## **Chairpersons of the Joint Committee on Fisheries and Aquaculture**

Senator Barry Keene (1973-90)

Assemblymember Dan Hauser (1990-1996)

Senator Mike Thompson (1996-1999)

**Assemblymember Virginia Strom-Martin (2000-2002)** 

Senator Dede Alpert (2003)

**Assemblymember Patty Berg (2004-2008)** 

Senator Pat Wiggins (2008-2009)

Assemblymember Wesley Chesbro (2010-2014)

**Senator Mike McGuire (2015-present)** 

**1973** Assemblyman Barry Keene convenes the first Legislative Fisheries Forum (Forum) to provide fishermen and others the opportunity to air their concerns, propose actions to protect and improve freshwater and marine fish resources and fisheries.

1981 Senator Keene requests the Joint Rules Committee create the Joint Committee on Fisheries and Aquaculture. The Forum becomes annual Capitol event followed each year by a seafood reception provided, prepared by the fishing community, which becomes one of the most popular legislative receptions of each year thereafter

The Joint Committee on Fisheries and Aquaculture was created pursuant to Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 36, Chapter 88 of the Statutes of 1981.