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SUMMARY

This bill requires the Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) to expedite their
review of applicants that have valid teaching credentials from other states and are
married to, or in a legal union with, a member of the military on active duty in California.

BACKGROUND
Existing law:

1) Requires the CTC to process credential applications within 50 business days of
receipt.

2) Specifies that the CTC may transmit, electronically or by printed copy, application
information from the school district, county office of education, or institution of
higher education that submitted the application to expedite the review process.

3) Requires the CTC to waive all application and processing fees for the initial
issuance of a teaching credential to an out-of-state prepared applicant who
relocates to California due to orders received by the applicant’s spouse from a
branch of the military.

4) Requires the CTC to issue a variety of five-year preliminary teaching credentials
and clear multiple subject, single subject, or education specialist teaching
credentials to out-of-state prepared teachers who meet the state’s basic skills
proficiency requirements within one year and meet other various requirements.

ANALYSIS

This bill requires the CTC to grant or deny an application for a credential within seven
days of receipt if the applicant does both of the following:

1) Supplies evidence that the applicant is married to, or in a domestic partnership or
another legal union with, an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the
United States who is assigned to a duty station in this state under official active
duty military orders.
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2)

Holds a valid teaching credential in another state, district, or territory of the
United States.

STAFF COMMENTS

1)

2)

3)

4)

Need for the bill. According to the author, “state teacher certification is
generally designed to credential a teacher to work within a school district over
extended periods of time. Policies that allow a teacher certified in another state
to become credentialed in a new state require extensive documentation and may
require additional testing and course work. Military spouse teachers are
expected to accomplish these credentialing requirements every two to three
years due to military directed moves...Establishing a temporary certificate, or
expediting application and adjudication processes for military spouses may
alleviate the delays in garnering certification to teach in the state.”

Typical application review timeline by the Commission. According to the
Commission on Teacher Credentialing, about 80 percent of all applications are
submitted online, with the remaining 20 percent submitted on paper. Online
renewals are typically processed within an average of three business days, and
recommendations from approved programs are processed within an average of
one business day. Paper applications submitted directly from an applicant are
processed within an average of 42 business days. Overall, 96 percent of
applications are typically processed within the statutory timeline of 50 days, with
over 77 percent being processed within five business days.

Out-of-state prepared teacher reciprocity and benefits. California currently
offers individuals who have completed a teacher preparation program and have
been issued a teaching certification in another state the opportunity to apply for a
California teaching certification through reciprocity agreements. The exact
process for certification differs depending on the individual’s level of professional
experience and type of certification. Further, testing fees are waived for the initial
issuance of a teaching credential to an out-of-state prepared applicant who
relocates to California due to orders received by the applicant’s spouse from a
branch of the military.

Background checks and fitness reviews for out-of-state teachers. For
purposes of background checks, out-of-state applicants must use fingerprint
cards unless they can physically come to California and go to a scanning

station. The Department of Justice quotes between eight and ten weeks for
processing background checks based on fingerprint cards. This timeframe
conflicts with the provisions of this bill and is out of the control of the Commission
on Teacher Credentialing (CTC). In addition, under current law, the statutory
clock for processing applications is paused, and due process commences if a
fitness review must be performed over alleged misconduct. Lastly, incomplete
application submittals can slow processing times for the CTC. If it is the desire of
the committee to pass this measure, staff recommends that the bill be amended
to specify that the seven-day review requirement: (1) only applies to completed
applications that include all relevant records; and (2) does not apply to the
process related to a professional fitness review, when required.
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SUPPORT

United States Department of Defense
OPPOSITION

None received
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