SENATE COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY
Senator Nancy Skinner, Chair
2017 - 2018 Regular

Bill No: AB 1994 Hearing Date: May 15, 2018
Author: Cervantes

Version: May 2, 2018

Urgency: No Fiscal: Yes

Consultant: SJ

Subject: Sex Offenders: County or Local Custodial Facilities

HISTORY
Source: Attorney General's Office
Prior Legislation: None
Support: California District Attorneys Associatidbalifornia Police Chiefs Association;

Riverside Sheriffs’ Association
Opposition:  None known

Assembly Floor Vote: 68 -0

PURPOSE

The purpose of this bill is to require the Califoram Department of Corrections and
Rehabilitation (CDCR), a state mental institutioand a county or local custodial facility to
forward a sex offender registrant’s change of addeeinformation to the Department of
Justice (DOJ) within 15 days of the person’s recegnd release.

Existing law requires every person convicted of a specifiedo$fense, for the rest of his or her
life while residing in California, or while atterdj school or working in California, to register
with the chief of police of the city in which he she is residing, or the sheriff of the countyef h
or she is residing in an unincorporated area grtbat has no police department, and,
additionally, with the chief of police of a campafsthe University of California, the California
State University, or community college if he or $heesiding upon the campus or in any of its
facilities, within five working days of coming intor changing his or her residence within, any
city, county, or city and county, or campus in Wwhite or she temporarily resides, and to register
thereafter in accordance with the Sex Offender ®eggion Act. (Pen. Code, § 290, subd. (b) &

(€).)

Existing law requires a person to register annually within firking days of his or her
birthday. (Pen. Code, § 290.012, subd. (a).)

Existing law requires a person living as a transient in Calioto update his or her registration
at least every 30 days. (Pen. Code, § 290.012, $ap)
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Existing law requires a person who changes his or her resadeadress to inform the law
enforcement agency where the person was last eegisof the move and new address within
five working days of the move. (Pen. Code, § 298,&ubd. (a).)

Existing law requires law enforcement agencies to forward  odphe change of address
information to the DOJ within three working dayseafthe receipt of the information. (Pen.
Code, § 290.013, subd. (c).)

Existing law requires the DOJ to forward appropriate regisiratiata to the law enforcement
agency or agencies having local jurisdiction ofriagistrant’s new place of residence. (Pen.
Code, § 290.013, subd. (c).)

Existing law provides that if a person’s new address is in &RDacility or a state mental
institution, an official of the place of incarcaoat, placement, or commitment is required to
forward the registrant’s change of address to t&d Within 90 days of receipt of the person.
Requires the DOJ to forward the change of addrédesmation to the agency with which the
person last registered. (Pen. Code, § 290.013., $djp)

Existing law requires a person to register, or to reregistee ibr she has previously registered,
upon release from incarceration, placement, comeritior release on probation, except as
specified. (Pen. Code, § 290.015, subd. (a).)

Existing law requires the registering law enforcement agen@gencies to forward the
registration information to the DOJ within threeygd@f the person’s registration. (Pen. Code, 8
290.015, subd. (b).)

Existing law provides that if a person fails to register upelease from incarceration, a district
attorney in the jurisdiction where the person iofed or on probation may request that a
warrant be issued for the person’s arrest andhieauthority to prosecute the person for failing
to register. Provides that if the person was mgparole, probation, postrelease community
supervision or mandatory supervision at the timestifase, the district attorney in the following
applicable jurisdiction has the authority to prageahat person, as specified. (Pen. Code, §
290.015, subd. (c).)

Existing law provides that when any person who is require@dster is released, discharged, or
paroled from a jail, state or federal prison, s¢hmxad camp, or other institution where he or she
was confined, he or she must be informed of hiseorduty to register by the official in charge

of the place of confinement or hospital prior teatiarge, parole, or release. Provides that the
official require the person to read and sign amynfthat may be required by the DOJ, stating
that the duty of the person to register has bepfaared to the person. Requires the official in
charge of the place of confinement or hospitaldtam the address where the person expects to
reside upon his or her discharge, parole, or relaad to report the address to the DOJ.
Requires the official to forward a current photguraf the person to the DOJ. (Pen. Code, 8
290.017, subd. (a).)

Existing law requires the official in charge of the place ofift@ement or hospital to give one
copy of the form to the person and to send one toplye DOJ and one copy to the appropriate
law enforcement agency or agencies having juriggiciver the place the person expects to
reside upon discharge, parole, or release. Previdd if the conviction that makes the person
subject to registration is a felony conviction, tfécial in charge must, not later than 45 days
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prior to the scheduled release of the person, eseadopy to the appropriate law enforcement
agency or agencies having local jurisdiction whbeeperson expects to reside upon discharge,
parole, or release; one copy to the prosecuting@ginat prosecuted the person; and one copy
to the DOJ. The official in charge of the placeeohfinement or hospital must retain one copy.
(Pen. Code, § 290.017, subd. (b).)

Existing law requires any person who is required to registdrvaimo is released on probation, to

be informed of the duty to register by the probati@partment prior to release or discharge.
Provides that the probation officer require thesparto read and sign any form that may be
required by the DOJ, stating that the duty of thespn to register has been explained to him or
her. Requires the probation officer to obtaindlddress where the person expects to reside upon
release or discharge and to report the addrese tb®J within three days. Requires the
probation officer to give one copy of the form be person, send one copy to the DOJ, and
forward one copy to the appropriate law enforcenageincy or agencies having local

jurisdiction where the person expects to residenups or her discharge, parole, or release.

(Pen. Code, § 290.017, subd. (c).)

Existing law requires any person who is required to registdrvamo is granted conditional

release without supervised probation, or dischatgexh payment of a fine, to be informed of

the duty to register in open court by the cousvinich the person has been convicted prior to
release or discharge. Provides that the courtinetjie person to read and sign any form that
may be required by the DOJ, stating that the diithe@person to register has been explained to
him or her. Requires the court to obtain the askivehere the person expects to reside upon
release or discharge and shall report the addoebe tDOJ within three days. Requires the court
to give one copy of the form to the person, serelanpy to the DOJ, and forward one copy to
the appropriate law enforcement agency or agetheesg local jurisdiction where the person
expects to reside upon his or her discharge, pavolelease. (Pen. Code, § 290.017, subd. (d).)

Existing law provides that a person who is required to regisésed on a misdemeanor
conviction or juvenile adjudication who willfullyi@lates any requirement of the act is guilty of
a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in a ggaiitnot exceeding one year. (Pen. Code,
§ 290.018, subd. (a).)

Existing law provides that a person who is required to regisésed on a felony conviction or
juvenile adjudication who willfully violates anyqairement of the act or who has a prior
conviction or juvenile adjudication for the offensffailing to register under the act and who
subsequently and willfully violates any requiremehthe act is guilty of a felony and shall be
punished by imprisonment in the state prison formhiths, or two or three years, except as
provided. (Pen. Code, § 290.018, subd. (b).)

This bill requires CDCR, a state mental institution, andunty or local custodial facility to
forward a sex offender registrant’s change of asklneformation to the DOJ within 15 days of
the person’s receipt or release.
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COMMENTS

1. Need for ThisBill

According to the author:

Under existing law, state prisons and state hdspat@ required to notify the DOJ
when a registered sex offender is admitted to flaeilities. However, there is no
law that similarly requires county jails to notiyOJ when a registered sex
offender is either admitted to or released fronirtbiestody. This loophole means
that it is possible that neither law enforcementthe public are notified when a
registered sex offender has been released intodbimunities.

AB 1994 would close this loophole by requiring couails to notify DOJ when
a registered sex offender has been admitted tel@ased from their custody.
This bill will help keep our communities safe bypiding law enforcement with
more tools to track registered sex offenders.

2. Existing Registration Requirements

Under existing law, a sex offender registrant qureed to register with the local law
enforcement agency where he or she resides. Regsimust re-register annually. If a
registrant moves, he or she must notify the lomal énforcement agency where he or she was
last registered of the move and provide the agentyhis or her new address within five
working days of the move. When a registrant’s aeldress is a CDCR facility or state hospital,
an official with the respective department musiMand the registrant’s change of address to the
DOJ within 90 days of receipt of the person. Th&JDs then required to forward the change of
address information to the agency with which thespe last registered. Institutions other than
CDCR facilities and the state hospitals, such astojails, are not required to notify the DOJ
when a registrant is received or admitted.

Generally, a sex offender registrant is requirecetpster, or reregister if previously registered,
upon release from incarceration, placement, comeritpor release on probation. Before a
person is released, discharged, or paroled fraal,gjison, state hospital, or other institution,
he or she must be informed of his or her duty gister as a sex offender. He or she must sign a
DOJ form indicating that the duty to register waplained to him or her. This form is then sent
to the DOJ. An official in charge of the placecohfinement or commitment must also obtain
the address where the registrant is planning toenupon release, and must send that
information to the DOJ. The official is also repd to send the DOJ form to the law
enforcement agency where the registrant expedigetapon release. If the registrant was
convicted of a felony sex offense, then the offioiast send the DOJ form to the prosecuting
agency that prosecuted the person, the law enf@ceagency where the person expects to
reside upon release, and the DOJ at least 45 dmyd@the scheduled release of the person. If
a person is released on probation, then the paobatficer must explain the duty to register and
obtain the DOJ form signed by the registrant talgerthe DOJ and local law enforcement
agency where the registrant is planning to movéhel person is granted conditional release
without supervised probation, then the court wéifprm duties similar to those of the probation
officer.
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The primary effects of this bill are: 1) to shortée timeline a CDCR facility or state hospital
has to notify the DOJ of a registrant’s receiptrirthe current 90 days to 15 working days; 2) to
include county and local custodial facilities ire thandate to notify the DOJ upon the receipt of
a sex offender registrant; and 3) to require al0EXacilities, county jails, and state mental
institutions to notify the DOJ of the release o&gistrant within 15 working days of the
registrant’s release. Under current law, all spaitgons, local correctional facilities, and state
hospitals are required to notify the DOJ of a regig’s new address upon release, discharge, or
parole. In cases where the registrant was cor/imt@ felony sex offense, the institution must
notify the DOJ, the local law enforcement agencgrgltthe registrant is planning to reside, and
the prosecuting attorney’s office of the releasthefregistrant 45 days prior to his or her
scheduled release. Therefore, the mandate ibilhestablishing a timeline for notifying the
DOJ of a registrant’s release would only affecisggnts convicted of misdemeanor sex
offenses given that the timeline for notifying th®J of a felony sex offender registrant’s
release is already specified in statute and ocouich earlier than the one in this bill.

3. Argument in Support
According to the Attorney General’s Office, thel’'sisponsor:

AB 1994 . . . would shorten the timeframe, fromd2@s to 15 days, that state
incarceration facilities and state mental instdof must provide the DOJ with
change-of-address information for sex offenderstegnts that are admitted to or
released from such facilities. The bill would assdoject county jails to this same
reporting requirement.

... As custodian of the state’s Sex Offender Btegithe DOJ is required to
ensure that sex offender records are completeyatecand up-to-date. Under
current statutory reporting requirements, somesteayits are incorrectly shown as
“in-violation” for failing to register when they aractually in custody, creating
unnecessary public alarm. Conversely, there haacelsen scenarios of
registrants being released into a community withocgl law enforcement’s
knowledge. In these situations, several monthsmgdr may pass before the
omission is detected, resulting in registered $tenders moving in and out of a
community without the knowledge of the DOJ, lawagnément or the public.

... Requiring facilities that house sex offengagistrants to timely and

accurately report to the DOJ on the admissionlease of such individuals is
absolutely indispensable.

-- END --



