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SUMMARY 
 
This bill deems recipients of Medi-Cal or CalFresh as eligible for subsidized child care, 
authorizes state preschool programs to serve younger two-year-olds, requires the 
California Department of Education (CDE) to allow state preschool programs and 
general child care providers to serve children age 0-12 in a commingled classroom, 
authorizes state preschool providers and general child care providers to waive family 
fees if serving students only via distance learning, and requires CDE to allow and 
arrange interagency adjustments between California state preschool contracts and 
general child care contracts. 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Existing law: 
 
Subsidized child care eligibility 

1) Provides that families must meet at least one requirement in each of the following 
areas to be eligibility for federal and state subsidized child development services: 

a) A family is (i) a current aid recipient, (ii) income eligible, (iii) homeless, or 
(iv) one whose children are recipients of protective services, or whose 
children have been identified as being abused, neglected, or exploited, or 
at risk of being abused, neglected, or exploited. 

b) A family needs the childcare services (i) because the child is identified as 
(I) a recipient of protective services, (II) being neglected, abused, or 
exploited, or at risk of neglect, abuse, or exploitation, or (III) being 
homeless or (ii) because the parents are (I) engaged in vocational training 
leading directly to a recognized trade, paraprofession, or profession, (II) 
engaged in an educational program for English language learners or to 
attain a high school diploma or general educational development 
certificate, (III) employed or seeking employment, (IV) seeking permanent 
housing for family stability, or (V) incapacitated.  (Education Code § 8263) 

2) Establishes priority for federal and state subsidized child development services is 
as follows: 
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a) First priority shall be given to neglected or abused children who are 
recipients of child protective services, or children who are at risk of being 
neglected or abused. 

b) Second priority shall be given equally to eligible families, regardless of the 
number of parents in the home, who are income eligible.  Within this 
priority, families with the lowest gross monthly income in relation to family 
size shall be admitted first.  For purposes of determining order of 
admission, grants of public assistance recipients shall be counted as 
income.  (EC § 8263) 

Child care age categories 

3) Requires, whenever groups of children of two age categories are commingled 
and the younger age group exceeds fifty percent of the total number of children 
present, the ratios for the entire group to meet the ratios required for the younger 
age group.  If the younger age group does not exceed fifty percent of the total 
number of the children present, the teacher-child and adult-child ratios are to be 
computed separately for each group.  (California Code of Regulations, Title 5 § 
18291) 

4) Provides adjustment factors to reflect the additional expense of serving children 
who meet specified criteria (enrollment is multiplies by the adjustment factor): 

a) For infants who are 0 to 18 months of age, the adjustment factor is 2.44. 

b) For toddlers who are 18 to 36 months of age, the adjustment factor is 1.8. 

c) For children with exceptional needs who are 0 to 21 years of age, the 
adjustment factor is 1.54. 

d) For severely disabled children who are 0 to 21 years of age, the 
adjustment factor is 1.93. 

e) For children at risk of neglect, abuse, or exploitation who are 0 to 14 years 
of age, the adjustment factor is 1.1. 

f) For limited-English speaking and non-English speaking children who are 
two years of age through kindergarten age, the adjustment factor is 1.1. 

g) For specified children in programs where early childhood mental health 
consultation services are provided, the adjustment factor is 1.05.  (EC § 
8265.5) 

5) Provides that the preferred placement of 11- and 12-year olds is in before or after 
school programs, and that 11- and 12-year olds are eligible for subsidized child 
care services only for the portion of care needed that is not available in a before 
or after school program..  (EC § 8263.4) 

 
California state preschool 
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6) Establishes that three- and four-year-old children are eligible for the part-day 

California state preschool program if the family meets at least one of the criteria 
described in # 1(a) above (a current aid recipient, income eligible, homeless, or 
one whose children are recipients of protective services).  (EC § 8235) 
 

7) Requires state preschool providers to give first priority to three- or four-year-old 
neglected or abused children who are recipients of child protective services; 
second priority is for eligible four-year-old children who are not enrolled in a 
state-funded transitional kindergarten program; third priority is for eligible three-
year-old children.  (EC § 8236) 
 

8) Defines “three-year-old children” as children who will have their third birthday on 
or before December 1 of the fiscal year in which they are enrolled in a California 
state preschool program.  Children who have their third birthday on or after 
December 2 of the fiscal year, may be enrolled in a California state preschool 
program on or after their third birthday.  (EC § 8208) 

 
Preschool family fees 
 
9) Requires that families be assessed a flat monthly fee based on income, certified 

family need for full-time or part-time care services, and enrollment.  The family 
fee is determined by a schedule that is developed by the Superintendent of 
Public Instruction.  The family fee shall not be based on actual attendance.  (EC 
§ 8273) 

 
Preschool reserve fund 
 
10) Authorizes a California state preschool program contracting agency to retain a 

reserve fund balance equal to 15 percent of the sum of the maximum 
reimbursable amounts of all contracts to which the contractor is a party, or two 
thousand dollars ($2,000), whichever is greater.  Of the 15 percent retained, 10 
percent must solely be used for professional development for state preschool 
program instructional staff.  (EC § 8450) 

 
Intra- and inter-agency adjustments 
 
11) Requires the CDE to promote full utilization of child care and development funds 

and match available unused funds with identified service needs.  In doing so, the 
CDE is required to arrange intra-agency adjustments between California state 
preschool contracts and general child care contracts (for the same agency and 
funding allocation).  (EC § 8236.2)  
 

12) To further full utilization and match fund with needs, requires the CDE to arrange 
interagency adjustments between different contractors with the same type of 
contract when both agencies mutually agree to a temporary transfer of funds for 
the balance of the fiscal year.  (EC § 8275.5) 

 
ANALYSIS 
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This bill deems recipients of Medi-Cal or CalFresh as eligible for subsidized child care, 
authorizes state preschool programs to serve younger two-year-olds, requires the 
California Department of Education (CDE) to allow state preschool programs and 
general child care providers to serve children age 0-12 in a commingled classroom, 
authorizes state preschool providers and general child care providers to waive family 
fees if serving students only via distance learning, and requires CDE to allow and 
arrange interagency adjustments between California state preschool contracts and 
general child care contracts.  Specifically, this bill: 
 
Eligibility for subsidized child care and State preschool 
 
1) Deems recipients of Medi-Cal or CalFresh as eligible for subsidized child care or 

State preschool, essentially providing for the direct certification of these families.   
 

2) Defines a “current recipient of Medi-Cal or CalFresh” as a family in which a 
member of the family has been certified as fully eligible to receive CalFresh or 
Medi-Cal benefits. 
 

3) Requires the parent to provide documentation of current enrollment in CalFresh 
or Medi-Cal, unless the contractor has and elects to use other means of 
obtaining verification for that enrollment.  
 

4) Prohibits further proof of income from being required for determining eligibility.  
 

5) Authorizes families to submit a self-certification of income that is signed by the 
parent under penalty of perjury for the purposes of prioritizing enrollment and 
calculating family fees (but not for determining eligibility). 
 

6) Authorizes CDE to implement and administer these provisions through the 
issuance of guidance or other written directives. 
 

 
Expands eligibility for state preschool to younger two-year-olds 
 
7) Authorizes California state preschool providers to serve two-year-old children in 

extenuating circumstances, including but not limited to the unavailability of an 
alternative placement in an infant and toddler general childcare and development 
program. 
 

Commingled classrooms 
 
8) Requires the CDE to allow state preschool and general child care contractors, 

during the 2020-2021 fiscal year, to provide services to children from 0 to 12 
years of age in commingled classrooms. 
 

9) Defines “commingled classroom” as a classroom that serves children from 0 to 
12 years of age. 
 

10) Requires, if groups of children of varying ages are commingled within a single 
classroom, the teacher and adult ratios to be proportionate and appropriate to the 
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ages and groups of children. 
 

11) Requires that adjustment factors to the standard reimbursement rate, including 
those based on child age, continue to apply irrespective of whether a child is 
served in a commingled classroom.  
 

12) Authorizes the CDE to implement and administer these provisions through the 
issuance of guidance or other written directives. 
 

Preschool reserve fund balance 
 
13) Deletes the requirement that 10 percent of reserve funds solely be used for 

purposes of professional development for California state preschool program 
instructional staff.   
 

14) Authorizes reserve funds to be used to cover costs of waiving family fees (see # 
17). 
 

Waiving family fees 
 

15) Authorizes state preschool and general child care contractors to elect to waive 
family fees for families who are enrolled but only receiving services through 
distance learning.  
 

16) Requires the cost to the contractor for waiving family fees to be an allowable use 
of contract funds received for providing child care and development services.  
 

17) Authorizes contractors to utilize their reserve fund to cover the cost of waiving 
family fees (see #14). 

 
Interagency adjustments between contracts 
 
18) Requires the CDE to allow and arrange interagency adjustments between 

California state preschool contracts and general child care contracts for the same 
or different agencies, and the same funding allocation.  
 

19) Requires the CDE to establish timelines for interagency contract fund transfers. 
 

20) Authorizes the CDE to implement and administer these provisions through the 
issuance of guidance or other written directives, which may include, but is not 
limited to, establishing timelines for submittal of requests to transfer funds. 

 
STAFF COMMENTS 
 
1) Need for the bill.  According to the author, “AB 123 will provide much-needed 

support for preschool and childcare providers in order to meet the needs of 
families in their communities, improve continuity of care for children, and 
decrease administrative costs.  Early learning, including preschool, is a crucial 
component of a strong economy. This is a pressing statewide issue, and as the 
COVID-19 pandemic persists, subsidized child care and preschool providers are 
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struggling with economic hardships from fluctuating attendance and costs 
associated with evolving public health requirements. At the same time, families 
struggling with the pandemic’s impacts need access to slots for preschool and 
early learning programs, as it will allow parents to go back to work, provide for 
their families, and give their child high-quality early learning.  In addition to 
benefitting families along with early learning and preschool providers, the 
solutions in AB 123 will support California’s overall subsidized early learning 
system in meeting both long- and short-term goals to maximize existing slots to 
serve the most children in need.” 
 

2) Automatic eligibility for subsidized child care and State preschool.  This bill 
deems recipients of Medi-Cal or CalFresh as eligible for subsidized child care or 
State preschool, essentially providing for the direct certification of these families.   
 
As of July 1, 2020, Medi-Cal income ceilings, 138 percent of the Federal poverty 
level, are as follows: 
 

Family Size Annual Income 

1 $17,609 

2 $23,792 

3 $29,974 

4 $36,156 

5 $42,339 

6 $48,521 

 

CalFresh income ceilings (for most recipients), 200 percent of the Federal 
poverty level, are as follows: 
 

Family Size Annual Income 

1 $24,288 

2 $32,928 

3 $41,568 

4 $50,208 

5 $58,848 

6 $68,328 

 
a) Subsidized child care 

The California Department of Education’s (CDE) Early Learning and Care 
Division recently issued the revised State Median Income (SMI) ceilings 
and income ranking table for fiscal year 2020–21 (to be used to determine 
families’ income eligibility for state subsidized early learning and care 
programs).  Pursuant to the Education Code, for families to be eligible for 
subsidized early learning and care services based on income, a family’s 
adjusted monthly income must be at or below 85 percent of the SMI 
adjusted for family size.  The income ceilings are as follows: 
 

Family Size Family Monthly 
Income 

Family Annual Income 

1-2 $5,540 $66,479 
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3 $6,157 $73,885 

4 $7,069 $84,822 

5 $8,199 $98,393 

6 $9,330 $111,965 

 
This bill does not modify the requirement that income-eligible families also 
demonstrate need for care to be eligible for subsidized child care.  Further, 
this bill does not modify existing priorities for enrollment; therefore, a 
recipient of Medi-Cal or CalFresh with a lower income than another higher 
income eligible family would have priority for an available slot, but would 
not jump the line or bump another equally-eligible family from receiving 
care.  However, the Budget Act of 2020 did not include additional funding 
to expand slots; this bill could enable additional families to be eligible for a 
static number of slots (some may be placed on a waiting list, for example).  
 

b) State preschool 
The Education Code provides that three- and four-year-old children are 
eligible for the part-day California state preschool program if the family 
meets at least one of the income-eligibility criteria for subsidized child care 
(a current aid recipient, income eligible as per the chart in (a), homeless, 
or one whose children are recipients of protective services).   
 
This bill does not modify existing priorities for enrollment in State 
preschool. 
 

Income thresholds for Medi-Cal and CalFresh are much lower than for subsidized 
child care and State preschool.  Therefore, recipients of Medi-Cal or CalFresh 
are income-eligible for subsidized child care and State preschool.  This bill 
essentially provides for direct-certification, whereby a recipient of Medi-Cal or 
CalFresh is automatically income-eligible for subsidized child care and State 
preschool.  A similar process is used to deem students in families who are 
recipients of CalFresh as eligible for free meals or milk without completing an 
application.    
 
This bill enables providers to enroll categorically-eligible children without verifying 
or documenting income eligibility and accept self-certification of income for the 
purpose of prioritizing enrollment and calculating family fees. 

 
3) Expands age eligibility for State preschool to two-year-olds.  The California State 

preschool program serves three- and four-year-old children.  Existing law defines 
“three-year-old children” as children who will have their third birthday on or before 
December 1 of the fiscal year in which they are enrolled in a California state 
preschool program.  State preschool programs can currently serve children who 
are two-years and nine months old.  
 
This bill, to provide continuity of care and “developmentally appropriate services,” 
requires state preschool providers to be allowed to serve two-year-old children in 
“extenuating circumstances,” including but not limited to the unavailability of an 
alternative placement in an infant and toddler general childcare and development 
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program.   
 
Most state preschools are not equipped, nor are providers trained, to serve 
young two-year-old, who are considered toddlers.  The developmental needs of 
toddler are very different from three- and four-year-olds.  State preschools use 
the Preschool Learning Foundations curriculum and evaluate children using the 
Desired Results Developmental Profile; the curriculum and assessment are not 
suited for younger children.  Staffing ratio requirements also vary between 
infants/toddlers and preschools; this bill does not require ratios to change when 
serving two-year-olds.  This bill references “developmentally appropriate 
services” and “extenuating circumstances” but does not include definitions.   
 
Staff recommends an amendment to remove this provision from the bill.   
 

4) Commingled age groups.  This bill allows, for the 2020-21 fiscal year, state 
preschools and general child care programs to serve children age birth through 
age 12 in commingled classrooms.  Existing law allows preschools to serve 
three- and four-year-olds.   
 
Subsidized child care providers may currently serve children ranging from birth 
through age 12, but are licensed to do so and typically serve younger children in 
separate classroom from older children (with the exception of home-based care). 
 
The goal of this expansion is to allow providers to safely meet family needs 
during the COVID-19 pandemic and recovery.  For example, a preschool 
provider might decide to serve school-age siblings of enrolled children in the 
same cohort group or serve a preschooler and a toddler who are siblings in the 
same group, thus reducing the risk of spread the coronavirus by keeping family 
members together.  
 
State preschool facilities may not be equipped to serve younger or older children, 
and providers may not be trained (or licensed) to serve infants and toddlers, or 
students older than age 4.  State preschool programs use the Preschool 
Learning Foundations, and evaluate children using the Desired Results 
Developmental Profile; the foundations and assessment are not suited for 
younger or older children.   
 
This bill requires, if groups of children of varying ages are commingled within a 
single classroom, the teacher and adult ratios to be proportionate and 
appropriate to the ages and groups of children.  Would State preschool providers 
who choose to serve infants/toddlers pursuant to this bill need to hire additional 
staff to meet the lower ratio?   
 
Staff recommends an amendment to remove State preschool programs from 
this section of the bill, while still allowing other subsidized child care programs to 
serve children age birth to 12 in a commingled classroom. 
 
Staff recommends an amendment to move the remaining provisions to an area 
of the Education Code that relates to general child care (the bill language is in 
the State preschool area of the Education Code). 
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Further, staff recommends an amendment to require the staffing ratios for 
commingled classroom to adhere to existing regulations, which require 
“whenever groups of children of two age categories are commingled and the 
younger age group exceeds fifty percent of the total number of children present, 
the ratios for the entire group to meet the ratios required for the younger age 
group.  If the younger age group does not exceed fifty percent of the total number 
of the children present, the teacher-child and adult-child ratios are to be 
computed separately for each group.” 
 
Should child care programs that serve varied age ranges in commingled 
classrooms notify parents? 
 

5) Reserve funds and professional development.  This bill deletes the requirement 
that 10 percent of reserve funds solely be used for purposes of professional 
development for California state preschool program instructional staff.  This 
change would make funds available for other purposes such as the additional 
costs imposed if family fees are waived, increased cleaning costs or personal 
protective equipment (not for slots or reimbursement rates).   
 

6) Waiving family fees.  This bill authorizes state preschool and general child care 
contractors to elect to waive family fees for families who are enrolled but only 
receiving services through distance learning.  Fees are based on the income, 
family size, and hours of need self-certified by the parent at time of enrollment.  
This bill allows contractors to cover the cost for waiving family fees by using 
contract funds, or reserve funds.  The fee schedule for the 2020-21 fiscal year 
were released by CDE on June 26, 2020: – 
https://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/cd/ci/mb2013.asp 
 

7) Creates a new crime.  In the provisions of this bill that relate to categorical 
eligibility for subsidized care or preschool for recipients of Medi-Cal or CalFresh, 
families are authorized to submit a self-certification of income that is signed by 
the parent under penalty of perjury for the purposes of prioritizing enrollment and 
calculating family fees (but not for determining eligibility).  The penalty of perjury 
clause creates a new crime.  Staff recommends an amendment to remove 
reference to penalty of perjury. 
 

8) Related legislation.  AB 2883 (Quirk-Silva, 2020) among other things, modifies 
the percentage of alternative payment program reserve funds relating to 
administration and supportive services.  AB 2883 is in the Senate Education 
Committee. 
 

9) Prior legislation.  AB 1754 (McCarty, 2018) among other things, would have CDE 
to develop and implement a process to use participation data from the Medi-Cal 
program to directly certify children whose families meet the applicable income 
criteria into the full-day preschool programs operated by Title I schools.  AB 1754 
was held in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 
 
AB 605 (Mullin, Chapter 574, Statutes of 2017) requires the Department of Social 
Services to implement a child care center license to serve infant, toddler, preschool, 

https://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/cd/ci/mb2013.asp
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and school-age children by January 1, 2021, and requires all day care centers to 
possess this license by January 1, 2024. 
 

SUPPORT 
 
Early Edge California (sponsor) 
Kidango (sponsor) 
Fight Crime: Invest in Kids 
Mission: Readiness 
ReadyNation 
 
OPPOSITION 
 
None received. 
 

-- END -- 


