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SUMMARY 
 
This bill requires the governing boards of California’s public and private postsecondary 
education institutions to indicate that a student has been suspended or expelled from 
the institution on the student’s transcript for the time period of the student’s ineligibility to 
enroll. 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Existing law requires the University of California (UC) Regents, the California State 
University (CSU) Trustees, and the governing board of every Community College 
District (CCD) to adopt specific rules governing student behavior and applicable 
penalties for violations of the rules; as well as the adoption of procedures by which 
students are informed of such rules and applicable penalties.   
(Education Code § 66300) 
 
ANALYSIS 
 
This bill: 
 
1) Requires the governing boards of each CCD, the CSU Trustees, the UC Regents, 

and the governing board of each independent and private postsecondary 
educational institution to indicate on a student’s transcript that the student is 
ineligible to enroll due to suspension or expulsion for the time period of the student’s 
ineligibility. 

 
2) Makes findings and declarations about the differences in policies and practices 

relative to the notation of disciplinary dismissals on student transcripts, the risk this 
may create for the institution and student, and specific reference to violations related 
to the commission of a sexual assault.  

 
STAFF COMMENTS 
 
1) Need for the bill.  According to the author, ensuring communication between 

campuses is a vital step to providing a safe learning environment for students. This 
bill would create a standard and ensure consistency between postsecondary 
education segments so that a receiving institution can determine whether a 
background check of a potential transfer student is necessary prior to enrollment.  
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2) Current practice.  According to a recent survey by the American Association of 

Collegiate Registrar’s and Admissions Officers, most institutions (84 percent) make 
transcript notations when a student is ineligible to re-enroll for academic reasons, 
but only a few (29 percent) note suspensions or dismissals for disciplinary reasons. 
California's public postsecondary education institutions do not currently follow a 
standard notation method regarding suspensions and expulsions. The University of 
California makes a general notation when a student is expelled.  The California State 
University makes a permanent general notation if the student is expelled, or 
suspended for one academic year or more, withdraws in lieu of suspension or 
expulsion, or withdraws pending misconduct investigations or disciplinary 
proceedings.  The community colleges report that they provide for a notation on the 
transcript if a student was expelled for academic reasons, but that there is no 
standard for notations for students expelled for reasons other than academic 
deficiencies.  This bill would require all California institutions, public and private, to 
indicate when a student is ineligible to re-enroll due to suspension or expulsion on 
the student’s transcript for the period of time the student is ineligible to re-enroll.   

 
3) Community Colleges.  Current law provides that any community college district 

(CCD) that receives an application for admission from an individual who has been 
expelled from, or who is undergoing expulsion proceedings in, another district for 
any of a number of specified offenses may deny, permit, or permit conditionally, the 
enrollment of the student.  The district must first hold a hearing, as specified, to 
determine whether the individual poses a continuing danger to the district’s students 
and employees. Current law also requires a formal appeal process be established 
for any student denied enrollment under these provisions.   

 
This bill would require notation of the student’s suspension or expulsion on the 
transcript regardless of the reason.  A suspended student would only have such 
noted on their transcript for the period of the suspension.  An expelled student 
attempting to transfer to another community college may already be required to 
disclose the expulsion, but would be entitled to a hearing and appeal process if 
denied enrollment.  It does not appear that the provisions of this bill would require 
disclosure of the reason for expulsion/suspension on the transcript.  

 
4) National guidelines.  The Association for Student Conduct Administration (ASCA), 

a national membership based organization that provides education and resources to 
facilitate best practices of student conduct administration and conflict resolution on 
college campuses, recommends that all institutions place an appropriate notation on 
an academic transcript to indicate when a student is ineligible to re-enroll at that 
institution as a consequence of disciplinary action.   

 
ASCA notes that transcript notations are important, but will not be effective at 
reducing the risk of violence to a campus absent a comprehensive approach to 
admissions, review of information, and appropriate action based on that review.  
ASCA also recommends that institutions: 

 
a) Ask key questions to solicit information about a potential student’s conduct 

and/or criminal history prior to being admitted to the institution;   
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b) Have systemic ways to review and utilize this information in relevant admission 
decisions, as well as to promote individual student success and safer campus 
communities;  
 

c) Develop and communicate procedures explaining the notation, duration of 
notation, and retention and release of records; and,  
 

d) Communicate these practices to students through their appropriate institutional 
privacy or other record policies, including via website to current and prospective 
students. 
 

SUPPORT 
 
California Coalition Against Sexual Assault 
California Federation of Teachers 
California State Student Association 
California State University 
University of California 
 
OPPOSITION 
 
None received.  
 

-- END -- 


