- and four-year olds, to children age birth through five years.

- Authorizes a state preschool program contracting agency to provide services to

any child in a family who meets the eligibility requirements for subsidized child
care, and who has not yet turned six years of age by September 1 of the fiscal
year in which they are being served.

Alldws children who turn six years of age by September 1 of the fiscal year in
which they are being served to remain in a state preschool program until they
start first grade, but no Iaterthan September 30.

Provides that a state preschool program serving infants and toddlers is to be |
reimbursed at the same rate as if operating as a general child care program.

Requires state presdhoo[ programs to meet the existing Title 5 minimum ratios
required for each age group. :

' Spécifically authorizes a family childcare home education network to be eligible

to provide preschool services for children from birth to five years of age.

Contract based on enrollment vs attendance

7) -

9

Requires the SPI, by July 1, 2023, to develop and implement a plan to award

contracts as three-year grants, w1th annual budget perlods based on child
enroliment, using eX|st|ng adjustment factors.

Requires the plan to aim to do all of the foHowmg
a) Streamline and improve the application and contracting process for

contracting agencies, including the application and contracting process for
family childcare home education networks. -

b) Focus contract goals and reporting requirements on positive outcomes for

children, families, and providers, and reduce unnecessary reporting
requirements.




SB 50 (Limén) | Page 4 of 9

9)

c) Reimburse programs based on child days of enroliment.

d) Support programs to promote child enrollment, including family engagement
and support. ' :

e) -Establish goals to ensure the program’ s average enrollment remains above
95 percent of child enroliment. :

Prohibits CDE from using actual program attendance as a factor to determine
reimbursement rates.

Priority for enrollment

- 10)

Strikes references to three- and four—year olds in regards to having priority for
enroliment in state preschool.

Community eligibility

11)

- 12)

13)

Extends the existing authority to enroll all four-year old children in a state
preschool within the attendance boundary of a traditional public school where at
least 80 percent of enrolled pupils are eligible for free or reduced- prlce meals
(commumty eligibility), to also include all three-year-olds.

Provides that all families enrolled pursuant to oommunlty ellgiloility to be
assessed the maximum applicable monthly fee listed in the fee schedule

‘established under existing law.

Requires a contracting agency to inform families at enrollment of their option to
voluntarily disclose income to reduce the famlly s fees. :

Direct certification

14)

15)

16)

Expands priority for eligibility, enrollment, and services to include a family who -

has a member of its household who is certified to receive benefits from Medi-Cal,

CalFresh, the California Food Assistance Program, the California Special
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program for Women, Infants, and Children,
the Food Distribution Program on Indian Reservations, Head Start, Early Head
Start, or any other designated means-tested government program, as determined
by CDE. :

Provides that eligibility “as determined by CDE” means either:
a) The farnily provides documentation of current enrollment in the program,
‘unless the contracting agency has, and elects to use, other means of

obtaining verification of that enroliment.

b) A contracting agency has determined a member of the household is ellglble
for Head Start or Early Head Start services.

Prohibits further proof of income from being required for determining eligibility.
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Twenty four—month eligibility and eligibility based on employment or homelessness

17)  Expands, from 12 months to 24 months the period of a family’s ellglblllty for
ongoing services after establishing lnltlal eligibility.

18) - Requires the contracting agency to use simplifying assumptions to authorize the
maximum certified hours of care based on need for care if a family is eligible for
services on the basis that the parent is employed and the parent's employment
has a variable schedule ,

19) Prohlblts the famlly from being requlred to report a change in employment
schedule for at least 24 months after establishing eligibility; however, a famlly
may, at any tlme voluntarlly report a change in schedule

20) Prowdes that preschool/chlld care services may only occur for'up to five days per
week and for less than 40 hours per week if a family is eligible for services on the
basis that the family is homeless, or that the parents are seeking employment or
seeking permanent housing for family stability.

Part- vs full-day -
21)  Deletes references to part-day Stlate Preschool programs.
Wraparound

22)  Requires the SPI to authorize state preschool program contracting agencies to
offer wraparound childcare services for eligible children enrolled in transitional
kindergarten or kindergarten if their families are current aid remplents or are
otheanse income-eligible.

Infer-agency and intra-agency adjustments

23)  Expands the authority of the SPI to intra-agency adjustments between state
preschool contracts and general childcare contracts to also include family
childcare home education network contracts, and migrant childcare and
development contracts for the same agency.

24) Further expands the authority of the SPI by also allowing inter-agency
' adjustments between different agencies and the same funding allocation.

‘Desired Results Developmental Profile
25) Expends the child assessment tool options by authorizing public or private
provider to use any valid and reliable instrument to meet the requirement to
“maintain a developmental.profile, including, but not limited to, the Desnred
Results Developmental Profile.

Miscellaneous
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26)

27)

Makes technical changes to reflect the transfer of many early learning programs
from CDE to DSS.

States findings and declarations relative to the benefits of a coherent and
integrated mixed delivery early learning and care system and continuum.

STAFF COMMENTS

2)

Need for the bill. According to the author, “There is a large unmet need when it
comes to childcare in California, especially for infants and toddlers. According to
the Early Learning and Care Master Plan, only 1 in 5 children who are eligible are
enrolled in a state subsidized program. Furthermore, the current system of
subsidized early learning and care is overly complex and uncoordinated, with a
patchwork of different programs and funding streams. The uncoordinated ECE
system creates barriers for families to access needed child care and early

‘learning providers lack the flexibility needed to meet the needs of children and
- families in their communities. This bill builds toward a more streamhned

integrated, mixed- -delivery ECE system.

: “Speciﬁcally, this bill addresses the complicated nature of contracting in early

childhood education spaces. Currently, one early learning contractor could have
a Callifornia State Preschool Program (CSSP) contract to serve 3- and 4-year-
olds, a General Child Care (CCTR) contract to serve infants and toddlers or
school-age children, and a Family Child Care Home Education Network (CFCC)
to partner with home-based providers to serve children. In addition to
administrative inefficiencies from multiple contracts, the age limits of the contract
create challenges to providing continuity of care. This bill will enable CSSP to
serve children 0-5, remove the existing barriers between Full-Day and Part-Day
CSPP, CCTR and CFCC contracts. It will also shift to a multi-year contract that
reimburses based on the number of children enrolled instead of attendance.
Increasing this erxnblllty allows providers to transfer funds between contracts and
adjust their services to better meet the needs of families and keeps those funds
from being returned to the state. As the state expands Transitional Kindergarten
to more 4-year-olds — as proposed in the Governor’s budget, ECE Master Plan,
and AB 22 (McCarty) — the bill will allow CSPP funds currently being used to be
served those 4- year-olds to be shifted to serve more mfants toddlers, and 3-
year-olds.” :

Practical effect This bill is essentially related to contracts and blending fundlng
between programs served under the same contract,

This bill allows general child care and development program that may currently
be contracting directly with CDE (must meet standards in Title 5 of the California
Code of Regulations) to instead contract with a state preschool program. Title 5
providers currently contract directly with CDE for licensed early learning and care
through centers, Family Child Care Home Education Networks, and state
preschool. In addition to Title 22 licensing requirements, these providers must
also adhere to the requirements of Title 5 (addltlonal education, training, and
health and safety standards).
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" This bill also enables one type of Title 22 family child care provider to participate

in the state preschool program, the family home networks (networks of
family/home-based child care providers that receive support from staff of a
contracted agency). Currently, family home networks typically only serve
subsidized children through the Alternative Payment Program or CalWORKs
voucher systems (rather than through a contract directly with CDE).

.Existing program standards and requirements must be maintained — infants will

not be served alongside preschool-age children. This bill should enable
contractors to use more of their contract funds (rather than be forced to return

- unspent funds to the state) by basing contracts on enroliment rather than

attendance allowing for “direct certification” of eligibility based on enrollment in a
social services program (such as Medi-Cal or Head Start), expanding eligibility

- from 12 to 24 months, and aIIowmg contractors to blend preschool and general

. 4)

child care funds.

The inability of preschool and child care programs to fully “earn” their contract
funding by not meeting attendance estimates, and therefore requiring programs
to return unspent funds to the state, is a long-standing problem. Programs are
forced to return unspent funds while many eligible children go without care..
Further, as younger four-year olds shift to into transitional kmdergarten state
preschool programs have fewer children to serve, and are unable to “earn” their
full contracts and must return unused funds to the state. This bill addresses
these issues by allowing additional children o be served under a single state
preschool contract, presumably keeping allocated early learning and child care
funds local to serve more children and families in a community.

This bill is meant to expand early education and care options for families by filling
‘unused slots” by enrolling more eligible children. This bill does not diminish the
existing general child care and development structure; it does not take slots or
funding from existing providers. This bill also allows the transfer-of funds
between types of programs under a state preschool 'oontr;act.

This bill does not force current general child care providers to move under a state
preschool contract. This bill does not ellmlnate the existing direct-contract
general child care structure.

Will these changes increase reimbursement rates? No, other than for a state
preschool program serving infants and toddlers. This bill requires a preschool
program that is serving infants and toddlers to be reimbursed at the same rate as
if operating as a general child care program (to account for situations where the
infant/toddler rate is higher than the state preschool rate).

Changes priorities for which children are served. This bill strikes references
to four-year olds, and then three-year olds, in regards to having priority for
enroliment in state preschool: According to the author, this is necessary to
reflect that this bill allows preschool programs to serve a broader age range of
children. Further, the author notes that there is a significant demand for infant
care and there is a desire to avoid discouraging or undercutting the addition of
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6)

more infants to the early learning and care system. -

Twenty-four month eligibility. This bill expands, from 12 months to 24 months,
the period of a family’s eligibility for ongoing services after establishing initial
eligibility, and prohibits the family from being required to report a change in
employment schedule for at least 24 months after establishing eligibility. This is
consistent with provisions of the existing Individualized County Child Care
Subsidy Program, which provides counties specified in statute the flexibility to
establish policies to address local needs and priorities. Currently, 11 counties
are authorized to participate in the Individualized County Program on a pilot
basis, and two counties have statutory authority to permanently partlmpate in the
program. : :

Automatic eligibility for subsidized child care and State preschool. This bill
deems recipients of specified social services programs (Medi-Cal, CalFresh, etc)
as eligible for subsidized child care or state preschool essentially prov;dmg for
the direct certification of these families.

Income thresholds for Medi-Cal and CalFresh, for example, are much lower than
for subsidized child care and state preschool. Therefore, recipients of Medi-Cal ,
or CalFresh are income-eligible for subsidized child care and state preschool.
This bill essentially provides for direct-certification, whereby a recipient of Medi-
Cal or CalFresh is automatically income-eligible for subsidized child care and

~ state preschool. A similar process is used to deem students in families who are

7)

_recipients of CalFresh as eligible for free meals or milk without completing an

application.

This bill does not modify the requirement that income-eligible families also
demonstrate need for care to be eligible for subsidized child care. Further, this
bill does not modify existing priorities for enrollment; therefore, a recipient of
Medi-Cal or CalFresh with a lower income than another higher income eligible
family would have priority for an available slot, but would not jump the line or
bump another equally-eligible family from receiving care. However, the Budget
Act of 2020 did not'include additional funding to expand slots; this bill could
enable additional families to be eligible for a static number of slots (some may be
placed on a waiting list, for example).

Master Plan for Early Learning and Care.- Several provisions of this bill are

- consistent with recommendations in the December 2020 Master Plan for Early

85

Learning and Care, relative to direct certification, and streamlining eligibility and
contracts. hitps://www.chhs.ca. qov/home/master plan-for- earlv learning-and-
care/

Related legislation. AB 22 (McCarty), among other thingé expands transitional
kindergarten to younger four-year olds. AB 22 is pending in the Assembly

-Education Committee.

AB 321 (Valladares) among other'things, authorizes.a part-day California state
preschool program, after all otherwise eligible children have been enrolled, to
provide services to three- and four-year-old children in families whose income is
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above the income eligibility threshold if those children come from a family in

- which the primary home language is a language other than English. AB 321 is

pending in the Assembly Human Services Committee.

SB 246 (Leyva) requires the Department of Social Services to establish a single
reimbursement rate for early learning and care programs, including variation for
regional costs and quality adjustment factors. SB 246 is pending in the Senate

Human Services Committee. ‘

Prior legislation. AB 123 (McCarty, 2020) would have deemed recipients of
Medi-Cal or CalFresh as eligible for subsidized child care, required the CDE to

- allow general child care providers to serve children age 0-12 in a commingled
cclassroom, authorized state preschool providers and general child care providers

to waive family fees if serving students only via distance learning, and required
CDE to allow and arrange interagency adjustments between California state
preschool contracts and general child care contracts. AB 123 was held in the
Senate Appropriations Committee.

SUPPORT

Early Edge California (sponsor)
EveryChild California (sponsor)
Community Child Care Council of Sonoma County
Friends Committee on Legislation
Mendocino County Office of Education
Santa Barbara Women's Political Committee
An individual

~ OPPOSITION

None received

--END --
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Subject: California Student Opportunity and Access Program

SUNMARY

This bill modifies and expands criteria for which the California Student Aid Commission
(Commission) may apportion funds to support projects under the California Student
Opportunity and Access program (Cal-SOAP). It additionally expands duties and
responsibilities of funded projects. ' ‘ '

BACKGROUND
Existing' law:

1) Authorizes the Commission, as the administrators of Cal-SOAP, to apportion
funds on a progress payment schedule for the support of projects designed to
increase the accessibility of postsecondary educational opportunities for any of
the following elementary and secondary school puplls

e Students who are f_rom low-income families.
¢ Students who would be the first in their families to attend college.

e Students who are from schools or geographic regions with documented low-
eligibility or college participation rates.

o Pupils who are homeless yout_h, as-specified. (Education Code § 6956A‘l ().

2) Requires that the projects be proposed and operated through a consortium that
involves at least one secondary.school district office, at least one four-year
college or university, at least one community college, and at Ieast one agency, as
specified. (Education Code § 69561 (h)).

3) Requires that each prOJect maintain within the project headquarters a
comprehensive pupil-specific information pupil data system on pupils receiving
services through the program in grades 11 and 12 at secondary schools (middle
and high schools) within the participating districts. This information shall be
maintained in a manner consistent with the law relating to pupil records.
(Education Code § 69561 (1)).
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4) - Authorizes the Commission to develop additional regulations regarding the
awarding of project grants and criteria for evaluating the effectiveness of the
individual projects (Education Code § 69561 (0)).

ANALYSIS

This bill modifies and expands criteria for which the Commission may apportion funds to
support projects under the Cal-SOAP. It addltlonally expands duties and responsibilities
of funded projects. Specmcally, it:

Funding Criteria

1) Authorizes the Commission to allocate funding to support projects designed to
increase the accessibility of financial aid for students from underserved
.communities, who meet one or more of the following criteria:

a) Students who are from low-income families.

b) . Student who would be the first in their families to attend a postsecondary
education institution.

C) Students who are from schools or geographic regions with documented
low postsecondary education eligibility or partlcxpatlon rates.

d)- Students who are homeless youth, as defined or who are at risk of
becoming homeless. ‘

¥

e) Students who are from mixed /mm/grant status households or who |
themselves are /mm/gram‘s

f Students Who are ourrent or former foster youth, as defined.
g) Students Who /dentlfy as be/ng LGBTQ+.
h) Students who are part of a historically underserved minority group.

- 2) Requires that the Cémmiésion allocate up to 2 percent of funding for program
administration, data collection, and evaluation. The bill specifies that any funds
allocated for that purpose is not subject to existing match funding requirements.

Project Duties and Responsibilities

3) Modifies project requirements as follows:

a) Sbeciﬁes, in addition to increasing the availability of information for
' students on the existence of postsecondary education, that projects also
inform students of the total cost of attending a postsecondary education

institution, and financing options including, grants, scholarships, student
loans, as well as work opportunities.
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5)

6)

7)
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b)  Removes “raising achievement levels of students,” as a primary
- responsibility of projects

C) Requires that projects increase the number of students submlttmg
completed financial aid applications including the Free Application for
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or the California Dream Act Application
(CADAA), and assist students as needed with the financial aid verification
process. :

d) Requires that projects hire undergraduate or graduate students to serve
as college success coaches to mentor students, encourage a college-
going culture, help students plan for their postsecondary education, and
help students complete financial aid applications. The bill encourages
projects to hire college success coaches with snmllar backgrounds as
students.

Authorizes projects to assist first-year students at four-year institutions, to the
extent resources are available.

Authornzes pro;ects to aSS|st middle school students /nstead of fifth and sixth
grade students, who are from low-income families and/or underserved
communlty, as specified.

Requires projects to assist high school students who are from low-income
families or from the specified underserved communities and their parents in order
to provide information on college preparation, understanding the total cost of
attending a postsecondary educational institution, and to assist with completion
of financial aid applications. Under the provisions of bill, projects are encouraged
to leverage Commission outreach efforts, such as Cash for College workshops,

to assist their students with completmg the FAFSA or the CADAA.

Requires that each project establish or strengthen reglonal collaborative
relationships and partnerships.

Project Administration

8)

9)

* Deems that the governing board of each project have approval authority of the

project director.

Requires that each project maintain a comprehensive student data system on
students.receiving services through the program in middle and high school within
the participating school districts. The bill maintains existing provisions, which
provides that information maintained by projects be done in a manner consistent
with the law relating to student records. The bill further authorizes the
Commission to require that each project submit on a periodic basis to the
Commission or a grantee designee, certain outreach metrics for the purpose of
evaluating the effectiveness of the program and the project, including but not
limited to, the individual records of high s¢hool students served, services -
performed by the project, the number of students that completed the FAFSA or
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the CADAA, and the number of students who are eligible for postsecondary
enroliment.

Modifies the provision that at least 30 percent or the equivalent of each project
grant be allocated for stipends to include college success coaches and for any
costs associated. with providing training or necessary supplies and equipment to
the college success coaches who meet all of the following criteria:

a)  Work with middle and high school students.

b) Are currently enrolled in a college or other postsecondary eduoatio‘n
' institution as an undergraduate or graduate student.

c) Have demonstrated financial need, as defined by the Commission, for the
stipend.

Miscellaneous

11)

12)
13)
14)

15)

186)

Authorizes the Commission to adopt regulations necessary for the
implementation and evaluation of Cal-SOAP and individual projects.

Repeals provisions that allows an initial grant be used for planning and
development and repeals provisions specifying that full project funding be
allocated when the consortium meets the established criteria.

Makes various changes to legislative findings and declarations and further
includes among other things, that awareness of financial aid options has
historically been a barrier for first-generation students and students from minority
backgrounds trying to access a postsecondary education. Research shows that
students unaware of their financial aid options and have misconceptions.of
eligibility, leading many to not complete the financial aid process.

Deletes references to “achievement level,” throughout the bill.
Define various terms for the purposés of the bill.

Makes other technical ,ahd Conformi.ng changes.

" STAFF COMMENTS

1)

.I‘\Ieed for the bill. The Cal-SOAP currently has a statutory mandate.to improve

access to higher education by raising the achievement level and increasing

“college eligibility of undeserved students. According to the author, “While these

goals are important, there are numerous government-funded programs- such as
AVID, TRIO and Gear UP- that already provide these services and are working to
close the opportunity gap in higher education. Thus, SB 737 would help to
reposition the Cal-SOAP program as the premier financial aid awareness and
assistance program and avoid duplicative state outreach efforts. SB 737 intends
to accomplish this goal by updating the governing statutes so that Cal-SOAP
projects would focus on helping students and families to: understand the true
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2)

3)

4)

costs of college or other postsecondary programs; understand their financing
options - including grants, scholarships, student loans, and work opportunities;
and apply for financial aid using the FAFSA or CADAA.”

The author further asserts, “Current Cal-SOAP statute lacks sufficient guidance
on specific data collection metrics (EC § 69561(1)). To help fortify the data
collection and program evaluation of Cal-SOAP, the bill grants CSAC the
authority to require each pro;ect to submit certain outcome metrics on a periodic
basis. This may include, but is not limited to, the individual records of high school
students served and the services they received, the number of students that

‘completed the FAFSA or CADAA, and the number of students eligible for

postsecondary enrollment. Furthermore SB 737 provides the Commission with

‘regulatory authority to better facilitate project evaluation. More regular and

consistent evaluation of these outcomes will allow the Commission to partner
with the Cal-SOAP projects more effectively to offer quality financial aid services |
and improve student uptake of federal, state and lnstltutlonal financial aid
opportunities.”

Cal-SOAP. Cal-SOAP was established by the state Legislature in 1978. It is
charged with improving the flow of information about postsecondary education
and financial aid while raising the achievement level of low-income, elementary

" and secondary school students or geographic regions with documented low-

eligibility or college partlolpatton rates, and who are flrst in their families to attend
college. ,

Currently, 16 Cal-SOAP. projects operate. throughout California by consortia
made up of secondary and postsecondary schools and community agencies.
Current Cal-SOAP projects include: Central Coast (Santa Maria),-Central Valley
(San Joaquin), East Bay/Solano (Oakland, Richmond and Solano County), Inland
Empire (through CSU San Bernardino), Long Beach, Los Angeles, Merced,
Northcoast (Eureka), Riverside, Sacramento, San Diego/Imperial, San Francisco, -
San Jose, Santa Barbara South County Gilroy, and South San Joaquin,

Cal-SOAP administration. Beoause each prOJect specializes in serving students
within its community, the types of programs and services may differ. Some
common services provided by the consortia include advising, tutoring, parent
outreach, and college awareness workshops. Individual projects apply each year

“for continued state funding. Each state allocation must be matched by an equal

or higher level of local resources. The Commission administers the Cal-SOAP

“program, which is the public agency responsible for allocating all state financial

aid and for providing state financial aid information to students, counselors, high
schools and community groups. The bill newly authorizes the Commission to
collect data from projects and evaluate project effectiveness. It additionally allows

- 2 percent of program funds to cover program administration costs. This money

would not be subject to matching funding requirements.

Shift in focus. Cal-SOAP’s projects provide services directly to students in
middle and high schools designed to increase the availability of information on
postsecondary schooling and work opportunities. These projects also-work to
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raise the achievement level of these students so as to increase the number of
high school graduates eligible to pursue postsecondary learning opportunities.

The bill shifts Cal-SOAP’s focus away from “raising student achievement,” as one
of its primary functions and toward increasing access to financial aid programs.
Although raising.academic achievement is important, the author argues that this
work is duplicative as other government programs (mainly federal) offer these
types of services. The shift toward financial aid outreach and assistance as a
core responsibility of Cal-SOAP could fill an information void for high school
students and their families on a topic that is complex yet necessary to higher
education access. Specifically, the bill calls for projects to assist students and
their families understand the true costs of collegé, college-financing options and
~applying for student financial aid programs. Staff notes that a second program
administered by the Commission, the Cash for College program, has a similar
mission, which provides free professional assistance to families completing state
and federal financial aid applications. Unlike the Cal-SOAP program, Cash for
College programs rely on volunteers to conduct application workshops for high
school seniors. Cal-SOAP projects have dedicated staff to support a range of
middle school and high school students prepare for college.

The bill would also expand the pool of students targeted for Cal-SOAP services.
Today, projects must serve low-income students, first-generation college
students, students from schools with documented low postsecondary education”
participation rates, and homeless youth. This bill adds other groups of students
from historically underserved communities including foster youth, LGBTQ+
students, students from mix immigration status households, and other specified
groups. The proposed changes also concentrate services for an older cohort of
students. Currently, younger students in-elementary school could benefit from
Cal-SOAP services; however, this bill explicitly refocuses programing toward .
middle and high school students, as they are closer to approaching graduation.
Lastly, the bill allows projects to provide services to first-year university students,
~ in addition to community college transfer students. :

SUPPORT

Cal-SOAP LA Consortium

California Student Aid Commission

Humboldt County Office of Education Career and College Resources Department
Long Beach Cal-SOAP

San Bernardino Community College District

Santa Barbara Cal-SOAP Consortium

" Santa Maria Joint Union High School District
Shaw Yoder Antwih Schmelzer & Lange

- Southern San Joaquin Valley Cal-soap Consomum
The Education Trust — West

The Los Angeles Trust for Children's Health

OPPOSITION
None received.
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Subject: Interscholastic athletics: adult supervisors: cardiopulmonary resuscitation
training

NOTE: This bill had been referred to the Committees on Education and Appropriations.
A "do pass" motion should include referral to the Committee on Appropriations.

SUMMARY

This bill requires a school district or charter school, if it elects to host an event, to have
at least one adult supervisor of the event with a valid certification of cardiopulmonary
resuscitation (CPR) training to be present throughout the duration of the event.

BACKGROUND
Existing law:

1) Establishes the minimum qualifications for a preliminary multiple or single subject
teaching credential, including, among other requirements, satisfactory completion
of a program of professional preparation that has been accredited by the
Committee on Accreditation on the basis of standards of program quality and
effectiveness that have been adopted by the Commission on Teaching
Credentialing.. (Education Code § 44259)

2) Requires a program of professional preparation to include experience that
addresses, among other things, health education, including study of nutrition,
cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the physiological and sociological effects of
the abuse of alcohol, narcotics, and drugs and the use of tobacco. Training in
cardiopulmonary resuscitation must also meet the standards established by the
American Heart Association or the American Red Cross. (EC § 44259)

3) Commencing July 1, 2019, for a school district or charter school that elects to

' ~offer any interscholastic athletic program:

a) Requires the school district or charter school to acquire at least one
automated external defibrillator (AED) for each school within the school
district or the charter school.

b)  Requires the school district or charter school ensure that the AED or
. AEDs are available to athletic trainers and coaches and authorized
persons at these activities or events. '
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c) Requires the school district or charter school to ensure that its AED or
AEDs are maintained and regularly tested according to the operation and
maintenance guidelines set forth by the manufacturer, the American Heart
Association, or the American Red Cross, and according to any applicable
rules and regulations set forth by the governmental authority under the
federal Food and Drug Administration and any other applicable state and
federal authority.

d) Encourages the school district or the charter school to ensure that the
AED or AEDs are available for the purpose of rendering emergency care
or treatment within a recommended three to five minutes of sudden.
cardiac arrest to pupils, speotators and any other individuals in
attendance at the athletic program’s on-campus activities or events (EC -
§ 35179.6)

ANALYSIS

This bill requires a school district or charter school, if it elects to host an event, to have
at least one adult supervisor of the event with a valid certification of CPR training to be
present throughout the duration of the event. Specifically, this bill:

1)

\2)

Requires a school district or charter school, if it elects to host an event, to have at
least one adult supervisor of the event with a valid certification of CPR training to
be present throughout the duration of the event. .

Defines event to mean “any school-sponsored recreational on—bampus activity
involving pupils, spectators, and any other individuals in attendance”

3) Specifies that an adult supervisor of the event with CPR training, aé mandated by
the California Interscholastic Federation (CIF) coaching education program
requirements, would satisfy the bill's requirement.

'4)4 Specifies that the bill shall be known, and may be cited, as Alex’s Law.

STAFF COMMENTS

1)

Need for the bill. According to the author’s office, “On June 3, 2016, a 13-year
old boy by the-name of Alex Pierce was at a school sponsored end of the year
pool party at Vista Murrieta High School. The wrongful death lawsuit between
the Murrieta Valley Unified School District and the family was eventually settled.
The boy was underwater for approximately two minutes according to court
documents and no one administered cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) on
him before paramedics arrived.

“Teachers are not required to have updated CPR and First Aid certifications.
Returning Coaches, or those who coach multiple sports, are required to have
updated CIF certifications for Concussion, SCA and Heat Acclimatization, First
Aid and CPR. It is not required that a Supervisor of a school sponsored event be
certified in these vital safety trainings.”
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2)

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR). According to the American Heart

Association, “CPR is an emergency lifesaving procedure performed when the

heart stops beating. Immediate CPR can double or triple chances of survival
after cardiac arrest. Keeping the blood flow active — even partially — extends the
opportunity for a successful resuscitation once trained medlcal staff arrive on
site.

“In one year alone, 475,000 Americans die from a cardiac arrest. Globally,
cardiac arrest claims more lives than colorectal cancer, breast cancer, prostate:
cancer, influenza, pneumonia, auto accidents, HIV, firearms, and house fires
combined. More than 350,000 cardiac arrests occur outside of the hospital each
year. In 2015, sudden cardiac arrest mortality in the US was 366,807. About 90
percent of people who experience an out-of-hospital cardiac arrest die.”

The American Heart Association and American Red Cross establiéh standards
for CPR that are regularly updated. Most CPR certification courses are valid for
two years.

California Interscholastic Federation (CIF) regulations. CIF Regulation

- 22(B)(9) requires all CIF member schools to ensure that all coaches, paid and

unpaid, have completed a coaching education program that emphasizes the
following components:

¢ Development of coaching philosophies conéistent with school, school
district and school board goals.

e Sport psychology: emphasizing communication; reinforcement of
young people’s efforts; effective delivery of coaching regarding
technique and motivation of the student-athlete.

e Sport pedagogy: how young athletes learn and how to teach sport
skills. .

e Sport physiology: principles of training; fithess for sport; development
of a training program; nutrition for athletes; and the harmful effects
associated with the use of steroids and performance-enhancing dietary
-supplements by adolescents.

e Sport management: team management; risk management; and
working within the context of an entire school program.

¢ Training: certification in CPR and First Aid that includes training in
signs and symptoms of concussions, sudden cardlac arrest (SCA), and
heat illness.

Previously vetoed legislation. AB 1214 (Melendez, 2019) was similar, but not
identical to this bill. AB 1214 would have required an LEA to offer a course in
CPR and required a school district or charter school, if it elects to offer any
interscholastic athletic program, to have personnel with a valid certification of
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CPR training to be present at the athletic program’s on-campus activities or
events at all times. AB 1214 was vetoed by Governor Newsom, who stated:

“This bill requires Local Educational Agencies (LEAs) that
offer an interscholastic athletic program to have staff with a
valid cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification to be
present for the athletic program's on-campus activities and
events at all times. This bill also requires LEAs to make a
course in CPR available to all school staff. '

While | support efforts to ensure the safety of students
involved in local activities, the requirements of this bill exceed
that goal and create new, potentially significant costs for LEAs
by requiring them to make CPR training available to all school
staff rather than only the staff involved with the interscholastic
athletic programs. '

For this reason, | am unable to sign this bill.”

The author appears to have addressed the Governor’'s concerns with AB 1214 by
limiting this bill's scope to only require an adult supervisor with CPR to be

present during the duration of the event hosted by the school and not requiring
CPR training to be made available to all school staff. '

Additional previous legislation. AB 2009 (Maienschein, Chapter 646, Statutes
of 2018) requires school districts or charter schools that choose to offer any
interscholastic athletic program, to ensure that there is a written emergency

.action plan in place that describes the location and procedures to be followed in

the event of sudden cardiac arrest and other medical emergencies related to the
athletic program’s activities or events. The written emergency action plan must
be posted in compliance with the most recent pertinent guidelines of the National
Federation of State High School Associations. AB 2009 further requires the
school districts or charter schools to acquire at least one AED for each school
within the school district or the charter school.

AB 1719 (Rodriguez, Chapter 556, Statutes of 2016) requires’school districts and
charter schools that require a course in health education for graduation from high
school to include instruction in performing compression-only CPR. Requires the
CDE to provide guidance on how to implement these provisions, including, but
not limited to, who may provide instruction. Provides that a local agency, entity
of state or local government, or other public or private organization that sponsors,
authorizes, supports, finances, or supervises, and a public employee who '
provides or facilitates, the instruction of pupils in compression-only

_ cardiopulmonary resuscitation or the use of an AED pursuant to the bill will not

be liable for any civil damages alleged to result from the acts or omissions of an
individual who received such instruction.

SB 658 (Hill, Chapter 264, Statutes of 2015) requires, when an AED is placed in
a public or private K-12 school, the principal to ensure that the school
administrators and staff annually receive information that describes sudden
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- cardiac arrest, the school’s emergency response plan, and the proper use of an
AED. Further requires the principal to also ensure that instructions, in no less
than 14-point type, on how to use the AED are posted next to every AED. The
principal must, at least annually, notify school employees as to the location of all
AED units on the campus.

SUPPORT

Consumer Attorneys of California
Office of the Riverside County Superintendent of Schools

OPPOSITION
None received

- END -
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Subject: Adult Education Block Grant Program: reporting requirements.

SUMMARY

This bill requirés the Chancellor of thé Community Colleges (Chancelllor) and the State
Superintendent of Public Instruction (SPI) to convene a task force to review the
reporting requirements of the Adult Eduoatlon Program and develop any findings and

T

recommendations.

BACKGROUND

Existing law:

Establishes the Adult Education Program under the admlnlétratron of the .
Chancellor and the SPI and delineates the respon3|bllltres of the Chancellor and
SPlin overseemg the program. . .

2) Tasks the Chancellor and the SPI, with the advice of the Executive Director of
the State Board of Education (SBE), to divide the state into regions that will best
address the educational needs of adults in all regions of the state, stipulating that
there shall be only one adult education consortium in each region.

3) Requires‘ the chancellor and the SPlto approve, with the advice of the Executive
Director of the SBE, for each consortium, rules and procedures, as specified.

4) Requires the Chancellor and the SPI to report ahnually to the Director of -
Finance, the Statewide Director of Immigrant Integration, the SBE, and the
Legrslature about the use of Adult Education Program funds and outcomes for
adults statewide and in each adult education region.

5) Requires the annual report listed above to include at least all of the following:

é) - A summary of the adult education plan operative for each oonsortiugw;

- b) The distribution schedule for each consortium.

c) The types and levels of services provided by each consortium.,

d) The effectiveness of each consortium in meeting the educational needs of

adults in its respective region. _
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e)  Any recommendations related to delivery of education, immigrant
integration, and workforce services for adults, including recommendations
related to improved alignment of state programs.

' 6) Requires the Chancellor and the SPI to align the data used to produce the report
.. described above with data reported by local educational agencies for other
purposes.

7) -Requires the Employment Development Department and the California
Workforce Investment Board to provide any assistance needed to align delivery
of services across state and regional workforce, education, and job service
programs.

ANALYSIS

This bill requires the Chancellor and the SPI to convene a task force to review the
reporting requirements of the Adult Education Program and develop any findings and .
recommendations. :

Specifically, the bill:

1) Requires the review to include an assessment on the type of data being
collected, whether the report includes sufficient and timely. data on student
outcomes, and the adequacy of the reportlng intervals.

' 2) Requires the task force to include representatives from the appropriaté fiscal

' “subcommittees and policy committees of the Legislature, the Department of
Finance, the office of the Chancellor, the State Department of Education, the

Statewide Director of Immigrant Integration, and adult education providers. -

3) Requires the task force to issue its findings and recommendations to the
Department of Finance and the Legislature by January 1, 2023.

STAFF COMMENTS

1) Need for the bill. According to the author, “As of 2016, 2 million Californians
have an education of 7" grade or less, 4 million speak limited English and 5
million do not have a high school diploma. Following the Great recession, school
districts were given spending flexibility, which resulted in adult education
receiving less funding. Since the récession, adult education has lagged behind
in recovery. Without access to education, adult learners have limited job
f%)pportumtles Aduit education also provides ESL help and other programs for
immigrants.” ‘

“SB 673 will create a task force to ensure proper funding of adu|t eduoatlon
programs through revrewmg the reporting requirements under the Adult

" Education block grant program. The task force will be convened by the
Chancellor of the California Community Colleges and the Superintendent of
Public Instruction and shall include representatives from the appropriate fiscal
subcommittees and policy committees of the Legislature, the Department of
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2)

3)

L]

Finance, the office of the Chancellor of the California Community Colleges, the
California Department of Education, the Statewide Director of Immigrant
Integration, and adult education providers, and shall issue its findings and
recomimendations to the Department of Finance and, pursuant to Section 9795 of
the Government Code, the Legislature no later than January 1, 2023.”

Adult education programs. Adult schools are public schools offering free to
low-cost classes for adults 18 and older. The primary purpose of adult education
is to provide adults with the precollegiate knowledge and skills they need to
participate in civic life and the workforce.. Toward this end, most adult education
course offerings are in three instructional areas: basic math and English, English
as a second language, and career technical education.

Community colleges and school district-run adult schools are the primary
providers of adult €ducation. In addition, various other entities provide aduft
education, including community based organizations, libraries, and jails.

Due to longstanding concerns with a lack of coordination among prowders the
state budget created the Adult Education Block Grant in 2015-16, later renamed
the Adult Education Program as part of the 2018-19 Budget. The program is
currently appropriated $526 million supporting consortia in various adult
education regions. As a condition of apportionment under the Adult Education
Program, consortia must develop and annually update a three year plan
containing, among other things, an evaluation of the educational needs of adults
in the region, the funding available among all of the entities within the consortia,
and actions to be taken to better integrate services offered and transitions into .
postsecondary education and the workforce.

Adult education regional consortia. Adult education providere have formed 71
regional consortia with boundaries that coincide with community college district

_service areas. Formal membership in consortia is limited to school and

community college districts, county offices of education, and joint powers
agencies. Each formal member is represented by a de3|gnee of its governing -
board. With input from other adult education and workforce service providers
(such as local libraries, community organizations, and workforce investment
boards), the consortia have developed regional plans to coordinate and deliver
adult education in their regions. Only formal consortia members may receive
Adult Education Program funding directly: A formal member, however, may pass
through program funding to other adult education providers if called for in the
regional plan. ’

How can program funds be used? State law authorizes c'ohsorﬂa to use Adult
Education Program funds for programs in seven adult education instructional
areas; -

. a) Elementary and secondary reading, writing, and mathematlos (basnc

skills).

b) English as a second language and other programs for immigrants.
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c) Workforce preparation for adults (including senior citizens) entering or re-
entering the workforce

d)  Short-term career technical education with high employment potential.

. e) Preapprenticeship training activities. coordinated with approved
apprentrceshrp programs.

f) Programs for adults with disabilities.

9) Programs designed to develop khowledge and skills that enable adults
(including senior citizens) to help children to succeed in school.

Beginning in 2016-17, state education leaders began distributing program
funding based on (1) the amount allocated to each consortium in the prior year,
(2) the consortium’s need for adult education, and (3) the consortium’s

- effectiveness in meetmg those needs. If a consortium receives more funding in a
given year than in the prior year, each member of the consortium will receive at
least a8 much funding as in the prior year. :

SUPPORT

None received

OPPOSITION . | | .
" None received . | |

--END --
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SUMMARY

This bill, an urgency measure, requires schools to enter into a memorandum of
agreement or other agreement with a local library district or public library to provide-
each student with a student success card.

BACKGROUND
~ Existing law:
1) Provides the following definitions:

a) “Public IibrarY" means a library, or two or more libraries, that is operated
by a single public jurisdiction and that serves its residents free of charge.

b) “School library” means an organized collection of printed and audiovisual
materials that satisfies specified criteria. (Education Code § 18710)

2) Establishes within the California Depart\ment of Education (CDE) a California
State Library division, whose chief is to be a technically trained librarian known
as the “State Librarian.” (EC § 19301, § 19302)

3)  Requires the State Librarian to employ a consultant to provide technical
assistance to public libraries in the development and enhancement of library
services to children and youth. (EC § 19320.5)

4) Requires the State Librarian to establish the Reading Initiative Program to,
among other things, develop a list of recommended books that supplement the
state-recommended English language arts curriculum framework and develop a
method for recognizing students who participate in the program. (EC § 19336)

ANALYSIS
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This bill, an urgency clause, requires schools to enter into a memorandum of agreement
with a local library district or public library to provide each student with a student
success card. Specifically, this bill:

Memorandum of Agreement

1)

2)

3)

5)

Requires a local educational agency (LEA) to enter into a memorandum of
agreement (MOA) with the appropriate library district or public library to ,
collaborate and connect for the purpose of providing every public school student
enrolled in the LEA with a student success card.

Authorizes multiple LEAs within a single county to join together in a single MOA
with the appropriate library district or public library.

Provides that a MOA includes but is not limited to a MOA, memorandum of
understanding, or other appropriate agreement.

Requires a MOA to include, but is not limited to, all of the following:

a)

b)

C)

d)

Provisions ensuring the privacy of student information, consistent with
applicable state and federal law,

A stipulation for training opportunities for LEA teachers by Iibrary staff and
for a sufficient time allotted for library staff'to visit schools to educate
students and to build and strengthen local partnerships.

A provision allowing the replacement of lost, stolen, or damaged student
success cards at no cost to students, LEAs, or schools.

Provisions for the role of credentialed teacher librarian.

Authorizes a MOA to include, but is not limited to, any of the following:

a)

b)

A provision allowing students access to all or some library resources,
which may include but are not limited to research and homework
databases, web-based live homework help, learning resources,
downloadable eBooks, audiobooks, music and magazines, video
streaming, or tools or technology lending.

A provision limiting the total number of borrowed physical materials to a

specified number at a given time.

A policy for assessing overdue fines for materials checked out with a
student success card.

A provision to provide a brief annual presentation by library staff at an all-
school assembly or parent meeting to educate parents and guardians
about the resources available at public libraries.
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6)

8)

Authorizes a LEA with a similar MOA or memorandum of understanding in
existence, as of the effective date of this bill, with a public library, library district or
similar library authority to retain and continue to operate under that MOA or
memorandum of understanding, and provides that those LEAs are exempt from
the provisions of this bill.

Provides that a MOA is to be effective for five years and may be renewed by the
LEA and library district or public Iibrary

Authorizes both parties to review a MOA annually to incorporate suggestlons and
lessons learned.

Student success card

9)

10)

Requires a student success card issued to a student to use as the student’s
library account number the student’s school-issued identification number, or the
student’s statewide student identifier if the LEA and library district or public library
determine it is necessary and agree to its use.

Authorizes a parent or guardian to opt their student out of enroliment for a
student success card.

State Library and local library districts

11)

12) -

Requires the California State Library to make available sample language for
MOAs that may be used by LEAs, library districts, and public libraries.

Requifes a library district or public library, by January 1, 2028, upon the |
expiration of each initial five-year MOA, to report the followmg statistics to the
California State Library and the Legislature:

a) The increase in the number of student success cards issued from the -
beginning of the initial MOA period to the end of the initial MOA period.

b) Any increase in the use of library books or eBooks during the initial five-
year MOA period

C) Any measurable increases to the use of other library resources durmg the
initial five-year MOA period.

Information to and communication with students

13)

14)

~ Requires the LEA, library district, or public library, and authorizes more than one

of these entities, to print and disseminate information to students and families at
the beginning of each school year about the resources available through a
student success card and how a parent may opt out.

Requires the LEA, library district, or public library, upon non-renewal of a MOA,
to communicate with students within 60 days, regarding how a student may
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continue to use a student success card in the absence of an active MOA.
Miscellaneous

15)  Provides that this bill does not usurp school or county office of education library
positions, programs, or funding.

" 16)  Defines LEA to include a school district, county office of education, or charter
school.

17)  Includes an urgency clause to enhance and facilitate distance learning.
STAFF COMMENTS

1) Need for the bill. According to the author, “In the midst of this pandemic, the
science remains the same: with research showing that reading actually aids in
brain development, especially in a child’s first five years of life. The United
States Bureau of Labor Statistics found that in 2018, parents with children under
the age of 18 only spent 6-7 minutes per day doing activities related to-their
children’s education, and 2-3 minutes reading to, and with, their children. This
unfortunately shows that in today’s busy society, a library card is still out of reach
for many children. Moreover, a December 2016 Pew Research Center poll found
that a large majority of American adults believed that false and made-up news
has caused a great deal of confusion about the basic facts of current events.
Providing California students with library cards will reinforce the mission of public
libraries in California. By providing free and easy access to information, ideas, -
books, and technology, SB 34 will ensure that students are thrive during the
‘pandemic and help ensure they are college ready after graduation.” -

2) Details for the MOA. This bill establishes general parameters but leaves the
details to be determined by each MOA. For example, the following questions
should be answered in each MOA.:

a) What is a student success card? Is it a school-issued student
identification card? lIs it a library card? Is it a special library card thatis ..
only for students?

b) Does the library or the school issue the card? Do students have to go to
the library to pick up their student success card?

C) If it's a card that is issued by the library, is a pérental signature required?
Will the library require proof of residency in the library’s jurisdiction?

d) Which student identification number will be used as the student’s library
account number?

e) How will students access library materials? Will library materials be
transported to school campuses, will digital access to materials be
provided to students, or will students be required to physically go into a
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4)

local library to access material (or a combination thereof)?

f) Will late fees be assessed for overdue materials?

-9 How will costs of the program be covered?

Burdensome on libraries? This bill imposes responsibilities upon libraries,
such as training of LEA staff, visiting schools to educate students, printing and

- . disseminating information to and communicating with students, and reporting

information to the State Librarian and Legislature. Additionally, this bill requires
agreements to include a provision allowing the replacement of lost, stolen, or
damaged student success cards at no cost to pupils, local educational agencies,
or schools. Presumably, libraries would cover those costs. Staff recommends
an-amendment to strike language saying LEAs and schools don’t have to pay
for replacement student success cards (keeping the prohibition agalnst charging
students for replacement cards).

Will the requirement to enter into a MOA be burdensome for local libraries? Will
the creation of a formal agreement require additional costs and time such as the
need for attorneys? Staff recommends an amendment to allow LEAs to

choose to enter into a memorandum of understanding (MOU), thereby requmng

LEAs to enter into a MOA or MOU.

Is thé required five-year timeframe for how long a MOA is to be in effect too
lengthy?" Staff recommends an amendment to strike language requiring the
duration of the agreement to be five years, and instead require the agreement to
include a provision for how long the agreement will be in place (include a
recommendation that the duration of agreements be five years).

Staff recommends an amendment to require the agreement to include a
provision for how the costs will be covered.

Info on pandemic’s effects on early literacy. According to a March 2021
report by.Policy Analysis for California Education (PACE), students’ development
of oral reading fluency (ORF) “largely stopped in spring 2020 following the onset
of the COVID-19 pandemic. In fall 2020, students’ gains in reading were
stronger and similar to prepandemic rates. However, fall gains were insufficient
to recoup spring losses; overall, students’ ORF in second and third grade is
approximately 30 percent behind expectations. We also observe inequitable
impact: students at lower achieving schools are falling farther behind.”

The report cautions that “gaps in ORF that emerge now may lead to gaps in
other subjects over time if problems in students’ ORF interfere with content
learning in later grades. And new gaps may emerge: for example, with
enroliments down in preschool and kindergarten programs this year, it is possible
that incoming students in 202122 will start behind.” The report recommends:

a) Substantial resources should be allocated to support literacy development in
the early grades. Even greater resources need to be shared with low-
achieving districts, which often serve a disproportionate number of low-
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5)

6)

income students.

b) In addition to targeted funding, it will be important to identify the practices that
accelerate learning for students who have fallen behind, and to build policy
and support structures that help to enact these practices at scale.
hitps://edpolicyinca.org/publications/changing-patterns-growth-oral-reading-
fluency-during-covid-19-pandemic

Existing local programs. This bill is generally modelled upon existing
partnerships between school dlstrlcts and local libraries. Two examples within
California include:

a) In 2016, the Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) entered into a MOA
with the City of Los Angeles Board of Library Commissioners to provide every
student with a student success card. According to LAUSD’s website, each
students has a free Student Success Card from the Los Angeles Public
Library, with free access to books and all online resources, including music,
movies and one-on-one tutoring. There are no fines or fees for overdue
materials.

b) In January 2021, the Santa Ana Public Library and the Santa Ana Unified

~ School District partnered to provide a Student Success Library Card to every
student in the school district. According to the City of Santa Ana's website,
student ID cards can be used as Student Success Library Cards. Students
can check out up to five books at a time from the Main Library or Newhope
Library. Students have access to the library’s online databases, e-books, e-
audiobooks, video streaming, and e-magazines. Additionally, students can
check out DVDs and CDs. These Student Success Library Cards will not
incur overdue fees, will have a grace allowance of up to five lost or damaged
books, and will not expire until the student graduates from high school or
turns 19 years of age.

State Library resources for schools. The State Library’s California K-12
Online Content Project offers free access to online educational content thatis
aligned with the state curricular standards. This library database contains an
organized collection of information that indexes edited, published, often scholarly
material that is collected for an educational use. Importantly, library databases
contain information that has been vetted and is trustworthy.
https://www.library.ca.gov/services/to-public/k-12-online- content~pr0|ect/

SUPPORT

None received

OPPOSITION

California Library Association

~END -
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SUMMARY

This bill, an urgency measure, requires schools to enter into a memorandum of
agreement or other agreement with a local library district or public library to provide
each student with a student success card.

BACKGROUND
Existing law:
1) Provides the following definitions:

a) “Public library” means a Iibréry, or two or more libraries, that is operated
by a single public jurisdiction and that serves its residents free of charge.

b) “School library” means an organized collection of printed and audiovisual
materials that satisfies specified criteria. (Education Code § 18710)

2)  Establishes within the California Department of Education (CDE) a California
State Library division, whose chief is to be a technically trained librarian known
as the “State Librarian.” (EC § 19301, § 19302)

3) Requires the State Librarién to employ a consultant to provide technical
assistance to public libraries in the development and enhancement of library
services to children and youth. (EC § 19320.5)

4) Requires the State Librarian to establish the Reading Initiative Program to,
among other things, develop a list of recommended books that supplement the
state-recommended English language arts curriculum framework and develop a

method for recognizing students who participate in the program. (EC § 19336)

ANALYSIS
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This bill, an urgency clause, requires schools to enter into.a memorandum of agreement
with a local library district or public library to provide each student WI’[h a student
success card. Spemﬁcally, this bill:

Memorandum of Agreement

1)

4)

5)

Requires a local educational agency (LEA) to enter into a memorandum of
agreement (MOA) with the appropriate library district or public library to
collaborate and connect for the purpose of providing every pubhc school student
enrolled in the LEA with a student success card.

Authorizes multiple LEAs within a single county to join together in a single MOA
with the appropriate library dlstrlot or public library.

Provides that a MOA includes but is not limited to a MOA, memorandum of
understanding, or other appropriate agreement.

Re‘quires a MOA to include, butis not limited to, all of the following:

a)

)

d)

Provisions ensuring the privaoy of student information, consistent with
applicable state and federal law.

A stipulation for training opportunities for LEA teachers by library staff and
for a sufficient time allotted for library staff to visit schools to educate
students and to build and strengthen local partnerships.

A proVision allowing the replacement of lost, stolen, or damaged student
success cards at no cost to students, LEAs, or schools.

Provisions for the role 6f~o,redentia|ed teacher librarian.

Authorizes Va MOA to include, but is not limited to, any of the following:

a)

d)

A provision allowing students access to all or some library resources,
which- may include but are not limited to research and homework

-databases, web-based live homework help, learning resources,

downloadable eBooks, audiobooks, music and magazines, video
streaming, or tools or technology lending.

A provision limiting the total number of borrowed physical materials to a
specified number at a given time.

A policy for assessing overdue fines for materials checked out with a
student success card.

A provision to provide a brief annual presentation by library staff at an all-
school assembly or parent meeting to educate parents and guardians
about the resources available at public libraries.
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6)

7

8)

Authorizes a LEA with a similar MOA or memorandurm of understanding in
existence, as of the effective date of this bill, with a public library, library district or
similar library authority to retain and continue to operate under that MOA or
memorandum of understanding, and provides that those LEAs are exempt from
the provisions of this bill. '

Provides that a MOA is to be effective for five years and may be renewed by the
LEA and library district or public library. '

AhthoriZes both parties to review a MOA annually to incorporate suggestions and
lessons learned. .

Student success card

9)

10)

Requires a student success card issued to a student to use as the student’s
library account number the student’s school-issued identification number, or the
student’s statewide student identifier if the LEA and library district or public library
determine it is necessary and agree to its use.

Authorizes a parent or gvuardian to opt their student out of enroliment for a
student success card.

State Library and local library districts

11)

12)

Requires the California State Library to make available sample language for
MOAs that may be used by LEAs, library districts, and public libraries.

Réquires a library district or public library, by January 1, 2028, upon the
expiration of each initial five-year MOA, to report the following statistics to the
California State Library and the Legislature:

a) The increase in the number of student success cards issued from the
beginning of the initial MOA period to the end of the initial MOA period.

b) Any increase in the use of library books or eBooks during the initial five-

year MOA period.

C) Any measurable increases to the use of other library resources during the
initial five-year MOA period.

Information to and communication with students

13)

14)

‘Requires the LEA, library district, or public library, and authorizes more than one

of these entities, to print and disseminate information to students and families at
the beginning of each school year about the resources available through a”
student success card and how a parent may opt out.

Requires the LEA, library district, or public library, upon non—reneWal of a MOA,
to communicate with students within 60 days, regarding how a student may
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continue to use a student success card in the absence of an active MOA. |
Miscellaneous

15)  Provides that this bill does not usurp school or county office'of education library
positions, programs, or funding.

16)  Defines LEA to include a school district, county office of education, or charter
school. .

17)  Includes an urgency clause to enhance and facilitate distance iearning.
STAFF COMMENTS

1) Need for the bill. According to the author, “In the midst of this pandemic, the
science remains the same: with research showing that reading actually aids in
brain development, especially in a child’s first five years of life. The United.
States Bureau of Labor Statistics found that in 2018, parents with children under
the age of 18 only spent 6-7 minutes per day doing activities related to their
children’s education, and 2-3 minutes reading to, and with, their children. This
unfortunately shows that in today’s busy society, a library card is still out of reach
for many children. Moreover, a December 2016 Pew Research Center poll found
that a large majority of American adults believed that false and made-up news
has caused a great deal of confusion about the basic facts of current events.
Providing California students with library cards will reinforce the mission of public
libraries in California. By providing free and easy access to information, ideas,
books, and technology, SB 34 will ensure that students are thrive during the
pandemic and help ensure they are college ready after graduation.”

2) 'Details for the MOA. This bill establishes generavl parameters but leaves the
details to be determined by each MOA. For example, the following questions
should be answered in each MOA: :

a) What is a student success card? Is it a school-issued student
identification card? Is it a library card? Is it a special library card that is
only for students?

b).  Does the library or the school issue the card? Do students have to go to
the library to pick up their student success card?

c)- If it's a card that is issued by the library, is a parental signature required?
Will the library require proof of residency in the library’s jurisdiction?

d) Which student identification number will be used as the studeﬁt’s library
‘ account number? :

| e) How will students access library materials? Will library materials be
transported to school campuses, will digital access to materials be
provided to students, or will students be required to physically go into a
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3)

4)

local library to acoeés material (or a combination thereof)?
f) Will late fees be assessed for overdue materials?
9) How will costs of the program be cofveredv?

‘Burdensome on libraries? This bill imposes responsibilities upon libraries,
such as training of LEA ‘staff, visiting schools to educate students, printing and
disseminating information to and communicating with students, and reporting
information to the State Librarian and Legislature. Additionally, this bill requires
agreements to include a provision allowing the replacement of lost, stolen, or
damaged student success cards at no cost to pupils, local educational agencies,
or schools. Presumably, libraries would cover those costs. Staff recommends
an amendment to strike language saying LEAs and schools don’t have to pay
for replacement student success cards (keeplng the prohlbltlon against charging
students for replacement cards).

Will the requirement to enter into a MOA be burdensome for local libraries? Will
the creation of a formal agreement require additional costs and time such as the
need for attorneys? Staff recommends an amendment to allow LEAs to
choose to enter into a memorandum of understanding (MOU), thereby requiring
LEAs to enter into a MOA or MOU.

Is the required five-year timeframe for how long a MOA is to be in effect too
lengthy? Staff recommends an amendment to strike Ianguage requiring the
duration of the agreement to be five years, and instead require the agreement to
include a provision for how long the agreement will be in place (include a ‘
recommendation that the duration of agreements be five years).

Staff recommends an amendment to require the agreement to include a
provision for how the costs will be covered.

Info on pandemic’s effects on early literacy. According to a March 2021
report by Policy Analysis for California Education (PACE), students’ development
of oral reading fluency (ORF) “largely stopped in spring 2020 following the onset
of the COVID-19 pandemic. In fall 2020, students’ gains in reading were
stronger and similar to prepandemic rates. However, fall gains were insufficient
to recoup spring losses; overall, students’ ORF in second and third grade is
approximately 30 percent behind expectations. We also observe inequitable
impact: students at lower achieving schools are falling farther behind.”

The report cautions that “gaps in ORF that emerge now may lead to gaps in
other subjects over time if problems in students’ ORF interfere with content

learning in later grades. And new gaps may emerge: for example, with

enroliments down in preschool and kindergarten programs this year, it is possible

. that incoming students in 2021-22 will start behind.” The report recommends:

a) Substantial resources should be allocated to support literacy development in
. the early grades. Even greater resources need to be shared with low-
achieving districts, which often serve a disproportionate humber of low-




SB 34 (Umberg) -Page 6 of 6

6)

income students.

b) In addition to targeted funding, it will be important to identify the practices that
accelerate learning for students who have fallen behind, and to build policy
- and support structures that help to enact these practices at scale.
https://edpolicyinca.org/publications/changing-patterns-growth-oral-reading-
fluency-during-covid-19-pandemic

Existing local programs. This bill is Qénerally modelled upon existin'g
partnerships between school districts and local libraries. Two examples within
California include:

a) In 2016, the Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) entered into a MOA
with the City of Los Angeles Board of Library Commissioners to provide every
student with a student success card. According to LAUSD’s website, each
students has a free Student Success Card from the Los Angeles Public
Library, with free access to books and all online resources, including music,
movies and one-on-one tutorlng There are no fines or fees for overdue
materials.

b) In January 2021, the Santa Ana Public Library and the Santa Ana Unified
School District partnered to provide a Student Success Library Card to every
student in the school district. According to the City of Santa Ana’s website,
student ID cards can be used as Student Success Library Cards. Students
can check out up to five books at a time from the Main Library or Newhope
Library. Students have access to the library’s online databases, e-books, e-
audiobooks, video streaming, and e-magazines. Additionally, students can
check out DVDs and CDs. These Student Success Library Cards will not
incur overdue fees, will have a grace allowance of up to five lost or damaged
books, and will not expire until the student graduates from high school or
turns 19 years of age.

State Library resources for schools. The State Library’s California K-12
Online Content Project offers free access to online educational content that is
aligned with the state curricular standards. This library database contains an
organized collection of information that indexes edited, published, often scholarly
material that is collected for an educational use. Importantly, library databases
contain information that has been vetted and is trustworthy.

https://www.library.ca.gov/services/to-public/k-12-online-content-project/
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