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HISTORY 
 
Source: Bet Tzedek Legal Services 
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Prior Legislation: AB 900 (Gonzalez), vetoed, 2018 
 SB 1005 (Atkins), vetoed, 2018 
 AB 1824 (Committee on Budget), Ch. 38, Stats. 2018 
 AB 1939 (Steinorth), vetoed, 2018 
 SB 1232 (Bradford), Ch. 983, Stats. 2018 
 AB 1140 (Bonta), Ch. 569, Stats. 2015 
 AB 2264 (Levine), Ch. 502, Stats. 2014 
 SB 1299 (Wright), Ch. 870, Stats. 2012 
 
Support: California Catholic Conference; California District Attorneys Association; 

California Legislative Women’s Caucus; California State Controller Betty T. Yee; 
Children’s Law Center of California; Dignity Health; Jewish Public Affairs 
Committee of California; Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department; National 
Council of Jewish Women California; Religious Sisters of Charity; Riverside 
Sheriffs’ Association; San Diego County District Attorney’s Office; Sisters of St. 
Joseph of Carondelet Los Angeles Province; Worksafe 

Opposition: None known 

Assembly Floor Vote: 75 - 0 

PURPOSE 

The purpose of this bill is to authorize the Victim Compensation Board (board) to provide 
compensation equal to loss of income or support to victims of human trafficking. 

Existing law provides that a person who deprives or violates another person’s personal liberty 
with the intent to obtain forced labor or services or who deprives or violates another person’s 
personal liberty for the purpose of prostitution or sexual exploitation is guilty of human 
trafficking.  (Pen. Code, § 236.1.) 
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Existing law states that the Legislature finds and declares that it is in the public interest to assist 
residents of the State of California in obtaining compensation for the pecuniary losses they suffer 
as a direct result of criminal acts.  (Gov. Code, § 13950, subd. (a).)   
 
Existing law establishes the board to operate the California Victim Compensation Program (Cal 
VCP).  (Gov. Code, § 13950 et. seq.) 

Existing law provides than an application for compensation shall be filed with the board in the 
manner determined by the board.  (Gov. Code, § 13952, subd. (a).) 

Existing law authorizes the board to reimburse for pecuniary loss for the following types of 
losses: 

1) Medical or medical-related expenses incurred by the victim for services provided by a 
licensed medical provider; 

2) Out-patient psychiatric, psychological or other mental health counseling-related expenses 
incurred by the victim or derivative victim; 

3) Compensation equal to the loss of income or loss of support, or both, that a victim or 
derivative victim incurs as a direct result of the victim’s injury or the victim’s death; 

4) Cash payment to, or on behalf of, the victim for job retraining or similar employment-
oriented services; 

5) The expense of installing or increasing residential security, not to exceed $1,000; 

6) The expense of renovating or retrofitting a victim’s residence or vehicle to make them 
accessible or operational, if it is medically necessary; 

7) Relocation expenses up to $2,000 if the expenses are determined by law enforcement to 
be necessary for the victim's personal safety, or by a mental health treatment provider to 
be necessary for the emotional well-being of the victim;  

8) Funeral or burial expenses; 

9) Reasonable costs to clean the scene of the crime in an amount not to exceed one thousand 
dollars; 

10) The expense of veterinary services, replacement costs, or other reasonable expenses, as 
ordered by the court when the injury or death is to a guide, signal or service dog; and, 

11) Mental health counseling for emotional injury to a victim who is a minor incurred as a 
direct result of the nonconsensual distribution of pictures or video of sexual conduct in 
which the minor appears.  (Gov. Code, §§ 13957, subd. (a) & 13957.5, subd. (a).) 

Existing law limits the total award to or on behalf of each victim or derivative victim to $35,000, 
except this award may be increased up to $70,000, if federal funds for that increase are available  
(Gov. Code, §§ 13957, subd. (b), & 13957.5, subd. (b).) 
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This bill states that the board may authorize compensation equal to loss of income or support that 
a human trafficking victim incurs as a direct result of the victim’s deprivation of liberty during 
the crime if the victim has not been and will not be compensated from any other source. 

This bill limits the compensation amount to $10,000 per year that the services were performed, 
for a maximum of two years. 

This bill specifies that loss of income in human trafficking cases should be calculated based on 
the value of the victim’s labor as guaranteed under California law at the time that the services 
were performed, for the number of hours that the services were performed, for up to 40 hours per 
week. 

This bill requires the board to adopt guidelines on or before July 1, 2020, allowing it to rely on 
evidence other than official employment documentation in considering and approving an 
application for that compensation.   

This bill states that evidence to support compensation may include any reliable corroborating 
information approved by the board, including, but not limited to, a statement under penalty of 
perjury from the applicant, a human trafficking caseworker, a licensed attorney, or a witness to 
the circumstances of the crime. 

This bill provides that if the victim is a minor at the time of the application, the board shall 
distribute payment when the minor reaches the age of 18. 

COMMENTS 

1. Need for This Bill 

According to the author of this bill: 

California’s Victim Compensation Program provides assistance to victims who 
have suffered physical injury or the threat of physical injury as a result of violent 
crime, including covering unforeseen expenses such as medical bills, mental 
health treatment, funeral and burial expenses, and income loss. The way current 
law is written does not acknowledge the circumstances human trafficking victims 
endure while being trafficked, nor the challenges victims face in recovery. 
Victims of human trafficking often are subjected to physical and psychological 
abuse.  Victims are also taken out of the legal workforce by the very nature of the 
crime committed against them. Victims’ wages are frequently stolen, withheld, or 
much lower than they would have been paid, had they not been trafficked. As a 
result, they do not possess pay-stubs, W-2 forms, or other documentation to 
demonstrate the economic losses sustained while trafficked. The complicated 
nature of human trafficking and the difficult situations which victims find 
themselves in that lead them to trafficking situations in the first place leaves 
victims extremely vulnerable to being re-trafficked.  

To combat human trafficking, the United Nations International Organization for 
Migration (IOM) put forth the “3P” paradigm of “Prevention”, “Prosecution” and 
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“Protection.”  While the California State Legislature has worked to build a legal 
framework to prevent trafficking and prosecute traffickers, California is still 
behind in protection, particularly in victims’ assistance.   Under existing state law, 
human trafficking victims may not be compensated for income loss. AB 629 
creates parity within California’s Victim Compensation Program (VCP) for 
victims of human trafficking by allowing them to receive compensation from the 
for economic losses incurred as a direct result of their being trafficked, 
commensurate with the benefit levels that are granted to victims of other crimes. 
This bill will help victims to get on their feet and out of the human trafficking 
cycle, so they can reintegrate into their communities. 

2. History and Purpose of Cal VCP 

The victim compensation program was created in 1965, the first such program in the country.  
The board provides compensation for victims of violent crime.  It reimburses eligible victims for 
many crime-related expenses, such as counseling and medical fees.  Funding for the board comes 
from restitution fines and penalty assessments paid by criminal offenders, as well as federal 
matching funds.  (See the California Victim Compensation Board’s website 
<http://www.vcgcb.ca.gov/board/>.) 
 
3. Compensation for Loss of Income 

While the board is authorized to pay a victim for loss of income, the compensation is for lost 
income “as a direct result of the victim’s injury.” For example, the board is currently authorized 
to compensate a victim for loss of income due to unpaid time off work after the crime due to 
recovery from injuries, for doctor’s or counseling appointments, or to attend court to assist in the 
prosecution of the case. (See Compensation Benefit Guide < 
http://vcgcb.ca.gov/docs/forms/victims/CalVCPBenefitReferenceGuide.pdf>.)  
 
However, a person who suffers loss of income by virtue of the commission of the crime is not in 
the same situation. While the crime is being committed, the lost income is more akin to theft 
because wages have been stolen. The board currently does not reimburse losses resulting from a 
theft. Reimbursement for the value of the stolen property is covered by direct victim restitution, 
which is paid by the perpetrator of the crime. 
 
This bill specifies that a victim of human trafficking may be compensated for lost income the 
victim incurs as a direct result of the victim’s deprivation of liberty during the crime if the victim 
has not been and will not be compensated from any other source. Thus, if the victim is being 
compensated, or will be compensated, through another source such as restitution paid by the 
perpetrator, the victim would not be eligible for additional compensation from the Cal VCP. 
 
4. Recent Changes to Cal VCP 

The Cal VCP underwent various changes after AB 1140 (Bonta), Chapter 569, Statutes of 2015, 
was enacted.  The bill required the application to be written in several languages other than 
English, and once an applicant chooses his or her preferred language, any subsequent 
communications must be in the chosen language.  The bill provided more guidance on how to 
deal with applications involving victims of domestic violence, rape, and human trafficking so 
that these victims will not have their applications denied for failing to provide information at the 
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scene of the crime or failing to report the crime immediately.  The bill provided ways to mitigate 
or overcome the disqualifying factor of involvement in a crime by providing factors that the 
board should consider.  The bill also added new expenses that may be covered including 
reimbursement for the modification or purchase of a vehicle for a victim who becomes 
permanently disabled and reimbursement for mental health counseling for grandparents and 
grandchildren of the victim.  The bill also changed the disqualifying factor of a victim who is on 
parole or probation so that only a person who is a registered sex offender or convicted of a 
violent felony and currently on parole or probation may be denied. 

Other recent changes include: authorizing compensation when a victim’s guide, signal, or service 
dog is disabled or killed (AB 2264 (Levine) Ch. 502, Stats. 2014); establishment of a deadline 
for the board to respond to an appeal by a crime victim who has had an application for 
compensation denied (AB 1563 (Rodriguez), Ch. 121, Stats. 2016); extension of the application 
deadline for minor victims (AB 1232 (Bradford), Ch. 983, Stats. 2018); and authorizing 
compensation to victims who incur emotional harm or pecuniary loss as a result of the 
identification of the “East Area Rapist,” also known as the “Golden State Killer” (AB 1824 
(Committee on Budget), Ch. 38, Stats. 2018). 

5. Condition of the Restitution Fund 

The restitution fund which funds the Cal VCP is facing insolvency due to declining revenue. 
(LAO, The 2017-18 Budget: Governor’s Criminal Fine and Fee Proposals, p. 17.)  According to 
a recent Senate Appropriations analysis of a bill that expands eligibility of persons who may 
apply for compensation: 
 

The Restitution Fund has been operating under a structural deficient for a number 
of years.  From FY 2017-18 to FY 2018-19, fund revenues dropped by 12 percent; 
proposed revenue for FY 2019-20 is projected to remain consistent with 2018-19, 
however.  The FY 2019-20 proposed budget anticipates a beginning balance of 
$41 million, revenues of $68.5 million, expenditures of $92.2 million, and an 
ending reserve of $17.3 million.  Given the operational deficit of the Restitution 
Fund, added expenses . . . would create cost pressure on the General Fund to 
backfill any shortage.   

 
(Sen. Com. On Appropriations, Analysis of Sen. Bill No. 375 (2019-2020 Reg. Sess.) as 
amended Mar. 25, 2019, p. 3.)  
 
While this bill does not increase the total amount a victim can be reimbursed by Cal VCP 
($35,000, or $70,000 if federal funding is available), it does provide for payment by the board for 
a new type of expense which in some cases would increase the total compensation amount.  
Increasing eligible services while the fund is nearing insolvency would place additional strains 
on the fund.  
 
6. Veto of Similar Prior Legislation 

AB 900 (Gonzalez-Fletcher) of the 2017-2018 Legislative Session was similar to this bill 
allowing human trafficking victims to be compensated by the board for loss of income.  AB 900 
was vetoed and in his veto message, Governor Brown said: 
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While I appreciate the author's intent, this bill fundamentally changes the nature 
of the Board's system for compensating victims, and places an unsustainable 
burden on the Restitution Fund which is already imbalanced. The proposed 
compensation is more akin to restitution, which expands the program beyond its 
intended purpose, and beyond the scope of other states' programs.  
 
For the past three years the state budget has provided a line item to support 
services for human trafficking victims ranging up to $10 million. Any future 
expansion in scope of services for these victims should not rely on an already 
over-committed funding source.” 

7. Argument in Support  

According to Bet Tzedek Legal Services, a co-sponsor of this bill: 

Once human trafficking survivors escape their situations, they must confront the 
realities of securing housing, food, medical and mental health care, and other 
support – often without personal savings or support systems. Survivors robbed of 
income while they were trafficked face a steep climb to self-sufficiency. They 
cannot get there without assistance – and compensation for their economic losses. 

Currently, California human trafficking survivors, like other survivors of violent 
crime in California, can recover crime-related expenses, such as medical and 
mental health services or relocation costs, from the VCP. However, most 
trafficking survivors, unlike other crime victims, cannot receive compensation for 
income lost because of the crimes committed against them. 

-- END – 

 


