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SUMMARY 
 
This bill prohibits the University of California (UC), the California State University (CSU) 
and the California Community Colleges (CCC) from collecting mandatory systemwide 
fees or tuition to exonerated persons, as defined.  
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Existing law: 
 
1) Requires the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation to assist a 

person exonerated as to a conviction for which they are serving a state prison 
sentence at the time of exoneration with the following: 

a) Transitional housing assistance, job training, and mental health services, 
as applicable. 

 
b) Enrollment in the Medi-Cal program. 
 
c) Enrollment in Cal Fresh. 
 
d) Referral to the Employment Development Department and applicable 

regional planning units for workforce services. 
 
e) Enrollment in the federal and state supplemental security income 

programs (SSI/SSP). 

2) Provides a payment of $1,000 to an exonerated person upon their release from 
prison. 

3) Defines “exonerated”, for purposes of the above and for purposes of this bill, to 
mean the person has been convicted and one of the following subsequently 
occur: 

a) A writ of habeas corpus concerning the person was granted on the basis 
that the evidence unerringly points to innocence, or the person’s 
conviction was reversed on appeal on the basis of insufficient evidence; 

 
b) A writ of habeas corpus concerning the person was granted, either 

resulting in dismissal of the criminal charges for which he or she was 
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incarcerated or following a determination that the person is entitled to 
release on his or her own recognizance, or to bail, pending a decision by a 
prosecutor regarding retrial or appeal; or 

 
c) The person was given an absolute pardon by the Governor on the basis 

that the person was innocent. (Penal Code (PC) § 3007.05.) 
 

4) States that any person who, having been convicted of any felony and imprisoned 
in the state prison or county jail for that conviction, is granted a pardon by the 
Governor for the reason he or she was innocent of the crime with which he or 
she was convicted, is eligible to present a claim against the state to the Victims 
Compensation Board for the monetary injury sustained by him or her through the 
erroneous conviction and imprisonment. (PC § 4900.) 

 
5) Gives erroneously convicted individuals two years to file a claim against the 

state.  (PC Sect. 4901.) 
 

6) Sets the rate of compensation at $140 per day of incarceration served 
subsequent to the claimant's conviction, and specifies that this appropriation shall 
not be considered gross income for state tax purposes.  (PC § 4904.) 

7) Provides that no mandatory systemwide fees be required by the UC Regents, the 
Board of Directors of Hastings College of Law, the CSU Trustees, or the Board of 
Governors of the CCC from any surviving spouse or child, of a deceased person, 
who met all of the following requirements: 

 
a) He or she was a resident of this state; 

 
b) He or she was employed by a state or local public agency, or was a 

contractor, or an employee of a contractor, performing services for a 
public agency, or was a firefighter employed by the federal government 
whose duty assignment involved performing firefighting services in 
California; 

 
c) His or her principal duties consisted of active law enforcement service or 

active fire suppression and prevention; and, 
 

d) He or she was killed in the performance of active law enforcement or 
active fire suppression and prevention duties, died as a result of an 
accident or an injury caused by external violence or physical force during 
the performing those duties, or died as a result of an industrial injury or 
illness arising out of and in the course of performing those duties. 
(Education Code (EC) § 68120.) 

 
8) Provides that no mandatory systemwide fees be required by the UC Regents, the 

CSU Trustees, or the Board of Governors of the CCC from any of the following: 
(EC § 66025.3 and 76300.) 

 
a) The dependent of any California resident killed in the September 11, 2001 

terrorist attacks;  
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b) The dependent of a veteran killed or permanently disabled in the line of 
duty, as specified; and  

c) Current and former foster youth, as specified. 

ANALYSIS 
 
This bill prohibits mandatory systemwide fees or tuition of any kind from being required 
or collected by the Regents of the UC, the Trustees of the CSU, the Board of Governors 
of the CCC, or any community college district from a student who has been exonerated, 
as defined in the penal code.  
 
STAFF COMMENTS 
 
1) Need for the bill. According to the author, when someone is wrongfully 

convicted for a crime they did not commit there are countless adverse impacts, 
including the loss of years or decades of their life that could have been spent 
pursuing higher education, training and job experience. As a result, of their 
wrongful imprisonment, the majority of exonerees are financially dependent on 
others upon release. The author believes that access to an education would 
provide exonerated individuals with resources and access to better-paying jobs 
to create a path to financial independence. AB 703 would help in this regard by 
waiving systemwide tuition and fees for exonerated students at California’s public 
postsecondary institutions.  
 

2) How many? According to the National Registry of Exonerations’ most recent 
report, dated April 9, 2019, since 1989, exonerations in California totaled 201, or 
less than seven per year on average. These exonerees lost a total of 1,692 years 
in prison, or an average of 8.4 years per exoneree. In 2018, there were six 
exonerations in California. As such, the bill’s provisions would benefit a small 
number of students.   
 

3) State claims for exonerated persons. According to information posted the 
California Victim Compensation Board website, Current law requires that the 
Victim Compensation Board process claims of persons who claim to be 
erroneously convicted of felonies. The Erroneously Convicted Person statutes 
originated in 1913. Prior to 2000, compensation was capped at $10,000. In 2000, 
the law was amended to allow compensation of $100 for each day served in 
prison after the conviction with no maximum amount. In 2016, the law was 
amended to change the compensation rate to $140 per day for each day of 
incarceration served ($51,110 per year), including pre-conviction time spent in 
custody. 
 
Unlike the burden of proof for criminal cases, where the prosecutor must prove 
that a defendant is guilty beyond a reasonable doubt, a claimant who applies for 
compensation must prove, by a preponderance of the evidence, that he or she 
did not commit the crime that resulted in his or her incarceration and that he or 
she did not contribute to the arrest or conviction.  
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The California Victims Compensation Board recommends to the Legislature an 
appropriation of $140 per day ($51,110 per year) of incarceration served in a 
state prison, subsequent to the claimant’s exoneration. This year’s claims 
appropriations bill  AB 1830 (Gonzalez, 2019), pending on the Senate floor, is an 
urgency measure proposing appropriations totaling $2.3 million for four 
exonerees whose claims have been approved by the board. 
 

4) Expansion of tuition waiver grantees. As noted in the background of this 
analysis, current law prohibits public postsecondary institutions from applying 
certain fees to various groups impacted by a tragic event, these waivers include: 
 

 A surviving spouse or child of a deceased person of active law 
enforcement service. 
 

 A surviving spouse or child of a deceased person of active fire 
suppression and prevention. 

 

 The dependent of any California resident killed in the September 11, 2001 
terrorist attacks. 

 

 The dependent of veteran killed or permanently disabled in the line of 
duty, as specified. 

 

 Current and former foster youth. 
 
Staff notes the bill’s provisions are anticipated to impact a small number of 
people, within the entire population of students, therefore, in isolation its impact 
to each segment is expected to be minimal. However, this bill expands overall 
the number and category of individuals eligible for a tuition waiver at a public 
higher education institution. It is likely that future legislation prohibiting public 
colleges and universities from charging tuition to other groups of students will 
follow suit. Tuition costs are a barrier for many individuals with financial hardship, 
while providing free college for exonerees may be reasonable, the committee 
may wish to consider the broader policy implications of establishing numerous 
waiver programs and whether group by group tuition exemptions is an 
appropriate remedy or whether a comprehensive solution is warranted such as 
one that is based on an individual’s ability to pay.    

 
5) Parity with recent waiver grantees? A student qualifies for the exemption 

proposed in this bill if they have been exonerated from a conviction for which 
they are serving a state prison sentence. There are no other requirements for 
eligibility. Current law, established by SB 967 (Berryhill, Chapter 688, Statutes of 
2018), prohibits the UC and the CSU from charging mandatory tuition and fees to 
current and former foster youth. Unlike this bill, it additionally requires an eligible 
current and former foster youth to complete and submit the Free Application for 
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), maintain a minimum grade point average, be in 
good standing and meet the financial need requirements established for Cal 
Grant A awards. Further, current law specifies that the amount of a student’s 
tuition waived be reduced by other gift aid received by the student and limited the 
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waiver the equivalent of attendance in a four-year undergraduate program. 
These provisions ensure that a student maximizes their ability to access other 
state and federal aid programs, as well as provide parameters that parallel other 
publically supported need-based financial aid programs for students.  
 
As such and for purposes of implementing tuition exemption policies that are 
consistent for beneficiaries of those programs, staff recommends that the bill 
be amended mirror in part applicable eligibility requirements and standards 
established for waivers granted to current and former foster youth as follows: 
 
69000. (a)(1) No mandatory systemwide fees or tuition of any kind shall be 
required or collected by the Regents of the University of California, the Trustees 
of the California State University, the Board of Governors of the California 
Community Colleges, or any community college district from a student who has 
been exonerated, as that term is defined in Section 3007.05 of the Penal Code, if  
the student meets all of the following conditions: 

  
(A) Completes and submits the Free Application for Federal Student Aid 
(FAFSA). 

 
(B) Meets the financial need requirements established for Cal Grant A awards 
under Chapter 1.7 (commencing with Section 69430) of Part 42. 
 
(2) A student shall not have his or her mandatory systemwide tuition or fees 
waived pursuant to this subdivision in excess of the equivalent of six years of full-
time attendance undergraduate program. 

 
(b) A person who is eligible for a waiver of tuition or fees under this section may 
receive a waiver for each academic year during which he or she applies for that 
waiver, but an eligible person may not receive a waiver of tuition or fees for a 
prior academic year. 
 
(c) The waiver of tuition or fees under this section shall apply only to a person 
who is determined to be a resident of California pursuant to Chapter 1 
(commencing with Section 68000) of Part 41. 
 

6) Related legislation. AB 1090 (Medina, 2019) Expands an existing exemption 
from mandatory systemwide tuition and fees at the UC, the Hastings College of 
Law, the CSU, and the CCC for an eligible survivor of active duty law 
enforcement or firefighters who died in the line of duty to also exempt these 
eligible survivors from mandatory campus-based fees.   

 
SUPPORT 
 
American Civil Liberties Union of California  
California Attorneys for Criminal Justice 
Exonerated Nation 
 
OPPOSITION 
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None received 
 

-- END -- 


