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HISTORY 

Source: Author 

Prior Legislation:   None known 
  
Support: Coalition Against Gun Violence, a Santa Barbara County Coalition; Everytown 

for Gun Safety; Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence; Moms Demand Action for 
Gun Sense in America  

 
Opposition: California Sportsman’s Lobby; California State Sheriffs’ Association; Firearms 

Policy Coalition; Safari Club International; Outdoor Sportsmen’s Coalition of 
California 

 
Assembly Floor Vote:       Not Relevant 
  
 

PURPOSE 
 

The purpose of this bill is to modify firearm loan provisions relating to (1) infrequent loans to 
persons known to each other, and (2) loans to a licensed hunter. 
 
Current federal law requires licensed firearms dealers, before they may deliver a firearm to a 
purchaser, to perform a background check on the purchaser through the federal National Instant 
Criminal Background Check System (“NICS”).  (18 U.S.C §§ 921, et seq.) 
 
Existing law requires that, except as specified, all sales, loans, and transfers of firearms to be 
processed through or by a state-licensed firearms dealer or a local law enforcement agency.  
(Penal Code § 27545.)  
 
Existing law provides that there is a 10-day waiting period when purchasing a firearm through a 
firearms dealer.  During which time, a background check is conducted and, if the firearm is a 
handgun, a handgun safety certificate is required prior to delivery of the firearm.  (Penal Code §§ 
26815, 26840(b) and 27540.) 
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Existing law creates numerous exceptions to a variety of different and specified firearms transfer 
requirements, including penal code section 27545, for loans of firearms under a variety of 
different circumstances. The general categories of these exceptions are: 
 

• For target shooting at target facility. (Penal Code § 26545.) 
• To entertainment production. (Penal Code § 26580.) 
• Several exceptions relating to law enforcement officers and government agencies (Penal 

Code §§ 2660, et seq.) 
• For infrequent loan of non-handgun; curio or relic (Penal Code § 27966) [commencing 

January 1, 2014] 
• To a consultant-evaluator. (Penal Code § 27005.) 
• To minors. (Penal Code § 27505.) 
• Infrequent loans to persons known to each other. (Penal Code § 27880.) 
• Where the firearm stays within the presence of the owner. (Penal Code § 27885.) 
• To a licensed hunter. (Penal Code § 27950.) 

 
Existing law that provides for infrequent loans to person known to each other, as specified in 
penal code section 27880, allows for the loan of a firearm between persons known to each other, 
if the following requirements are met:  
 

• The loan is infrequent, as defined in Section 16730; 
• The loan is for any lawful purpose; 
• The loan does not exceed 30 days in duration; and 
• Until January 1, 2015, if the firearm is a handgun, the individual being loaned the firearm 

shall have a valid handgun safety certificate. Commencing January 1, 2015, for any 
firearm, the individual being loaned the firearm shall have a valid firearm safety 
certificate, except that in the case of a handgun, an unexpired handgun safety certificate 
may be used. 

 
Existing law provides for the loan of a firearm, other than a handgun, to a licensed hunter for use 
by that hunter for a period of time not to exceed the duration of the hunting season for which the 
firearm is to be used.  (Penal Code § 27950.) 
 
This bill would limit the infrequent loan provisions to a loan to “a spouse, registered domestic 
partner, or any of the following relations, whether by consanguinity, adoption, or steprelation: 
(1) Parent. (2) Child. (3) Sibling. (4) Grandparent. (5) Grandchild.”   
 
This bill would limit the licensed hunter loan provision to only allow for a loan to a “person 
personally known to the transferor if that person has a California hunting license and only 
possesses the firearm while engaged in hunting.”  
 

RECEIVERSHIP/OVERCROWDING CRISIS AGGRAVATION 
 

For the past several years this Committee has scrutinized legislation referred to its jurisdiction 
for any potential impact on prison overcrowding.  Mindful of the United States Supreme Court 
ruling and federal court orders relating to the state’s ability to provide a constitutional level of 
health care to its inmate population and the related issue of prison overcrowding, this Committee 
has applied its “ROCA” policy as a content-neutral, provisional measure necessary to ensure that 
the Legislature does not erode progress in reducing prison overcrowding.    
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On February 10, 2014, the federal court ordered California to reduce its in-state adult institution 
population to 137.5% of design capacity by February 28, 2016, as follows:    
 

• 143% of design bed capacity by June 30, 2014; 
• 141.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2015; and, 
• 137.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2016.  

 
In December of 2015 the administration reported that as “of December 9, 2015, 112,510 inmates 
were housed in the State’s 34 adult institutions, which amounts to 136.0% of design bed 
capacity, and 5,264 inmates were housed in out-of-state facilities.  The current population is 
1,212 inmates below the final court-ordered population benchmark of 137.5% of design bed 
capacity, and has been under that benchmark since February 2015.”  (Defendants’ December 
2015 Status Report in Response to February 10, 2014 Order, 2:90-cv-00520 KJM DAD PC, 3-
Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown (fn. omitted).)  One year ago, 115,826 inmates 
were housed in the State’s 34 adult institutions, which amounted to 140.0% of design bed 
capacity, and 8,864 inmates were housed in out-of-state facilities.  (Defendants’ December 2014 
Status Report in Response to February 10, 2014 Order, 2:90-cv-00520 KJM DAD PC, 3-Judge 
Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown (fn. omitted).)   
  
While significant gains have been made in reducing the prison population, the state must 
stabilize these advances and demonstrate to the federal court that California has in place the 
“durable solution” to prison overcrowding “consistently demanded” by the court.  (Opinion Re: 
Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part Defendants’ Request For Extension of December 31, 
2013 Deadline, NO. 2:90-cv-0520 LKK DAD (PC), 3-Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. 
Brown (2-10-14).  The Committee’s consideration of bills that may impact the prison population 
therefore will be informed by the following questions: 
 

• Whether a proposal erodes a measure which has contributed to reducing the prison 
population; 

• Whether a proposal addresses a major area of public safety or criminal activity for which 
there is no other reasonable, appropriate remedy; 

• Whether a proposal addresses a crime which is directly dangerous to the physical safety 
of others for which there is no other reasonably appropriate sanction;  

• Whether a proposal corrects a constitutional problem or legislative drafting error; and 
• Whether a proposal proposes penalties which are proportionate, and cannot be achieved 

through any other reasonably appropriate remedy. 
 

COMMENTS 
 

1. Effect of This Legislation  
 
This legislation would modify firearm loan provisions relating to (1) infrequent loans to persons 
known to each other, and (2) loans to a licensed hunter.  
  
The provisions of current law which allow for firearms to be infrequently loaned to a person 
known to the owner, authorizes a firearm to be loaned between persons who are personally 
known to each other, if all of the following requirements are satisfied: 
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• The loan is infrequent, meaning, for handguns, less than six transactions per calendar 
year and for firearms other than handguns, occasional and without regularity. 

• The loan is for any lawful purpose. 
• The loan does not exceed 30 days in duration. 
• If the firearm is a handgun, the individual being loaned the handgun shall have a valid 

handgun safety certificate. 
 

(Penal Code § 27880.) 
 
This legislation would delete the requirement that the person be personally know to the owner of 
the firearm, and would instead require that the loan be made to a specified family member.    
 
Existing law provides for the loan of a firearm, other than a handgun, to a licensed hunter for the 
duration of the hunting season for which the firearm is to be used.   This legislation limits this 
loan provision to a person who is personally known to the owner of the firearm and would only 
allow that person to possess the firearm while engaged in hunting.  
 

-- END – 

 

 


