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1. 	Aging	 and	 Long-Term	 Care	
 

SB  609  (Wolk)  Office  of  the  State  Long-Term  Care  Ombudsman.  

This bill creates the Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program Improvement Act Account into 
which funds, gifts, contributions to support the operations and programs of the Office of the 
State Long-Term Care Ombudsman shall be deposited. It raises the maximum civil penalty for 
willful interference with a lawful action of the office from $1,000 to $2,500 and requires the 
Director of Aging to initiate an action within 30 days of the assessment if this penalty is not paid. 
This bill also establishes the Access to Facilities Account, into which these penalties must be 
deposited. Funds in this account shall be appropriated for training and travel expense 
reimbursement for local ombudsman programs. This bill also permits reporting each individual 
act of willful interference to local law enforcement and the appropriate licensing agency. 
Chapter 521, Statutes of 2013. 

SB  781  (Lara)  Continuing  care  contracts.   

This bill mandates that a provider of services in a continuing care retirement community who has 
entered into a Type A contract, as defined, make public an actuarial opinion by posting it online 
or providing it to a current resident upon request. Current law requires that providers entering 
into Type A contracts file an actuary’s opinion as to the actuarial financial condition of the 
provider’s continuing care operations with the Department of Social Services. Died in the Senate 
Human Services Committee. 

SB  894  (Corbett)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly:  revocation  of  license.   

This bill would have required the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to provide 
the Office of the State Long-Term Care (LTC) Ombudsman with a precautionary notification if 
CDSS begins to prepare to issue a temporary suspension order of a Residential Care Facility for 
the Elderly (RCFE) or the revocation of a facility's license. Additionally, this bill required CDSS 
to notify affected public placement agencies and the LTC Ombudsman whenever CDSS 
substantiates that a violation has occurred which poses a serious threat to the health and safety of 
any resident, as specified. Died on the Assembly Floor. 

SB  895  (Corbett)   Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly.  

This bill requires a Residential Care Facility for the Elderly (RCFE) to correct licensing 
deficiencies identified by the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) within 10 days of 
notification, unless otherwise specified in the plan of correction. This bill requires CDSS to post 
information on its internet website regarding how to obtain an inspection report, and requires 
CDSS to make inspection reports available on its internet website by January 1, 2020. 
Additionally, this bill requires CDSS to design, or cause to be designed, a poster that contains 
information on the appropriate reporting agency in case of a complaint or emergency. Further, 
this bill states the intent of the Legislature to increase the frequency of unannounced inspections 
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and requires that, during the 2015–16 legislative budget subcommittee hearings, CDSS report the 
projected costs associated with conducting annual inspections of residential care facilities for the 
elderly beginning January 1, 2018. 

This bill additionally incorporates the provisions of SB 894 (Corbett) to require CDSS to provide 
the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman with a precautionary notification if CDSS 
prepares to issue a temporary suspension order of a Residential Care Facility for the Elderly 
(RCFE) or the revocation of a facility's license. Additionally, this bill requires CDSS to notify 
affected public placement agencies and the LTC Ombudsman whenever CDSS substantiates that 
a violation has occurred which poses a serious threat to the health and safety of any resident, as 
specified. Chapter 704, Statutes of 2014. 

SB  911  (Block)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly.   

This bill requires a Residential Care Facility for the Elderly (RCFE) that accepts or retains 
residents with restricted health conditions, as defined by the California Department of Social 
Services (CDSS), to ensure that residents receive medical care as prescribed by the resident’s 
physician and contained in the resident’s service plan by appropriately skilled professionals 
acting within their scope of practice, as defined. Additionally, this bill increases the initial and 
continuing education training requirements for RCFE administrators from 40 hours to 80 hours 
of coursework, including at least 60 hours of in-person instruction for initial certification, and 40 
hours of continuing education coursework during each two-year certification period. This bill 
requires CDSS to ensure that the written test for certification include at least 100 questions, 
revised no later than July 1 of every other year. Further, this bill requires direct care staff to 
receive specified training regarding the use of postural supports, restricted conditions, and 
hospice care, and requires facility employees who assist residents with self-administration of 
medications meet additional specified training requirements. This bill also prohibits 
discrimination or retaliation in any manner against a resident or employee for calling 911. This 
bill implements the above provisions on January 1, 2016. Chapter 705, Statutes of 2014. 

SB  1153  (Leno)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly.   

This bill authorizes the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to order a suspension 
of new admissions, as defined, against a Residential Care Facility for the Elderly (RCFE) when 
the licensee has violated statute or regulation in specified circumstances, been cited for a 
subsequent violation of the same law within 12 months, or failed to pay an assessed fine. 
Additionally, this bill provides that an ordered suspension on new admissions shall remain in 
effect until a fine is paid, or a violation has been corrected and regulatory compliance maintained 
for a sufficient period of time, as specified. Further, this bill authorizes a licensee to appeal the 
suspension and requires CDSS to adopt regulations that specify the appeal procedure. Chapter 
706, Statutes of 2014. 
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SB  1218  (Yee)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly:  civil  penalties.  

This bill would have increased the civil penalties, including the penalties for repeat offenses, and 
would vary the penalties depending upon the seriousness of the harm to the resident. In cases 
involving death or serious bodily injury of a resident, it would have required the department to 
prove that the violation was a direct proximate cause of the death or serious bodily injury, and 
that it resulted from an occurrence of a nature that the statute or regulation was designed to 
prevent. The bill would have required dismissal of the citation if the licensee proved that the 
licensee did what might reasonably be expected of a residential care facility for the elderly 
licensee, acting under similar circumstances, to comply with the statute or regulation. It made 
changes to the emergency resident relocation fund. Withdrawn from committee, returned to the 
Senate Rules Committee and held. Provisions of this bill were incorporated in AB 2236 
(Maienschein). Held in Senate Rules Committee. 

SB  1382  (Block)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly.   

This bill increases the initial and annual licensing fees for Residential Care Facilities for the 
Elderly (RCFEs) by approximately 9% across all facility sizes, adding to the approximately 10 
percent increase for all community care facilities adopted by SB 855 (Chapter 29, Statutes of 
2014), the 2014-15 Human Services Budget Trailer Bill, to establish a cumulative 20% increase 
for RCFEs over the prior year. Chapter 707, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  261  (Chesbro)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly:  fees  and  charges.  

This bill prohibits Residential Care Facilities for the Elderly (RCFE) from requiring advance 
notice to terminate an admission agreement upon death of a resident. It prohibits the accrual of 
any fees once the personal property of a deceased resident is removed. In addition, AB 261 
requires that within three days of a patient’s death, the RCFE provide a written notice of the 
facility’s polices involving contract termination and refunds, as specified. Furthermore, this bill 
requires RCFEs to refund any fees paid in advance that cover the time after the resident’s 
property has been removed. Chapter 290, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  477  (Chau)  Elder  and  dependent  adult  abuse:  mandated  reporting.  

This bill would have included notaries public in the definition of mandated reporters who must 
report suspected financial abuse of an elder or dependent adult. It required that a notary public, if 
he or she had observed or had knowledge of suspected financial abuse in connection with 
providing notary services, to report the known or suspected instance of financial abuse. The bill 
made this requirement applicable only when the notary public knew that the victim of the 
suspected financial abuse was an elder or dependent adult. It made the failure to report this abuse 
subject to civil penalties currently imposed on other mandated reporters, and made such penalties 
payable by the mandated reporter to the party bringing the action. AB 477 also added notaries 
public to the list of other mandated reporters of elder and dependent adult abuse who are immune 
from criminal or civil liability for making any report that is required or authorized by law. And it 
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exempted financial officers, who are currently mandated reporters under state law, from the 
notary public provisions. Vetoed by Governor. Please see the Governor’s veto message in 
section 10. 

AB  581  (Ammiano)  Care  facilities:  retaliation.  

This bill extends discrimination and retaliation protections to a resident or employee of a 
community care facility (CCF), residential care facility (RCF), or residential care facility for the 
elderly (RCFE) who has filed with the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) or a 
state or local ombudsman a complaint, grievance, or request for inspection regarding the facility. 
Existing law establishes protections against retaliation from the licensee. This bill further extends 
those protections against retaliation by an officer of the licensee. Chapter 295, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  620  (Buchanan)  Health  and  care  facilities:  missing  patients  and  participants.  

This bill requires all health facilities, community care facilities, residential care facilities for the 
elderly, and adult day health care centers to develop and comply with an absentee notification 
plan for residents, patients, and participants. It specifies that such plans be limited to: 1) A 
requirement that facility administrators inform an authorized representative when that resident, 
patient or participant is missing; and 2) The conditions under which such administrators are to 
notify local law enforcement that a resident, patient, or participant is missing from the facility. 
Chapter 674, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  663  (Gomez)  Care  facilities:  training  requirements.  

AB 663 requires existing training programs for administrators of Adult Residential Facilities and 
Residential Care Facilities for the Elderly and for certified ombudsman to include training in 
cultural competency and sensitivity in issues relating to the aging lesbian, gay, bisexual, and 
transgender community. Chapter 675, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  1454  (Ian  Calderon)  Care  facilities:  regulatory  visits.   

This bill would have required the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to increase 
the frequency of unannounced licensing visits of community care facilities, Residential Care 
Facilities for the Elderly, child day care centers, and family day care homes incrementally over 
three years, so that by July 1, 2017, every facility would be visited annually. Additionally, this 
bill would have permitted CDSS the discretion of completing a pre-licensure survey for a new 
licensee of a currently licensed RCFE for which there would be no material change to 
management or operations when the license changes hands. Held in the Senate Appropriations 
Committee. 
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AB  1523  (Atkins)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly:  liability  insurance.   

This bill requires residential care facilities for the elderly (RCFEs), by July 1, 2015, to maintain 
liability insurance in an amount of at least $1 million dollars per occurrence and $3 million in the 
annual aggregate for the purpose of covering injury to residents and guests caused by the 
negligence of the licensee or its employees. Chapter 205, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  1554  (Skinner)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly.  

This bill would have made numerous changes to the complaint investigation process used by the 
California Department of Social Services (CDSS) when responding to complaints submitted 
against Residential Care Facilities for the Elderly (RCFEs). Specifically, this bill would have 
required CDSS to provide notice to a complainant of the status of the complaint and to attempt to 
interview the complainant and subjects of the complaint. Further, this bill would have provided 
the complainant with two levels of appeal against a decision made by CDSS. Additionally, this 
bill would have required CDSS to conduct an onsite investigation within one working day of the 
receipt of a complaint if a complaint alleged physical abuse, sexual abuse, or a threat of 
imminent danger of death or serious harm. This bill would have established an immediate civil 
penalty, as specified, for interfering with a complaint investigation and for retaliation against 
residents or staff involved in the complaint investigation. This bill additionally would have 
established timeframes for conducting a complaint investigation, as specified. Held in the Senate 
Appropriations Committee. 

AB  1570  (Chesbro)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly.  

This bill increases the educational requirements for a licensee of a Residential Care Facility for 
the Elderly (RCFE) from 40 hours to 80 hours of coursework, 60 hours of which must be 
attended in person. Additionally, this bill requires the mandatory state-administered exam to 
include no less than 100 questions that reflect a specified uniform core of knowledge, and 
requires the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to review and revise the 
examination to reflect changes in law and regulations every other year. This bill further requires 
staff members of RCFEs who assist residents with personal activities of daily living to complete 
40 hours of initial training, as specified and requires staff to complete 20 hours of continuing 
training annually, as specified. Enactment of this bill is contingent on enactment of SB 911 
(Block). Chapter 698, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  1571  (Eggman)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly:  licensing  and  
regulation.  

This bill would have expanded the scope of information that prospective Residential Care for the 
Elderly (RCFE) licensees must provide to the California Department of Social Services (CDSS). 
Additionally, this bill would have required CDSS to cross-check all applicant information with 
the California Department of Public Health (CDPH). This bill would have required CDSS to post 
specified information about RCFE facilities on its internet website within specified timeframes. 
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This bill also required CDSS, by July 1, 2019, to develop and implement a RCFE rating system 
designed to allow consumers to compare RCFEs. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

AB  1572  (Eggman)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly:  resident  and  family  
councils.  

This bill requires a Residential Care Facility for the Elderly (RCFE) to assist residents in 
establishing and maintaining a resident council at the request of two or more residents. 
Additionally, this bill requires facilities to respond to resident council concerns in writing and to 
promote the resident council as specified. This bill also requires facilities to respond to concerns 
raised by family councils and to include notice of the family council, as specified. This bill 
additionally requires facilities to perform other specified actions pertaining to the resident and 
family councils. Chapter 177, Statutes of 2014 

AB  1744  (Brown)  California  Department  of  Aging.   

This bill requires the California Department of Aging (CDA) to establish a blue-ribbon task force 
comprised of at least 13 members, as specified, to make legislative recommendations to improve 
services for unpaid and family caregivers in California. Enactment of this bill is contingent upon 
CDA receiving sufficient non-state funds from private sources to implement these provisions. 
This bill requires the task force to prepare a report of its findings and recommendations and 
provide it to the Legislature on or before July 1, 2017, and makes related findings and 
declarations. It includes a sunset date of until January 1, 2018. Vetoed by the Governor. Please 
see Governor’s veto message in Section 10. 

AB  1751  (Bloom)  Continuing  care  retirement  communities.  

This bill requires Continuing Care Retirement Community (CCRC) providers to make specified 
financial statements available to residents on a quarterly basis, rather than semi-annually. 
Additionally, this bill requires CCRC providers that have governing bodies in the state to include 
at least one resident, or two residents if the facility has more than 21 members, as voting 
members of the facility’s governing body. This bill requires that providers whose governing 
bodies administer multiple CCRCs to provide specified information to the residents’ association 
of any facility that does not have voting representation on the governing body. Additionally, this 
bill permits specified providers that do not have a governing body, in lieu of the above 
requirements, to meet with the resident association or committee, at specified intervals and 
requires such providers to invite an elected nonvoting resident representative to meetings that 
address any financial or administrative changes, as specified. Chapter 699, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  1863  (Jones)  Home  Care  Srevices  Consumer  Protection  Act.  

This bill would have established domestic home care aide referral organizations (DHCAROs) as 
a new licensure category under the Home Care Services Consumer Protection Act overseen by 
the California Department of Social Services (CDSS). This bill would have defined a DHCARO 
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as an employment agency that offers, refers, provides, or attempts to provide work for an 
independent home care aide who is providing home care services. The bill would have required 
newly licensed entities to undergo a criminal record clearance, to post their licenses in a 
conspicuous place, to comply with existing bond requirements, to act as mandatory reporters, to 
clearly disclose that a consumer may have employer obligations for the independent home care 
aide, to provide consumers with specified information regarding payments made to a home care 
aide upon request, and provides that all home care aides shall be listed on the CDSS home care 
aide registry prior to being referred to a client by the DHCARO. Held in the Senate 
Appropriations Committee. 

AB  1899  (Brown)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly.  

This bill provides that a licensee who abandons a Residential Care Facility for the Elderly 
(RCFE), resulting in an immediate and substantial threat to the health and safety of the 
abandoned residents, in addition to forfeiture or revocation of the license, shall be excluded from 
licensure in facilities licensed by the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) without 
the right to petition for reinstatement. Chapter 700, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2044  (Rodriguez)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly.  

This bill requires that residential care facilities for the elderly (RCFEs) maintain at least one 
administrator, facility manager, or designated substitute who is at least 21 years of age and has 
adequate qualifications, as specified, to be on the premises 24-hours a day. This bill additionally 
requires that at least one RCFE staff member who has cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) 
training and first aid training shall be on duty and on the premises at all times and that training 
for direct-care staff include building and fire safety and the appropriate response to emergencies. 
Chapter 701, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2236  (Maienschein)  Care  facilities:  civil  penalties.  

This bill, beginning July 1, 2015, establishes a new framework for civil penalties applicable to 
violations determined by the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to have resulted 
in death or serious bodily injury, or determined by CDSS to constitute physical abuse for all 
facilities licensed by CDSS. Chapter 813, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2379  (Weber)  Abuse  of  elders  and  dependent  adults:  multidisciplinary  teams.    

This bill adds child welfare services personnel to the list of professionals who may be included in 
multidisciplinary teams that are trained in the prevention, identification, management, or 
treatment of the abuse of elderly or dependent adults. Chapter 62, Statutes of 2014. 
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AB  2386  (Mullin)  Care  facilities:  carbon  monoxide  detectors.  

This bill requires community care facilities, residential care facilities for the elderly and child 
day care facilities or homes to have one or more functioning carbon monoxide detectors, as 
specified. Chapter 503, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2556  (Chau)  Home  care  organizations.  

This bill would have delayed implementation of the Home Care Services Consumer Protection 
Act from January 1, 2015 until January 1, 2016 and would have made technical changes to 
comply with the Department of Justice's (DOJ) criminal background process. Held in the Senate 
Human Services Committee. 

AB  2632  (Maienschein)  Care  facilities.  

This bill prohibits the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) from issuing a criminal 
record clearance prior to conducting an investigation, to a person who is subject to a criminal 
record check as a condition of licensure, employment, or presence in, a community care facility, 
foster home, residential care facility for the elderly (RCFE), or child care facility or certified 
family home, and who has violated or has been arrested for specified serious or violent crimes. 
Chapter 824, Statutes of 2014. 

AJR  7  (Bonta)  Social  Security,  Medicare,  and  Medicaid.  

This joint resolution of the Assembly and Senate requests that the President and the United 
States Congress exclude Social Security, Medicare, and Medicaid from being a part of any 
legislation to reduce the federal deficit, and states the California Legislature’s opposition to cuts 
to these three programs. It also calls on California’s representatives to the United States 
Congress to vote against cuts to Social Security, Medicare, and Medicaid and to consider 
improving those systems in ways that would strengthen their protections. Resolution Chapter 35, 
Statutes of 2013. 

2. 	CalWORKS, 	CalFresh 	

SB  134   (Hueso)  CalFresh  eligibility  

This bill requires that counties that participate in the CalFresh Employment and Training (E&T) 
program defer from the program veterans who have been honorably discharged from the United 
States Armed Forces. It also requires that veterans who are required to register to work under the 
CalFresh program and are exempted from mandatory E&T placement be provided with a referral 
to the local county veteran’s service office and to local veterans’ assistance and job training 
agencies, as well as being provided the opportunity to voluntarily participate in the E&T 
program. Chapter 283, Statutes of 2013. 
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SB  206  (Emmerson)  Electronic  benefits  transfer  cards:  prohibition  of  use  for  
alcohol  and  tobacco  purchases.  

This bill requires that the Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) system for recipients of CalFresh 
and CalWORKs be designed to prevent the purchase of alcohol or tobacco products using EBT 
cards. Died in the Senate Human Services Committee. 

SB  252  (Liu)  CalWORKs:  welfare-to-work  requirements.   

This bill specifies that a pregnant woman who receives California Work Opportunity and 
Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs) benefits, and does not have medical verification of a 
pregnancy-related illness, shall be considered for other “good cause” exemptions that are applied 
when an individual can demonstrate that a circumstance or condition temporarily prevents them 
from participating in welfare-to-work activities. Additionally, it authorizes counties to apply the 
hours that a woman participates in an approved home visiting program to a recipient’s required 
work participation hours. The bill also reiterates that breastfeeding is permitted in public places. 
Chapter 563, Statutes of 2013. 

SB  283  (Hancock)  CalFresh  eligibility.  

This bill would have removed the prohibition against receiving CalFresh benefits for an 
individual who is convicted in state or federal court of a felony crime with an element of 
possession, use or distribution of a controlled substance, as defined. Existing law permits 
eligibility for CalFresh benefits to convicted drug felons except for those convicted of 
transporting, selling, manufacturing, giving away drugs as specified. Current law also permits 
individuals to be eligible for CalFresh if they have participated in, or are on the waiting list for, a 
drug treatment program, or who can show other evidence that the illegal use of controlled 
substances has ceased. This bill would have banned a person on supervised release from 
eligibility for CalFresh benefits during any period of revocation of that supervised release when 
the revocation results in the individual’s incarceration. Held in the Assembly Appropriations 
Committee. 

SB  480  (Yee)  CalWORKs,  Medi-Cal,  and  CalFresh:  suspension  of  benefits.   

This bill would have required that an inmate of a public institution who is a recipient of 
CalWORKs or CalFresh benefits must have those benefits suspended for up to one year of 
incarceration, and then have the benefits reinstated without application, if the beneficiary still 
qualifies for assistance. The bill also would have extended this benefit suspension to adults in 
the Medi-Cal program. Current law requires that children under age 18 who are incarcerated 
have their medical benefits reinstated after release without reapplication. Died in the Senate 
Human Services Committee. 
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SB  672  (Leno)  CalFresh:  eligibility:  guidelines.  

This bill requires the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to issue guidance that 
simplifies the verification of dependent care expenses in order to determine eligibility and 
benefit level for CalFresh recipients. Specifically, the bill establishes that dependent care 
expenses shall be considered verified upon receipt of a self-certified statement of monthly 
dependent care expenses, as specified. It permits county human service agencies to request 
additional documentation, as specified. Chapter 568, Statutes of 2013. 

SB  899  (Mitchell)  CalWORKs:  eligibility.  

This bill would have repealed the Maximum Family Grant rule by expressly prohibiting the 
denial of aid or an increase in the maximum aid payment for a child born into the family of a 
CalWORKs recipient. This bill would have prohibited the conditioning of eligibility for 
CalWORKs aid based on an applicant’s or recipient’s disclosure of information about being a 
victim of rape, incest, or contraception failure. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

SB  999  (Liu)  CalFresh:  student  eligibility.  

This bill would have required the California Community Colleges Chancellor’s Office and the 
California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to establish detailed guidelines identifying 
categories of students that may qualify for federal exemptions that would allow them to receive 
CalFresh benefits. It also recommended that the California State University Chancellor’s office, 
and the University of California President’s office do the same. This bill would have required 
community colleges to provide specific documentation to students who may qualify for an 
exemption. It would have authorized a county that elected to participate in the CalFresh 
Employment and Training (E&T) program to enter into an agreement with a community college 
or a CSU campus to establish an E&T program, as specified. Held in the Senate Appropriations 
Committee. 

SB  1002  (De  León)  Low-Income  individuals:  eligibility  determinations.  

This bill would have required the California departments of Health Care Services (DHCS) and 
Social Services (CDSS) to seek federal waivers to streamline the application and re-application 
processes for the Medi-Cal and CalFresh programs by using information from either application 
to satisfy information requirements for both programs. The bill requires CDSS to consult with 
stakeholders in implementing this provision and authorizes CDSS to implement this provision 
through an all-county letter, or similar instructions. Vetoed by the Governor. Please see the 
Governor’s veto message in section 10. 

SB  1029  (Hancock)  CalFresh:  eligibility.  

This bill would have deleted the prohibition against receiving CalFresh benefits for people who 
have been convicted of drug possession, use or distribution of a controlled substance, except 
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during any period when parole or probation has been revoked or while the applicant is a fleeing 
felon pursuant to federal law and guidance. Held on the inactive file on the Senate Floor, but its 
provisions were incorporated into AB 1468 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review) Chapter 
26, Statutes of 2014. 

SB  1147  (DeSaulnier)  CalFresh  customer  service  standards:  performance  goals.  

This bill would have required the California Department of Social Services (CDSS), in 
collaboration with key stakeholders, to establish and periodically revise statewide CalFresh 
customer service standards and performance goals. It would have required CDSS to measure the 
progress made toward the execution of the standards and goals annually, and to make that 
information publicly available. It would have required CDSS to develop a data management tool 
that included specified data, to make public the data from this management tool and to update it 
at least quarterly within 60 days following the end of each quarter. CDSS would have been 
required to use data from the tool to measure the progress made towards the standards and goals. 
Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

AB  191  (Bocanegra)  CalFresh:  categorical  eligibility.  

AB 191 requires the California Department of Social Services to establish a program that confers 
categorical eligibility for CalFresh to a household that includes a member who receives, or is 
eligible to receive, services through the Medi-Cal program, and also is eligible for CalFresh 
benefits. Chapter 669, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  264  (Maienschein)  CalWORKs:  temporary  shelter  assistance.  

This bill would have deleted the requirement that CalWORKs temporary shelter assistance be 
provided consecutively to a limit of 16 days. Instead, the bill would have allowed a family to 
receive temporary shelter assistance for a total of 16 calendar days to be used at any time they 
are both homeless and receiving CalWORKs aid. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

AB  271  (Mitchell)  CalWORKs:  eligibility.  

This bill would have expressly prohibited the denial of aid or denial of an increase in the 
maximum aid payment for a child who was born into the family of a California Work 
Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids Act (CalWORKs) recipient, and would have limited any 
increased payment to months after January 1, 2014. It also would have prohibited the California 
Department of Social Services from conditioning eligibility for aid on an applicant’s or 
recipient’s disclosure of information about being a victim of rape, incest, or contraception 
failure, as specified. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 
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AB  309   (Mitchell)  CalFresh:  homeless  youth.  

This bill clarifies that there is no minimum age requirement for CalFresh eligibility. It requires 
county welfare departments, upon receipt of a signed CalFresh application from an 
unaccompanied child or youth under 18 years of age, to determine eligibility including 
entitlement to expedited service for homeless individuals. Furthermore, it requires county 
welfare departments to notify a child or youth in writing of the reason an application is denied. 
This bill additionally requires county welfare departments to make available to local educational 
agency liaisons information about expedited services for homeless individuals, and to include 
information about CalFresh eligibility for unaccompanied homeless children and youths in the 
training provided to homeless shelter operators. Chapter 97, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  419  (Lowenthal)  CalWORKs:  eligibility.  

This bill repeals the two-month cap on CalWORKs aid payments to a child in a public hospital 
and instead provides that a child who is a patient in a public or private hospital for medical or 
surgical care shall be considered temporarily absent from the home, and therefore eligible for a 
CalWORKs grant, for the duration of the hospital stay. Chapter 293, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  1094  (Brown)  CalWORKs:  eligibility.  

AB 1094 expands the definition of disability-based unearned income to include veteran’s 
disability compensation for use in calculating benefits in the CalWORKs program. Current law 
provides that certain amounts of disability benefits are exempted from the calculation for 
CalWORKs benefits. This bill adds veteran’s disability compensation to that category. Chapter 
554, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  1280  (John  A.  Pérez)  Public  assistance  payments  and  unemployment  
compensation  benefits:  electronic  fund  transfer:  qualifying  accounts.  

This bill permits a recipient of public assistance payments to authorize payment to be directly 
deposited by electronic fund transfer to a qualifying account at a financial institution of the 
recipient’s choice. The bill requires qualifying accounts to meet specific requirements. It 
additionally requires that if a recipient of unemployment benefits elects to receive payments by 
direct deposit, the payments shall only be deposited to a qualifying account. It also clarifies that 
county treasurers and the Employment Development Department (EDD) have no obligation to 
determine whether a designated account is a qualifying account. The bill further prohibits an 
entity that issues or manages a prepaid card from accepting or facilitating the direct deposit of 
public assistance payments or unemployment compensation benefits to a prepaid card account 
that does not meet the specified requirements. Chapter 557, Statutes of 2013. 
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AB  1452  (Stone)  CalWORKs:  temporary  homeless  assistance.  

This bill would have increased the amount of CalWORKs homeless assistance from $65 to $75 
per day for families of up to four members, and would have increased the daily maximum for 
larger families from $125 to $135. Additionally, it would have required all temporary homeless 
assistance rates to be adjusted annually to reflect any increases or decreases in the cost of living, 
as specified. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

AB  1502  (Mullin)  CalWORKs:  Family  Unity  Act  of  2015.  

This bill would have simplified CalWORKs eligibility requirements to require that aid be 
granted to a family that meets applicable eligibility requirements, without regard to the 
employment status of the parent. Specifically, the bill would have deleted the requirement that a 
child prove deprivation to become eligible for the program, as defined, eliminated the 
requirement that a parent work less than 100 hours a month and instead would have required 
CalWORKs aid be granted to a family that meets eligibility requirements, and modified other 
requirements and definitions related to parental absence. The bill also would have made changes 
to the definition of a nonrelative caretaker. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

AB  1516  (Gonzalez)  CalWORKs:  Young  child  special  needs  supplement:  supportive  
services.    

This bill would have established an $80 special needs supplement, to be adjusted annually by a 
cost of living adjustment, within the CalWORKs program for children younger than age 2. It 
would have created an Unmet Diaper Need Financing Fund in the State Treasury to be 
distributed to entities that serve low-income children, as specified, to address the unmet diaper 
needs in those communities. Additionally, it would have required counties to allow participants 
to request supportive services through the internet website of the county, if the county is capable 
of accepting requests via its website. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

AB  1579  (Stone)  CalWORKs:  pregnant  women.  

This bill requires that a pregnant woman who qualifies for the California Work Opportunity and 
Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs) benefits, be eligible for aid beginning for the month in 
which the birth is anticipated and for the six-month period immediately prior to that, beginning 
on July 1, 2015. Chapter 632, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  1613  (Stone)  CalWORKs:  benefits  overpayment.  

This bill would authorize the California Department of Social Services to establish a minimum 
cost-effectiveness threshold consistent with federal regulations for collecting a CalWORKs 
overpayment that is greater than $125. It would have raised the overpayment recovery threshold 
for former CalWORKs recipients from $35 to $125, or the minimum cost effectiveness threshold 
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established by DSS, whichever is greater. If established, the counties would have been required 
to implement the threshold. Died in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

AB  1614  (Stone)  Electronic  transfer:  payment  and  benefits.  

This bill requires users of Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) cards to be provided access to their 
transaction history via toll-free telephone hotline and Internet Web site, among other methods. 
The bill requires that the system be designed so that users are informed when the EBT system is 
down and funds are not accessible. It also requires users of the EBT card to be informed of 
where they can use their cards to withdraw funds without being charged fees, and other specified 
information regarding fees. Additional language specifies that the Department of Child Support 
Services (DCSS) is prohibited from being held liable for authorizing a direct deposit of child 
support payments into an account that is not a qualifying account. Chapter 720, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  1653  (Garcia)  CalWORKs:  victims  of  domestic  violence.  

This bill would have required the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to establish a 
standard, statewide notice to inform all applicants and recipients of the CalWORKs program that 
victims of abuse have a right to request a waiver of program requirements. It also would have 
required the county to waive, for applicants or recipients, program requirements when those 
requirements would encourage the individual to return to the abuser, or would be detrimental to 
or unfairly penalize the individual or his or her family, and to waive other requirements, as 
appropriate and as specified. The bill also would have required counties to inform all 
CalWORKs applicants and recipients of their rights and how to secure a waiver. Held in the 
Senate Appropriations Committee. 

AB  1930  (Skinner)  CalFresh:  student  eligibility.  

This bill requires that certain educational programs, as determined by the California Department 
of Social Services (CDSS), shall be considered employment training programs, for the purpose 
of determining whether a student is eligible for an exemption to the prohibition on enrollment 
into the CalFresh program, as eligible and specified. It also requires CDSS, in consultation with 
specified stakeholders, to establish a protocol to identify and verify all potential exemptions and 
participation in educational programs that would qualify a student for an exemption. It requires 
CDSS to seek and obtain federal approval, as specified, if the United States Department of 
Agriculture (USDA) requires federal approval. Chapter 729, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2115  (Bradford)  CalFresh:  school  meals.  

This would have required additional information about school-based and other nutritional 
assistance programs be added to the existing list of emergency food assistance providers that is 
required to be compiled and made available by counties to families applying for CalFresh 
benefits. It also would have required that applicants for CalFresh benefits with children be 
provided information about how to apply for the WIC program and the National School Lunch 
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and School Breakfast Programs while the CalFresh application is pending. Additionally, it would 
have required a county human services agency to inform an applicant that if the household is 
certified for CalFresh, children under five years of age are income-eligible for the WIC Program 
and all children are directly certified for the school lunch and breakfast programs. Held in the 
Senate Appropriations Committee. 

AB  2382  (Bradford)  CalWORKs:  eligibility:  truancy.  

This bill revises CalWORKS requirements by deleting the mandate that the aid grant of a family 
be reduced if the county determines that an eligible child under 16 years of age is not regularly 
attending school. Instead, the bill requires that if the county determines that a child is not 
attending school, that the county inform the family of how to enroll the child in an appropriate 
school and screen the family to determine its eligibility for family stabilization services. It 
requires the county, if applicable, to document that the family was given this information and 
was screened for those services. This bill allows the county to consider the needs of a child in 
the assistance unit who is 16 years of age or older in computing the grant to the family for any 
month in which the county is informed by a school district or a county school attendance review 
board that the child did not attend school if at least one of several circumstances is present. This 
bill provides that a child whose needs are excluded from computing the family grant remains 
eligible for services that may lead to school attendance. Chapter 905, Statutes of 2014. 

3.	 Child	 Care 	

SB  192  (Liu)  Early  learning  and  educational  support  services.  

This bill would have renamed the Child Care and Development Services Act as the Early 
Learning and Educational Support Act and reorganized and recast provisions of law to conform 
to these name changes. It defines "early learning and educational support programs" and "early 
learning and educational support services" as those programs or services that offer a full range of 
services designed to meet a wide variety of needs of children, from birth to 13 years of age, and 
their families. It would have changed the definition of "alternative payments" as including 
payments that are made by one child care agency to another agency or child care provider for the 
provision of child care and development services, and payments that are made by an agency to a 
parent for the parent's purchase of early learning and educational support services, and instead 
defines "alternative payments" as "payments that are made to a licensed or license-exempt care 
provider for the provision of early learning and educational support services, and payments that 
are made by an alternative payment provider to a parent for the parent's purchase of early 
learning and educational support services." Would have made numerous other substantial 
changes to child care statute. This bill was referred to the Senate Human Services committee, 
then amended and removed from this committee’s jurisdiction. Held in the Assembly 
Appropriations committee. 
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SB  766  (Yee)  Ancillary  day  care  centers.   

This bill would have required that ancillary day care centers comply with certain requirements, 
including provider-child ratios, and ensure the presence at all times of at least one care provider 
who is at least 18 years of age. Existing law defines ancillary day care centers as being 
associated with an athletic club, grocery store, or other business or group of businesses for which 
the day care center is ancillary to its principal business activity and which provides day care 
services while the clients or customers are conducting business on site. This bill also would have 
required any person who is responsible for engaging with children in an ancillary day care center 
to be registered as a TrustLine provider. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

SB  1123  (Liu)  Child  care  and  development  services.  

This bill would have made broad changes to the structure of California’s state funded preschool, 
including modifying adult-to-child ratios in specified settings, altering rates, and making other 
substantial changes. This bill additionally would have established a new section in statute for 
children from birth to their third birthday called the California Strong Start services and required 
those services include parent engagement in support, voluntary home visitations, nutrition and 
referrals to health and dental providers, in addition to day care services. This bill made a number 
of other substantive changes. Held in the Assembly Appropriations Committee. 

AB  290  (Alejo)  Child  day  care:  childhood  nutrition  training.  

This bill requires a teacher or director of a day care center or family day care home who is 
licensed after January 1, 2016, and receives health and safety training, to also have at least one 
hour of childhood nutrition training. The training must include information about age-appropriate 
meal patterns, and about reimbursement rates for the federal Child and Adult Care Food 
Program. Chapter 734, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  578  (Dickinson)  Crisis  nurseries:  study.  

This bill would have established a two-year pilot project in Sacramento and Yolo counties for the 
purpose of evaluating the effectiveness of crisis nurseries, as specified. This bill also would have 
requires the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to conduct a study of the 
relationship between crisis respite care and incidents of child abuse. Held in the Senate 
Appropriations Committee. 

AB  835  (Muratsuchi)  Child  care:  facilities:  loans.  

This bill would have permitted the Department of Housing and Community Development to 
amend loan terms that have been provided through the Child Care and Development Facilities 
Direct Loan Fund, and guaranteed by the Child Care and Development Facilities Loan Guaranty 
Fund under specific circumstances. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 
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AB  1454  (Ian  Calderon)  Care  facilities:  regulatory  visits.  

This bill would have required the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to increase 
the frequency of unannounced licensing visits of community care facilities, Residential Care 
Facilities for the Elderly (RCFEs), child day care centers, and family day care homes 
incrementally over three years, so that by July 1, 2017, every facility would be visited annually. 
Additionally, this bill would have permitted CDSS the discretion of completing a prelicensure 
survey for a new licensee of a currently licensed RCFE for which there will be no material 
change to management or operations when the license changes hands. Held in the Senate 
Appropriations Committee. 

AB  2228  (Cooley)  Crisis  nurseries.   

This bill revises the regulatory requirements for crisis nurseries licensed by the California 
Department of Social Services (CDSS) to enable programs to operate both a crisis residential 
overnight program and a crisis day services program under a single license. Specifically, this bill 
establishes the maximum licensed capacity for a crisis residential overnight program at 14 
children, and permits a crisis day service program to base its maximum licensed capacity on 
meeting specified requirements including minimum square footage of activity space, as 
specified. Additionally, this bill defines “crisis day services” to mean temporary, nonmedical 
care and supervision for children under six years of age who are voluntarily placed by a parent or 
legal guardian due to a family crisis or stressful situation for a maximum of 14 hours in one day 
for each child. Further, this bill increases staff-to-child ratio requirements for the use of 
volunteers, and increases the education and training requirements for staff and volunteers. 
Chapter 735, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2236  (Maienschein)  Care  facilities:  civil  penalties.  

This bill, beginning July 1, 2015, establishes a new framework for civil penalties applicable to 
violations determined by the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to have resulted 
in death or serious bodily injury, or determined by CDSS to constitute physical abuse for all 
facilities licensed by CDSS. Chapter 813, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2386  (Mullin)  Care  facilities:  carbon  monoxide  detectors.   

This bill requires community care facilities, residential care facilities for the elderly and child 
day care facilities and homes to have one or more functioning carbon monoxide detectors, as 
specified. Chapter 503, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2621  (Garcia)  Child  day  care  facilities:  licensing  information.  

This bill requires the California Department of Social Service (CDSS) to make specified 
licensing information regarding child day care facilities and family day care homes available on 
its Internet Web site and to update the information monthly. Chapter 474, Statutes of 2014. 
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AB  2632  (Maienschein)  Care  facilities.   

This bill prohibits the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) from issuing a criminal 
record clearance prior to conducting an investigation, to a person who is subject to a criminal 
record check as a condition of licensure, employment, or presence in, a community care facility, 
foster home, residential care facility for the elderly (RCFE), or child care facility or certified 
family home, and who has violated or has been arrested for specified serious or violent crimes. 
Chapter 824, Statutes of 2014 

4.	 Community 	Care,	 Licensing	 

SB  579  (Berryhill)  Developmental  services:  Commission  on  Oversight  Efficiency  
and  Quality  Enhancement  Models.  

This bill would have established the Commission on Oversight Efficiency and Quality 
Enhancement Models to investigate methods of implementing a unified and consistent oversight 
and quality enhancement process that ensures the welfare, community participation, health, and 
safety of individuals with developmental disabilities who are served in programs licensed by the 
Community Care Licensing Division of the California Department of Social Services. This bill 
would have required the commission to review current regulations and relevant statutes to better 
focus on reliable data to measure outcomes for individuals served and the impact of services on 
the lives of individuals and their families, as specified. The bill would have required the 
Department of Developmental Services to provide staff support to the commission. Died in the 
Assembly Human Services Committee. 

SB  766  (Yee)  Ancillary  day  care  centers.  

This bill would have required that ancillary day care centers comply with certain requirements, 
including provider-child ratios, and ensure the presence at all times of at least one care provider 
who is at least 18 years of age. Existing law defines ancillary day care centers as being 
associated with an athletic club, grocery store, or other business or group of businesses for which 
the day care center is ancillary to its principal business activity and which provides day care 
services while the clients or customers are conducting business on site. This bill also would have 
required any person who is responsible for engaging with children in an ancillary day care center 
to be registered as a TrustLine provider. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

SB  781  (Lara)  Continuing  care  contracts.   

This bill mandates that a provider of services in a continuing care retirement community who has 
entered into a Type A contract, as defined, make public an actuarial opinion by posting it online 
or providing it to a current resident upon request. Current law requires that providers entering 
into Type A contracts file an actuary’s opinion as to the actuarial financial condition of the 

Page 26 of 61 



    

 

 

             
     

              
                 
                

                
             

               
      

              
               
             

                 
                 

              
                

              
 

               
                

                
                 

                 
                
               
              

            
              

      

               
              
               

provider’s continuing care operations with the California Department of Social Services. Died in 
the Senate Human Services Committee. 

SB  1136  (Huff)  Foster  care  providers:  criminal  records.  

This bill requires the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to provide, upon the 
request of a county child welfare agency, a list of each person who has received a criminal 
records exemption related to a licensed or certified foster home, so that the county may assess 
the appropriateness of placing a child in the foster home with which the individual is associated, 
as specified. Additionally, this bill requires CDSS to make summary information, as defined, 
used in making the determination to grant the exemption available to the county child welfare 
agency. Chapter 222, Statutes of 2014. 

SB  1153  (Leno)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly.   

This bill authorizes the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to order a suspension 
of new admissions, against a Residential Care Facility for the Elderly (RCFE) when the licensee 
has violated statute or regulation in specified circumstances, been cited for a subsequent 
violation of the same law within 12 months, or failed to pay an assessed fine. Additionally, this 
bill provides that an ordered suspension on new admissions shall remain in effect until a fine is 
paid, or a violation has been corrected and regulatory compliance maintained for a sufficient 
period of time, as specified. Further, this bill authorizes a licensee to appeal the suspension and 
requires CDSS to adopt regulations that specify the appeal procedure. Chapter 706, Statutes of 
2014. 

SB  1218  (Yee)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly:  civil  penalties.  

This bill would have increased the civil penalties, including the penalties for repeat offenses, and 
would vary the penalties depending upon the seriousness of the harm to the resident. In cases 
involving death or serious bodily injury of a resident, it would have required the department to 
prove that the violation was a direct proximate cause of the death or serious bodily injury, and 
that it resulted from an occurrence of a nature that the statute or regulation was designed to 
prevent. The bill would have required dismissal of the citation if the licensee proved that the 
licensee did what might reasonably be expected of a residential care facility for the elderly 
licensee, acting under similar circumstances, to comply with the statute or regulation. It also 
would have made changes to the emergency resident relocation fund. Withdrawn from 
committee, returned to the Senate Rules Committee and held. Provisions of this bill were 
incorporated in AB 2236 (Maienschein). 

SB  1382  (Block)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly.   

This bill increases the initial and annual licensing fees for Residential Care Facilities for the 
Elderly (RCFEs) by approximately 9% across all facility sizes, adding to the approximately 10 
percent increase for all community care facilities adopted by SB 855 (Chapter 29, Statutes of 
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2014), the 2014-15 Human Services Budget Trailer Bill, to establish a cumulative 20% increase 
for RCFEs over the prior year. Chapter 707, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  261  (Chesbro)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly:  fees  and  charges.  

This bill prohibits Residential Care Facilities for the Elderly (RCFE) from requiring advance 
notice to terminate an admission agreement upon death of a resident. It prohibits the accrual of 
any fees once the personal property of a deceased resident is removed. In addition, AB 261 
requires that within three days of a patient’s death, the RCFE provide a written notice of the 
facility’s polices involving contract termination and refunds, as specified. Furthermore, this bill 
requires RCFEs to refund any fees paid in advance that cover the time after the resident’s 
property has been removed. Chapter 290, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  290  (Alejo)  Child  day  care:  childhood  nutrition  training.  

This bill requires a teacher or director of a day care center or family day care home who is 
licensed after January 1, 2016, and receives health and safety training, to also have at least one 
hour of childhood nutrition training. The training must include information about age-appropriate 
meal patterns, and about reimbursement rates for the federal Child and Adult Care Food 
Program. Chapter 734, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  346  (Stone)  Runaway  and  homeless  youth  shelters.  

This bill includes runaway and homeless youth shelters within the definition of “community care 
facilities,” and defines such shelters as group homes licensed by California Department of Social 
Services to provide voluntary, short-term (no more than 21 consecutive days) shelter and 
personal services to runaway youth or homeless youth. This bill specifies a number of 
requirements for these runaway and homeless youth shelters, including among other things that 
they have a maximum capacity of 25 youths, that they assist youth in obtaining emergency 
health-related services, and that they establish procedures for assisting youth in securing long­
term stability. The bill also specifies instances in which runaway and homeless youth shelters are 
not placement options for youth, and stipulates that such shelters are not eligible for AFDC-FC 
funding. Chapter 485, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  352  (Hall)  Foster  care:  smoke-free  environment.   

This bill requires group homes, foster family agencies, small family homes, transitional housing 
placement providers, and crisis nurseries that provide residential foster care to a child to maintain 
a smoke-free environment. It prohibits a person who is licensed or certified to provide residential 
care in a foster family home or certified family home from smoking or permitting any other 
person to smoke inside the facility, and, when the child is present, on the outdoor grounds of the 
facility. This bill also prohibits a person who is licensed or certified pursuant to these provisions 
from smoking in any motor vehicle that is regularly used to transport the child. Chapter 292, 
Statutes of 2013. 
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AB  413  (Chávez)  Foster  care:  specialized  foster  care  homes.   

This bill stipulates that a specialized foster care home for children with special health care needs 
that has more than two foster children, regardless of whether a child has special health care 
needs, must have on-call assistance available at all times in case of emergencies, and must be of 
sufficient size to accommodate all children in the home. These requirements previously applied 
to these homes in instances where four or more foster children were present. Chapter 100, 
Statutes of 2013. 

AB  581  (Ammiano)  Care  facilities:  retaliation.  

This bill extends discrimination and retaliation protections to a resident or employee of a 
community care facility (CCF), residential care facility (RCF), or residential care facility for the 
elderly (RCFE) who has filed with the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) or a 
state or local ombudsman a complaint, grievance, or request for inspection regarding the facility. 
Existing law establishes protections against retaliation from the licensee. This bill further extends 
those protections against retaliation by an officer of the licensee. Chapter 295, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  620  (Buchanan)  Health  and  care  facilities:  missing  patients  and  participants.  

This bill requires all health facilities, community care facilities, residential care facilities for the 
elderly, and adult day health care centers to develop and comply with an absentee notification 
plan for residents, patients, and participants. It specifies that such plans be limited to: 1) A 
requirement that facility administrators inform an authorized representative when that resident, 
patient or participant is missing; and 2) The conditions under which such administrators are to 
notify local law enforcement that a resident, patient, or participant is missing from the facility. 
Chapter 674, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  663  (Gomez)  Care  facilities:  training  requirements.  

AB 663 requires existing training programs for administrators of Adult Residential Facilities and 
Residential Care Facilities for the Elderly and for certified ombudsman to include training in 
cultural competency and sensitivity in issues relating to the aging lesbian, gay, bisexual, and 
transgender community. Chapter 675, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  1454  (Ian  Calderon)  Care  facilities:  regulatory  visits.   

This bill would have required the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to increase 
the frequency of unannounced licensing visits of community care facilities Residential Care 
Facilities for the Elderly (RCFEs), child day care centers, and family day care homes 
incrementally over three years, so that by July 1, 2017, every facility would be visited annually. 
Additionally, this bill would have permitted CDSS the discretion of completing a prelicensure 
survey for a new licensee of a currently licensed RCFE for which there would be no material 
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change to management or operations when the license changes hands. Held in the Senate 
Appropriations Committee. 

AB  1523  (Atkins)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly:  liability  insurance.   

This bill requires residential care facilities for the elderly (RCFEs), by July 1, 2015, to maintain 
liability insurance in an amount of at least $1 million dollars per occurrence and $3 million in the 
annual aggregate for the purpose of covering injury to residents and guests caused by the 
negligence of the licensee or its employees. Chapter 205, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  1554  (Skinner)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly.   

This bill would have made numerous changes to the complaint investigation process used by the 
California Department of Social Services (CDSS) when responding to complaints submitted 
against Residential Care Facilities for the Elderly (RCFEs). Specifically, this bill would have 
required CDSS to provide notice to a complainant of the status of the complaint and to attempt to 
interview the complainant and subjects of the complaint. Further, this bill would have provided 
the complainant with two levels of appeal against a decision made by CDSS. Additionally, this 
bill would have required CDSS to conduct an onsite investigation within one working day of the 
receipt of a complaint if a complaint alleged physical abuse, sexual abuse, or a threat of 
imminent danger of death or serious harm. This bill would have established an immediate civil 
penalty, as specified, for interfering with a complaint investigation and for retaliation against 
residents or staff involved in the complaint investigation. This bill additionally would have 
established timeframes for conducting a complaint investigation, as specified. Held in the Senate 
Appropriations Committee. 

AB  1570  (Chesbro)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly.   

This bill increases the educational requirements for a licensee of a Residential Care Facility for 
the Elderly (RCFE) from 40 hours to 80 hours of coursework, 60 hours of which must be 
attended in person. Additionally, this bill requires the mandatory state-administered exam to 
include no less than 100 questions that reflect a specified uniform core of knowledge, and 
requires the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to review and revise the 
examination to reflect changes in law and regulations every other year. This bill further requires 
staff members of RCFEs who assist residents with personal activities of daily living to complete 
40 hours of initial training, as specified and requires staff to complete 20 hours of continuing 
training annually, as specified. Enactment of this bill is contingent on enactment of SB 911 
(Block) and the provisions of this bill take effect on or before January 1, 2016. Chapter 698, 
Statutes of 2014. 
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AB  1571  (Eggman)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly:  licensing  and  
regulation.  

This bill would have expanded the scope of information that prospective Residential Care for the 
Elderly (RCFE) licensees must provide to the California Department of Social Services (CDSS). 
Additionally, this bill would have required CDSS to cross-check all applicant information with 
the California Department of Public Health (CDPH). This bill would have required CDSS to post 
specified information about RCFE facilities on its internet website within specified timeframes. 
This bill also required CDSS, by July 1, 2019, to develop and implement a RCFE rating system 
designed to allow consumers to compare RCFEs. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

AB  1572  (Eggman)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly:  resident  and  family  
councils.  

This bill requires a Residential Care Facility for the Elderly (RCFE) to assist residents in 
establishing and maintaining a resident council at the request of two or more residents. 
Additionally, this bill requires facilities to respond to resident council concerns in writing and to 
promote the resident council as specified. This bill also requires facilities to respond to concerns 
raised by family councils and to include notice of the family council as specified. This bill 
additionally requires facilities to perform other specified actions pertaining to the resident and 
family councils. Chapter 177, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  1751  (Bloom)  Continuing  care  retirement  comminities.   

This bill requires Continuing Care Retirement Community (CCRC) providers to make specified 
financial statements available to residents on a quarterly basis, rather than semi-annually. 
Additionally, this bill requires CCRC providers that have governing bodies in the state to include 
at least one resident, or two residents if the facility has more than 21 members, as voting 
members of the facility’s governing body. This bill requires that providers whose governing 
bodies administer multiple CCRCs to provide specified information to the residents’ association 
of any facility that does not have voting representation on the governing body. Additionally, this 
bill permits specified providers that do not have a governing body, in lieu of the above 
requirements, to meet with the resident association or committee, at specified intervals and 
requires such providers to invite an elected nonvoting resident representative to meetings that 
address any financial or administrative changes, as specified. Chapter 699, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  1863  (Jones)  Home  Care  Services  Consumer  Protection  Act.   

This bill would have established domestic home care aide referral organizations (DHCAROs) as 
a new licensure category under the Home Care Services Consumer Protection Act overseen by 
the California Department of Social Services (CDSS). This bill would have defined a DHCARO 
as an employment agency that offers, refers, provides, or attempts to provide work for an 
independent home care aide who is providing home care services. The bill would have required 
newly licensed entities to undergo a criminal record clearance, to post their licenses in a 
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conspicuous place, to comply with existing bond requirements, to act as mandatory reporters, to 
clearly disclose that a consumer may have employer obligations for the independent home care 
aide, to provide consumers with specified information regarding payments made to a home care 
aide upon request, and that all home care aides be listed on the CDSS home care aide registry 
prior to being referred to a client by the DHCARO. Held in the Senate Appropriations 
Committee. 

AB  1899  (Brown)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly.  

This bill provides that a licensee who abandons a Residential Care Facility for the Elderly 
(RCFE), resulting in an immediate and substantial threat to the health and safety of the 
abandoned residents, in addition to forfeiture or revocation of the license, shall be excluded from 
licensure in facilities licensed by the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) without 
the right to petition for reinstatement. Chapter 700, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2044  (Rodriguez)  Residential  care  facilities  for  the  elderly.  

This bill requires that residential care facilities for the elderly (RCFEs) maintain at least one 
administrator, facility manager, or designated substitute who is at least 21 years of age and has 
adequate qualifications, as specified, to be on the premises 24-hours a day. This bill additionally 
requires that at least one RCFE staff member who has cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) 
training and first aid training shall be on duty and on the premises at all times and that training 
for direct-care staff include building and fire safety and the appropriate response to emergencies. 
Chapter 701, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2228  (Cooley)  Crisis  nurseries.  

This bill revises the regulatory requirements for crisis nurseries licensed by the California 
Department of Social Services (CDSS) to enable programs to operate both a crisis residential 
overnight program and a crisis day services program under a single license. Specifically, this bill 
establishes the maximum licensed capacity for a crisis residential overnight program at 14 
children, and permits a crisis day service program to base its maximum licensed capacity on 
meeting specified requirements including minimum square footage of activity space, as 
specified. Additionally, this bill defines “crisis day services” to mean temporary, nonmedical 
care and supervision for children under six years of age who are voluntarily placed by a parent or 
legal guardian due to a family crisis or stressful situation for a maximum of 14 hours in one day 
for each child. Further, this bill increases staff-to-child ratio requirements for the use of 
volunteers, and increases the education and training requirements for staff and volunteers. 
Chapter 735, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2236  (Maienschein)  Care  facilities:  civil  penalties.  

This bill, beginning July 1, 2015, establishes a new framework for civil penalties applicable to 
violations determined by the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to have resulted 
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in death or serious bodily injury, or determined by CDSS to constitute physical abuse for all 
facilities licensed by CDSS. Chapter 813, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2386  (Mullin)  Care  facilities:  carbon  monoxide  detectors.   

This bill requires community care facilities, residential care facilities for the elderly and child 
day care facilities and homes to have one or more functioning carbon monoxide detectors, as 
specified. Chapter 503, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2556  (Chau)  Home  care  organizations.   

This bill delays implementation of the Home Care Services Consumer Protection Act (Act) from 
January 1, 2015 until January 1, 2016 and makes technical changes to comply with the 
Department of Justice's (DOJ) criminal background process. Held in the Senate Human 
Services Committee 

AB  2621  (Garcia)  Child  day  care  facilities:  licensing  information.   

This bill requires the California Department of Social Service (CDSS) to make specified 
licensing information regarding child day care facilities and family day care homes available on 
its Internet Web site and to update the information monthly. Chapter 474, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2632  (Maienschein)  Care  facilities.  

This bill prohibits the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) from issuing a criminal 
record clearance prior to conducting an investigation, to a person who is subject to a criminal 
record check as a condition of licensure, employment, or presence in, a community care facility, 
foster home, residential care facility for the elderly (RCFE), or child care facility or certified 
family home, and who has violated or has been arrested for specified serious or violent crimes. 
Chapter 824, Statutes of 2014. 

5.  Homelessness  Assistance  

SB  177  (Liu)  Homeless  Youth  Education  Success  Act.  

This bill requires public schools and county offices of education to immediately enroll a 
homeless child or youth seeking enrollment, as is currently required for foster children and 
youth. Additionally, it requires the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) and the 
California Department of Education to identify individuals in their departments and in other state 
agencies with experience in homeless youth issues. It directs these individuals to develop 
policies and practices to present to the Superintendent of Public Instruction and to CDSS that are 
focused on providing support to homeless children and youth and ensuring that child abuse and 
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neglect reporting requirements do not create barriers to school enrollment and attendance. 
Federal law already requires local education agencies to have a liaison for homeless children and 
youth; this bill requires these liaisons to ensure that public notice of the educational rights of 
homeless children and youth are disseminated to schools. Chapter 491, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  264  (Maienschein)  CalWORKs:  temporary  shelter  assistance.  

This bill would have deleted the requirement that CalWORKs temporary shelter assistance be 
provided consecutively to a limit of 16 days. Instead, the bill would have allowed a family to 
receive temporary shelter assistance for a total of 16 calendar days to be used at any time they 
are both homeless and receiving CalWORKs aid. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

AB  346  (Stone)  Runaway  and  homeless  youth  shelters   

This bill includes runaway and homeless youth shelters within the definition of “community care 
facilities,” and defines such shelters as group homes licensed by the California Department of 
Social Services to provide voluntary, short-term (no more than 21 consecutive days) shelter and 
personal services to runaway youth or homeless youth. This bill specifies a number of 
requirements for these runaway and homeless youth shelters, including among other things that 
they have a maximum capacity of 25 youths, that they assist youth in obtaining emergency 
health-related services, and that they establish procedures for assisting youth in securing long­
term stability. The bill also specifies instances in which runaway and homeless youth shelters are 
not placement options for youth, and stipulates that such shelters are not eligible for AFDC-FC 
funding. Chapter 485, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  1452  (Stone)  CalWORKs:  temporary  homeless  assistance.  

This bill would have increased the amount of CalWORKs homeless assistance from $65 to $75 
per day for families of up to four members, and would have increased the daily maximum for 
larger families from $125 to $135. Additionally, it would have required all temporary homeless 
assistance rates to be adjusted annually to reflect any increases or decreases in the cost of living, 
as specified. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

AB  2001  (Ammiano)  Homeless  youth:  child  welfare  services  

This bill would have required the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to establish a 
working group to recommend policies to the Legislature to ensure that homeless, unaccompanied 
minors have access to appropriate placements and services through the state’s child welfare 
system, as specified. It would have authorized counties that participate in the Child Welfare 
Waiver Demonstration Project to establish a pilot program of alternative child welfare services 
for homeless youth. Additionally, the bill would have authorized each participating county to use 
Title IV-E funds and state foster care funds to provide long-term intensive support services to 
meet the needs of homeless youth, including, among other things, temporary placement in a 
licensed homeless youth shelter, as specified. Additionally, this bill would have required a 
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county child welfare agency, upon temporary placement of a homeless youth into a homeless 
youth shelter, to provide case management services, identify appropriate long-term housing 
placement opportunities and wraparound services for the youth, including placement in a 
certified transitional housing plus program, and to make a recommendation as to whether the 
youth should continue to receive long-term intensive support services through the pilot program, 
or whether a petition should be filed to adjudicate the youth to be a dependent child of the court. 
Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

AB  2061  (Chau)  Child  welfare  services:  families  experiencing  homelessness.  

This bill would have required the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to encourage 
counties participating in the Title IV-E waiver demonstration project to consider the use of 
innovative, evidence-based strategies with the optional portion of their federal waiver capped 
allocation to assist families that include a child placed in foster care, who are receiving child 
welfare services, and who are experiencing homelessness, to achieve supportive housing, rapid 
rehousing, and permanent housing, as defined. Died on the Senate Inactive file. 

AB  2591  (Weber)  Homeless  youth:  basic  material  needs  assistance.  

This bill creates a Homeless Youth Basic Material Needs Assistance program to be overseen by 
the California Department of Social Services (CDSS). It requires that money appropriated from 
the Legislature be distributed proportionally to counties that elect to participate in the program, 
based on the number of homeless youth in each county. This bill also would have required each 
local program to contract with nonprofit organizations, as specified, and to consult with the local 
children and families’ commission if the target population includes homeless youth from zero to 
five years of age. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

6.  Developmental  Services,  Rehabilitative  Services  

SB  137  (Emmerson)  Developmental  services:  regional  centers.  

This bill would have required regional centers to include additional information on a list of 
required vendor information that must be posted on their Internet web sites. The additional 
information would have included actual rates paid to each vendor and specific regional center 
funds that are paid to a nonprofit housing organization outside the request for proposal process. 
Held the in Assembly Appropriations Committee. 

SB  158  (Correa)  Autism  services:  demonstration  program.  

SB 158 would have established a demonstration program to assist families and individuals with 
autism spectrum disorders who are regional center consumers and who live in underserved 
communities. The bill would have authorized DDS to contract with a University of California or 
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California State University campus to serve as a coordinating center to develop the program. It 
specified that regional center participation would be voluntary. Vetoed by the Governor. Please 
see the Governor’s veto message in section 10. 

SB  163  (Hueso)  Developmental  services:  health  insurance  payments.  

This bill would have required regional centers to pay any applicable copayment, coinsurance, 
and or deductible imposed by a health insurance policy or health care service plan for a service 
or support required by a consumer’s Individual Program Plan or Individual Family Service Plan. 
It would have prohibited a regional center from imposing on the consumer or his or her family a 
share of cost for, or income requirements relating to, those payments, and from seeking 
reimbursement for those payments. It also would have required a regional center and the 
Department of Developmental Services to establish appropriate application and documentation 
forms to implement those provisions. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

SB  208  (Lara)  Public  social  services:  contracting.  

SB 208 requires that any Request for Proposal (RFP) that is prepared by a regional center for 
consumer services and supports must include a section on issues of equity and diversity, as 
specified. Additionally, this bill eliminates the prohibition against a prepaid health plan’s use of a 
subcontractor, as specified. This bill would instead authorize, unless the state Department of 
Health Care Services objects, a prepaid health plan to enter into a subcontract in which 
consideration is determined by a percentage of the primary contractor’s payment from the 
department. Chapter 656, Statutes of 2013. 

SB  319  (Price)  Developmental  services:  regional  centers:  data  compilation.   

This bill would have required that regional centers use a uniform methodology to collect, analyze 
and report data that can be compared statewide. Additionally, it would have required each 
regional center to develop and post on its Internet Web site an annual report identifying 
disparities in services and the regional center’s plan to reduce those disparities. Held in the 
Senate Appropriations Committee. 

SB   321  (  Price)  Developmental  services:  regional  centers:  performance  contracts.   

SB 321 would have required that a regional center’s five-year contract with the Department of 
Developmental Services (DDS) include in the annual performance objectives the development of 
culturally and linguistically appropriate services and supports. Additionally, the bill would have 
required DDS to specify in its contract with each regional center any areas that require 
improvement to reduce racial and ethnic disparities. Held in the Senate Appropriations 
Committee. 
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SB  349   (Walters)  Home- and  community-based  services  waiver  for  the  
developmentally  disabled:  sheltered  work.  

This bill would have established the requirement that a provider of sheltered work under a 
specified federal waiver demonstrate that the provider is transitioning at least 20 percent of its 
clients annually into integrated, individualized employment settings. Died in the Senate Human 
Services Committee. 

SB  367  (Block)  Developmental  services:  regional  centers:  cultural  and  linguistic  
competency.  

This bill requires the governing board of a regional center to annually review the performance of 
the regional center in providing services that are linguistically and culturally appropriate. It 
authorizes the governing board to provide recommendations to the director of the regional center 
based on the results of that review. Chapter 682, Statutes of 2013. 

SB  468  (Emmerson)  Developmental  services:  statewide  Self-Determination  
Program.   

This bill establishes a statewide Self-Determination Program for individuals with developmental 
disabilities and makes the program available in every regional center catchment area, contingent 
upon federal funding approval. The Self-Determination Program will provide participants and 
their families, within an individual budget, increased flexibility and choice, and greater control 
over decisions, resources, and needed and desired services and supports to implement their IPP. 
The program would be phased in over three years, serving up to 2,500 regional center consumers 
statewide initially. After three years, it will be available to all eligible regional center consumers 
who choose to participate. Chapter 683, Statutes of 2013. 

SB  534  (Hernandez)  Health  and  care  facilities.  

Until the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) and the Department of Developmental 
Services (DDS) adopt licensing regulations for Intermediate Care Facilities for the 
Developmentally Disabled (ICF/DD), as required by law, this bill required that those facilities 
comply with applicable federal certification standards, as specified. These provisions would 
become inoperative on January 1, 2018. This bill also requires similar adherence to federal 
standards for other specified health clinics regulated by CDPH. 

Additionally, this bill authorized the establishment of multiple congregate living health facilities 
in one multi-floor building if, among other requirements, each facility is separated by a wall, 
floor, or other permanent partition, and the facility is located on former McClellan Air Force 
Base. Current law permits licensure of congregate living facilities that are located in residential 
homes with a capacity of no more than 12 beds, and that meet other requirements. Chapter 722, 
Statutes of 2013. 
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SB  555  (Correa)  Developmental  services:  regional  centers:  individual  program  
plans  and  individualized  family  service  plans.  

This bill requires a regional center to communicate and provide written materials in the native 
language of the consumer or family, or the legal guardian, conservator or authorized 
representative of the consumer, during the IPP and IFSP processes. Similarly, the family’s native 
language is required to be documented in the IPP or IFSP. Chapter 685, Statutes of 2013. 

SB  577  (Pavley)  Autism  services:  pilot  program:  employment.  

This bill requires the Department of Developmental Services (DDS) to conduct a four-year 
demonstration project in five regional centers, as specified, to determine whether community-
based vocational development services increase integrated competitive employment outcomes 
and reduce purchase of service costs for working age adults receiving regional center services. It 
defines community-based vocational developmental services to include services to enhance 
employment readiness, social skills, services to use internships and apprenticeships and 
volunteer opportunities and services to access and participate in vocational or higher education, 
and others. Additionally, the bill establishes a $40-per-hour rate for the provision of services 
identified in a consumer's community-based vocational development services plan for a 
maximum of 75 hours per calendar quarter. Chapter 431, Statutes of 2014. 

SB  579  (Berryhill)  Developmental  services:  Commission  on  Oversight  Efficiency  
and  Quality  Enhancement  Models.  

This bill would have established the Commission on Oversight Efficiency and Quality 
Enhancement Models to investigate methods of implementing a unified and consistent oversight 
and quality enhancement process that ensures the welfare, community participation, health, and 
safety of individuals with developmental disabilities who are served in programs licensed by the 
Community Care Licensing Division of the California Department of Social Services. This bill 
would have required the commission to review current regulations and relevant statutes to better 
focus on reliable data to measure outcomes for individuals served and the impact of services on 
the lives of individuals and their families, as specified. The bill would have required the 
Department of Developmental Services to provide staff support to the commission. Died in the 
Assembly Human Services Committee. 

SB  651  (Pavley)  Developmental  centers  and  state  hospitals.   

This bill requires that investigators in developmental centers and state hospitals request a sexual 
assault forensic medical examination for any resident of a developmental center or any resident 
of a state hospital who is a victim or is reasonably suspected to be a victim of sexual assault, as 
defined. It requires that this forensic exam be performed at an appropriate facility off the grounds 
of the developmental center or state hospital, as specified. It permits, under specified 
circumstances, that the exam could be performed at a developmental center or a state hospital but 
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specifies that exam must be done by an independent sexual assault forensic examiner designated 
to perform examinations of victims of sexual assault. 

Additionally, this bill levies penalties and establishes violations for a developmental center’s 
failure to report an incident to local law enforcement that is required by existing statute. Chapter 
724, Statutes of 2013. 

SB  663  (Lara)  Sexual  assault:  victims  with  intellectual  and  developmental  
disabilities   

When it was referred to this Committee, this bill would have revised the definition of certain sex 
offenses, including rape, sodomy, and oral copulation, to apply if the victim is developmentally 
disabled, as defined. Additionally, this bill would have required development of a model general 
order or formal policy by the Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) for 
law enforcement officers to dealing with crime victims with developmental disabilities, as 
specified. This version of the bill was held in the Senate Human Services Committee as a two-
year bill, later amended to the jurisdiction of the Public Safety Committee and not heard in 
this committee. In the Assembly, it was amended into language related to the local tax fund, 
and ultimately this bill was held in the Assembly Appropriations Committee. 

SB  1093  (Liu)  Developmental  services:  regional  centers:  culturally  and  linguistically  
competent  services.  

This bill requires regional centers to provide independent living skills services to adult 
consumers, including consumers who live in their own homes, as specified. Additionally, this 
bill requires that the annual stakeholder meetings that are currently required to examine 
disparities data be held by regional centers in a manner that is separate from any meetings of its 
board of directors and to schedule those meetings at times and locations designed to result in a 
high turnout by the public and underserved communities. The bill also requires each regional 
center to annually report to the Department of Developmental Services information about the 
implementation of these provisions and requires the reports to be posted on the department’s and 
each regional center’s Internet Web site by August 31 of each year, as specified. Chapter 402, 
Statutes of 2014. 

SB  1127  (Torres)  Emergency  services:  individuals  with  developmental  disabilities  
and  cognitive  impairments.  

This bill adds persons who are developmentally disabled or cognitively impaired to the Silver 
Alert notification system. The Silver Alert authorizes a law enforcement agency to request that 
the California Highway Patrol activate an electronic alert when a person over the age of 65 is 
reported missing and is believed to be in danger. The bill also deletes the January 1, 2016 sunset 
of the Silver Alert program. Chapter 440, Statutes of 2014. 
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SB  1160  (Beall)  Developmental  services:  employment.  

This bill would have adjusted the allowable job coach-to-consumer ratio for group supported 
employment services from 1:3 to 1:2 for individuals with developmental disabilities. It would 
have made a correlating change to the minimum number of regional center consumers required 
to participate in group supported employment from three to two. Additionally this bill would 
have added criteria for the Department of Developmental Services (DDS) to consider when 
determining the appropriateness of the job coach-to-consumer ratio for a new or modified group. 
The bill would have redefined individualized services to mean job coaching and other supported 
employment services that decrease over time, consistent with the consumer's individual program 
plan and abilities, with the goal of achieving stabilization, when possible. Held in the Assembly 
Appropriations Committee. 

SB  1178  (Correa)  Developmental  disabilities:  housing.  

This bill would have established the California Developmental Disabilities Community Support 
Housing Fund, and would have dedicated projected savings from redirecting persons with 
developmental disabilities from institutional care to community placement. Additional monies 
would have been deposited into the fund from proceeds of leasing developmental center 
facilities. The fund would be used to support the development of affordable housing for persons 
with developmental disabilities. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

SB  1344  (Evans)   Developmental  services:  Sonoma  Developmental  Center.  

This bill would have required the state to establish the Sonoma Developmental Center as the 
center of last resort for Northern California. It would have required the Department of 
Developmental Services (DDS) to cooperate with the County of Sonoma to develop a detailed 
action plan, as specified. It also would have required the County of Sonoma to ensure the 
inclusion and participation of certain community entities, including consumers living in the 
developmental center. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

SB  1445  (Evans)  Developmental  services:  regional  centers:  individual  program  
plans:  telehealth.  

This bill includes telehealth services and supports among those that authorized to be included as 
part of an individual program plan (IPP) for a consumer of regional center services. Chapter 260, 
Statutes of 2014. 

AB  602  (Yamada)  Mentally  and  developmentally  disabled  persons:  reporting  abuse:  
peace  officer  training.  

This bill requires the Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) to develop a 
course on investigating abuse of residents of state mental hospitals and developmental centers. 
Additionally, it requires mandated reporters to report certain types of abuse of persons in state 
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mental hospitals and developmental centers to both local law enforcement and state investigators 
immediately, but no later than two hours and requires that a local law enforcement agency 
coordinate efforts with the designated investigators of the developmental centers or state 
hospitals to provide an investigative response to specific crimes. Chapter 673, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  620  (Buchanan)  Health  and  care  facilities:  missing  patients  and  participants.  

This bill requires all health facilities, community care facilities, residential care facilities for the 
elderly, and adult day health care centers to develop and comply with an absentee notification 
plan for residents, patients, and participants. It specifies that such plans be limited to: 1) A 
requirement that facility administrators inform an authorized representative when that resident, 
patient or participant is missing; and 2) The conditions under which such administrators are to 
notify local law enforcement that a resident, patient, or participant is missing from the facility. 
Chapter 674, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  1041  (Chesbro)  Developmental  services:  Employment  First  Policy.  

This bill establishes an Employment First Policy and requires each regional center to consider 
the policy when developing an individual program plan (IPP) for a transition age youth or 
working age adult. The bill requires regional centers to provide consumers aged 16 and older 
with information about the Employment First Policy and options for integrated competitive 
employment. It requires regional centers also to provide these consumers with information about 
services and supports, including postsecondary education, that are available to enable the 
consumer to transition from school to work, and to obtain and keep an integrated competitive 
job. The bill requires the State Council on Developmental Disabilities to develop informational 
materials, to identify a means for tracking data on participation in the program and to develop 
recommended outcome goals for participants. It also defines in statute the terms competitive 
employment, microenterprise, and self-employment for the purposes of the Employment First 
Policy. Chapter 677, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  1089  (Ian  Calderon)  Foster  care.  

This bill specifies transfer procedures and timelines for regional centers that would apply when a 
consumer of regional center services who also is placed in foster care is moved from a home in 
one regional center’s catchment area to another. Chapter 761, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  1112  (Ammiano)  Developmental  services:  habilitation.   

When it was heard in the Senate Human Services Committee, AB 1112 would have required that 
a program provider, under specified circumstances, be paid a one-time fee of $700 for 
employment preparation services provided to a consumer prior to placement in an integrated job. 
This bill also would have required that providers of individualized and group-supported 
employment services be paid the rates provided in existing law or rates established by the 
Department of Rehabilitation (DOR), whichever is greater. This version of the bill was held in 
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the Senate Appropriations Committee and later amended into language related to the Public 
Utilities Code. Chapter 595, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  1231  (V.  Manuel  Pérez)  Regional  centers:  telehealth.  

This bill would have required, until January 1, 2019, the department to inform all regional 
centers that any appropriate health care and dentistry service may be provided through the use of 
telehealth, as defined, to consumers of regional center services. In addition, this bill would have 
required the department to provide technical assistance to regional centers on the use of 
telehealth and to request those centers to consider the use of telehealth services for inclusion in 
training programs for parents of consumers. The bill also would have required that the provision 
of a service through the use of telehealth be voluntary and immediately discontinued at the 
request of the consumer or his or her parent, legal guardian, or conservator, as appropriate. 
Vetoed by the Governor. Please see the Governor’s veto message in section 10. 

AB  1232  (V.  Manuel  Pérez  )  Developmental  services:  quality  assessment  system.   

This bill requires that the quality assurance instrument that is used by the Department of 
Developmental Services through a contractual agreement include a requirement to assess 
whether services are provided in a linguistically and culturally competent manner. It requires the 
tool to include outcome-based measures to evaluate the linguistic and cultural competency of 
regional center services that are provided to consumers across their lifetimes, and it requires that 
the contractor be experienced in issues relating to linguistic and cultural competency. Chapter 
679, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  1595  (Chesbro)  State  Council  on  Developmental  Disabilities.  

This bill broadly rewrites the statutory responsibilities of the State Council on Developmental 
Disabilities (SCDD), including restructuring the role and scope of the state’s 13 area boards, to 
comply with the requirements of the federal Administration on Intellectual and Developmental 
Disabilities, which has designated the SCDD as being at high risk and limited access to its $6.5 
million grant. Specifically, the bill would recast the state’s 13 independent area boards as 
regional offices or regional advisory committees and would make their establishment 
discretionary. Additionally, this bill revises the authorization for the state Department of 
Developmental Services (DDS) to contract with SCDD for advocacy services within its 
developmental centers and makes other conforming changes to federal law. Chapter 409, 
Statutes of 2014. 

AB  1626  (Maienschein)  Developmental  services:  habilitation.   

This bill would have increased the hourly rate paid to providers of individualized and group-
supported employment services from $30.82 to $34.24, and the fees paid to interim program 
providers from $360 to $400 and $720 to $800, respectively. Held in the Senate Appropriations 
Committee. 
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AB  1687  (Conway)  Persons  with  Developmental  Disabilities  Bill  of  Rights.  

This bill recasts statutory rights that currently exist in the Lanterman Developmental Disabilities 
Services Act as the “Persons with Developmental Disabilities Bill of Rights.” It adds to those 
rights the right to a prompt investigation of any alleged abuse. Chapter 178, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2041  (Jones)  Developmental  services:  regional  centers:  behavioral  health  
treatment.  

This bill would have defined the professional activities and the educational and training 
requirements necessary for vendorization by a regional center as a Behavior Management 
Assistant or a Behavior Management Consultant. It additionally would have required the 
Department of Developmental Services to amend its regulations as necessary to implement the 
provisions of the bill. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

AB  2299  (Nazarian)  Developmental  services:  health  insurance  copayments,  
coinsurance,  and  deductibles.   

This bill would have added several exemptions to the limit on a regional center’s ability to pay 
copayments, coinsurance and deductibles, including authorization if the services or support is 
necessary to maintain the consumer in the home or least restrictive setting and authorization if 
those payments will allow the consumer to maintain health care coverage. This bill was one of 
several efforts to establish a regional center’s duty to pay copayments, coinsurance and 
deductibles after enactment of SB 946 (Steinberg, Chapter, Chapter 650, Statutes of 2011) which 
required health plans and health insurers to cover behavioral health therapy for pervasive 
development disorder or autism. The 2013 Budget Act authorized regional centers to pay 
copayments and/or coinsurance for consumers whose family income is up to 400 percent of the 
federal poverty level but prohibited payment of deductibles. Held in the Senate Appropriations 
Committee. A related policy change was included in the Developmental Services trailer bill 
(SB 856, Chapter 30, Statutes of 2014). 

7.  Child  Welfare,  Foster  Care,  Adoptions  

SB  342  (Yee)  Foster  children:  social  worker:  visits.  

This bill requires that social workers’ and probation officers’ monthly visits for each foster child 
placed in a group home or foster home comply with specified federal requirements including that 
the majority of these visits takes place in the residence in which the child is placed and that no 
more than two consecutive monthly visits are held outside of the foster child’s residence. 
Additionally, this bill requires social workers and probation officers to document the location of 
any visits that aren’t in the foster child’s residence in the case file and court report, and the 
reason for the visit taking place outside of the residence. This bill also requires social workers 
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and probation officers to inform each foster child of the right to request a private discussion 
outside of the group home or foster home. This discussion doesn’t replace the group home/foster 
home visit; however, the worker or officer does not need to schedule an additional visit to 
accommodate this request. Chapter 492, Statutes of 2013. 

SB  343  (Yee)  Dependent  children:  documents.  

This bill would have required county welfare departments to submit a report verifying that 
certain information, documents and services, are provided at the first regularly scheduled court 
hearing after a dependent youth has turned 16 years old. Documents to be provided would have 
included a copy of the youth’s birth certificate, the youth’s driver’s license or identification card, 
and, in specified circumstances including attempts to obtain employment, the youth’s Social 
Security card. Services to be provided include, if applicable, assistance in obtaining employment 
and in preparing for and applying to college, vocational training programs, and other educational 
institutions, among other things. This bill also required county welfare departments to submit a 
report describing efforts at providing similar information, documents, and services, as specified, 
at the hearing immediately prior to a dependent youth turning 18 years old, and at every 
subsequent review hearing. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

SB  522  (Hueso)  Foster  Family  Home  and  Small  Family  Home  Insurance  Fund.  

This bill restricts certain liability exemptions of the Foster Family Home and Small Family 
Home Insurance Fund to intentionally bad acts, as specified, committed by foster parents. It also 
stipulates that multiple incidents of a general course of conduct should be considered one 
“occurrence,” regardless of the span of time over which these incidents took place, and that the 
fund shall only be liable once for damages arising from one occurrence. This bill specifies that 
the time period for calculating the maximum amount of damages for any single home, as 
defined, includes all claims arising over any consecutive 12-month period. Additionally, the bill 
stipulates that the fund is not liable for any loss arising out of a bad act, as specified, if the loss 
takes place prior to July 1, 2013. Chapter 494, Statutes of 2013 

SB  528  (Yee)  Dependents:  care  and  treatment:  minor  parents  and  nonminor  
dependent  parents.  

This bill authorizes a dependent child’s social worker to, if the child at least 12 years old, inform 
that child of his or her right to consent to certain health services (and includes this in the Foster 
Youth Bill of Rights), and to provide dependent children with access to age-appropriate, 
medically accurate information about sexual development, reproductive health, and related 
information. This bill also authorizes child welfare agencies to provide dependent parents with 
access to social workers and resource specialists, encourages these agencies to update case plans 
within 60 days of learning of a pregnancy, authorizes agencies to hold a specialized conference 
to assist the pregnant/parenting minor or nonminor dependent, requires access to education be 
given to nonminor dependent parents, authorizes reasonable efforts be made to allow access to 
school programs that provide child care for minor parents and nonminor dependent parents, 
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requires that foster care placements for nonminor dependent parents and their children be willing 
and able to provide support to those parents and their children, and declares the intent of the 
Legislature to ensure that data on parenting minor and nonminor dependents is collected. 
Chapter 338, Statutes of 2013. 

SB  625  (Beall)  Child  welfare:  racial  and  ethnic  disparities.  

This bill would have prohibited the California Department of Social Services and each county 
welfare department, and its vendors, from denying services to parents or children on the basis of 
the client’s language, or discriminating against clients on the basis of race, color, or national 
origin. It would have required counties to document the communication needs of each Hispanic 
parent and child, require that Spanish-speaking clients be provided information in Spanish, and 
have adequate bilingual staff capacity to assign bilingual workers to Spanish-speaking families. 
The bill also would have required that care for children who are in the county welfare 
department’s custody be linguistically and culturally equivalent to, as nearly as possible, the care 
provided by the children’s parents. The bill would have required that children of Spanish-
speaking parents be placed with Spanish-speaking foster parents, and require that placement 
occur within 60 days from the date the children are removed from their homes. Died in the 
Senate Human Services Committee. 

SB  738  (Yee)  Sexually  exploited  and  trafficked  minors.  

This bill would have expanded the list of minors that may come within the jurisdiction of the 
juvenile dependency court to include victims of human trafficking and sexual exploitation, as 
specified, if the parent or guardian failed or was unable to protect the child. It would have 
required that existing training for administrators of group home facilities, licensed foster parents, 
and relative or nonrelative extended family member caregivers now include instruction on 
cultural competency and sensitivity for providing adequate care to sexually exploited and 
trafficked minors in out-of-home care. It would have required the California Health and Human 
Services Agency (CHHS) to convene an interagency workgroup by January 30, 2014, in 
consultation with the Child Welfare Council, to develop a comprehensive state plan to serve and 
protect sexually exploited and trafficked minors. Died in the Assembly Human Services 
Committee. 

SB  909  (Pavley)  Dependent  children:  health  screenings.   

This bill would have permitted a social worker to authorize a noninvasive initial medical, dental, 
and mental health screening of a child taken into temporary custody, prior to a detention hearing, 
for specified purposes and if reasonable attempts to notify the parent are made. Additionally, this 
bill would have added “mental health care” to the current list of health care services that may be 
authorized by the court or a social worker under specified circumstances for a dependent child 
who is in temporary custody or for whom a dependency petition has been filed. This bill was 
held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 
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SB  977  (Liu)  Juveniles.  

This bill requires, in specified juvenile dependency court hearings, that the court consider 
whether a child can be returned to the custody of a parent who is enrolled in a certified substance 
abuse treatment facility that allows a dependent child to reside with the parent. Additionally, this 
bill provides that a parent’s enrollment in such a facility shall not be, for that reason alone, prima 
facie evidence of substantial danger. This bill additionally requires social workers to include in 
each social study, evaluation, and supplemental report to the courts a factual discussion of 
whether a child can be returned to the custody of a parent who is enrolled in a certified substance 
abuse treatment facility that allows a dependent child to reside with the parent. Chapter 219, 
Statutes of 2014. 

SB  996  (Evans)  Juveniles:  dependent  children:  documents.   

This bill recasts current law which specifies the documents and information that are required to 
be provided to a dependent youth prior to terminating dependency. This bill requires this 
information to be provided at the first regularly scheduled hearing after the youth has reached 
age 18, rather than at termination of dependency. Additionally, it requires the same information 
be provided to dependent youth at age 16, as specified. Vetoed by the Governor. Please see the 
Governor’s Veto message in section 10. 

SB  1023  (Liu)  Community  colleges:  foster  youth.  

This bill permits the California Community Colleges Chancellors Office to enter into agreements 
with up to 10 community college districts, to establish the Cooperating Agencies Foster Youth 
Educational Support (CAFYES) in order to provide additional funds for services in support of 
postsecondary education for foster youth. Additionally, this bill establishes eligibility and 
participation requirements for the program. Chapter 771, Statutes of 2014. 

SB  1136  (Huff)  Foster  care  providers:  criminal  records.   

This bill requires the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to provide, upon the 
request of a county child welfare agency, a list of each person who has received a criminal 
records exemption related to a licensed or certified foster home, so that the county may assess 
the appropriateness of placing a child in the foster home with which the individual is associated, 
as specified. Additionally, this bill requires CDSS to make summary information, as defined, 
used in making the determination to grant the exemption, available to the county child welfare 
agency. Chapter 222, Statutes of 2014. 

SB  1252  (Torres)  Public  social  services:  former  foster  youth:  transitional  housing.   

This bill permits a county, at its option, to extend the Transitional Housing Placement Program-
Plus (THP-Plus) to former foster youth not more than 25 years of age, and for a total of 36 
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cumulative months, if the former foster youth is completing secondary education or is enrolled in 
an institution that provides postsecondary education. Chapter 774, Statutes of 2014. 

SB  1460  (Committee  on  Human  Services)  Child  welfare.   

This bill addresses state compliance with federal statute and regulation regarding the Multi 
Ethnic Placement Act (MEPA), use of the Federal Parent Locator Service (FPLS), the federal 
Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act of 2008, the Adam Walsh Act, 
the Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA), and specified provisions of the Social Security Act 
pertaining to child welfare. Chapter 772, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  352  (Hall)  Foster  care:  smoke-free  environment.   

This bill requires group homes, foster family agencies, small family homes, transitional housing 
placement providers, and crisis nurseries that provide residential foster care to a child to maintain 
a smoke-free environment. It prohibits a person who is licensed or certified to provide 
residential care in a foster family home or certified family home from smoking or permitting any 
other person to smoke inside the facility, and, when the child is present, on the outdoor grounds 
of the facility. This bill also prohibits a person who is licensed or certified pursuant to these 
provisions from smoking in any motor vehicle that is regularly used to transport the child. 
Chapter 292, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  388  (Chesbro)  Juveniles.   

This bill authorizes a county probation department child and welfare services department to 
consider, in making a recommendation to the court regarding the appropriate jurisdiction of a 
dependent child who has allegedly committed a crime while residing in a group home or other 
specified residential placements, whether the alleged misconduct was within the scope of 
behaviors to be managed or treated by the facility, as specified. This bill provides that at 
specified delinquency proceedings, the court’s decision to detain a minor shall not be based on 
the minor’s status as a dependent of the court or the child welfare services department’s inability 
to provide a placement for the minor. Additionally, this bill requires that, if the court orders 
release of a dependent minor, the court shall order the child welfare services department to 
ensure the minor’s foster parent or caregiver takes physical custody of the minor or that the child 
welfare services department take physical custody of the minor and place the minor in a licensed 
or approved placement. 

Further, this bill authorizes existing joint protocols, developed between county child welfare and 
probation departments regarding cross over status youth, to include a provision for the immediate 
notification of a child welfare service department and the minor’s dependency attorney upon 
referral of a dependent minor to probation. This bill provides that when the victim of the crime 
committed by a resident is the facility or an employee of the facility, applicable restitution shall 
be limited to the out of pocket expenses of the victim and restitution fines shall be waived. 
Chapter 760, Statutes of 2014. 
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AB  413  (Chávez)  Foster  care:  specialized  foster  care  homes.   

This bill stipulates that a specialized foster care home for children with special health care needs 
that has more than two foster children, regardless of whether a child has special health care 
needs, must have on-call assistance available at all times in case of emergencies, and must be of 
sufficient size to accommodate all children in the home. These requirements previously applied 
to these homes in instances where four or more foster children were present. Chapter 100, 
Statutes of 2013. 

AB  506  (Mitchell)  HIV  testing:  infants.  

This bill authorizes a social worker to provide consent for a human immunodeficiency virus 
(HIV) test to be performed on a child less than 12 months of age who has been taken into 
temporary custody or has had a petition filed to be adjudged a dependent of the court. This bill 
also permits a social worker to authorize, without court order, emergency medical care to an 
infant who tests positive for HIV. If an infant tests positive for HIV, it requires the social worker 
to provide a physician with any available contact information for the biological mother for 
purposes of reporting the HIV infection to the local health officer. Chapter 153, Statutes of 
2013. 

AB  545  (Mitchell)  Dependent  children:  placement:  nonrelative  extended  family  
member.   

This bill expands the definition of a nonrelative extended family member to include an adult 
caregiver who has an established familial relationship with a relative of the child, as defined. 
Prior to this bill a nonrelative extended family member was defined as an adult who had an 
established familial relationship with the child. Existing law provides that a dependent child may 
be placed with a nonrelative extended family member after their home is evaluated and approved 
pursuant to the same standards of safety and sanitation and providers standards of basic personal 
care, supervision that are used to license foster family homes. Chapter 294, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  787  (Stone)  Foster  care.   

This bill makes technical and clarifying changes to the California Fostering Connections to 
Success Act of 2010. Specifically, this bill authorizes nonminors who are under 21 years old and 
whose former guardian(s) died after he/she turned 18 to petition the court to resume jurisdiction 
if the nonminor received either Kin-GAP or adoption assistance aid after the age of 18. The bill 
stipulates requirements for the hearing regarding this petition, and states that the court shall 
assume dependency jurisdiction over a former dependent or ward and order appropriate 
placement if it finds that all of the criteria, as specified, are met. This bill adds clarifying 
language around the placement of nonminor wards of the court, and adds the existing definition 
of “transition dependent” to the code section pertaining to AFDC-FC eligibility. Additionally, 
the bill authorizes probation officers to place nonminor dependents in transitional placements, as 
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specified and clarifies how a court may terminate jurisdiction over a nonminor dependent. 
Chapter 487, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  883  (Cooley)  Child  sexual  abuse:  prevention  pilot  program.   

This bill would have established the Child Sexual Abuse Prevention Program as a pilot program 
in three counties, selected by the California Department of Social Services, to provide child 
sexual abuse prevention and intervention services. It would have appropriated $50,000 to each 
county annually from the General Fund for this purpose and provides that the program will 
sunset on January 1, 2019 unless extended by a later statute. Vetoed by the Governor. Please see 
the Governor’s veto message in section 10. 

AB  985  (Cooley)  Guardianship  and  adoption  assitance.  

As referred to this committee, this bill would have extended the age until which eligible youth 
may receive state-funded Kin-GAP benefits to 21. It would have stipulated that a nonminor 
former dependent shall be eligible for continued state-funded Kin-GAP payments between ages 
18 and 21, if their relative guardian continued to be responsible for the nonminor dependent, and 
the nonminor met one or more specified conditions, such as completing secondary education or 
working at least 80 hours a month. As heard by this committee, this bill also would have made 
eligible for state-funded Kin-GAP a nonminor dependent who was receiving federal Kin-GAP 
benefits, and meets specified criteria, as defined. This bill would have required county social 
workers to determine if a youth has a mental or physical disability that warrants continuation of 
assistance. This bill was subsequently amended into a bill related to greenhouse gas emissions. 
Died in the Senate Rules Committee. 

AB  1089  (Ian  Calderon)  Foster  care.  

This bill specifies transfer procedures and timelines between regional centers that would apply 
when a consumer of regional center services who also is placed in foster care is moved from a 
home in one regional center’s catchment area to another. Chapter 761, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  1133  (Mitchell)  Foster  children:  special  health  care  needs.   

This bill requires that when determining the placement of a foster child who is medically fragile, 
priority consideration be given to placement with a foster parent who is an individual nurse 
provider, and who provides health services under the federal Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) program, unless the child has the option of placement with a 
relative, as specified. The bill also clarifies that a medically fragile child meets the definition of a 
“child with special health care needs,” as defined in statute. Chapter 490, Statutes of 2013. 
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AB  1171  (Levine)  Child  welfare  services:  electronic  records.   

This bill would have authorized, no later than July 1, 2014, counties to adopt a voluntary three-
year pilot program in which foster youth over the age of 16 and nonminor dependents could 
create a singular online electronic record containing information and documents pertinent to their 
transition to adulthood, such as medical records, a copy of the youth’s birth certificate, etc., that 
can be accessed and used as specified. This bill would have stipulated that at least three counties 
must participate, that the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) shall determine 
which counties are eligible to participate, and that participating counties may use existing online 
electronic systems. The bill also would have required CDSS to submit a report to the Assembly 
and Senate Human Services Committees evaluating the pilot program by December 1, 2016. It 
contained a provision that requires implementation only if the Director of Finance determines 
that there are sufficient funds available outside of the General Fund to do so. The provisions of 
this bill would have become inoperative on January 1, 2018, and would have been repealed on 
January 1, 2019. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

AB  1658  (Jones-Sawyer)  Foster  care:  consumer  credit  reports.   

This bill codifies the current practices adopted by the California Department of Social Services 
(CDSS) to implement federal law requiring states to assist each foster youth who is 16 years of 
age to obtain, interpret and resolve inconsistencies in a credit report each year they are in 
placement to help prevent identity theft. Specifically, this bill requires a county welfare 
department, county probation department, or CDSS to annually inquire of each of the three major 
credit reporting agencies as to whether a dependent child over the age of 16 has any consumer 
credit history and strikes the requirement to request a “consumer credit disclosure.” 
Additionally, this bill requires CDSS to provide information to the appropriate legislative policy 
committees regarding the implementation of these provisions, as specified. Chapter 762, 
Statutes of 2014. 

AB  1761  (Hall)  Dependent  children:  placement.   

This bill permits a social worker to place a child who has been removed from the custody of his 
or her parents into the home of a relative or non-relative extended family member (NREFM) 
after the detention hearing and pending the dispositional hearing. Additionally, this bill clarifies 
legislative intent that a social worker may place a child in the home of an appropriate relative or 
NREFM pending the consideration of other relatives who request preferential consideration. 
Chapter 765, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  1882  (Cooley)  CalWORKs:  relative  caregivers.  

This bill would have required a county welfare department to immediately screen a foster child 
upon placement in the home of a relative or non-relative extended family member (NREFM) 
caregiver in order to assess eligibility for specified benefits. This bill would also have required 
an infant supplement to be paid under the CalWORKs and the Approved Relative Caregiver 
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Funding Option (ARCFO) Program to a teen parent who is placed with his or her child in the 
home of a relative caregiver, as specified. Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. A 
related policy change was included in Section 74 of the Human Services trailer bill, SB 855, 
Chapter 29, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  1978  (Jones-Sawyer)  Child  welfare  services.  

This bill requires the California Department of Social Services (CDSS), in consultation with 
counties and labor organizations, to establish a process to receive voluntary disclosures from 
social workers, if the social worker has reason to believe that services delivered by a county 
child welfare agency endanger the health or well-being of a child or children, is contrary to 
statute or regulation, or is contrary to public policy. This bill permits a social worker to comment 
on a child fatality case, within the scope of a public release by the custodian of records, if the 
county welfare department or agency has publicly commented. Additionally, this bill requires 
CDSS to report to the Legislature, and post on its Internet Web site, the total number of relevant 
disclosures received and a summary description of the issues raised in those disclosures, and of 
the actions taken by CDSS in response to those disclosures. Chapter 768, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2001  (Ammiano)  Homeless  youth:  child  welfare  services.  

This bill would have required the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to establish a 
work group to recommend policies to the Legislature to ensure that homeless, unaccompanied 
minors have access to appropriate placements and services through the state’s child welfare 
system, as specified. It would have authorized counties that participate in the Child Welfare 
Waiver Demonstration Project to establish a pilot program of alternative child welfare services 
for homeless youth. Additionally, the bill would have authorized each participating county to use 
Title IV-E funds and state foster care funds to provide long-term intensive support services to 
meet the needs of homeless youth, including, among other things, temporary placement in a 
licensed homeless youth shelter, as specified. Additionally, this bill would have required a 
county child welfare agency, upon temporary placement of a homeless youth into a homeless 
youth shelter, to provide case management services, identify appropriate long-term housing 
placement opportunities and wraparound services for the youth, including placement in a 
certified transitional housing plus program, and to make a recommendation as to whether the 
youth should continue to receive long-term intensive support services through the pilot program, 
or whether a petition should be filed to adjudicate the youth to be a dependent child of the court. 
Held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

AB  2035  (Chesbro)  Sexually  exploited  and  trafficked  minors.  

AB 2035 would have specifically provided, until January 1, 2017, that a child who is a victim of 
human trafficking, defined as the depravation or violation of the personal liberty of another with 
the intent to obtain forced labor or services, is within the jurisdiction of the juvenile court. This 
bill would have also required training for administrators of group home facilities, licensed foster 
parents, and relative or nonrelative extended family member caregivers to include instruction on 
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cultural competency and sensitivity relating to, and best practices for, providing adequate care to 
sexually exploited and trafficked minors in out-of-home care. Vetoed by Governor. Please see 
the Governor’s veto message in Section 10. 

AB  2061  (Chau)  Child  welfare  services:  families  experiencing  homelessness.  

This bill would have required the Department of Social Services (CDSS) to encourage counties 
participating in the Title IV-E waiver demonstration project to consider the use of innovative, 
evidence-based strategies with the optional portion of their federal waiver capped allocation to 
assist families that include a child placed in foster care, who are receiving child welfare services, 
and who are experiencing homelessness, to achieve supportive housing, rapid rehousing, and 
permanent housing, as defined. Died on the Senate Inactive file. 

AB  2187  (Cooley)  County  children’s  trust  funds.  

This bill requires that birth certificate fees collected by a county for a child, whose mother 
resides in another county, shall be transmitted to the county children’s trust fund in the county of 
the mother’s residence. This bill removes the specification that the transfer is only required if the 
county of residence has no licensed health facility that provides maternity services within its 
jurisdiction. Chapter 61, Statutes of 2014 

AB  2236  (Maienschein)  Care  facilities:  civil  penalties.  

This bill, beginning July 1, 2015, establishes a new framework for civil penalties applicable to 
violations determined by the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) to have resulted 
in death or serious bodily injury, or determined by CDSS to constitute physical abuse for all 
facilities licensed by CDSS. Chapter 813, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2379  (Weber)  Abuse  of  elders  and  dependent  adults:  multidisciplinary  teams.    

This bill adds child welfare services personnel to the list of professionals who may be included in 
multidisciplinary teams that are trained in the prevention, identification, management, or 
treatment of abuse of elderly or dependent adults. Chapter 62, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2454  (Quirk-Silva)  Foster  youth:  nonminor  dependents.  

This bill permits a nonminor former dependent who previously received extended Kinship 
Guardianship Assistance Payment (Kin-GAP) or Adoption Assistance Payment (AAP), but 
whose former guardians are no longer providing support to the nonminor, to petition the court to 
resume dependency under the extended foster care program. Chapter 769, Statutes of 2014. 
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AB  2547  (Beth  Gaines)  Placer  County  Integrated  Health  and  Human  Services  
Program.   

This bill deletes the July 1, 2016, sunset date of a pilot program that allows Placer County, with 
the assistance of the appropriate state department to implement a pilot program for the funding 
and delivery of services and benefits through an integrated and comprehensive county health and 
human services system, thereby making authority for this program permanent. Chapter 272, 
Statutes of 2014 

AB  2632  (Maienschein)  Care  facilities.   

This bill prohibits the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) from issuing a criminal 
record clearance prior to conducting an investigation, to a person who is subject to a criminal 
record check as a condition of licensure, employment, or presence in, a community care facility, 
foster home, residential care facility for the elderly (RCFE), or child care facility or certified 
family home, and who has violated or has been arrested for specified serious or violent crimes. 
Chapter 824, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  2668  (Quirk-Silva)  Foster  care:  nonminor  dependent  parents.   

This bill, on or after July 1, 2015, authorizes the development of a “parenting support plan” 
between a nonminor dependent (NMD) parent who resides in a supervised independent living 
placement, an identified responsible adult, as defined, who has agreed to act as a parenting 
mentor, and a representative of the county child welfare agency or probation department. 
Additionally, this bill provides that, after completion and approval of the plan and a 
determination by the county agency, the payment to the NMD parent be increased by an 
additional $200 per month. This bill further requires the California Department of Social 
Services to convene a working group to develop and issue an all-county letter (ACL) by June 30, 
2015, specifying the minimum criteria a person must meet in order to serve as an identified 
responsible adult to an NMD parent, as specified. Chapter 770, Statutes of 2014. 

8.  In-Home  Supportive  Services  

SB  572  (Price)  In-Home  Supportive  Services  Employer-Employee  Relations  Act:  
impasse  procedures.  

This bill would have required the California In-Home Supportive Services Authority, when 
presenting any proposal in its last, best, and final offer during labor negotiations, to present to the 
Legislature for approval any parts that conflict with existing law or require the expenditure of 
funds. These provisions were adopted in trailer bill language. Died in the Senate Human 
Services Committee. 
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AB  485  (Gomez)  In-home  supportive  services.  

This bill would have de-linked the statewide bargaining provision of In-Home Supportive 
Services (IHSS) providers and associated creation of a statewide Public Authority from other 
provisions and timelines of the Coordinated Care Initiative (CCI). Specifically, it would have 
created a statewide implementation date for the statewide Public Authority of January 1, 2014. 
Existing law provided for the creation of the Public Authority upon enrollment of patients in 
eight pilot counties into the CCI. The original implementation date was set in statute no earlier 
than March 1, 2013. However, various delays have pushed that date to April 1, 2014 or later. 
This bill also would have eliminated language that would delete authorization of the statewide 
Public Authority if the CCI is not implemented. Died on Assembly Concurrence File. 

AB  1217  (Lowenthal)  Home  Care  Services  Consumer  Protection  Act.  

This bill establishes the Home Care Services Consumer Protection Act to provide for the 
licensure and regulation of home care organizations and the registration of home care aides, 
effective January 1, 2015. This bill requires California Department of Social Services to establish 
and maintain on the department’s Internet Web site a continuously updated public registry of 
registered home care aides and home care aide applicants, and requires “affiliated home care 
aides” – those aides who are employed by a homecare organization to provide home care 
services to a client – to be listed on this registry, while allowing “independent home care aides” – 
those aides who are not employed by a home care organization – to voluntarily register. This bill 
also establishes other requirements for affiliated home care aides, including that they pass a 
tuberculosis test and complete basic training. It establishes criteria for the licensure of home care 
organizations, and requires DSS to verify that a home care organization is in compliance with 
licensure through random unannounced inspections. The bill establishes various fees and fines 
and requires them to be deposited into newly created a Home Care Fund. This bill also 
establishes new misdemeanors for falsely representing or presenting oneself as a home care aide 
applicant or registered home care aide, and for willfully or repeatedly violating a rule or 
regulation. Chapter 790, Statutes of 2013. See Governor’s signing message in section 11. 

AB  1703  (Hall)  In-home  supportive  services:  reading  services  for  blind  and  visually  
impared  recipients.   

This bill would have included assistance in reading and completing financial and other 
documents which are essential to activities of daily living for a recipient of the In Home 
Supportive Services Program (IHSS) who is blind or visually impaired, or who has another 
disability that significantly impairs his or her ability to read. Held in the Senate Appropriations 
Committee. 
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9.  Public  Services,  Social  Services  &  other  Human  Services  

SB  23  (Lara)  Task  Force  on  New  American  Integration.   

This bill would have established until January 1, 2018 a Task Force on New American 
Integration within the office of the Governor to provide, among other things, recommendations 
to the Legislature on protocols and collaboration among governmental agencies to streamline 
resources to assist immigrant integration. Held in the Assembly Appropriations Committee. 

SB  346  (Beall)  Public  social  services:  records.  

This bill clarifies existing law about the sharing of applicant and client information between 
separate county welfare departments, and between county welfare departments and the state 
Department of Social Services, by stating that public social services include specified publicly-
funded health care services, excluding Medi-Cal, administered or supervised by the Department 
of Social Services or the State Department of Health Care Services. Chapter 658, Statutes of 
2013. 

SB  602  (Committee  on  Human  Services)  Child  abuse  prevention,  intervention,  and  
treatment  projects.   

This bill deletes current statutory requirements related to Child Abuse Prevention Intervention 
and Treatment (CAPIT) programs that conflict with the removal of state responsibility due to 
realignment of those programs to counties. Chapter 60, Statutes of 2103. 

SB  1023  (Liu)  Community  colleges:  foster  youth   

This bill permits the California Community Colleges Chancellors Office to enter into agreements 
with up to 10 community college districts, to establish the Cooperating Agencies Foster Youth 
Educational Support (CAFYES) in order to provide additional funds for services in support of 
postsecondary education for foster youth. Additionally, this bill establishes eligibility and 
participation requirements for the program. Chapter 771, Statutes of 2014. 

AB  578  (Dickinson)  Crisis  nurseries:  study.  

This bill would have established a two-year pilot project in Sacramento and Yolo counties for the 
purpose of evaluating the effectiveness of crisis nurseries, as specified. This bill also would have 
required the California Department of Social Services to conduct a study of the relationship 
between crisis respite care and incidents of child abuse. Held in the Senate Appropriations 
Committee. 
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AB  1280  (John  A.  Pérez)  Public  assistance  payments  and  unemployment  
compensation  benefits:  electronic  fund  transfer:  qualifying  accounts  

This bill permits a recipient of public assistance payments to authorize payment to be directly 
deposited by electronic fund transfer to a qualifying account at a financial institution of the 
recipient’s choice. The bill requires qualifying accounts to meet specific requirements. It 
additionally requires that if a recipient of unemployment benefits elects to receive payments by 
direct deposit, the payments shall only be deposited to a qualifying account. It also clarifies that 
county treasurers and the Employment Development Department (EDD) have no obligation to 
determine whether a designated account is a qualifying account. The bill further prohibits an 
entity that issues or manages a prepaid card from accepting or facilitating the direct deposit of 
public assistance payments or unemployment compensation benefits to a prepaid card account 
that does not meet the specified requirements. Chapter 557, Statutes of 2013. 

AB  2311  (Bradford)  General  assistance:  employable  veterans.  

This bill would have exempted employable veterans who were honorably discharged from the 
Armed Forces from the prohibition on receiving General Assistance (GA) for more than three 
months for employable individuals who have been offered an opportunity to attend job skills or 
job training sessions. The bill also would have authorized a county to continue to limit the 
provision of General Assistance and General Relief to veterans if the county enacted an 
ordinance that specified that any employable individual would be subject to the limitation. Held 
in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 

AB  2547  (Beth  Gaines)  Placer  County  Integrated  Health  and  Human  Services  
Program.   

This bill deletes the July 1, 2016 sunset date of a pilot program that allows Placer County, with 
the assistance of the appropriate state departments to implement a pilot program for the funding 
and delivery of services and benefits through an integrated and comprehensive county health and 
human services system, thereby making authority for this program permanent. Chapter 272, 
Statutes of 2014. 

AJR  7  (Bonta)  Social  Security,  Medicare,  and  Medicaid.  

This joint resolution of the Assembly and Senate requests that the President and the United 
States Congress exclude Social Security, Medicare, and Medicaid from being a part of any 
legislation to reduce the federal deficit, and states the California Legislature’s opposition to cuts 
to these three programs. It also calls on California’s representatives to the United States 
Congress to vote against cuts to Social Security, Medicare, and Medicaid and to consider 
improving those systems in ways that would strengthen their protections. Resolution Chapter 35, 
Statutes of 2013. 

Page 56 of 61 



    

 

 

 

         

                 
            

          

             
            

                 
                  
    

                
    

 

    

 

        

         

                
               

                  
          

               
                

                 
              

              

 

10.	 Governor’s	 Veto 	Messages
 	

SB  158  (Correa)  Autism  services:  demonstration  program  .  

10/09/2013 

To the Members of the California State Senate: 

I am returning Senate Bill 158 without my signature. The bill seeks to give the Department of 
Developmental Services permission to establish a voluntary program with no identified funding 
to focus attention on autism spectrum disorders and underserved communities. 

Understanding the needs of disparate communities is a responsibility and goal the department, 
regional centers, and the three University Centers on Excellence in Developmental Disabilities 
all share. The bill imparts no new authority, alters no mission, and provides no new money to 
these efforts. As such, the work that the bill seeks to promote is already underway, to the best 
extent of available resources. 

If new federal or private resources should become available, the infrastructure and the will to do 
more are already there. 

Sincerely, 

Edmund G. Brown Jr. 

SB  996  (Evans)  Juveniles:  dependent  children.  

09/29/2014 

To the Members of the California State Senate: 

I am returning Senate Bill 996 without my signature. 

This bill would revise both the timeframes and frequency with which a county social worker must 
submit a report to the juvenile court verifying that certain documents and services have been 
provided to a youth prior to exiting foster care. The bill would also add financial literacy to the 
written materials required to be presented to the foster youth. 

Having access to one's own vital documents is necessary in the transition to adulthood. Some 
reports suggest that not all youth feel responsible enough at age 16 to handle these documents, 
and that providing them at an earlier age, as this bill requires, may exacerbate the problem of 
identity theft for foster youth. I would encourage county social workers, foster youth advocates, 
and court representatives to work on a solution that takes these variables into account. 

Sincerely, 
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Edmund G. Brown Jr. 

SB  1002  (De  León)  Low-Income  individuals:  eligibility  determinations.  

10/29/14 

To the Members of the California State Senate:
 

I am returning Senate Bill 1002 without my signature.
 

The bill would require the Department of Health Care Services to seek federal permission to use
 
an individual's CalFresh eligibility information to redetermine that same individual's eligibility 
for Medi-Cal; similarly, the bill would also require the Department of Social Services to seek 
federal permission to use an individual's Medi-Cal eligibility information to determine or 
redetermine eligibility for CalFresh. 

Each department is working with the appropriate controlling federal agency to use existing
 
program eligibility information to accomplish the goals of the bill.
 

I appreciate the support of the Legislature, but this bill is not necessary.
 

Sincerely,
 

Edmund G. Brown Jr.
 

AB  477  (Chau)  Elder  and  dependent  adult  abuse:  mandated  reporting.  

10/09/2013 

To the Members of the California State Assembly: 

I am returning Assembly Bill 477 without my signature. This bill would add notaries public to 
the list of professionals mandated to report suspected financial abuse of elder and dependent 
adults. 

I am not convinced that notaries, with their very limited interactions, should be placed in the 
position of being a mandated reporter. Others who are expressly mandated by law to report 
abuse typically have some level of relationship or more regular contact with the elder or 
dependent adult, or have some level of training in identifying abuse. For mandated reporting of 
financial abuse, officers and employees of financial institutions are required to report because of 
their access to financial information. 

Notaries generally have no more than fleeting contact with individuals who request their 
services. If some transaction or situation should arise that gives them pause or appears suspect, 
notaries may already make a report without this law. 
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I believe that voluntary education and outreach efforts to notaries about financial abuse would
 
better suit this class of professionals.
 

Sincerely,
 

Edmund G. Brown Jr.
 

AB  883  (Cooley)  Child  sexual  abuse:  prevention  pilot  program.  

09/28/2014 

To the Members of the California State Assembly: 

I am returning Assembly Bill 883 without my signature. 

This bill would establish a child sexual abuse prevention pilot program, allowing up to three 
counties to receive $50,000 annually for four years to provide child sexual abuse and 
commercial sexual exploitation prevention and intervention services. 

While this bill is undoubtedly well intentioned, it doesn't provide the criteria or funding 
necessary for counties to participate or for the Department of Social Services to conduct this 
pilot program. It may also duplicate efforts that have just gotten underway with the passage of 
this year's budget to combat and reduce the growing problem of commercial sexual exploitation 
of children. 

Sincerely, 

Edmund G. Brown Jr. 

AB  1231  (V.  Manuel  Pérez)  Regional  centers:  telehealth  

10/09/2013 

To the Members of the California State Assembly: 

I am returning Assembly Bill 1231 without my signature. This bill would require the Department 
of Developmental Services to inform regional centers that any appropriate health care service, 
including dentistry, may be provided through telehealth. The bill would additionally require the 
department to ask regional centers to consider using telehealth in their parent training programs 
and provide technical assistance on telehealth. 

Everything required by this bill either can be done, or is already being done, under existing law. 

Sincerely, 

Edmund G. Brown Jr. 
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AB  1744  (Brown)  California  Department  of  Aging.  

09/30/2014 

To the Members of the California State Assembly: 

I am returning Assembly Bill 1744 without my signature. 

The bill would require the California Department of Aging to establish and support a 13-member 
blue ribbon task force on unpaid family caregiving, using only non-state funds from private 
sources. 

The California State Plan on Aging, the California Plan for Alzheimer's Disease, the significant 
reports and action plans developed by the 33 Area Agencies on Aging, the Alzheimer's 
Association, the AARP and so many others have produced ample evidence for knowledgeable 
and caring people to recommend ways to improve support for family caregivers. 

Establishing another task force in state law simply isn't necessary. 

Sincerely, 

Edmund G. Brown Jr. 

AB  2035  (Chesbro)  Sexually  exploited  and  trafficked  minors.  

09/29/2014 

To the Members of the California State Assembly: 

I am returning Assembly Bill 2035 without my signature. 

Efforts have just gotten underway with the passage of this year's budget to combat the 
commercial sexual exploitation of children, who are also victims of human trafficking. Much 
discussion and collaboration took place in developing the blueprint intended to aid these young 
boys and girls. In fact, the budget provides a growing proportion of funds for planning, 
prevention and intervention activities. 

This bill, however, is premature. More investigation and discussion needs to take place before 
local authorities are in a solid position to curb the tragedy of young people who are forced to 
work under illegal and unacceptable conditions. 

I am directing the Department of Social Services to assemble relevant parties to explore all 
avenues that can be pursued to alleviate this suffering. 
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Sincerely,
 

Edmund G. Brown Jr.
 

11. Governor’s Signing Messages 

AB  1217  (Lowenthal)  Home  Care  Services  Consumer  Protection  Act.   

10/13/2013 

To the Members of the California State Assembly: 

Assembly Bill 1217 would create a regulatory framework for the private homecare industry and 
homecare aides. 

Last year, I vetoed a more expansive bill, because I did not think that the time was right to create 
costly new regulatory burdens, given the economic uncertainty for many businesses and families 
in the homecare world. 

I am signing AB 1217 because it strikes a better balance between consumer protection and 
industry regulation, and because the author’s office and legislative leadership have committed to 
delay the bill’s effective date by one year to January 1, 2016. 

This delay, coupled with other clarifying changes, will give the Department of Social Services 
enough time to accomplish what the bill seeks to achieve, and ultimately provide for smoother 
implementation of these good consumer protections. 

Sincerely, 

Edmund G. Brown Jr. 
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