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PURPOSE

The purpose of thishill isto extend the time limit to file an application for compensation with
the California Victims Compensation Board within three years after the victim turns 21,
instead of 18, years of age.

Existing law states that the Legislature finds and declardsttigin the public interest to assist
residents of the State of California in obtainignpensation for the pecuniary losses they suffer
as a direct result of criminal acts. (Gov. Cod&3850, subd. (a).)

Existing law establishes the California Victims CompensatioailGé Board (board) to operate
the California Victim Compensation Program (CalVCRgov. Code, 88 13954. seq.)

Existing law authorizes the board to reimbursepiecuniary loss for the following types of
losses:
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* Medical or medical-related expenses incurred byitem for services provided by a
licensed medical provider;

« OQut-patient psychiatric, psychological or other ma¢health counseling-related expenses
incurred by the victim or derivative victim, inclundy peer counseling services provided by
a rape crisis center;

« Compensation equal to the loss of income or lossipport, or both, that a victim or
derivative victim incurs as a direct result of thetim’s injury or the victim’s death;

» Cash payment to, or on behalf of, the victim fdy fetraining or similar employment-
oriented services;

» The expense of installing or increasing residersggiurity, not to exceed $1,000;

* The expense of renovating or retrofitting a vicsmeésidence or a vehicle to make them
accessible or operational, if it is medically neseey;

* Relocation expenses up to $2,000 if the expensededermined by law enforcement to be
necessary for the victim's personal safety, or bneatal health treatment provider to be
necessary for the emotional well-being of the wctand,

* Funeral or burial expenses. (Gov. Code, 8§ 139174.93a).)

Existing law limits the total award to or on behalf of eachtinicto $35,000, except that this
amount may be increased up to $70,000 if federad$dor that increase are available. (Gov.
Code, § 13957, subd. (b).)

Existing law provides than an application for compensationl sieafiled with the board in the
manner determined by the board. (Gov. Code, §2,391d. (a).)

Existing law requires that an application shall be filed inaxdance with the following time
lines:

* Within three years of the date of the crime;

e Three years after the victim attains 18 year of age

* Three years of the time the victim or derivativetvn knew or in the exercise of ordinary
diligence could have discovered than an injuryeat had been sustained as a direct result

of crime, whichever is later; or,

« If the application is based on one of the specifiexl crimes against minors, the application
may be filed any time prior to the victim’s 28ththday. (Gov. Code, § 13953, subd. (a).)

Existing law authorizes the board to grant an extension oagipdicable time period for good
cause. In making this determination, the board sleaisider all of the following:

* Whether the victim or derivative victim incurs enootal harm or a pecuniary loss while
testifying during the prosecution or in the punigimnof the person accused or convicted of
the crime; and,
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« Whether the victim or derivative victim incurs enooial harm or a pecuniary loss when
the person convicted of the crime is scheduled@fparole hearing or released from
incarceration. (Gov. Code, 8 13953, subd. (b).)

Thisbill requires an application to be filed within thresags after the victim attains 21, instead
of 18, years of age.

COMMENTS
1. Need for This Bill
According to the author:

Both youth under the age of 18 and young adultwdet the ages of 18-24 are
particularly vulnerable following victimization.

Youth who have missed work or school to recoveukhoeceive financial

support for counseling, therapy, and educationosphal bills. Reimbursement
from [the California Victims Compensation Board]IZ@B can be used to help
pay for these and other essential expenses sudob@sent, and transportation.

Stigma, depression, self-blaming, and lack of supg®@ examples of barriers that
contribute to the difficulty in addressing thesautnas, especially for youth from
marginalized, low-income, minority, and immigraonemunities. Unfortunately,
an understandable delay on the part of a youtloong person becoming
comfortable seeking victim compensation can raauhem not being eligible for
this crucial assistance.

SB 1232 will afford victims of crime more time tpgly for victim’s
compensation, allowing youth and young adults teiree the support and care
they need. Ultimately, this bill will help prevethte cycle of crime and
victimization, helping individuals, families, andrmmunities heal.

2. Purpose and History of CalVCP

The victim compensation program was created in 18&5first such program in the country.
The board provides compensation for victims ofemblcrime. It reimburses eligible victims for
many crime-related expenses, such as counselinghadital fees. Funding for the board comes
from restitution fines and penalty assessments Ipaictiminal offenders, as well as federal
matching funds. (See the California Victim Comios Board’s website
<http://www.vcgcb.ca.gov/board/> [as of Mar. 2618D)

3. Current Eligibility Requirements for Compensation

Under current law, the CalVCP reimburses eligibtdims for specified expenses such as
counseling and medical fees. Eligible persons extéws and derivative victims and the crime
either occurred in California or the victim is a&ident of California or a member or a family
member living with a member of the military stagohin California. The victim or derivative
victim must have sustained either physical injurgmotional injury for specified crimes.
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Acts involving a motor vehicle, aircraft, or waterhicle do not constitute a crime for the
purposes of reimbursement except as specified.

The application must also be filed in a timely manidimeliness of the application is specified
in statute requiring the application to be filedenyears of the date of the crime, three years
after the victim attains 18 years of age, or thyears of the time the victim or derivative victim
knew or in the exercise of ordinary diligence code discovered that an injury or death had
been sustained as a direct result of crime, whigheviater. Certain specified crimes against
minors may be filed any time prior to the victin2&8" birthday. The board may however, for
good cause, grant an extension of the specified periods, as specified.

This bill extends the time limit to file an appltean for compensation within three years after the
victim attains 21, instead of 18, years of age.ofler time periods remain unchanged.

4. Argument in Support
Californians for Safety and Justice, the sponsahigfbill, writes:

Research has shown that, like youth aged 18 andiggwuyoung adults between
the ages of 18-24 are particularly vulnerable feitay victimization. They are
also the most at-risk for later becoming involveaiiminal activity if their needs
are not met.

Trauma creates a negative neurobiological resporseeveloping brain and has
a consequential relationship on a young persontsiragon, including
educational maturation and achievement. It canaedhue ability to focus,
organize, and process information. If unaddressadmas suffered in youth can
place youth and young adults on a pathway to bewgimiolved in criminal
activity in their adult years.

These same effects of trauma, of course, makéiitwdt for young crime victims
from marginalized, low-income, minority and immigtaommunities to muster
the wherewithal to successfully apply for finan@akistance from the California
Victim Compensation Board Restitution Fund is—ardang task for any crime
victim. By extending the period during which youcrgme victims who have
suffered trauma can apply for compensation fromQakfornia Victim
Compensation Board, this bill will reduce a sigraint barrier to young victims
receiving the medical care and other assistangertbed in order to recover and
break the cycle of crime and trauma and its detiagtampact upon our youth
and their communities.

-- END —



