

# 47<sup>th</sup> Annual Zeke Grader Fisheries Forum Joint Committee on Fisheries and Aquaculture Chair: Senator Mike McGuire Vice Chair: Assemblymember Mark Stone

March 12, 2020 – 12:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. State Capitol, Room 113 Live stream: <u>http://senate.ca.gov/</u>

 Welcoming Remarks and Introduction of New Member Senator Mike McGuire, Committee Chairman Assemblymember Mark Stone, Committee Vice Chairman Members of the Joint Committee

# 2. Remarks from Agency and Department Leaders

Wade Crowfoot – Secretary, California Natural Resources Agency Charlton Bonham – Director, California Department of Fish and Wildlife

**3.** Saving California's Endangered Fisheries: Briefing on the Federal Government's Dangerous New Water Policy

Noah Oppenheim – Executive Director, Pacific Coast Federation of Fishermen's Associations John McManus – President, Golden State Salmon Association Kate Poole – Senior Director, Water Nature Program, Natural Resources Defense Council

#### 4. Crab Fishery, Whale Entanglement Working Group and RAMP Updates

 Dr. Jarrod Santora – Ecosystem Scientist, NOAA Fisheries, Fisheries Ecology Division, Southwest Fisheries Science Center
George Bradshaw – President, Pacific Coast Federation of Fishermen's Associations
Ben Platt – President, California Coast Crab Association
Jenn Humberstone – Fisheries Project Director, The Nature Conservancy

### 5. Fisheries and Offshore Wind Energy Updates

Karen Douglas – Commissioner, California Energy Commission Danielle Mills – Director, American Wind Energy Association, California Mike Conroy – President, West Coast Fisheries Consultants, LLC

### 6. Aquaculture and Legislative Updates

Miranda Ries – Director of Regulatory Affairs, Pacific Seafood Rob Ross – Executive Director, California Fisheries and Seafood Institute and Government Relations Advisor, California Aquaculture Association

# 7. Fishery Committee Reports

Rachelle Fisher – Administrative Team, California Dungeness Crab Task Force David Goldenberg – Executive Director, California Sea Urchin Commission Jim Anderson – Chairman, California Salmon Stamp Committee Darren Mierau – Chairman, California Advisory Committee on Salmon and Steelhead Trout Liz Whiteman – Executive Director, Ocean Science Trust

8. Public Comments - 2 minutes per speaker

### 9. Closing Comments: Committee Chairman, Vice Chairman and Members

### 10. Adjournment