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HISTORY 
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 AB 103 (Budget), Ch. 17, Stats. of 2017 
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Opposition: Bay Area Student Activists; California Police Chiefs Association 

   
PURPOSE 

The purpose of this legislation is to remove the provision of law that provides that if a person 
has an outstanding warrant for a felony, or an outstanding warrant for a firearm prohibited 
misdemeanor, that person is prohibited from possessing a firearm while they have the 
outstanding warrant. 

Existing law provides that certain people are prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm for 
life, including: (Pen. Code, §§ 29800, 23515 and 29805.)   
 

1) Anyone convicted of a felony, or with an outstanding warrant for a felony; 
 
2) Anyone addicted to a narcotic drug; 
 
3) Any juvenile convicted of a violent crime with a gun and tried in adult court; 
 
4) Any person convicted of a federal crime that would be a felony in California and 

sentenced to more than 30 days in prison, or a fine of more than $1,000;   
                         

5) Anyone convicted of certain violent misdemeanors, e.g., assault with a firearm; inflicting 
corporal injury on a spouse or significant other, or brandishing a firearm in the presence 
of a police officer.   
 

Existing law provides that a violation of a lifetime ban on possession of a firearm is a felony.  
(Pen. Code,§§ 29800, 23515 and 29805.)   
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This bill removes the provision that prohibits a person with an outstanding felony warrant from 
the firearm prohibition.   
 
Existing law provides that anyone convicted of numerous misdemeanors involving violence or 
threats of violence are subject to a ten-year ban on possession of a firearm. Provides that a 
violation of these provisions is an alternate felony/misdemeanor. This provision also applies to 
persons who have outstanding warrants for these misdemeanors. (Pen. Code,§ 29805.)   
 
This bill removes the outstanding warrant provision from these specified misdemeanors.   
 
Existing law provides that the prohibitions to possession of a firearm shall not affect a person 
who otherwise violates those sections if the person did not have knowledge that they had an 
outstanding warrant. (Pen. Code, § 29581.)  
 
Existing federal law provides, that certain people are prohibited from owning or possessing a 
firearm:  (18 USC § 922(g).) Any person who: 
 

1) Has been convicted in any court of, a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term 
exceeding one year;  

2) Is a fugitive from justice; 
3) Is an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance, as defined;  
4) Has been adjudicated as a mental defective or who has been committed to a mental 

institution; 
5) Being an alien is illegally or unlawfully in the United States; or except as specified, has 

been admitted to the United States under a nonimmigrant visa, as defined;   
6) Has been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions; 
7) Having been a citizen of the United States, has renounced his citizenship; or 
8) Is subject to a specified court order. 

COMMENTS 

1.  Need for This Bill  

According to the author:   

Current law provides that defendants convicted of qualifying offenses forfeit any 
firearms in their possession and are barred from ownership in the future. 
However, the law (Penal Code §§ 29800 and 29805) extends this prohibition to 
any person for whom a warrant for a felony or numerous misdemeanors has been 
issued, without regard to whether or not that person was aware of the existence of 
the warrant, or whether the accusation on which the warrant is based turns out to 
be true. This means a person who has been secretly accused of any felony, or of 
any of numerous misdemeanors, is subject to felony prosecution for owning a 
legally purchased and properly registered firearm. This is true even if the person 
is innocent of the underlying charge, never knew that the underlying charge 
existed, never knew that a warrant had been issued, and never knew that they 
were subject to the firearms ban. Even if a judge issues then immediately recalls a 
warrant – for example, if the person was late to court – that person is now a felon 
if they had previously lawfully purchased a firearm. 
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SB 701 clarifies that an individual who has been accused of a crime and for whom 
a warrant has been issued, but who has not been convicted of any offense, may 
not be prosecuted for otherwise lawful gun ownership. This bill does not prevent 
courts from ordering defendants to surrender any firearms as a condition of 
release pending resolution of the case, and maintains pre-existing bans barring 
fugitives from purchasing firearms. 

2.  California Law Bans Possession of a Firearm by Persons with Specified Active  
     Warrants 
  
The provision of law requiring persons with active warrants for felonies and specified 
misdemeanors go on the prohibited persons list was implemented in AB 103 (Budget), Ch. 17, 
Stats. of 2017.  At the time of the implementation of these provisions there was no requirement 
that the person who was the subject of the active warrant have any knowledge that they actually 
had an arrest warrant for a prohibiting offense. The following year, SB 1289 (Cmtee. on 
Judiciary), Ch. 92, Stats. of 2018 added Penal Code § 29851 which specifies the following:   

[The warrant prohibitions] do not apply to or affect a person who otherwise 
violates those sections if the person did not have knowledge of the outstanding 
warrant. 

The provision requiring knowledge is easily overlooked because it was also renumbered from 
Pen. Code, § 29581 to Pen. Code, § 29851.  

If the committee is comfortable with the warrant provision so long as the person with the 
warrant, the committee should consider putting in a cross-reference to the section where the 
knowledge requirement is located.   

3.  This Provision was Never Heard in a Public Safety Policy Committee and Carries a  
     Penalty that can Result in State Prison 
 
As articulated above, this provision was originally implemented in the 2017 budget omnibus bill.  
Subsequently, the provision meant to correct the fact that no knowledge requirement was 
attached was implemented in the 2018 Senate Judiciary omnibus bill.  Neither bill went through 
the Senate Public Safety Committee or the Assembly Public Safety Committee.   

Under the law if a person has a warrant for their arrest for a felony, or if they have a specified 
misdemeanor arrest warrant, they face up to 3-years of incarceration in the California State 
Prison. The imposition of a punishment of up to 3-years in state prison should be reviewed by the 
policy committee that has oversight over the state prison population. One option the committee 
has would be to lower the punishment for possessing a firearm if you have an active warrant 
would be to make that violation a misdemeanor.   

Prison Overcrowding  

On February 10, 2014, the federal court ordered California to reduce its in-state adult institution 
population to 137.5% of design capacity by February 28, 2016, as follows:    

1) 143% of design bed capacity by June 30, 2014; 
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2) 141.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2015; and, 
3) 137.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2016.  

The court also ordered California to implement the following population reduction measures in 
its prisons: 

1) Increase prospective credit earnings for non-violent second-strike inmates as well as 
minimum custody inmates.  

2) Allow non-violent second-strike inmates who have reached 50 percent of their total 
sentence to be referred to the Board of Parole Hearings (BPH) for parole consideration.  

3) Release inmates who have been granted parole by BPH but have future parole dates.  
4) Expand the CDCR’s medical parole program.  
5) Allow inmates age 60 and over who have served at least 25 years of incarceration to be 

considered for parole.  
6) Increase its use of reentry services and alternative custody programs. 

(Opinion Re: Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part Defendants’ Request For Extension of 
December 31, 2013 Deadline, NO. 2:90-cv-0520 LKK DAD (PC), 3-Judge Court, Coleman v. 
Brown, Plata v. Brown (2-10-14).) Following the implementation of these measures along with 
the passage of Proposition 47, approved by California voters in November 2014, California met 
the federal court’s population cap in December 2015. (Defendants’ December 2015 Status 
Report in Response to February 10, 2014 Order, 2:90-cv-00520 KJM DAD PC, 3-Judge Court, 
Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown.) The administration’s most recent status report states that as 
“of December 14, 2016, 114,031 inmates were housed in the State’s 34 adult institutions” which 
amounts to approximately 135.3% of design capacity, and 4,704 inmates were housed in out-of-
state facilities. (Defendants’ December 2016 Status Report in Response to February 10, 2014 
Order, 2:90-cv-00520 KJM DAD PC, 3-Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown (fn. 
omitted).)   

While significant gains have been made in reducing the prison population, the state must 
stabilize these advances and demonstrate to the federal court that California has in place the 
“durable solution” to prison overcrowding “consistently demanded” by the court. (Opinion Re: 
Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part Defendants’ Request For Extension of December 31, 
2013 Deadline, NO. 2:90-cv-0520 LKK DAD (PC), 3-Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. 
Brown (2-10-14).   

This bill adds three misdemeanors to the list of crimes that, if convicted, would prohibit an 
offender from possessing a firearm for 10-years. Any violation of this prohibition would be 
punishable by up to 16-months, two, or three-years in state prison.   

Although the state is currently in compliance with the court-ordered population cap, creating new 
enhancements, or expanding upon existing ones, will increase the length of time that an inmate 
must serve in prison and reverse the progress made in reducing the state prison population. This 
is contrary to the court's order for a durable solution to prison overcrowding. 

The committee should consider whether a misdemeanor is a more appropriate punishment for 
this offense than an alternate felony/misdemeanor with a state prison felony attached that can 
result in up to three-years in state prison.   

-- END – 


