SENATE COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Senator Nancy Skinner, Chair
2017 - 2018 Regular

Bill No: SB416 Hearing Date: April 25, 2017
Author: Anderson

Version: February 15, 2017

Urgency: No Fiscal: Yes

Consultant: SC

Subject: Elder Abuse: Isolation

HISTORY
Source: Unknown

Prior Legislation: SB 338 (Morrell), failed passagesenate Public Safety (2015)
AB 441 (Wilk), failed passage in Assembly Publaf&y (2015)

Support: California Advocates for Nursing Home RefpCalifornia Association for
Health Services at Home; California District Atteys Association; California
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Association; CaliforniadedChiefs; Coalition for
Elder and Disability Rights (CEDAR); Congress ofifdania Seniors

Opposition:  American Civil Liberties Union; Califoia Attorneys for Criminal Justice

PURPOSE

The purpose of thisbill isto makeisolating an elder person or dependent person a
misdemeanor and to increase existing felony enhancements that would be imposed if the
victim suffered great bodily injury and is between the age of 65 and 70.

Existing law defines an “elder” to mean any person who is Goyef age or older. (Pen. Code 8§
368, subd. (g9).)

Existing law defines “dependent adult” to mean any person \slaeiween the ages of 18 and
64, who has physical or mental limitations whicktret his or her ability to carry out normal
activities or to protect his or her rights, inclngj but not limited to, persons who have physical
or developmental disabilities or whose physicain@ntal abilities have diminished because of
age. “Dependent adult” also includes any persowéxn the ages of 18 and 64 who is admitted
as an inpatient to a 24-hour health facility. (Réade 8 368, subd. (h).)

Existing law provides that any person who knows or reasondiadyld know that a person is an
elder adult and who, under circumstances or candtlikely to produce great bodily harm or
death, willfully causes or permits any elder orelggent adult to suffer, or inflicts thereon
unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering,h@aving the care or custody of any elder or
dependent adult, willfully causes or permits thespe or health of the elder or dependent adult
to be injured, or willfully causes or permits tHdex or dependent adult to be placed in a
situation in which his or her person or healthndangered, is punishable by imprisonment in a
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county jail not exceeding one year, or by a finetnexceed $6000, or by both that fine and
imprisonment, or by imprisonment in the state prigwr two, three or four years. (Pen. Code §
368, subd. (b)(1).)

Existing law states that if during the commission of the ofeedescribed above, the victim
suffers great bodily injury, as defined, the defamidshall receive an additional term in the state
prison as follows:

* Three years if the victim is under the age of 7@l,a
* Five years if the victim is 70 years of age or olde

Thisbill provides instead that a defendant shall receivadaitional term of five years when the
victim is 65 years of age or older.

Existing law provides that any person who knows or reasondiadyld know that a person is an
elder or dependent adult and who, under circumetaac conditions other than those likely to
produce great bodily harm or death, willfully casige permits and elder or dependent adult to
suffer, or inflicts thereon unjustifiable physigain or mental suffering, or having the care or
custody of an elder or dependent adult, willfulyuses or permits the person or health of the
elder or dependent adult to be injured or willfutBuses or permits the elder or dependent adult
to be placed in a situation in which his or hersperor health may be endangered is guilty of a
misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months in thatygail, a fine of up to $1,000 or both jail
and fine. A second or subsequent violation is phabe by up to one year in county jail, a fine
of up to $2,000 or both jail and fine. (Pen. Cod268, subd. (c).)

Existing law provides that any caretaker of an elder or a dégretradult who violates any
provision of law proscribing theft, embezzlementgery, fraud, or identity theft, with respect to
the property or personal identifying informationtbét elder or dependent adult, is punishable as
follows:

* By afine not exceeding $2,500, or by imprisonmiara county jail not exceeding one
year, or by both that fine and imprisonment, oalfine not exceeding $10,000, or by
imprisonment in the county jail for two, three,four years, or by both that fine and
imprisonment, when the moneys, labor, goods, sesyior real or personal property
taken or obtained is of a value exceeding $950; or

* By afine not exceeding $1,000, by imprisonmerd gounty jail not exceeding one year,
or by both that fine and imprisonment, when the eysnlabor, goods, services, or real or
personal property taken or obtained is of a valhteemceeding $950. (Pen. Code § 368,
subd. (e).)

Existing law provides that false imprisonment is the unlawiolation of the personal liberty of
another, and generally punishes false imprisonmgiat misdemeanor with a fine of up to $1000,
imprisonment in county jail for up to one yearbaoth the fine and imprisonment. (Pen. Code 88
368, 367.)

Existing law states that any person who commits the false sapment of an elder or a
dependent adult by the use of violence, menaced frar deceit is punishable by imprisonment
in county jail for 2, 3 or 4 years. (Pen. Code 8,38bd. (f).)
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Existing law states that upon conviction of any felony it sthallconsidered a circumstance in

aggravation in imposing the upper term if the wictf an offense is particularly vulnerable, or
unable to defend himself or herself, due to agagnificant disability. (Pen. Code § 1170.85,
subd. (b).)

Thisbill creates a new misdemeanor offense for the wilfalation of an elder or dependent
adult by a caretaker.

Thisbill defines “isolate” to mean restricting the persorglits retained by the elder or
dependent adult, including, but not limited to, tight to receive visitors, telephone calls, and
personal mail unless specifically authorized byartorder.

Existing law defines “caretaker” to mean means any person wldhe care, custody, or control
of, or who stands in a position of trust with, daee or a dependent adult. (Pen. Code § 368,
subd. (i).)

Thisbill adds a conservator or an attorney-in-fact to gfaniion of caretaker.

COMMENTS
1. Elder Abuse Laws

Elder abuse can either be a criminal offense avibwiolation. Existing criminal law provides

for enhanced penalties for specified crimes sudhefs, embezzlement, forgery, fraud, and
identity theft committed against elderly or depemdmersons. (Pen. Code § 368, subd. (d).) The
law also punishes willfully causing or permitting @lder or dependent adult to suffer or
inflicting unjustifiable physical pain or mentalffering; or as a caretaker willfully causes or
permits injury or the health to be endangered. (Baxde 8§ 368, subds. (b)-(c).) If the crime is
committed under circumstances or conditions likelgause great bodily injury or death, the
punishment is a felony. If the crime is committeaier circumstances or conditions not likely to
cause produce great bodily harm or death, the pomasat is a misdemeanotd() If great bodily
injury is incurred, the defendant must be sentemoeoh additional 3 years if the victim is under
70 years of age, or 5 years if the victim is 7@lder. If the offense causes death of the victim,
the defendant must be sentenced to an additiop@h¥s if the victim was under 70 years old and
7 years if the victim was 70 or oldeld( Existing law also provides that false impris@amnof

an elder or dependent adult is punishable as aye{®en. Code § 368, subd. (f).)

Under civil laws, a person or organization may bedsfor harming an elder or dependent adult.
Civil elder abuse includes financial abuse, physabaise, neglect, abandonment, isolation,
abduction, or other treatment with resulting phgkkarm or pain or mental suffering. It also
includes the deprivation by a care custodian ofigawr services that are necessary to avoid
physical harm or mental suffering. (Welf. & Instod® § 15610.07.) Civil law provides for civil
remedies which may include actual damages, purgteages and attorney’s fees. (Welf. &
Inst. Code § 15657.)

Existing civil laws also provide that certain pars@re mandated reporters and required to report
suspected elder abuse to local law enforcemerdudt protective services. (Welf. & Inst. Code

§ 15630.) A mandated reporter is any person whabksismed full or intermittent responsibility

for the care or custody of an elder or dependeult.adhether or not he or she receives
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compensation, including administrators, supervisamngl any licensed staff of a public or private
facility that provides care or services for eldedependent adults, or any elder or dependent
adult care custodian, health practitioner, clerggmber, or employee of a county adult
protective services agency or a local law enforagragency.Id.) A failure to report elder or
dependent abuse by a mandated reporter may behpdras a misdemeanoid.

Local and state law enforcement have concurrergdiation with Adult Protective Services and
the local long-term care ombudsman programs tostiyate elder and dependent adult abuse
and criminal neglect. (Pen. Code § 368.5.)

2. New Crime of Isolation

This bill creates a new crime of isolatiamich punishes as a misdemeanor the restriction of
personal rights retained by the elder or depenae@uit, including, but not limited to, the right to
receive visitors, telephone calls, and personal umess specifically authorized by a court.

While existing criminal law does not specify isodat of an elder or dependent adult as a crime,
it does specify that the unlawful violation of thersonal liberty of another is false imprisonment
and punishable as a misdemeanor. (Pen. Code, §8868 Additionally, the law specifies that
false imprisonment of an elder or dependent aduthb use of violence, menace, fraud, or
deceit is a felony. If the false imprisonment i$ achieved through use of violence, menace,
fraud or deceit, the general crime of false imprisent could be prosecuted.

This bill seeks to punish the restriction of pemaights of an elder or dependent adult as a
misdemeanor, but it appears that this conduct Mragdy be punished as misdemeanor false
imprisonment. And when committed against an eldetependent adult by the use of violence,
menace, fraud, or deceit, the offense could beegrded as a felony.

Additionally, this bill creates a new definition ‘Golation” that is different from existing law.
“Isolation” is defined for purposes of mandatedamers to include the following:

* Acts intentionally committed for the purpose ofyeeting, and that do serve to prevent,
an elder or dependent adult from receiving hisesrrhail or telephone calls;

» Telling a caller or prospective visitor that anexldr dependent adult is not present, or
does not wish to talk with the caller, or doeswisth to meet with the visitor where the
statement is false, is contrary to the expressesisti the elder or the dependent adult,
whether he or she is competent or not, and is rfadbe purpose of preventing the elder
or dependent adult from having contact with famitiends, or concerned persons;

» False imprisonment, as defined in Section 236 ®fRbnal Code; or

» Physical restraint of an elder or dependent athithe purpose of preventing the elder
or dependent adult from meeting with visitors. (Y¥V&lInst. Code, § 1510.43, subd. (a).)

Existing law also provides a rebuttable presumptinat the acts described above do not
constitute isolation if they are performed pursuarthe instructions of a doctor who is caring
for the elder or dependent adult at the time ts&uictions are given, and who gives the
instructions as part of his or her medical careelf\\& Inst. Code, § 1510.43, subd. (b).) These
acts also do not constitute isolation if they asefigrmed in response to a reasonably perceived
threat of danger to property or physical safetye\& Inst. Code, § 1510.43, subd. (b).)
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3. Sentencing Enhancements and Ongoing Concerns oWrison Overcrowding

On February 10, 2014, the federal court ordereddzaia to reduce its in-state adult institution
population to 137.5% of design capacity by Febray2016, as follows:

» 143% of design bed capacity by June 30, 2014;
* 141.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 28t8;
» 137.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2016.

The court also ordered California to implementftiilwing population reduction measures in
its prisons:

* Increase prospective credit earnings for non-viodecond-strike inmates as well as
minimum custody inmates.

» Allow non-violent second-strike inmates who havacteed 50 percent of their total
sentence to be referred to the Board of Paroleirtga(BPH) for parole consideration.

* Release inmates who have been granted parole bybBPkave future parole dates.

* Expand the CDCR’s medical parole program.

» Allow inmates age 60 and over who have servedast 25 years of incarceration to be
considered for parole.

* Increase its use of reentry services and alteratigtody programs.

(Opinion Re: Order Granting in Part and Denyingart Defendants’ Request For Extension of
December 31, 2013 Deadline, NO. 2:90-cv-0520 LKKID@C), 3-Judge CourGoleman v.
Brown, Plata v. Brown (2-10-14).) Following the implementation of theseasures along with
the passage of Proposition 47, approved by Caldoraters in November 2014, California met
the federal court’s population cap in December 2QD&fendants’ December 2015 Status
Report in Response to February 10, 2014 Order-@r900520 KJM DAD PC, 3-Judge Court,
Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown.) The administration’s most recent status repates that as
“of December 14, 2016, 114,031 inmates were hours#te State’s 34 adult institutions” which
amounts to approximately 135.3% of design capaaity, 4,704 inmates were housed in out-of-
state facilities. (Defendants’ December 2016 StR®gort in Response to February 10, 2014
Order, 2:90-cv-00520 KJM DAD PC, 3-Judge Co@dleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown (fn.
omitted).)

While significant gains have been made in redutiregprison population, the state must
stabilize these advances and demonstrate to tkeealezburt that California has in place the
“durable solution” to prison overcrowding “consistly demanded” by the court. (Opinion Re:
Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part DefetsidRequest For Extension of December 31,
2013 Deadline, NO. 2:90-cv-0520 LKK DAD (PC), 3-gedCourt,Coleman v. Brown, Plata v.
Brown (2-10-14).

This bill increases existing sentencing enhances@ntcrimes against elder and dependent
adults. Existing law contains a variety of enhaneets that can be used to increase the amount
of time a defendant will serve. Enhancements aage from adding a specified number of
years to a person’s sentence, or doubling a pessamitence or even converting a determinate
sentence into a life sentence. Multiple enhancesneant be imposed in a single case to
significantly increase the person’s sentence. @tisrewhen elder abuse causes great bodily
injury, the court must impose an additional 3 gears depending on whether the victim is under
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70 years old or 70 and over. This bill would regquar5 year sentencing enhancement if the
defendant causes great bodily injury of anyoned#ry of age or older. Existing law also
provides for a sentencing enhancement when eldeeatauses death — 5 years or 7 years
depending on whether the victim is under 70 yelt®070 and over. This bill would require a 7
year sentencing enhancement if the defendant causeleath of anyone 65 years of age or

older.

Although the state is currently in compliance whk court-ordered population cap, creating new
enhancements, or expanding upon existing onesingikase the length of time that an inmate
must serve in prison and reverse the progress maeducing the state prison population. This
is contrary to the court's order for a durable sotuto prison overcrowding.

4. Argument in Support

According to the Congress of California Seniors:

Elder abuse — both physical and financial — isaalyea crime in California. Seniors and
dependent adults often survive only because catiemtion and efforts of their
caretakers. SB 416 will add years of prison timehtoexisting sentences if the victim
suffers great bodily injury or death as a resulalofise by their caretaker.

Your bill will also make it a misdemeanor for aei@mker to purposefully isolate an elder
or dependent adult. Isolation is defined as theeg@nestriction of personal rights,
including the right to receive visitors, make ardeaive telephone calls, and freely use
mail and email. Isolation has been shown to besastep toward domination by a
caretaker, often followed by financial abuse.

5. Argument in Opposition

According to the California Attorneys for Crimindistice (CACJ):

CACJ opposes SB 416’s effort to expand the fivey&gr enhancement for inflicting
great bodily injury under PC 12022.7 to victims enthe age of 70. We also oppose the
bill's effort to expand the seven (7) year enhaneeifior inflicting death on a victim

who is under 70.

SB 416 seeks to establish a new misdemeanor oftédrigmolating” an elder. However,
the definition of the term “isolate” in (h)(4) isxaonstitutionally over broad for criminal
law purposes. The term “isolate” is defined astftesng the personal rights....” of the
elder. That phrase is so broad as to be meaningesthus fails to put a potential
defendant on notice as to what conduct consticdesmitting this crime. That is the sine
gua non of over breadth for criminal law purpogeaslso fails to give adequate notice to
the individual of what behavior on his/her part Wwbeconstitute criminal acts and thus
violates his/her constitutional rights to due psscef law. This language also impairs the
ability of the caretaker to make decisions in wéta#/he determines to be the best
interests of the elder who is entrusted to thaie.ca

It is clear to CACJ that this language would alaase many people to refuse to take on
the role of caretaker for fear that they could barged with a crime for simply doing
what they thought was in the elder’s best interdstglly, this language and the
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misdemeanor of “isolating” the elder is ripe fouab by those who may have ulterior

motives for wanting the current caretaker to beaesd so as to advance their own
nefarious interests.

-- END —



