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Committee Background

This background paper prepares the members of the Assembly Budget and Revenue and
Taxation Committees and the Senate Governance and Finance Committee for the June 11, 2018,
hearing on Initiative No, 17-0013, titled by its proponents as “People’s Initiative to Protect
Proposition 13 Savings, Version 3.” The proposed initiative amends the California Constitution
to expand the ability for a taxpayer to transfer the base year value for his/her current residence to
another residence. The proposed initiative also expands the ability of a taxpayer to transfer the
base year value of other property types, such as commercial or agricultural, in limited instances
involving disasters or contamination. This paper:

e Provides background regarding base year value transfers under existing law.
e Summarizes the pending initiative.
Initiative Review Process

Elections Code §9034, as amended by SB 1253 (Steinberg, 2014), requires:



e Proponents of a proposed initiative who have gathered 25% of required signatures to
certify under penalty of perjury to the Secretary of State they have done so.

e The Secretary of State to transmit the certification, along with the Attorney General’s
title and summary, to the Senate and the Assembly.

e The two houses to refer the measure to appropriate policy committees for joint hearings,
to be held not later than 131 days before the election at which voters will consider the
measure -- June 28, 2018. '

The Legislature can neither amend the initiative, nor prevent it from appearing on the ballot.
Secretary of State Alex Padilla determined that Initiative No. 17-0013 has received sufficient
signatures to be eligible for the November 2018 ballot. Should proponents not withdraw the
proposed initiative before June 28", the proposed initiative officially qualifies for the November
ballot on July 1%,

Base Year Value Transfers

Article XIII of the California Constitution provides that all property is taxable unless explicitly
exempted by the Constitution or federal law. Article XIITA of the Constitution limits the
maximum amount of any ad valorem tax on real property at 1% of full cash value, and directs
assessors to set assessed values at 1975 market value levels and only reappraise property
thereafter if there is a change in ownership (Proposition 13, 1978). Proposition 13 also
established constitutional limits on assessed value inflationary growth of real property to 2% per
year. State law implementing Proposition 13 generally sets a property’s value as its sales price
when purchased or, when there is no sales price, at its fair market value when ownership changes
(base year value). Thereafter, the law requires an annual inflation adjustment to that value that
does not exceed 2% (factored base year value). The inflation amount is based upon the
California Consumer Price Index for all items as calculated by the Department of Industrial
Relations. ’

Base year value transfers allow a taxpayer to continue to pay property taxes at the factored base
year value of his/her previous home (or other property types where the law allows) and not on
the value of their newly purchased home, often resulting in tax savings. For example, a taxpayer
who purchased her residence for $100,000 in 1975 now has a base year value under Proposition
13 that cannot exceed $230,000 under the 2% cap in annual inflationary growth, regardless of its
market value. If that taxpayer sold his/her residence for $400,000 and purchased a new one for
the same amount, a base year value transfer allows him/her to continue to pay property taxes
based on the $230,000 value, not $400,000, which at the 1% rate results in $1,700 in annual tax
savings ($400,000 - $230,000 = $170,000 x 1% = $1,700).

Disaster-Related Transfers (All Property Types). In June 1986, voters amended the
California Constitution to allow base year values transfers for certain disasters (Proposition 50,
1986). Proposition 50 allowed a taxpayer to transfer his/her base year value when his/her



property is damaged by a major misfortune or calamity, and located in an area declared to be in a
-state of disaster by the Governor.

All property types. Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) §69 implements Proposition 50 to
allow the transfer when:

e The damaged property sustains physical damages amounting to more than 50% of its full
cash value immediately prior to the disaster;

o The replacement property is located in the same county as the damaged property and is
acquired or newly constructed within five years after the disaster;

e The replacement property is comparable to the damaged property in size, utility, and
function. For example, a residential property can be replacement property for a damaged
residence, but not for a commercial, agricultural, or industrial property;

e The market value of the replacement property does not exceed 120% of the fair market
value of the replaced property in its pre-damaged condition. Property owners can still
receive the disaster relief in cases where the value of the replacement property exceeds
the 120% limitation, but any amount over this threshold is assessed at full market value
and added to the transferred base year value; and,

e The buyer of the replacement property was the owner of the damaged property at the time
of damage.

Homes only. In November 1993, voters additionally allowed taxpayers to transfer base year
values to other counties when their property is damaged by a major misfortune or calamity and
located in an area declared to be in a state of disaster by the Governor (Proposition 171).
However, Proposition 171 only allowed transfers to other counties for a taxpayer’s principal
place of residence, and solely when the board of supervisors in the county where the replacement
property is located has adopted an ordinance making this benefit available, Additionally,
replacement homes must be purchased within three years rather than five years. Eleven counties
have such an ordinance: Contra Costa, Los Angeles, Modoc, Orange, San Diego, San Francisco,
Santa Clara, Solano, Sonoma, Sutter, and Ventura.

Revenue and Taxation Code §69.3 implements Proposition 171's provisions for base year value
transfers for out-of-county replacement homes.

Age and Disabled-Related Transfers (Homes Only). In November 1986, voters approved
Proposition 60 to amend the Constitution to let a homeowner over the age of 55 transfer his/her
base year value to a replacement home of equal or lesser value within the same county under
specified circumstances. '

Two years later, in November 1988, voters expanded base year value transfer availability to
allow transfers to counties that adopt ordinances allowing the transfer (intercounty transfers).
Today, eleven counties allow these out-of-county transfers: Alameda, El Dorado, Los Angeles,
Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Tuolumne, and Ventura.
(Proposition 90, 1988)



In June 1990, voters approved Proposition 110 to allow disabled individuals regardless of age to
transfer base year values to a purchased or newly constructed replacement property. (Proposition
110, 1990)

Revenue and Taxation Code §69.5 provides further details to implement all three propositions
for individuals over the age of 55 and disabled persons. Among the conditions, the property
must be eligible for the homeowners’ exemption, and the replacement property must be
purchased or newly constructed within two years of the sale of the original property. This law
limits base year value transfers to one per taxpayer; however, the Legislature added a sole
exception to the one-time limit for a taxpayer who claims the benefit first as a person 55 years of
age or older, and subsequently becomes disabled (SB 1692 (Petris), 1996). In that case, the
taxpayer can transfer the base year value from the original home twice; however, the law does
not similarly treat a taxpayer who initially claims the transfer a disabled person cannot then
subsequently claim another benefit after they turn 55. The Legislature approved SB 246 (Bates),
2017, which would have allowed a second transfer for a disabled person after he/she turns 55;
however, Governor Brown vetoed the measure.

Contamination-Related Transfers (All Property Types). In November 1998, voters approved
Proposition 1 which allows a taxpayer to transfer the base year value of qualified contaminated
property to a replacement or newly constructed property of equal or lesser value than the value of
the contaminated property if that property was not contaminated. (Proposition 1, 1998)

Revenue and Taxation Code §69.4 sets forth the details for transfers of qualified contaminated
property.

Proposed Initiative Summary

On September 25, 2017, Attorney General Xavier Becerra prepared the title and summary for
Initiative No. 17-0013, as follows:

CHANGES REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTAIN PROPERTY OWNERS TO
TRANSFER THEIR PROPERTY TAX BASE TO REPLACEMENT PROPERTY.
INITIATIVE CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT AND STATUTE.

Removes the following current requirements for homeowners who are over 55 years old
or severely disabled to transfer their property tax base to a replacement residence: that
replacement property be of equal or lesser value, replacement residence be in specific
county, and the transfer occur only once. Removes similar replacement-value and
location requirements on transfers for contaminated or disaster-destroyed property.
Requires adjustments to the replacement property’s tax base, based on the new property’s
value.

~Included with the title and summary is an estimate of the measure’s fiscal impact from the
Legislative Analyst’s Office (LAO) and the Director of Finance, which reads:



Annual property tax losses for cities, counties, and special districts of around $150
million in the near term, growing over time to $1 billion or more per year (in today’s
dollars). Annual property tax losses for schools of around $150 million per year in the

~ near term, growing over time to $1 billion or more per year (in today’s dollars). Increase

in state costs for schools of an equivalent amount in most years.

Initiative 17-0013 amends Section Two of Article XIITA of the California Constitution to allow
disabled taxpayers or those over the age of 55 to:

Claim an infinite number of base year value transfers;

Transfer base year values to other counties regardless of whether the county in which the
replacement property is located has approved an ordinance allowmg the transfer;,

Allow a base year value transfer to a property of equal or greater value as long as the
difference in value between the sales price of the original property and the sales price of
the replacement property is subsequently added to the base year value. For example, if
the original property has a base year value of $230,000 sells for $400,000 and the
taxpayer purchases a $500,000 replacement property, its new base year value is $330,000
($500,000 - $400,000 = $100,000 + $230,000 = $330,000); and,

Alter the method for determining the value of a replacement property of equal or lesser
value to produce additional tax reductions. Instead of simply transferring the base year
value from the original property to the replacement, the base year value of the original

. property is further reduced under a formula set forth in the initiative that increases the tax

reduction in accordance with the taxpayer’s current difference between assessed-and
market value. The formula provides that the base year value is divided by the sales price
of the original property to derive a percentage, which is then multiplied by the base year
value. Using the example above, except that the taxpayer purchases a $300,000
replacement property instead of a $500,000 one, her new base year value is $132,500
($230,000/$400,000 = 57% x $230,000 = $132,500). As a result, the taxpayer pays
$1325 annually in property taxes at the 1% rate because she moved, instead of $2300 if
she had stayed. '

Initiative 17-0013 makes similar changes to the California Constitution’s provisions for disaster
base year value transfers to:

Allow base year value transfers to other counties regardless of whether the county in
which the replacement property is located has approved an ordinance allowing the
transfer;

Remove the requirement that the replacement property be comparable to the original
property; and,

Apply the same adjustments specified above when the taxpayer acquires a property of
greater or lesser value.

Initiative 17-0013 also makes conforming changes to the California Constitution’s provisions for
contaminated property base year value transfers, including to:




o Allow the transfer to replacement property of equal or greater value than the
contaminated property’s value if that property were not contaminated;

e ' Permit base year value transfers to other counties; and,
e  Apply the same adjustments specified above when the taxpayer acquires a property of
greater or lesser value. :
Initiative 17-0013 also makes changes to R&TC §69.5 related to Propositions 60, 90, 110 to:
o Delete the restriction of one base year value transfer per taxpayer;
e Replace references to “claimant” with “person”;
o Conform with the measure’s Constitutional changes; and,
e Require future amendments to R&TC §69 5 to be approved by a 2/3 vote so long as the
- amendments are consistent with and further this initiative's intent.
Initiative 17-0013, however, does nof make any changes to the following R&T Code provisions
related to Propositions 50, 171, and 1:
e R&TC §69 implements disaster base year value transfers within the same county;
o R&TC §69.3 guides disaster base year value transfers to other counties; and,
o R&TC §69.4 controls transfers of qualified contaminated property.
Initiative 17-0013 does not amend Article XIITA, Section 2(d) and its implementing provisions
set forth in R&TC §68, which relates to base year value transfer provisions for property owners
that are displaced by eminent domain, acquisition by public entity, or inverse condemnation.

These base year value transfer provisions apply to any comparable property. (Proposition 3,
June 1982)

The initiative applies to transfers occurring on or after January 1, 2019, and also makes technical
and conforming changes.



