SENATE COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Senator Nancy Skinner, Chair
2017 - 2018 Regular

Bill No: AB 2717 Hearing Date: June 26, 2018
Author: Lackey

Version: June 13, 2018

Urgency: No Fiscal: No

Consultant: MK

Subject: Driving Under the Influence: Blood Tests

HISTORY
Source: California District Attorneys Association
Prior Legislation: AB 702 (Lackey) failed Senatephppriations 2017
Support: Unknown
Opposition:  None known

Assembly Floor Vote: votes not relevant

PURPOSE

The purpose of thisbill isto bring California implied consent laws into conformity with the
U.S. Supreme Court case of Birchfield v. North Dakota.

Existing law states that if any person is convicted of a viotabf driving under the influence
(DUI), and at the time of the arrest leading ta tanviction that person willfully refused a
peace officer’s request to submit to, or willfuliled to complete, the chemical test or tests, the
court shall impose the following penalties: (Véai€ode, § 23577 (a).)

1) If the person is convicted of a first violationaDUI as specified, the punishment proscribed
for a first-offense DUI shall be imposed;

2) If the person is convicted of a second violatiomd@Ul, the punishment shall be enhanced
by an imprisonment of 96 hours in the county jalhether or not probation is granted and no
part of which may be stayed, unless the persoenteaced to, and incarcerated in, the state
prison and execution of that sentence is not stayed

3) If the person is convicted of a third violationaoDUI, the punishment shall be enhanced by
an imprisonment of 10 days in the county jail, videetor not probation is granted and no part
of which may be stayed; and

4) If the person is convicted of a fourth or subsed il violation, the punishment shall be
enhanced by imprisonment of 18 days in the couwityvyyhether or not probation is granted
and no part of which may be stayed.
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Existing law provides that person who drives a motor vehictielsmed to have given his or her
consent to chemical testing of his or her bloobtreath for the purpose of determining the
alcoholic content of his or her blood, if lawfublyrested for an offense allegedly committed in
violation of specified DUI offenses. If a blood lameath test, or both, are unavailable, then a
urine test is required as specified. (Vehicle Ca3@3612 (a)(1)(A).)

Existing law states that a person who drives a motor vehiadeesned to have given his or her
consent to chemical testing of his or her bloodlier purpose of determining the drug content of
his or her blood, if lawfully arrested for an offenallegedly committed in violation of Section
specified DUI offenses. If a blood test is unaafalié, the person shall be deemed to have given
his or her consent to chemical testing of his arurme and shall submit to a urine test. (Vehicle
Code, § 23612 (a)(1)(B).)

Existing law provides that the testing shall be incidental taveful arrest and administered at the
direction of a peace officer having reasonable eaobelieve the person was driving a motor
vehicle in violation of specified DUI offenses. €Nicle Code, § 23612 (a)(1)(C).)

Existing law specifies that the person shall be told that hiseo failure to submit to, or the
failure to complete, the required chemical testini§result in a fine, mandatory imprisonment if
the person is convicted of a DUI, and:

1) The suspension of the person's privilege to operatetor vehicle for a period of one year,

2) The revocation of the person's privilege to opesateotor vehicle for a period of two years
if the refusal occurs within 10 years of a sepavattation DUI offense; or

3) The revocation of the person's privilege to opesateotor vehicle for a period of three years
if the refusal occurs within 10 years of two or mmeeparate DUI violations, as specified.
(Vehicle Code § 23612 (a)(1)(D).)

Existing law provides that if the person is lawfully arresteddriving under the influence of an
alcoholic beverage, the person has the choice efhven the test shall be of his or her blood or
breath and the officer shall advise the persontthair she has that choice. If the person arrested
either is incapable, or states that he or shecepiable, of completing the chosen test, the person
shall submit to the remaining test. If a bloodogath test, or both, are unavailable, the person
shall submit to the remaining test in order to datee the percent, by weight, of alcohol in the
person's blood. If both the blood and breath &stsinavailable, the person shall be deemed to
have given his or her consent to chemical testfrigsoor her urine and shall submit to a urine
test. (Vehicle Code, § 23612 (a)(2)(A).)

Existing law states that if the person is lawfully arresteddiaving under the influence of any
drug or the combined influence of an alcoholic wage and any drug, the person has the choice
of whether the test shall be of his or her bloothr@ath, and the officer shall advise the person
that he or she has that choice. (Vehicle Codetd23a)(2)(B).)

Existing law states that a person who chooses to submit teadtbtest may also be requested to
submit to a blood test if the officer has reasoaalaluse to believe that the person was driving
under the influence of a drug or the combined enflee of an alcoholic beverage and a drug and
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if the officer has a clear indication that a bldesdt will reveal evidence of the person being
under the influence. The officer shall state s dri her report the facts upon which that belief
and that clear indication are based. The offibatlsadvise the person that he or she is required
to submit to an additional test. The person shadhst to and complete a blood test. If the
person arrested is incapable of completing thedtest, the person shall submit to and complete
a urine test. (Vehicle Code § 23612 (a)(2)(C).)

Existing law provides that if the person is lawfully arresteddn offense allegedly committed in
violation of a specified DUI offense, and, becaokthe need for medical treatment, the person
is first transported to a medical facility wherésinot feasible to administer a particular test of
or to obtain a particular sample of, the persoldedor breath, the person has the choice of
those tests, including a urine test, that are abklat the facility to which that person has been
transported. In that case, the officer shall aglthe person of those tests that are availableeat t
medical facility and that the person's choicenstid to those tests that are available. (Vehicle
Code 8§ 23612 (a)(3).)

Existing law provides that an officer shall also advise thespeithat he or she does not have the
right to have an attorney present before statingtiadr he or she will submit to a test or tests,
before deciding which test or tests to take, ordpadministration of the test or tests chosen,
and that, in the event of refusal to submit tosh & tests, the refusal may be used against him or
her in a court of law. (Vehicle Code § 23612 (n)(4

Existing law states that a person who is unconscious or oteemwia condition rendering him or
her incapable of refusal is deemed not to havednathin his or her consent and a test or tests
may be administered whether or not the persondsthat his or her failure to submit to, or the
noncompletion of, the test or tests will resulthe suspension or revocation of his or her
privilege to operate a motor vehicle. A person whdead is deemed not to have withdrawn his
or her consent and a test or tests may be adnignsée the direction of a peace officer.

(Vehicle Code, § 23612 (a)(5).)

Existing law specifies that a person who is afflicted with hemba is exempt from the blood
test required by this section, but shall submititey complete, a urine test. (Vehicle Code, 8
23612 (b).)

Existing law provides that a person who is afflicted with arheandition and is using an
anticoagulant under the direction of a licensedsptign and surgeon is exempt from the blood
test required by this section, but shall submitited complete, a urine test. (Vehicle Code, 8
23612 (c).)

Existing law states that a person lawfully arrested for annsieallegedly committed while the
person was driving a motor vehicle in violationspecified DUI offenses may request the
arresting officer to have a chemical test maddefarrested person's blood or breath for the
purpose of determining the alcoholic content of fexson's blood, and, if so requested, the
arresting officer shall have the test performedeh(cle Code, 8§ 23612(d))

Thisbill clarifies that the penalties for refusal to subtmia DUI test do not apply to a person
who refused to submit to or complete a blood test.

Thisbill provides that in addition to informing a persossected of a DUI who refuses to take a
breath or urine test that they may be subjectitnioal and administrative penalties, a person



AB 2717 (Lackey) Pagel of 6

shall also be told that his or her failure to submia blood test will result in administrative
penalties.

Thisbill changes the standard for requesting a bloodrtesDUI from if the officer has “a clear
indication that the blood test will reveal eviderde¢he person being under the influence” to “if
the officer has reasonable cause to believe thiia test will reveal evidence of the person
being under the influence.”

COMMENTS
1. Need for this Bill

According to the author:

Recent rulings by the Supreme Court of the UniteedeS (SCOTUS) require
California to update its Driving Under the Influen(®UI) laws.

Current law - Vehicle Code sections 23612, 2357d, 28578 - establishes an
“implied consent,” which essentially means thaeaspn who drives a motor
vehicle is deemed to have given his consent to e itesting of his blood or
breath when lawfully arrested for driving under thi#uence of alcohol or drugs .

Current law also provides for criminal sanctionsfeolure to comply with a lawful
request to have a biological sample (breath ordjléested for substances that
could impair a person’s ability to safely operateeaicle.

However, these laws are not in compliance withdie process requirements set
forth by the Supreme Court of the United StateBinchfield v. North Dakota
(2016) 136 S.Ct. 2160 [195 L.Ed.2d 560].

In Birchfield, and the two companion cases, the $06 ruled that breath testing
was not a violation of the Fourth Amendment asaswncident to an arrest, but
obtaining a blood sample would require a warrdritis means that “implied
consent” does not exist in the case of the blostilrg.

Furthermore, according to one of the holdingBiirchfield, supra., a state cannot
burden the invocation of the Fourth Amendment tee by a lawfully arrested
driver by imposing criminal sanctions on said driv8uch sanctions made the
consent or waiver of that protection coerced. Hmugethe justices did approve the
use of administrative remedies as a reasonableatiom of the State interest in
regulating safety on the roads.



AB 2717 (Lackey) Pageé of 6
2. Fourth Amendment as Applied to DUI Chemical Tets

The Fourth Amendment protects people from unreddersearches by the government. A

search occurs when the police intrude into a plaoere a person has a reasonable expectation of
privacy, such as a person’s house or even a parbody. For a search to be reasonable, police
are usually required to meet the standard of “potgbeause” (having a good reason to search).

In most cases, an officer will get a search warbgnproviding some information to a judicial
official that a crime was committed at the placééosearched or that particular evidence of a
crime exists at the location to be searched. pirosess can go quickly, especially when done
over the phone or electronically. If the judicidlicial agrees that probable cause exists, he or
she will issue the warrant.

However, the following examples are instances whaite can search without a warrant:
1) In a consent search. This is when the person ggasission for the search.

2) In a search incident to lawful arrest. This is wlagmerson is lawfully arrested and police can
search the person and the area within that peramm®diate control for the officers’ safety.

3) When evidence of a crime is in plain view becabhsed is no expectation of privacy in this
situation.

4) In an exigent circumstances search. This is wheretis an emergency or pressing need and
not enough time for a police officer to secure arcle warrant.

Taking a blood or breath test is referred to a®\& Best (blood alcohol content). A BAC test is
considered a search. Having a driver take a bi@attood test is one of the most common ways
to gather evidence in a DUI case (driving underitfieence). In a breath test, which may occur
on the road or at the police station, the drivexaltines into a breathalyzer. The purpose is to
detect the amount of alcohol in the driver's bodyblood test that detects alcohol or drugs in
the body is usually a more accurate method thabriath test. It is taken by a certified
professional, usually at a hospital, who uses mggrto take blood.

All 50 states have “implied consent laws.” Thesedaay that drivers automatically give
permission to police officers to test for BAC if afficer has reason to believe that a driver is
under the influence. If drivers refuse, they aageltheir license. However, 12 states, including

North Dakota, go further and make it a separateefjarrest and potential jail time), apart from
how the DUI turns out, for drivers to refuse todéficers test their BAC.

3. Birchfidd v. North Dakota

The 2013 case of Danny Birchfield involved a drirea DUI case who refused to consent to a
blood test when requested by an officer. Mr. Bield had submitted to a breath test prior to the
request, which showed that he was intoxicated. Bi#chfield was charged with breaking the
implied consent law of North Dakota.

! According to Street Law, Inc. 2016.
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At trial, Mr. Birchfield argued that his Fourth Ameément rights were violated by criminalizing
his refusal to be searched when he failed to cdrieghe blood test. The trial court, and
subsequently the Supreme Court of North Dakotadrtiiat Mr. Birchfield's constitutional rights
were not violated when the state of North Dakotmicralized the refusal to take a blood test.

The basis of this determination was that the off@ly administered the test when they
established probable cause to believe that theidwas impaired. Thus, the state courts deemed
the search reasonable.

The United States Supreme Court reviewed the decddithe South Dakota Supreme Court
because it was based on an interpretation of fedenstitutional law. The Supreme Court
asked, whether a state can criminalize a refusaki® a blood test, absent a warrant, through an
implied consent lawBirchfield v. North Dakota, (2016) 136 S. Ct. 2160, at 2173. The court

ruled that the Fourth Amendment permits warrantgesth tests for drunk driving, but does not
permit warrantless blood tests. The court detegohihat breath tests are barely a physical
intrusion, as opposed to the blood test which cem éeave DNA samples with the government.

4. Refusal

Under California’s implied consent laws, a personwcted of a DUI can have additional
criminal and administrative penalties for refusangeace officer’'s request to submit to, or
willfully complete a blood test. These additiosahctions raise constitutional questions
following theBirchfield case.

This bill instead imposes the administrative samcdf a license suspension or revocation if a

person refuses a blood test and states law enferteshall inform a person of the person of
these possible sanctions if he or she refusesaal st when suspected of a DUI.

-- END —



