California CARES Fisheries Relief Spending Plan July 22, 2020

The California Department of Fish and Wildlife (CDFW) proposes the following spending plan and rationale for the distribution of CARES Fisheries Assistance to California coastal and marine fishery participants who have been negatively affected by COVID-19. CDFW is proposing to use all available funds for direct payments to qualified individuals and businesses impacted by COVID-19 (Table 1).

Table 1. Summary of proposed distribution of funds

Total CARES Fisheries Assistance Funds to CA	\$18,350,586
Direct Payment (minus NOAA Assessment and PSMFC Costs)	\$18,145,125

Qualification Criteria and Eligibility

Given the wide-ranging nature of impacts and large number of fishery participants expected to qualify for relief, CDFW is proposing to use the price paid for commercial entitlements as the basis for fund disbursement. Eligibility will be based on the following criteria:

- Possession of a valid commercial fishing license, fish business license, aquaculture registration, and/or guide license at the close of the 2019/20 fishing season or 2019 calendar year, including tribal members who possess these permits.
 - Fishing related businesses that are non-permit holders will not be eligible.
 - Applications will only be sent to qualified permit holders.
- Self-certification that the individual or entity is a Fishery Participant that is an eligible recipient of assistance under the CARES Act (P.L. 116-136) Section 12005.
- Self-certification that funds will be used to address fishery-related direct or indirect losses.
- Self-certification that the recipient is over 18 years of age.
- Self-certification of a minimum 35% loss of revenue due to COVID-19 from the prior fiveyear average (2015-2019)during the period of January 1 – June 30, 2020 from commercial fishing, charter businesses, aquaculture operations, and buyers/processor operations in California ocean or coastal waters for marine or anadromous species.
 - Individuals or businesses that started within the last five years must have been in business for at least six months prior to January 1, 2020 and shall use the annual average revenue of all years in business to establish the baseline from which the 35% loss of revenue is calculated.

- Self-certification of California residency and that the individual/business is only seeking CARES Fisheries Relief funds in California <u>or</u> description of why non-resident permit holder is eligible and self-certification that the individual/business is only seeking CARES Fisheries Relief funds in California.
- Self-certification of timely submittals of all required landing receipts, logbooks, landing fees, aquaculture production reports, or other fishery related documentation required by CDFW pursuant to Title 14 of the California Code of Regulations or California Fish and Game Code demonstrating active involvement in qualifying sectors.
- Self-certification that the sum of all CARES Act funding, any additional COVID-19 related Federal financial aid, and traditional revenue, including state unemployment, does not exceed the average annual revenue earned across the previous five years.
- <u>Commercial Passenger Fishing Vessel License Holders in addition to the above:</u>
 - Submission of Commercial Passenger Vessel Certificate of Insurance for the Period January to June 2020
 - Submission of Certificate of Participation in Chemical Testing Requirements for Inspected and Uninspected Passenger Vessels per 46 CFR 16.230
- <u>Guide License Holders in addition to the above:</u>
 - Self-certification that fishing activity used to calculate minimum 35% loss is on qualifying anadromous species as reflected in logbooks submitted to CDFW.
 - Logbooks may be sub-sampled to cross-check for compliance.

Disbursement Calculation

CDFW explored several alternative approaches to evaluate loss and apportion funding among participants and between sectors. A broad approach based on license/entitlement fees combined with self-certification of loss was determined to be the most efficient and equitable way to disburse these relief funds.

The sum of the 2019 License Year resident fee for qualifying licenses and permits possessed by qualified applicants will establish the baseline payout. The remainder of funds will be distributed equally to all qualified applicants. Qualifying permits and associated values are shown in Table 2. Table 3 shows the estimated disbursement and maximum number of potential applicants. The actual per-applicant disbursements will likely be higher than the values in Table 3 as the actual number of qualified applicants is expected to be lower than the maximum number of potential candidates. It is also expected that some applicants will qualify under multiple permit classifications (individual, business, and vessel).

Table 2. Proposed qualifying California licenses for distribution of funds.

2019 License Year	Fees	
Fish Business Licenses (Jan 1 - Dec 31)		
Fish Business (Multifunction)	\$2,048.50	
Fish Importer	\$824.00	
Fish Processor	\$824.00	
Fish Receiver	\$824.00	
Fish Wholesaler License	\$558.75	
Herring Buyer's Permit	\$1,122.00	
Fisherman's Retailer	\$105.32	
Commercial Fishing Licenses (Apr 1 - Mar 31)		
Comm Fishing License (R)	\$145.75	
Comm Boat Registration (R)	\$379.00	
Comm Passenger Fishing Vessel	\$379.00	
Comm Aircraft Registration	\$305.25	
Comm Salmon Stamp	\$87.55	
Comm Salmon Vessel with Qualifies	\$45.84	
Comm Salmon Vessel Permit with Stamp	\$133.39	
John Doe Salmon Stamp	\$87.55	
Comm Ocean Enhancement Stamp	\$54.08	
Limited Entry & Restricted Access		
California Halibut Bottom Trawl Vessel Permit	\$65.92	
Deeper Nearshore Species Fishery Permit	\$191.32	
Drift Gill Net Shark/Swordfish Permit	\$498.25	
Dungeness Crab Vessel Permit T (R) - Tier 1 - 7	\$305.25	
Dungeness Crab Vessel Permit Nt (R) - Tier 1 - 7	\$305.25	
General Gill/Trammel Net Permit	\$498.25	
Herring Gill Net Permit (R)	\$401.50	
Herring Stamp	\$148.75	
Lobster Operator Permit (T)	\$820.50	
Lobster Operator Permit (Nt)	\$820.50	
Market Squid Brail Permit (T)	\$2,937.00	
Market Squid Light Boat Permit (T)	\$886.25	
Market Squid Light Boat Permit (Nt)	\$58.20	
Market Squid Vessel Permit (T)	\$2,937.00	
Market Squid Vessel Permit (Nt)	\$1,472.25	
Nearshore Fishery Bycatch Permit	\$305.25	
Nearshore Fishery Permit - N. Central Coast (T)	\$751.25	
Nearshore Fishery Permit - N. Central Coast (Nt)	\$751.25	
Nearshore Fishery Permit - North Coast (T)	\$751.25	
Nearshore Fishery Permit - North Coast (Nt)	\$751.25	
Nearshore Fishery Permit - S. Central Coast (T)	\$751.25	

2019 License Year	Fees	
Nearshore Fishery Permit - S. Central Coast (Nt)	\$751.25	
Nearshore Fishery Permit - South Coast (T)	\$751.25	
Nearshore Fishery Permit - South Coast (Nt)	\$751.25	
Nearshore Trap Endorsement - N. Central Coast (T)	\$114.59	
Nearshore Trap Endorsement - S. Central Coast (T)	\$114.59	
Nearshore Trap Endorsement - S. Central Coast (Nt)	\$114.59	
Nearshore Trap Endorsement - South Coast (T)	\$114.59	
Nearshore Trap Endorsement - South Coast (Nt)	\$114.59	
Northern Pink Shrimp Trawl (Vessel) (T)	\$1,494.00	
Northern Pink Shrimp Trawl (Vessel) (Nt)	\$751.25	
Salmon Vessel Permit	\$45.84	
Sea Cucumber Diving Permit	\$379.00	
Sea Cucumber Trawl Permit	\$379.00	
Sea Urchin Diving Permit	\$498.25	
Southern Rock Crab Trap Permit	\$373.75	
Spot Prawn Trap Vessel Permit, Tier 1	\$379.00	
Spot Prawn Trap Vessel Permit, Tier 2	\$379.00	
Spot Prawn Trap Vessel Permit, Tier 3	\$1,494.00	
Nonrestrictive Permits		
Anchovy Take Permit	\$45.84	
Bay Shrimp Permit	\$45.84	
Coonstripe Shrimp Vessel Permit	\$114.59	
Ghost Shrimp Permit	\$45.84	
Golden & Ridgeback Prawn Permit	\$45.84	
Kelp Harvester License	\$153.21	
Lobster Crewmember Permit	\$191.32	
Northern Rock Crab Trap Permit	\$373.75	
Sea Urchin Crewmember Permit	\$45.84	
Southern Pink Shrimp Trawl Permit	\$45.84	
Swordfish Permit	\$498.25	
Tidal Invertebrate Permit	\$45.84	
Comm.Trap Permit	\$54.08	
Aquaculture (Jan 1- Dec 31)		
Aquaculture Registration (Renewal)	\$546.25	
Aquaculture Registration - Surcharge	\$655.25	
Guide Licenses (Feb 1 - Jan 31)		
Guide Licenses (R)	\$229.43	
Guide Employee Registration	\$50.21	

Table 3. Estimated disbursement amounts for all potentially qualified applicants. The final disbursement per-applicant will be based on the total number of qualified applicants.

Per-Applicant Baseline - Sum of License and Permit Fees	Estimated Total Per- Applicant Disbursement	Maximum Possible Applicants
\$45 - \$99	\$1167 - \$1221	52
\$100 - \$199	\$1222 - \$1321	3938
\$200 - \$299	\$1322 - \$1421	2524
\$300 - \$399	\$1422 - \$1521	1518
\$400 - \$499	\$1522 - \$1621	591
\$500 - \$749	\$1622 - \$1871	960
\$750-\$999	\$1872 - \$2121	1002
\$1000 - \$1999	\$2122 - \$3121	522
\$2000 - \$2999	\$3122 - \$4121	289
\$3000 - \$3999	\$4122 - \$5121	126
\$4000 - \$4475	\$5122 - \$5597	5
	Total Possible Applicants	11527

The individual baseline for each permit classification is calculated by summing the resident cost (excluding any additional fees) of all permits and entitlements possessed by an individual or business at the end of the 2019 calendar year or 2019/20 fishing season. Funds remaining after apportionment of individual baseline to all qualified applicants will be split evenly among all qualified applicants to establish the total per-applicant disbursement.

Due to the large number of potentially qualified applicants, CDFW did not solicit formal public comment on the proposed plan. In lieu of formal public comment, CDFW worked closely with industry leadership to promote a fair, efficient, and expedient disbursement process.

Timeline for Disbursement of Funds

Following approval of the draft plan from NMFS, CDFW will work with PSMFC to distribute claim forms to all individuals that held permits listed in Table 2 at the end of the 19/20 fishing season or 2019 calendar year. Claim forms will be mailed to the address on file in CDFW's licensing database. Claimants will have 30 days from the date of mailing to complete and return forms to PSMFC. Following the close of the 30-day response period, applications will be reviewed, final disbursement totals will be calculated, and PSMFC will issue relief checks to qualified applicants.

CDFW is not proposing to recover administrative fees or include an appeal process in the spend plan. Adding provisions for appeals will either delay the disbursement process or require a portion of funds to be set aside for appeals that will decrease the value of disbursements. CDFW will continue to inform prospective applicants via its website and through other public outreach venues that it is important to confirm an up-to-date mailing address and availability to receive and respond to mail over a 30-day period in mid/late summer.

Questions from prospective applicants should be directed to: <u>CARESfisheriesInfo@wildlife.ca.gov</u>.

Additional information is available at <u>https://wildlife.ca.gov/Regions/Marine/CARES-Act</u>.