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PURPOSE 
 
The purpose of this bill is to eliminate the requirement that individuals convicted of specified 
drug offenses register with local law enforcement.   
 
Existing law requires a person who is convicted of a specified drug offense to register with the 
chief of police in the city in which they reside, or with the sheriff of the county if the person 
resides in an unincorporated area within 30 days of arrival. (Health & Saf. Code, § 11590, subd. 
(a).)  
 
Existing law requires a person who is convicted in the court of another state or in federal court 
for an offense that, if committed in California, would have been punishable as one of the drug 
offenses requiring registration, to register in the city or county in which he or she resides within 
30 days of arrival. (Health & Saf. Code, § 11590, subds. (a)-(b).) 
 
Existing law states that registration consists of a written statement signed by the registrant, the 
registrant’s fingerprints, and the registrant’s photograph. (Health & Saf. Code, § 11594.) 
 
Existing law requires the law enforcement agency, after receipt of the registrant’s statement, 
fingerprints, and photograph, to forward the information to the Department of Justice (DOJ) 
within 3 days. (Health & Saf. Code, § 11594.) 
 
Existing law requires registrants who change their place of residence to inform the law 
enforcement agency with whom they last registered of their new address within 10 days.  
Requires the agency to forward the new address and information to the DOJ within 3 days of 
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receipt of the new address. Requires the DOJ to forward the registrant’s information to the law 
enforcement agency with jurisdiction over the registrant’s new place of residence. (Health & Saf. 
Code, § 11594.) 
 
Existing law terminates a drug offender’s registration requirements five years after discharge 
from prison, release from jail, or termination of probation or parole. (Health & Saf. Code, § 
11594.) 
 
Existing law prohibits the public and persons other than a regularly employed peace or other law 
enforcement officer from inspecting the statements, photographs, and fingerprints. (Health & 
Saf. Code, § 11594.) 
 
Existing law states that any person required to register who knowingly violates any of the 
provisions relating to registration is guilty of a misdemeanor. (Health & Saf. Code, § 11594.) 
 
Existing law requires any person who is discharged or paroled from a jail, prison, school, road 
camp, or other institution where he or she was confined because of the commission or attempt to 
commit a specified controlled substance offense to be informed of his or her duty to register by 
the official in charge of the place of confinement prior to such discharge, parole, or release. 
Requires the official shall require the person to read and sign such form as may be required by 
the Department of Justice, stating that the duty of the person to register under this section has 
been explained to him or her. (Health & Saf. Code, § 11592.)  
 
Existing law requires any person who is released on probation or discharged upon payment of a 
fine to be informed of his duty to register by the court in which he has been convicted prior to 
such release or discharge. (Health & Saf. Code, § 11593.)   
 
Existing law requires every sheriff, chief of police, or the Commissioner of the California 
Highway Patrol, upon the arrest of any school employee for a specified controlled substance 
offense, to do one of the following: 
 

 If the person is a teacher in a public school, immediately notify by telephone the 
superintendent of the school district employing the teacher, and immediately give written 
notice of the arrest to the Commission on Teacher Credentialing in the county where the 
person is employed. Requires the county superintendent of schools and the Commission 
on Teacher Credentialing to immediately notify the governing board of the school district 
employing the person upon receiving notice of the arrest. 

 
 If the person is a school employee at a public school but not a teacher, immediately notify 

by telephone the superintendent of school district and give written notice of the arrest to 
the governing board of the school district employing the person. 

 
 If the person is a teacher in a private school, immediately notify by telephone and give 

written notice of the arrest to the private school authority employing the teacher. (Health 
& Saf. Code, § 11591, subds. (a)-(c).) 

 
Existing law requires every sheriff or chief of police, upon the arrest of any teacher or instructor 
employed by a community college district for a specified controlled-substance offense, to 
immediately notify the superintendent of the community college district by telephone and give 
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written notice of the arrest to the Office of the Chancellor of the California Community Colleges. 
Requires superintendent of the community college district to immediately notify the governing 
board of the community college district employing the person upon receiving notice of the arrest. 
(Health & Saf. Code, § 11591.5, subd. (a).)  
 
This bill repeals all provisions of law requiring persons convicted of specified drug offenses to 
register with local law enforcement.   
 
This bill maintains law enforcement duties regarding the reporting of school employees who are 
arrested for specified controlled substances currently requiring registration upon conviction.  
  
This bill provides that all statements, photographs, and fingerprints obtained under previous 
provisions of law requiring registration for controlled substances offenses are not open to the 
public and are only subject to inspection by law enforcement officers.   

COMMENTS 

1. Need for This Bill 

According to the author: 
 

AB 1261 is a common-sense bill that will save law enforcement time and 
resources by deleting the narcotics registry. This registry imposes additional steps 
for former offenders by requiring them to register with local law enforcement 
even though all of the information requested is in the criminal record. In addition, 
punitive actions can be taken against the person required to register which then 
adds to the excessive workload of our strained court system. It is time to 
recognize the narcotics registry is unnecessary, costly and represents yet another 
barrier to successful reentry. 

 
2. Narcotics Registry 
 
The narcotics registry is intended to assist law enforcement in tracking individuals convicted of 
specified drug offenses. Individuals convicted of any of the following drug offenses are required 
to register with local law enforcement:  
 

 HSC § 11350- Possession for personal use of opiates, synthetic cannabis, peyote, or any 
narcotic drug listed in Schedule III, IV, or V 

 HSC § 11351- Possession for sale of opiates, synthetic cannabis, peyote, or any narcotic 
drug listed in Schedule III, IV, or V 

 HSC § 11351.5- Possession for sale or purchase for sale of cocaine base 
 HSC § 11352- Transporting, importing, or selling opiates, synthetic cannabis, peyote, or 

any narcotic drug listed in Schedule III, IV, or V 
 HSC § 11353- Inducing a minor to violate any controlled substance offense 
 HSC § 11353.5- Preparing for sale a controlled substance on school grounds or a public 

playground, a child day care facility, a church, or a synagogue; sale of a controlled 
substance to a minor at a school, child day care facility, public playground, church, or 
synagogue 
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 HSC § 11353.7- Preparing for sale a controlled substance in a public park; sale of a 
controlled substance to a minor under the age of 14 years in a public park 

 HSC § 11354- Sale of a controlled substance by a minor to a minor; use of a minor, by a 
minor, to violate any controlled substance offense 

 HSC § 11355- Agreeing, consenting, or offering to unlawfully sell, furnish, transport, 
administer, or give away opiates, cannabis, synthetic cannabis, peyote, any narcotic drug 
listed in Schedule III, IV, or V, or any other liquid, substance, or material in lieu of any 
such controlled substance 

 HSC § 11357- Possession of more than 28.5 grams of cannabis or more than eight grams 
of concentrated cannabis 

 HSC § 11358- Planting, cultivating, harvesting, drying, or processing cannabis plants. 
 HSC § 11359- Possession of cannabis for sale. 
 HSC § 11360- Transporting, importing, or selling cannabis. 
 HSC § 11361- Hiring, employing, or using a minor to transport cannabis; selling 

cannabis to a minor 
 HSC § 11363- Planting, cultivating, harvesting, or drying peyote 
 HSC § 11366- Opening or maintaining a place for the purpose of unlawfully selling, 

giving away, or using opiates, cannabis, synthetic cannabis, peyote, or any narcotic drug 
listed in Schedule III, IV, or V 

 HSC § 11366.5- Managing or controlling a building, room, space, or enclosure, either as 
an owner, lessee, agent, employee, or mortgagee for the purpose of unlawfully 
manufacturing, storing, or distributing any controlled substance for sale 

 HSC § 11366.6- Using a building, room, space, or enclosure specifically designed to 
suppress law enforcement entry in order to sell, manufacture, or possess for sale any 
amount of cocaine base, cocaine, heroin, phencyclidine, amphetamine, 
methamphetamine, or LSD 

 HSC § 11368- Forging or altering a prescription; issuing an altered prescription; 
possessing any narcotic drug secured by a forged, fictitious, or altered prescription 

 HSC § 11377- Possession of any non-narcotic substance listed in Schedule III, IV, or V, 
hallucinogenic substances, with specified exceptions 

 HSC § 11378- Possession for sale any substance that is an opiate or a non-narcotic 
substance listed in Schedule III, IV, or V 

 HSC § 11378.5- Possession for sale PCP or its analogs or precursors 
 HSC § 11379- Transporting, importing, selling, furnishing, administering, or giving away 

opiates and any non-narcotic substance listed in Schedule III, IV, or V 
 HSC § 11379.5- Transport, import into the state, sale, furnish, administer, or give away 

PCP or any of its analogs or precursors 
 HSC § 11379.6- Manufacturing, compounding, converting, producing, deriving, 

processing, or preparing a controlled substance 
 HSC § 11380- Use of a minor to violate any provision involving opiates and non-narcotic 

substances listed in Schedule III, IV, or V 
 HSC § 11383- Possession of specified chemicals, or any compound or mixture containing 

specified chemicals, with the intent to manufacture PCP or its analogs 
 HSC § 11550- Using or being under the influence of opiates and a narcotic substances 

listed in Schedule III, IV, or V 
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Additionally, a person who has been convicted of a similar offense in another state or in federal 
court must register with their local law enforcement agency within 30 days of moving into the 
state. 
 
To comply with the registration requirement, an individual must give personal information to 
their local law enforcement official, including a signed written statement, fingerprints, a picture, 
and address. (Health & Saf. Code, § 11594.) A person is obligated to notify the local law 
enforcement agency if he or she moves, which then triggers a duty for the agency to notify the 
DOJ, and, in turn, the DOJ to notify the agency where the registrant will now reside. (Ibid.)  
 
The duty to register lasts five years after release from incarceration or probation or parole 
supervision, whichever is later. (Health & Saf. Code, § 11594.) Failure to knowingly comply 
with registration requirements is a misdemeanor. (Ibid.) Nothing in statute requires that the 
registrant’s information be removed from the registry once the obligation to register ends.  
 
This bill would repeal the provisions of law requiring people convicted of drug offenses to 
register with their local law enforcement official. 
 
3.  Use of the Narcotics Registry is Inconsistent with the Current Approach to Drug 

Offenses 
 
The purpose of the requirement that certain drug offenders register with local authorities is 
comparable to that of the sex offender registry, namely to assure that persons convicted of the 
enumerated crimes are readily available for police surveillance at all times because the 
Legislature deemed them likely to commit similar offenses in the future. (People v. Kun (1987) 
195 Cal.App.3d 370, 374.) 
 
Courts have upheld the drug offender registration requirements on the grounds that there is a 
rational basis for tracking dangerous offenders. For example, in People v. Hove (1992) 7 
Cal.App.4th 1003, the court held that even though the registration requirement intrudes on 
defendants’ privacy rights, it is not an unconstitutional intrusion of privacy because there is a 
rational basis for collecting and managing information concerning the whereabouts of drug 
offenders convicted of more serious drug offenses such as possessing marijuana for sale. The 
court stated that the defendant, who was convicted for possession of six pounds of marijuana, 
presented a significant danger to society. (Id. at p. 1007.) 
 
In People v. Kun, supra, 195 Cal.App.3d 370, the court considered whether the registration 
requirement is grossly disproportionate to the defendant’s individual culpability. The court 
rejected constitutional challenges to the narcotics registry of a defendant, who was honorably 
discharged from the military, had been steadily employed, had no history of prior arrests, and 
was convicted of a felony possession of 18 pounds of marijuana after admitting to working on a 
marijuana farm. (Id. at p. 375.) The court stated that the defendant could not “be compared with 
the minor sexual transgressions” in two cases where misdemeanor sex offenders were not 
required to register on the sex offender registry. (Id. at p. 376.) The court determined that the 
registration requirements are constitutional form of punishment, because the Legislature 
“determined that cultivation of marijuana is a serious offense.” (Id. at p. 375) 
 
The philosophy behind the creation of the narcotics registry is inconsistent with the current 
approach to the treatment of drug offenses as demonstrated by recent voter-approved initiatives 
and legislative measures that have decreased the penalties for drug offenses and focused 
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resources on providing treatment. In 2000, voters approved Proposition 36, which allows courts 
to divert non-violent defendants, probationers, and parolees charged with simple drug possession 
or drug use from incarceration into community-based substance abuse treatment programs. More 
recently, the voters approved Proposition 47 in 2014, which reduced possession of heroin, 
methamphetamine, and other drugs to a misdemeanor, and, in 2016, the voters approved 
Proposition 64, which permits adults 21 years of age and over to possess and grow specified 
amounts of cannabis for recreational use. 
 
In addition to these voter initiatives, the Legislature passed legislation in 2017 that limited the 
three-year prior-conviction sentence enhancement for people convicted of specified drug crimes, 
and established a pre-trial drug diversion program for many drug offenses. (See SB 180 
(Mitchell), Chapter 677, Statutes of 2017, and AB 208 (Eggman), Chapter 778, Statutes of 
2017.) Taking these drug reform measures into account, the rationale for continuing drug 
offender registration is questionable, especially considering that law enforcement has other 
methods at its disposal to monitor drug offenders, including access to arrest and conviction 
records. 
 

-- END -- 

 


