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6100 DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION  
5180  DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
 
Child Care and Early Education Background Information  
 
Generally, programs in the early care and education system have two objectives: to support parental 
work participation and to support child development. Children, from birth to age five, are cared for and 
instructed in child care programs, State Preschool, transitional kindergarten, and the federal Head Start 
program.  
 
Child Care. California provides child care subsidies to some low-income families, including families 
participating in CalWORKs. Families who have participated in CalWORKs are statutorily guaranteed 
child care during “Stage 1” (when a family first enters CalWORKs) and “Stage 2” (once a county 
deems a family “stable”, defined differently by county). In the past, the Legislature has funded “Stage 
3” (two years after a family stops receiving cash aid) entirely. Families remain in Stage 3 until their 
income surpasses a specified threshold or their child ages out of the program. For low-income families 
who do not participate in CalWORKs, the state prioritizes based on income, with lowest-income 
families served first. To qualify for subsidized child care: (1) parents demonstrate need for care 
(parents working, or participating in an education or training program); (2) family income must be 
below 85 percent of the most recent state median income (SMI) calculation; and (3) children must be 
under the age of 13. 
 
California State Preschool Program. State Preschool provides both part-day and full-day services 
with developmentally-appropriate curriculum, and the programs are administered by local educational 
agencies (LEAs), colleges, community-action agencies, and private nonprofits. State preschool can be 
offered at a child care center, a family child care network home, a school district, or a county office of 
education (COE). The State Preschool program serves eligible three- and four-year old children, with 
priority given to four-year olds whose family is either on aid, is income eligible (family income may 
not exceed 85 percent of the SMI), is homeless, or the child is a recipient of protective services or has 
been identified as being abused, neglected, or exploited, or at risk of being abused, neglected or 
exploited. 
 
Transitional Kindergarten. SB 1381 (Simitian), Chapter 705, Statutes of 2010, enacted the 
“Kindergarten Readiness Act” and established the transitional kindergarten program, beginning in 
2012-13, for children who turn five between September 1 and December 1. Each elementary or unified 
school district must offer developmentally-appropriate transitional kindergarten and kindergarten for 
all eligible children, regardless of family income. Transitional kindergarten is funded through an 
LEA’s Local Control Funding Formula allocation. LEAs may enroll children in transitional 
kindergarten that do not meet the age criteria if they will turn five by the end of the school year, 
however, these students will not generate state funding until they turn five. 
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State Child Care and Preschool Programs 

Program Description 

CalWORKs Child 
Care 

 

Stage 1 Child care becomes available when a participant enters the CalWORKs 
program. 

Stage 2 Families transition to Stage 2 child care when the county welfare department 
deems them stable. 

Stage 3 Families transition to Stage 3 child care two years after they stop receiving 
cash aid. Families remain in Stage 3 until the child ages out (at 13 years old) 
or they exceed the income-eligibility cap. 

Non-CalWORKs Child Care 

General Child Care Program for other low-income, working families. 

Alternative Payment Another program for low-income, working families. 

Migrant Child Care Program for migrant children from low-income, working families. 

Care for Children with 
Severe Disabilities 

Program for children with severe disabilities living in the Bay Area. 

Preschool  

State Preschool Part-day, part-year program for low-income families. Full-day, full-year 
program for low-income, working families. 

Transitional 
Kindergarten 

Part-year program for children who turn five between September 2 and 
December 2. May run part day or full day. 

Source: Legislative Analyst’s Office 
 
Funding. California provides child care and development programs through vouchers and contracts. 
 

• Vouchers. The three stages of CalWORKs child care and the Alternative Payment Program are 
reimbursed through vouchers. Parents are offered vouchers to purchase care from licensed or 
license-exempt caregivers, such as friends or relatives who provide in-home care. Families can 
use these vouchers at any licensed child care provider in the state, and the value of child care 
vouchers is capped. The state will only pay up to the regional market rate (RMR) — a different 
amount in each county and based on regional surveys of the cost of child care. The RMR is 
currently set to the 75th percentile of the 2016 RMR survey. If a family chooses a child care 
provider who charges more than the maximum amount of the voucher, then a family must pay 
the difference, called a co-payment. Typically, a Title 22 program – referring to the state Title 
22 health and safety regulations that a licensed provider must meet — serves families who 
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receive vouchers. The Department of Social Services (DSS) funds CalWORKs Stage 1, and 
county welfare departments locally administer the program. The California Department of 
Education (CDE) funds the remaining voucher programs, which are administered locally by 
Alternative Payment (AP) agencies statewide. Alternative Payment agencies (APs), which issue 
vouchers to eligible families, are paid through the “administrative rate,” which provides them 
with 17.5 percent of total contract amounts. 

 
• Contracts. Providers of General Child Care, Migrant Child Care, and State Preschool – known 

as Title 5 programs for their compliance with Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations — 
must meet additional requirements, such as development assessments for children, rating 
scales, and staff development. Title 5 programs contract with, and receive payments directly 
from, CDE. These programs receive the same reimbursement rate (depending on the age of the 
child), no matter where in the state the program is located. The rate is increased by a stautory 
adjustment factor for infants, toddlers, children with exceptional needs, severe disabilities, 
cases of neglect, and English learners. Since July 1, 2017, the standard reimbursement rate 
(SRR) is $45.44 per child per day of enrollment.  
 

For license-exempt care, reimbursement rates are set at seventy percent of the regional reimbursement 
rate established for family child care homes, except for hourly rates, which are set by dividing the 
weekly rate by 45 hours, to arrive at a rate that can in some cases be around 25 percent of the family 
child care home hourly rate.  
 
Child care and early childhood education programs are generally capped programs, meaning that 
funding is provided for a fixed amount of slots or vouchers, not for every qualifying family or child. 
The exception is the CalWORKs child care program (Stages 1 and 2), which are entitlement programs 
in statute.  
 
Subsidized child care programs are funded by a combination of non-Proposition 98 state General Fund 
and federal funds. Until the 2011-12 fiscal year, the majority of these programs were funded from 
within the Proposition 98 guarantee for K-14 education. In 2012, funding for state preschool and the 
General Child Care Programs were consolidated; all funding for the part-day/part-year state preschool 
is now budgeted under the state preschool program, which is funded from within the Proposition 98 
guarantee. For LEA-run preschool, wrap-around care to provide a full day of care for working parents 
is provided with Proposition 98 funding, while non-LEA state preschool providers receive General 
Fund through the General Child Care program to support wrap-around care. In contrast, transitional 
kindergarten, is funded with Proposition 98 funds through the Local Control Funding Formula (LCFF) 
based on Average Daily Attendance (ADA). A local district receives the same per ADA funding for a 
transitional kindergarten student as for a kindergarten student. 
 
California also receives funding from the federal Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF), which is 
comprised of federal funding for child care under the Child Care and Development Block Grant 
(CCDBG) Act and the Social Security Act and from federal TANF funds. 
 
From 2009-2013, overall funding for child care and preschool programs decreased by $984 million; 
and approximately 110,000 slots, across all programs, were eliminated. During this time, the state also 
froze provider rates, cut license-exempt provider payments, and lowered income eligibility for 
families. Since 2013, the state has invested a total of $1.2 billion into child care and early education 
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($600.8 million non-Proposition 98 General Fund and $600 million Proposition 98 General Fund). 
These increases are a combination of increased provider rates, increased child care and state preschool 
slots and access, and investments in the quality of programs. The summary of subsidized slots 
provided in the system is displayed below. 
 

Child Care and Preschool Subsidized Slots 

   
 2016-17 
Reviseda 

 2017-18 
Reviseda 

 2018-19 
Proposed 

Change from  
2017-18 

Amount Percent 

CalWORKs Child Care            

Stage 1 40,949 38,795 38,760 -35 -0.1% 

Stage 2b 51,083 52,913 53,840 927 1.8% 

Stage 3 34,770 33,516 36,089 2,573 7.7% 

Subtotals (126,802) (125,224) (128,689) (3,465) (2.8%) 

Non-CalWORKs Child Care           

General Child Carec 28,737 28,563 28,427 -136 -0.5% 

Alternative Payment Program 30,614 29,804 31,997 2,192 7.4% 

Migrant Child Care 3,064 3,046 3,037 -9 -0.3% 

Care for Children with Severe 
Disabilities 

104 106 103 -3 -3.1% 

Subtotals (62,519) (61,519) (63,564) (2,045) (3.3%) 

Preschool           

State Preschool–part day 101,598 101,101 102,721 1,620 1.6% 

State Preschool–full day 62,005 64,528 66,599 2,071 3.2% 

Transitional Kindergarten 82,580 82,596 82,357 -239 -0.3% 

Subtotals (246,183) (248,226) (251,677) (3,452) (1.4%) 

Totals 435,504 434,968 443,930 8,961 2.1% 
            

Source: LAO 
Note: Generally derived based on budget appropriation and annual average rate per child. Except where noted, slot 
numbers reflect DSS estimates for CalWORKs Stage 1; DOF estimates for CalWORKs Stage 2 and 3, General Child 
Care, Migrant Child Care, and Care for Children with Severe Disabilities; and LAO estimates for all other programs. 
For Transitional Kindergarten, reflects preliminary estimates, as enrollment data not yet publicly available for any year 
of the period. Table does not include slots funded through emergency bridge program for foster children. 
a Reflects actuals for all stages of CalWORKs in 2016-17 and updated DSS estimates for Stage 1 in 2017-18. 
b Does not include certain community college child care slots (1,300 to 1,800 slots annually). 
c State Preschool wraparound slots for non-LEAs (funded by General Child Care) are shown in State Preschool–full 
day. 

DSS = Department of Social Services. DOF = Department of Finance. LEAs = local education agencies. 
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Issue 1: Governor’s Budget Funding Proposals 
 
Panel:  

• Sara Cortez, Legislative Analyst’s Office  
• Brianna Bruns, Department of Finance  
• Debra Brown, Department of Education 

 
Background: 
 
The 2016 Budget Act included the first year of a multi-year increase in early childhood education 
programs, including increased provider reimbursement rates and additional slots for the California 
State Preschool Program. The agreement includes a total investment of an ongoing $527 million by 
2019-20. In addition, $53 million in one-time funding was included to hold-harmless for two years 
(2016-17 and 2017-18), providers whose payments would otherwise be negatively impacted by the use 
of an updated 2014 RMR survey in the calculation of rates. These increases were generally designed to 
keep pace with increases to the state’s minimum wage. 
 
In 2016-17 and 2017-18, the following changes were made: 
 

• An increase of the Standard Reimbursement Rate (SRR), paid to center-based care and 
preschools by 10 percent beginning January 1, 2017 and increase of the rate by an additional 
six percent, beginning July 1, 2017.  
  

• An increase to the regional market rate (RMR) for voucher-based child care to the 75th 
percentile of the 2014 survey for that region, or at the RMR for that region as it existed on 
December 31, 2016, whichever is greater, beginning January 1, 2017. The 2017 budget act 
updated the RMR to the 75th percentile of the 2016 RMR survey effective July 1, 2017. This 
includes a temporary hold harmless provision so no provider receives less in 2017-18 than it 
receives under current rates (through December, 2018). 

 
• License-exempt rates were increased from 65 percent to 70 percent of the Family Child Care 

Home rate beginning January 1, 2017.  
 

• Expanded preschool by 8,877 full-day preschool slots over three years (2,959 added each year). 
 
The 2017 budget act also amended income eligibility rules to use the most recent calculation of state 
median income, based on census data and adjusted for family size, for determining initial and ongoing 
eligibility for subsidized child care services. In addition, the 2017 budget agreement specified that 
families who meet eligibility and need requirements for subsidized child care services shall receive 
services for not less than 12 months, and makes related changes. 
  
Governor’s Budget Proposal: 
 
The Governor’s proposed child care and early education budget includes increases that total 
approximately $400 million, for a total of $4.4 billion in state and federal funds. This reflects an 
increase of nine percent from 2017-18. Major changes are described below: 
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The Governor proposes $60.7 million ($32.3 million non-Proposition 98 General Fund and $28.4 
million Proposition 98 General Fund) to fund the full-year costs of rate and slot increases implemented 
midway in 2017-18 related to the 2016-17 agreement and other policy changes made in 2017-18, such 
as enactment of the emergency child care bridge program. Finally, the budget proposes $8 million for 
an additional 2,959 full-day Preschool slots beginning April 1, 2019. 
 
In addition the Governor proposes approximately $14 million in the budget year and $34.2 million in 
future years to make the RMR hold harmless provision permanent (under current law the provision 
would expire December 31, 2018). 
 

The Governor also proposes $31.6 million in Proposition 98 General Fund and $16.1 million in non-
Proposition 98 General Fund to increase the SRR by approximately 2.8 percent. 
 
The Governor includes $50 million for a 2.51 percent cost-of-living adjustment for non-CalWORKs 
child care and state preschool programs and decreases slots by $9 million to reflect a decrease in the 
birth to age four population. 
 
The Governor proposes several adjustments to reflect changes in the CalWORKs child care caseload 
and cost of care, totaling a $4 million increase in Stage 1, a $16 million decrease in Stage 2, and a $12 
million increase in Stage 3.  
 
Finally, the Governor also includes an increase of $41 million (for a total of $779 million Proposition 
98 General Fund) for Transitional Kindergarten, reflecting ADA growth and cost-of-living 
adjustments. This funding is included within LCFF totals as discussed in previous subcommittee 
hearings. 
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2018-19 Child Care and Early Education Budget Changes  
 

(in Millions)

Change
Prop. 98

Non-
Prop. 98

Reimbursement Rates 
Provide 2.51 percent COLA to certain child care and preschool 
programs 

$28 $22 — $50

Increase Standard Reiumbursment Rate (SRR) 2.8 percent starting 
July 1, 2018

$32 $16 — $48

Annualize Regional Market Rate (RMR) increase initiated January 1, 
2018

— $20 $4 $24

Permanently extend RMR hold harmless provisiona — $13 $1 $14

Subtotals ($59) ($71) ($5) ($136)
Caseload and Cost of Care
Annualize cost of State Preschool slots initiated April 1, 2018 $19 — — $19
Provide 2,959 full-day State Preschool slots at LEAs starting April 
1, 2019

$8 — — $8

Make CalWORKs caseload and average cost of care adjustments — $6 -$6 —

Reduce non-CalWORKs slots by 0.48 percentc -$5 -$4 -$9

Subtotals ($22) ($2) -($6) ($19)
Other
Fund one-time early education expansion grants $125 — $42 $167
Adjust Transitional Kindergarten for increases in attendance and 
LCFF funding rate

$41 — $0 $41

Provide one-time increase to quailty services — — $9 $9
Annualize funding for bridge program for foster children initiated 
January 1, 2018

— $15 $5 $20

Replace federal funds with state funds (accounting adjustment) — $59 -$59 —

Make other technical adjustments $9 -$2 — $7
Subtotals ($175) ($73) -($4) ($244)

Totals $257 $146 -$4 $399

General Fund 

Federal 
Funds Total

 
Source: Legislative Analyst’s Office  
a Under current law, the RMR hold harmless provision expires December 31, 2018. Preliminary LAO estimate of Stage 1 
CalWORKs hold harmless costs. 
b Less than $500,000. 
c Reflects statutory adjustment based on the projected decrease in the birth-through-four population. 
 
LAO Analysis: 
 
The LAO generally has no concerns with the increases included in the Governor’s budget proposal for 
early care and education that are related to increasing rates and slots and other changes in accordance 
with the multi-year agreement from 2016-17 and policy changes agreed to in the 2017-18 budget. 
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The LAO notes that LEAs provide about two-thirds of all State Preschool slots and non-LEAs, 
typically nonprofit agencies, provide the other one-third.  Because of the differences in funding (LEAs 
receive Proposition 98 funds for State Preschool and wrap care to provide a full day of care, whereas 
non-LEAs receive General Fund for the wrap portion of the care), slots are not offered or taken up at 
the same rate by LEAs and non-LEAs.  With the addition of slots over the past few years, the CDE has 
had to run multiple rounds of applications, offering full-day slots first to LEAs and only to non-LEAs 
in the second or third rounds. As a result, the LAO recommends the Legislature shift all of the non-
LEA wrap care into Proposition 98 to fund all State Preschool programs similarly and offer slots to all 
interested providers, both LEAs and non-LEAs.  
 
The LAO also notes that the Governor’s proposal to make the hold harmless for RMR providers 
permanent perpetuates inequities in access and reimbursement rates across the state, by allowing 
families in some areas of the state to access a greater percentage of providers in their area than families 
in other areas of the state. As a result, the LAO recommends rejecting the Governor’s proposal and 
allowing the hold harmless provisions to expire at the end of 2018. The LAO also notes that the $14 
million saved by rejecting the proposal could be used to provide 1,500 additional Alternative Payment 
slots. 
 
The LAO’s analysis of the Inclusive Early Education Planning Grant proposal is discussed in Issue 3 
later in this agenda.   
 
Staff Comments: 
 
Staff notes that as mentioned in the background piece included in the agenda, the recently passed 
federal appropriations bill (March 2018) included an increase of almost $2.37 billion in total for the 
Child Care and Development Block Grant. According to the CDE, California generally can expect to 
receive around ten percent of this increase or approximately $237 million. Authorization for 
expenditure of new federal funds is not included in the Governor’s budget due to timing. In Issue 5, 
CDE will update the subcommittee on the new funding, the timing for receiving funds, and the 
determination of the use of funds.  
 
Suggested Questions:  

 
• Can the CDE provide an update on the utilization of state preschool slots? How does the CDE 

plan to release the additional slots?  Has there been feedback from the field, particularly LEAs 
on whether they will be able to take these slots? 

 
Staff Recommendation. Hold Open. 
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Issue 2: Licensing Flexibility  
 
Panel:  

• Edgar Cabral, Legislative Analyst’s Office 
• Brianna Bruns, Department of Finance 
• Debra Brown, Department of Education 

 
Background: 
 
State Preschool programs must be licensed and follow the Community Care Licensing (CCL) health 
and safety standards under the Department of Social Services (DSS), known as Title 22 regulations. 
Some of these licensing requirements include that classrooms are clean and sanitary, children are 
constantly supervised, teachers are vaccinated and trained in first aid and medication, and cleaning 
supplies are stored out of reach. The CCL division visit sites every three years to monitor compliance. 
Any complaints of violation are filed with the CCL, and the CCL must visit the facility within 10 days. 
State Preschool programs are also required to complete an environmental rating scale every three 
years, known as the Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale (ECERS), and are required to achieve 
a minimum score of “good” in each area.  
 
State Preschool providers must also meet developmental standards, often referred to as Title 5, that 
include health, safety, and programmatic requirements. Title 5 requirements are monitored by the 
Department of Education (CDE). Under this monitoring, providers conduct annual self-evaluations, 
and the CDE conducts monitoring visits every three years. In addition, State Preschool providers are 
subject to the K-12 Uniform Complaint Procedure (UCP) process for Title 5 requirements. Under 
UCP, an LEA must investigate a complaint and issue a decision within 60 days.   
 
In the 2017-18 Governor’s budget, the Administration proposed to exempt state preschool programs 
from Title 22 licensing requirements if they operate in K-12 buildings that meet K-12 building 
standards. Programs would still be subject to Title 5 requirements. The 2017 Budget act ultimately 
included language that adopted this proposal beginning in July 2019.  However, trailer bill language 
also required the Legislative Analyst’s Office (LAO) to convene a stakeholder working group to 
discuss whether additional statute or regulations are necessary to ensure that state preschool programs 
would still meet basic health and safety standards under the exemption. Specifically the group was 
asked to address, but not limited to: 1) outdoor shade structures, 2) access to age-appropriate bathroom 
and drinking water facilities, and 3) processes for parent notifications and resolution of violations. The 
LAO was required to report back to the Legislature on the group’s findings by March 15, 2018. 
 
LAO Report and Analysis: 
 
In their recent publication, The 2018-19 Budget: Proposition 98 Education Analysis, the LAO reported 
back on the stakeholder group’s recommendations. The group recommended that the following new 
requirements are added to Title 5 standards: 
 

• Providers must have outdoor shade that is safe and in good repair. 
• Drinking water must be accessible and readily available throughout the day. 
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• Facilities must have one toilet and handwashing fixture for every 15 children.  Facilities must 
be safe and sanitary. 

• Restrooms must only be available for preschoolers and kindergartners. 
• Staff must maintain visual supervision of children. 
• Indoor and outdoor space must be properly contained or fenced and provide sufficient space for 

the number of children using the space at any given time.  Playground equipment must be safe, 
in good repair, and age appropriate. 

 
The stakeholder group also recommended that the existing UCP process be used to address complaints 
involving preschool health and safety issues with timelines similar to those of Williams complaints.  
This would allow members of the public to submit complaints anonymously, require complaints to be 
resolved within 30 days, and require complainants to be notified of a decision within 45 days. The 
group also recommended requiring LEAs to begin investigating complaints within 10 days of 
submittal. In addition, the stakeholder group recommended requiring LEAs to post in each State 
Preschool classroom information regarding health and safety standards and the process for filing a 
complaint. 
 
The LAO notes that the stakeholder group recommendations are reasonable, and that adding a small 
fraction of existing Title 22 requirements to Title 5 would still meet the intent of providing significant 
flexibility to LEAs.  The LAO also believes that the use of the UCP process, with similar requirements 
as the Williams UCP process is a reasonable approach. The LAO does note that the CDE may face 
some additional one-time workload increases related to developing new regulations and guidance if the 
stakeholder recommendations are adopted. In addition, the CCL division at DSS may experience some 
workload decreases and the LAO recommends staffing levels are monitored over the next few years. 
 
One additional issue that was raised during the workgroup discussions is that there is a lack of clarity 
under the flexibility provisions in law in regards to which LEAs would be exempt from licensing 
requirements. Specifically, state law is not clear on whether preschool classrooms, funded through a 
combination of State Preschool and other sources (for example, federal Head Start or fees from 
private-pay families) are exempt from licensing. The LAO did not provide a recommendation, but 
notes that Legislature could clarify that flexibility is provided for a mixed funding classroom that 
serves at least one State Preschool student, or limit the exemption to only classes fully supported by 
State Preschool funds.   
 
Suggested Questions: 
 

• What is the process for the CDE to move forward with regulations related to this issue? 
 

• Does CDE or DOF have a recommendation on clarifying the law in regards to mixed funding 
classrooms? 

 
Staff Recommendation: Hold Open. 
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Issue 3: Inclusive Early Education Grant 
 
Panel:  

• Sara Cortez, Legislative Analyst’s Office 
• Brianna Bruns, Department of Finance 
• Debra Brown, Department of Education 

 
Background: 
 
Subsidized child care and preschool are available for families who meet income qualifications, and 
transitional kindergarten is available for families regardless of income level. While there may be 
multiple options for children between the ages of three and five between the various programs, care for 
infants and toddlers in particular may be more difficult to find given the additional staffing and 
facilities requirements.  
 
Children with disabilities may be served through the state’s subsidized child care or State Preschool 
programs. From birth through age two, children with exceptional needs generally receive support 
through regional developmental centers or sometimes through local educational agencies (LEAs). This 
support may be a full-day program or a targeted intervention that a child would be provided on a 
regular basis with families potentially also utilizing mainstream options for child care. When children 
with disabilities turn three years of age, they are able to participate in programs provided by their LEA 
either through special day programs, generally for more intensive support, or with targeted support 
such as speech therapy. For children ages three through five with identified special needs, 39 percent 
are served in mainstream programs, 34 percent are served in special day classes, 13 percent split their 
time between mainstream and special day classes, and 14 percent receive targeted therapy or home 
visits. Providers who serve children with special needs do so at a higher reimbursement rate, an 
adjustment factor to the rate of 1.2 for children with exceptional needs, and 1.5 for severely disabled 
children. 
  
Child Care Facilities Revolving Fund (CCFRF).  The CCFRF is an existing program that provides 
interest-free loans to child care providers to be repaid over an up to ten-year period. Loans are 
available for the purchase of new facilities or the upgrading of additional facilities.  While the fund 
balance can fluctuate as a result of loans being paid back at any one time, according to the CDE, the 
CCFRF began 2016–17 with an initial available fund balance of $26.6 million. In 2016–17 the CDE 
received zero new applications for funding under the CCFRF. In reaching out to providers, the CDE 
identified the following factors that contribute to a lack of applicants: the SRR is too low such that 
contractors cannot afford to pay back a loan; land is unavailable, even on LEA campuses; and the 
Maximum Funding Allowance (MFA) is too low ($210,000). In 2016–17, the CDE increased the MFA 
from $210,000 to $420,000.   
 
Governor’s Budget Proposal: 
 
The Governor proposes to provide a total of $167 million in one-time funding ($125 million 
Proposition 98 funding and $42 million federal TANF funding). These funds would be available for 
competitive grants to LEAs and non-LEAs to increase the availability of inclusive early care and 
education settings for children from birth to five years old in low-income and high-need communities.  
Grantees must provide a one dollar match, which may include in-kind contributions, for every two 
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dollars received from the grant. Grants may be used for one-time infrastructure costs, including, but 
not limited to adaptive facility renovations, adaptive equipment, and professional development. 
Grantees must quantify the number of additional subsidized children to be served, include a plan to 
sustain spaces or programs past the grant period, and include a set-aside of resources to invest in 
professional development in effective inclusive practices and fiscal sustainability. Proposition 98 funds 
would be available for LEAs, although LEAs are permitted to apply on behalf of a consortium of 
providers within the LEA’s program area, including those providers who serve this population on 
behalf of the LEA. 
 
LAO Analysis: 
 
The LAO’s recent publication, The 2018-19 Budget: Proposition 98 Education Analysis, notes that the 
Governor’s proposal may not address the ongoing issues of improving outcomes for students with 
exceptional needs. They do comment that to the extent child care and preschool providers do not feel 
able to address the needs of children with exceptional needs, professional development may help, 
however with high staff turnover in the field in general, one-time funding may not address the need. 
The LAO therefore recommends rejecting the Governor’s proposal. 
 
The LAO also notes that to the extent that the Legislature would like to increase professional 
development, existing quality improvement funds could be reallocated to prioritize special education-
related training (either for providers already serving children with exceptional needs in mainstream 
settings or those who agree to increase the number served in these settings). In addition, the Legislature 
could provide more ongoing funding for this type of professional development. 
 
Finally, the LAO notes that the Legislature could use the existing CCFRF program to expand access to 
loans and or grants to include renovations that would make spaces more accessible to children with 
exceptional needs.   
 
Staff Comments: 
 
Focusing on ensuring that children from zero to five with exceptional needs have access to inclusive 
early care and education settings is a worthy goal. However there are many dimensions to this issue. 
Stakeholders note that there are not enough infant and toddler slots in general across the state, and 
providers may be reluctant to add more slot for this population based on the rates (cost of care for 
infants and toddlers is high) and need for special facilities. There may also be additional barriers to 
making sure children with exceptional needs can access care. This proposal appears to try to address a 
variety of issues, without focusing on solving any particular one. If the goal is to increase access for all 
children age zero to five, the state could add additional slots (particularly in the child care area as 
preschool slots have increased over the last few years), increase rates for infants and toddlers and 
children with exceptional needs, and develop or increases sources of funding for facility and 
professional development needs. If the goal is to focus on increasing the numbers of children with 
exceptional needs in mainstream settings, the grants could be more specific such that they require an 
increase in serving children with exceptional needs. These are one-time funds and staff appreciates the 
proposal to use one-time funds for one-time purposes, but this would be better paired with some 
ongoing investments to address some of the issues this proposal raises that would help to sustain the 
benefits of the one-time investments. 
 



 
 
Subcommittees No. 1 and No. 3  April 5, 2018 

 

Senate Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review 14 

Staff also notes that there have been some questions over the ability to use TANF funds for facilities.  
The DOF notes they are looking at TANF regulations and guidance to ensure the proposal meets the 
allowable use of these funds. 
 
Suggested Questions: 
 

• How does the DOF proposal ensure that additional children with exceptional needs are served 
under this proposal? 
 

• What is the target provider population? With most of the funding being Proposition 98, do we 
anticipate LEAs will apply mostly on behalf of State Preschool Programs? 
 

• Has the DOF considered changes to the CCFRF program to supplement their proposal?  Does 
the CDE have a suggestion on how to increase the uptake of the CCFRF program moving 
forward? 
.   

Staff Recommendation: Hold Open. 



 
 
Subcommittees No. 1 and No. 3  April 5, 2018 

 

Senate Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review 15 

Issue 4: CalWORKs Participation Update  
 
Panel: 
 

• Kim Johnson, Branch Chief, Child Care and Refugee Program, Department of Social Services 
 

Background:  

CalWORKs child care seeks to help a family transition smoothly from the immediate, short-term child 
care needed as the parent starts work or work activities, to stable, long-term child care. CalWORKs 
Stage 1 is administered by the county welfare departments; Stages 2 and 3 are administered by 
Alternative Payment (AP) Program agencies under contract with CDE. The three stages of CalWORKs 
child care are defined as follows: 

• Stage 1 begins with a family's entry into the CalWORKs program. Clients leave Stage 1 after 
six months or when their situation is “stable,” and when there is a slot available in Stage 2 or 3.  
 

• Stage 2 begins after six months or after a recipient's work or work activity has stabilized, or 
when the family is transitioning off of aid. Clients may continue to receive child care in Stage 2 
up to two years after they are no longer eligible for aid. 
 

• Stage 3 begins when a funded space is available and when the client has acquired the 24 
months of child care after transitioning off of aid (for former CalWORKs recipients). 

 
Historically, caseload projections have generally been funded for Stages 1, 2, and 3 in their entirety –
although Stage 3 is not technically an entitlement or caseload-driven program.  
 
CalWORKs Stage 1 Participation 
 
Child care in Stage 1 is provided both to families working and those who are participating in Welfare-
to-Work (WTW) activities. Participation in these programs decreased significantly during the recession 
as program policies shifted, and since this time enrollment has slowly increased, but is not back to pre-
recession levels. See the below table for the most recent summary of the participation of families in 
Stage 1 child care. The increase in 2015-16 is partially due to a change in the way data is collected.  
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CalWORKs Stage 1 Child Care Participation Rates 

Year 

 
Cases 

Participating in a 
WTW Activity 

with an Age 
Eligible Child 

(under 13 years 
old)1 

 
Stage One 
Families2 

Stage One 
Participation 

Rate 3 

CDE 
TANF 

Families4 

Child Care 
Participation 

Rate5 

(CDSS and 
CDE TANF 
Families) 

FY 2013-14 78,711 17,303 22% 18,071 45% 
FY 2014-15 80,865 17,555 22% 19,371 46% 
FY 2015-16 75,310 20,526 27% 18,566 52% 
FY 2016-17 62,751 18,041 29% 17,927 57% 

 
1 Based on the Unduplicated Count from the WTW 25 report. Excludes cases exempt from WTW participation. These cases 
are participating in a WTW activity and have a need for Child Care (WTW 25A data not included). The number of adults 
participating in a WTW activity that have an age eligible child is calculated using the total number of cases participating in a 
WTW activity multiplied by the percentage of families with age eligible children based on FY 2016-17 MEDS data. This is 
adjusted to deduct cases of Two-Parent families in which the one parent is participating while the second parent is expected 
to provide care.  
 
2 Stage One families: excludes Safety Net or No Longer Aided families and Two-Parent families (CW 115A data not 
included) 
 
3 Participation Rate was calculated by taking total number of Stage One families divided by the number of adults 
participating in a WTW activity with an age eligible child. This is not adjusted for cases who do not need care, for example, 
school-aged children who do not need care due to school schedule. This is adjusted to deduct cases of Two-Parent families in 
which the one parent is participating while the second parent is expected to provide care. This methodology does not account 
for families participating across multiple child care programs. 
 
4 The specified monthly average of CDE Child Care program cases that are receiving TANF. This includes CalWORKs 
Stage 2, CalWORKs Stage 3, California Alternative Payment Program, California Resource and Referral Program, 
California Migrant Alternative Payment, California General Migrant Child Care, California Family Child Care Homes, 
California Severely Handicapped, California Center-Based Child Care, and California State Preschool Program. The 
percentage of TANF Two-Parent families is assumed to mirror the percentage of Stage One Two-Parent cases as the Two-
Parent family breakdown is unavailable from CDE. The percentage calculated was deducted from the total TANF Child Care 
Families population to calculate the cases of TANF All Families cases. 
 
5 Participation Rate was calculated by taking total number of Stage One families and CDE Child Care TANF families, 
divided by the number of adults participating in a WTW activity with an age eligible child. This is not adjusted for cases who 
do not need care, for example, school-aged children who do not need care due to school schedule. This is adjusted to deduct 
cases of Two-Parent families in which the one parent is participating while the second parent is expected to provide care. 
This methodology does not account for families participating across multiple child care programs. 
 
NOTE: This table displays one methodology for determining the child care participation rate based on WTW cases with age 
eligible children, excluding Two Parent cases. The participation rates in the table may represent a different rate than what the 
counties are tracking. Additional child care programs, such as; Early Head Start & Head Start Programs, after school 
programs, locally funded subsidies, transitional kindergarten, are not included in the above chart.  
Source: DSS 
 
In response to ongoing concerns, DSS has been working to increase understanding of CalWORKs 
Stage 1 caseload and the processes of counties as they qualify families for Stage 1 child care and 
transition eligible families to Stage 2 child care. DSS updated their data system as of July 1, 2015, to 
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collect information on the actual number of children receiving care, whereas the prior system collected 
payment information quarterly, which limited the ability of the department to track care provided 
accurately across the year. 
 

 
Source: Department of Social Services 
*Note: The spike in 2015 reflects a shift in data collection rather than an actual increase in caseload. 
 
DSS is also analyzing data in greater depth for CalWORKs Stage 1 and notes that approximately 82 
percent of children in CalWORKs are older than age two, meaning they are eligible for a variety of 
other state and federal child care and education programs. DSS staff has continued to conduct a series 
of site visits to counties to observe processes and practices in providing CalWORKs child care. DSS 
notes that 22 site visits or phone conferences have been conducted at the following counties: Alameda, 
Contra Costa, El Dorado, Fresno, Kings, Lake, Los Angeles, Marin, Mendocino, Orange, Placer, 
Sacramento, San Benito, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Mateo, 
Siskiyou, Stanislaus, Yolo, and Tuolumne. DSS continues to do this type of outreach to follow-up and 
provide training related to a DSS All County Notice released last year that addressed best practices 
around access, enrollment, funding, and transferring of care. 
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Suggested Questions:  
 

• What information did DSS gather from site visits with counties? Are best practices wide-
spread?  What are the most common areas of growth for counties? 

 
• What data is available on where families with Stage 1 child care eligible children are being 

served, if not through CalWORKs child care? 

Staff Recommendation: Information Only. 
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Issue 5: Child Care and Development Block Grant and Quality Investments 

 
Panel: 

• Debra Brown, Department of Education 
 
Background: 
 
The federal Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) supports subsidized child care 
programs, direct service, and alternative payment contract types, including CalWORKs Stage 3 and 
General Child Care. In 2017-18, California received $617.4 million in CCDBG funding. On November 
19, 2014, President Obama reauthorized the CCDBG. Some of the provisions of the reauthorized 
CCDBG include: annual monitoring inspections of both licensed and license-exempt providers; 
implementing 12-month eligibility for children in subsidized child care; increasing the Regional 
Market Rate to the reimbursement ceilings identified in the most recent market rate survey; increasing 
opportunities for professional development; adding topics to health and safety trainings; and creating a 
disaster preparedness plan.   
 
The recently passed federal appropriations bill (March 2018) included an increase of almost $2.37 
billion in total for the CCDBG. According to the CDE, California generally can expect to receive 
around ten percent of this increase or approximately $237 million. Authorization for expenditure of 
new federal funds is not included in the Governor’s Budget due to timing.  
 
State Plan. Each state must complete a triennial Child Care Development Fund (CCDF) State Plan, 
which describes how requirements are met, or the process by which states plan to meet the 
requirements. The submission deadline for the final CCDF State Plan Fiscal Year (FY) 2019–21 is 
June 30, 2018 to the federal government. Currently CDE is engaging in a stakeholder process to collect 
input for this next version of the state plan. CCDBG required state plans to document the level of 
compliance with, and plans for compliance with, new federal requirements. California’s 2016-18 
CCDF plan noted many areas that had not been fully implemented in California.  
 
Examples of policy changes. Numerous policy changes included in the reauthorization pose 
significant potential policy shifts and budgetary action, including:  

 
• Regional Market Rate (RMR) Survey. All states must conduct a statistically valid and reliable 

survey of the market rates for child care services every two years that reflects variations in the 
cost of child care services by geographic area, type of provider, and age of child. States must 
demonstrate how they will set payment rates for child care services in accordance with the 
results of the market rate survey. As of the 2018 budget act, the RMR is set to the 75th 
percentile of the 2016 RMR survey. 
 

• Annual Monitoring Inspections. In California, the Department of Social Services Community 
Care Licensing (CCL) issues licenses for child care facilities. Many providers are license-
exempt, such as neighbors, kith, or kin. The CCDBG reauthorization requires that licensed 
providers and facilities paid for with CCDF funds must receive at least one pre-licensure 
inspection for compliance with health, safety, and fire standards, as well as annual 
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unannounced inspections of each child care provider and facility in the state for compliance 
with all child care licensing standards. Non-relative license-exempt providers and facilities 
must have at least one annual inspection (Section 658E(c)(2)(K)(i)). Currently, CCL must visit 
a facility at least once every three years – a frequency that does not meet the new federal 
requirement. Currently, there is not a state agency charged with conducting inspections of 
homes of the approximately 3,500 non-relative license-exempt providers in the state.  

 
• 12-Month Eligibility. The reauthorization of CCDBG includes a new provision, Protection for 

Working Parents, in which a minimum period of 12-month eligibility will be available for each 
child that receives assistance. States must also establish a process for initial determination and 
redetermination of eligibility to take into account irregular fluctuations in earnings; not unduly 
disrupt parents’ employment in order to comply with state requirements for redetermination; 
and develop policies and procedures to allow for continued assistance for children of parents 
who are working or attending a job training or education program and whose family income 
exceeds the state’s income limit to initially qualify for assistance if the family income does not 
exceed 85 percent of the State median income. As of the 2018 budget act, the state has 
established 12 month eligibility and updated the eligibility ceiling to the 85 percentile of the 
State median income. 

 
Many of the changes required to meet federal standards would require legislative action, and CDE is 
currently working with federal officials on how to proceed with the state plan. Finally, CCDBG statute 
allows for states to request waivers if they are unable to comply with federal requirements under 
specified circumstances. CDE has received a waiver in regards to statewide child care disaster plan 
(state coordination), developmental screenings, group size requirement, annual provider inspections, 
criminal background checks, defined career pathways, and payment practices and timeliness of 
payments to providers through September of 2018. 
 
Supporting Quality in Early Education and Child Care 
 
California is required to spend a certain percentage of federal and state matching funds on quality 
improvement activities. In 2016-17, the state was required to spend 10 percent of the total federal and 
state matching funds, or approximately $78 million, on quality activities. Of this, three percent (out of 
the 10 percent set-aside) is required to be expended on programs for infants and toddlers.) The required 
set-aside for quality activities is set to increase over the next few years, reaching 12 percent by 2020-
21. Allowable expenditures include activities such as training for child care and preschool providers, 
developing materials for providers, enforcing licensing requirements and providing support for parents 
about child care options. The state currently provides funding for about 30 different quality 
improvement programs, covering both state-level activities and county-level activities, each with their 
own set of requirements. The budget provides CDE with some discretion on how these funds are 
allocated, the CDE reports these expenditures through a Quality Improvement Expenditure Plan,  
 
The Governor’s budget includes $9 million in one-time federal funds for quality improvement.  The 
CDE reports that they are working on the 2018-19 Quality Improvement Expenditure plan. A summary 
of the programs included in the 2017-18 plan is listed below.  
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2017-18 Quality Improvement Expenditure Plan 
 

CCDF Leadership and Coordination with Relevant Systems 
     Local Child Care and Development Planning Councils $3,400,000  
Consumer and Provider Education   
     800-KIDS-793 Phone Line for Parents $91,000  
     Resource and Referral Programs $22,574,266  
Ensuring the Health and Safety of Children in Child Care 
     Health and Safety Training Grants and Regional Trainers $2,655,000  
     License Enforcement for Child Care Programs $8,000,000  
Training and Professional Development   
     Subsidized TrustLine Applicant Reimbursement $460,647  
Early Learning And Development Guidelines   
     Development of Infant/Toddler Resources $180,000  
     Development of Early Learning Resources $500,005  
     Faculty Initiative Project $400,000  
Quality Rating and Improvement (QRIS)    
Core I - Child Development and School Readiness   
     Desired Results System for Children and Facmilies $1,024,800  
     Desired Results Field Training $666,845  
     Program for Infant/Toddler Care Institutes (PITC) $970,000  
     PITC Inclusion of Infants and Toddlers with Disabilities $839,500  
     PITC Partners for Quality Regional Support Network $4,441,674  
     California Preschool Instructional Network $4,000,000  
     Inclusion and Behavior Consultation Network $920,000  
     Map to Inclusive Child Care and CSEFEL $750,000  
     Developmental Screening Network  $175,500  
Core II - Teachers and Training   
     California Early Childhood Mentor Program $2,866,295  
     California Early Childhood Online $290,000  
     Child Care Initiative Project $3,027,444  
     Child Development Training Consultation $2,891,920  
     Family Child Care at Its Best Project $766,704  
     Child Care Retention Program  $10,750,000  
     Child Development Teacher and Supervisor Grant Program $226,000  
     Stipend for Permit $435,000  
     Infant and Toddler QRIS Block Grants $10,385,200  
     California Migrant QRIS Block Grant $800,000  
     CA-QRIS Certification Grants $1,500,000  
Core III - Program and Environment   
     California Strengthening Families Trainer Coordinator $40,000  
     Community College PITC Demonstration Sites $594,200  
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Other   
     Evaluation of Quality Improvement Activities  $570,000  
Total: $87,252,000  

 
Quality Rating Improvement System. In 2012-13, California received a $75 million federal grant to 
develop and fund a Quality Rating Improvement System (QRIS). Some of these funds were used to 
develop a matrix for rating child care and preschool providers based on indicators, including staff 
qualifications, ratios and environment. The remaining funding went to local QRIS consortia to rate 
programs and provide additional support services to improve program quality. These services vary by 
consortium, but could include stipends for teachers to take early education classes, coaching or grants 
to improve classroom environment.  
 
The state provides $50 million in ongoing Proposition 98 funding for QRIS for State Preschool. In 
2015-16, the state provided $24 million in one-time General Fund for QRIS for infants and toddlers (to 
be used over three years). Additionally, First 5 California has made QRIS a priority in recent years and 
dedicated $25 million in 2016-17 for QRIS for all types of programs. Because much of the funding has 
been dedicated to QRIS for State Preschool, the majority of programs participating in QRIS are 
preschool programs. This funding for QRIS is not counted towards meeting the federal quality 
improvement expenditure requirements. 
 
Staff Recommendation: Information Only. 
 


